View Full Version : Fishing capital of Australia

crowser
17-12-2007, 11:04 PM
Just wonderin what state everyone else though was the best state/territory for fishing.

jackson4300
17-12-2007, 11:14 PM
QLD by far mate :D
we have it all a stones throw away

theclick
18-12-2007, 12:05 AM
Definately the ACT :S. I love ACT salt water fishing

18-12-2007, 08:16 AM
Every body should fish the Territory at least once in their life.
Just so they've got something to dream about and tell stories (without fibbing) about it later on when they're back home.

Flattie Assassin
18-12-2007, 09:23 AM
I voted WA for there vast coastline and range of species.

DR
18-12-2007, 09:39 AM
I voted WA for there vast coastline and range of species.

a bit one sided most will probably say Qld.
have to agree with FA, so much almost untouched (compared to the rest of the country) area to fish with a huge range of fishing styles covered & species available..

mariner_22
18-12-2007, 03:33 PM
I voted NT only cause Im moving there in 2 weeks but other than that would be hard to go past QLD although every state has its own special characteristics so its hard to say.

PBass
18-12-2007, 09:13 PM
As much as I love Queensland fishing (up north in particular) I think the Northern Territory is in a league of it's own.. Just my opinion anyways.. Cheers PBass

Rodman
19-12-2007, 05:51 PM
Definately the ACT :S. I love ACT salt water fishing
Mate I did not know that ACT had salt water fishing?::)

Ken8-)

loophole
19-12-2007, 09:17 PM
Mate I did not know that ACT had salt water fishing?::)

Ken8-)

lmao what the :P

Cammy
20-12-2007, 12:23 AM
actually the act does have good fishing, but not saltwater fishing.:P

anyway i voted for qld8-)

cam

Hot_Snappa
20-12-2007, 10:01 AM
The ACT actually does have good saltwater fishing ........well about 1.5 hrs away on the South Coast of NSW! And also has some of the best trout fishing about the same distance away in the Snowy Mountains!
Unfortunately, like a lot of other inland waterways, ACT's are full of that vermin...Carp!
Having said that, I voted for NSW.

saurian
20-12-2007, 05:58 PM
Nt, I'd include the kimberley as the nt as well.
Go there and see how often and how many of the boys get out barra and creek fishing alone.
I suppose if your encouraged to do it and reduce netters it would be great lol.....
Ta

20-12-2007, 06:23 PM
Has anybody else noticed that the trends of this poll seem to closely mirror another recent poll.."Where are you from?"?.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gif
I mean,seriously how many of us would have had enough experience of fishing around our vast coastline to be able to definitively pronounce the best fishing spot in australia.
Anyway,I'm probably going to have to wait until I'm a grey nomad in order to search for the holy grail of fishing in OZ....oh but what a journey that will be.

Exotic locations in WA and NT are high on the wish list.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

freefish
20-12-2007, 08:27 PM
Only two places to fish in Oz. North or south of the Tropic of Capricorn. The north has the best but I'm biased.

tully
21-12-2007, 08:34 PM
Luckily It's ALL good. From a couple of little jems in WA called Koolan and Cockatoo Island, right down to chilly Tassie. Borders are just in our minds. What a country to be a fisherman in!

Nicko
21-12-2007, 08:46 PM
Queensland is cool!

murf
22-12-2007, 08:49 PM
they are all good in their own way;)

its hard to get a bad days fishing, just some are better than others

cheers Murf

PumpyChowdown
23-12-2007, 06:58 PM
I'm not voting in this poll as I've not fished all states. That being said, I would imagine Western Australia would certainly have the best fishing with it's massive coastline and a seemingly huge diversity of species available.

NT being a close second and QLD third.

24-12-2007, 09:57 AM
I suppose it depends on what start your engine
Still s couple of states I am yet to fish in but I still think TASSIE comes up trumps
Reason being
Most days you can find shelter coastal waters somewhere in the state (remembering that you can tow a boat from one end to the other in about 5hrs)
East coast has the warm current coming down in oct/nov bring marlin, tuna and other Game species
Also home to the BIG black bream and lots of other eastury species.
South east/southern world record blue fin and yellow fin as well as the black bream and other eastury species
West coast more commonly known for easy access crayfish and abalone but also home to good blue fin and strippey trumpeter and otheer lesser know reef species
NWest has the cray and abbs, mako, snapper and plenty of flatties, aussie salmon (they are right around the state) yellow tail kingies (northwest to north east) and lots other species.
In from the coast we have moster sea run trout through to thousand of lakes that produce world reknow trout fishing
I understand that we dont have a lot of the well documented species like barra, jacks, reds etc but what we have to balance that is a prinstine state with mostly unpoluted waters and documented the freshes air in the industrised world. To me fishing is more than catching fish, its the envoiroment they are caught in,

SteveCan
25-12-2007, 03:49 PM
I live in QLD and never fished anywhere else other than northern NSW - but I voted WA because of the reputation for massive fish - that and Fishing Western Australia. What a show.

I nearly voted QLD butdecided against provincialism. I just asked myself - if you had a ticket to go fish anywhere - where would you go? The answer was simple - I'd be off to WA in a flash!

Hardb8
26-12-2007, 12:19 AM
I too voted Queensland as my blood runs maroon,But I reckon West Aus would be a relatively untapped fishing mecca.I hope to travel there in the future.

GAFYM
28-12-2007, 11:46 AM
After 3 years travelling around/across Aust have fished just about everywhere. It is really "horses for courses". You dont get King George whiting in Qld, but then again you dont get Barra in S.A or Vic.
As a preference, the North takes the trophy. (All the N of Aust)
After seeing what they catch and boast about in W.A., we on the East Coast have it SSSSOOOOOOOooooo good.

I be a Qlder.

28-12-2007, 08:02 PM
Norfolk Island ! :P :( :) :-X ::) ;D

russ81
29-12-2007, 07:36 PM
Maybe we should get the votes for the other states bumped up,
if the pollies see the poll with qld winning they might have a knee jerk reaction and turn the entire coastline into a green zone
;D;D;D;D;D;D;D;D;D;D;D;D;D

Hot_Snappa
29-12-2007, 08:32 PM
Norfolk Island ! :P :( :) :-X ::) ;D

Yeah ..good!

Tropicaltrout
30-12-2007, 08:59 AM
WA, I reckon, they have the works. thier coastline is huge and some water is simply un fished, thiers trout to massive barra, to fantastic reef and game fish. It would be any fishos dream to fish the Kimberly or montgomery's reef, of flick flies at the sailfish. Anyhow I am dreaming again wa gets my vote.

tt

RJ5023
06-04-2009, 07:38 PM
Ah c'mon!

Alice Springs is the fishing capital of Oz - no doubt about it.

It's surrounded on all sides by great fishing spots!

..and it's the closest place in the country to every good fishing spot ;D

Steve B
06-04-2009, 08:02 PM
I would have to say all australian states have the best fishing....each state has at least on specialty species that its famous for....and everyone travels there to fish for it.

Really, can any other country compare to Australia for diversity and relatively unspoilt fishing wherever you go. I mean, even the most flogged areas of australia would be better than the best fishing in some countries.

Ok......I did vote for QLD!! 2nd a tie for NT & WA......sympathy vote for ACT;)

cheers Steve

wayno60
07-04-2009, 08:17 PM
i voted qld but the ol man has been around the block a few times and reconds WA has it hands down.

DazSamFishing
11-04-2009, 06:56 PM
western australia has some good fishing up north. A lot very untouched. But still miss home & agree QLD rules.

daz