View Full Version : Fishing capital of Australia

crowser
17-12-2007, 11:03 PM
Just wonderin what state everyone else though was the best state/territory for fishing.

New South Wales
Queensland
Victoria
Northern Territory
Western Australia
Tasmania
Australian Capital Territory
South Australia

18-12-2007, 07:46 AM
I'm just gunna say TROPICAL AUSTRALIA ( Qld , NT & WA)....... How can you put 1 in front of the other:-/ Nagg

saurian
20-12-2007, 06:01 PM
Nagg would have to agree with you , except that west of mornington island would be better still lo...
Ta

rockfisho
21-12-2007, 11:33 AM
Fraser Island IMO

Owen

21-12-2007, 01:53 PM
Queensland, particularly Redland Shire

reidy
16-01-2008, 12:43 PM
Goodday,
Love my trout fishing so i would have to say Tassie for me.
But i see the pull of the warmer climes, some days i think all you people north of Sydney are in Fish heaven.
Have fun all
Reidy

Local_Guy
16-01-2008, 01:29 PM
i won't name a place. if i did all u guys would be up here fishing :P

seabug
16-01-2008, 04:26 PM
I reckon Tassie would be the place.
There might not be as many varieties of fish,but you cruise all day and hardly see another boat.

Doubt if they know what ramp rage means

seabug

Tassie JR
16-01-2008, 06:48 PM
There might not be as many varieties of fish,but you cruise all day and hardly see another boat.

seabug

But the bad thing is with tassie, its cold, its always raining and the people don't know how to drive over 70km/h if its 100km/h, why do you think we moved to Queensland, tassie is still a top place tho;D .

As for the fishing capital id have to agree with nagg, Qld, Nt and Wa

cheers tassie JR

RayDeR
16-01-2008, 08:19 PM
G'day!

I would think that variety of species, variety of habitat and opportunity for various fishing methods would need to be considered to decide the "Fishing Capital" of Australia. The number of people actually fishing and the desirability of fishing (Like I dream of fishing the NT and northern WA) would also need to be taken into account.

I would agree with Nagg that the tropical north of Qld, WA and NT would win.How to place them 1,2, 3 would be problematical.

Ray De R

4x4frog
17-01-2008, 08:35 AM
Anywhere but Queensland. Stay away folks, don't come here, too many have moved here already, better fishing in the southern states.

That should keep them away, more fish for us ;D

Other than that, I have no idea having not fished too much outside the SE corner

Cammy
17-01-2008, 11:22 PM
i recon qld for salties, and since i love trout! i would have to say down south for freshies!.

cam

18-01-2008, 09:47 AM
If you go by the content of the national fishing books and magazines......fishing in Queensland must be terrible.

Most of the books have heaps on NSW, VIC and some on SA with a couple of mentions of southern WA......QLD, NT and northern WA barely rate a mention.
Must be too far from the office:(

Fishing up here is terrible & the futher north you go the worse it gets, besides the fish look weird, its sooo hot and the insects.....the insects will drive you mad.
Don't forget the sharks (ours are ugglier) and the crocodiles, I heard one bloke had the entire leg bitten off his outboard.:o ..don't even think about a canoe or kayak. If the crocks don't want to eat it they'll want to mate with it.
Remember there is no daylight saving, its a long way between towns and the mobile phone coverage is terrible.

No the best fishing in the world would have to be in Sydney harbour or the morenington peninsular.;D ;D ;D

BrewGuru
18-01-2008, 01:27 PM
Not Qld too many Green Zones coming in, My vote would be for those other Forgotton Australian Islands:
Lord Howe Island and Norfolk Island

reidy
25-01-2008, 02:39 PM
But the bad thing is with tassie, its cold, its always raining and the people don't know how to drive over 70km/h if its 100km/h, why do you think we moved to Queensland, tassie is still a top place tho;D .

As for the fishing capital id have to agree with nagg, Qld, Nt and Wa

cheers tassie JR
Drive to the conditions and stay alive;)
Reidy

reidy
25-01-2008, 02:41 PM

seabug
Good day Seabug,
Ramp what?::)
Reidy (Tassie)

seamaid
26-01-2008, 06:28 AM
;D
G/Day
I am very please all fisho's are not in favour for the same quality location
there be no room for the fish, it would be bedlem
Happy Fishing Ged8-)

jigsnreels
30-01-2008, 08:40 AM
Hehe, re the comments on rainfall in Tassie, here are the BOM's 30year averages for Hobart v Gold coast

Gold Coast Average Rainfall mm
Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
184 181 213 114 124 122 96 103 49 108 137 166

Hobart Average Rainfall mm
42 35 37 46 37 29 47 49 41 49 45 58

Mmmmm, except for September, every other month Goldie gets double, triple, x4, x5 the rain Hobart gets.:o and the further north you go, the more the multiples increase. One thing about Tas, it's really pretty dry down here

roydsy
30-01-2008, 08:52 AM
Without a doubt... Hervey Bay

levinge
30-01-2008, 09:34 AM
Anywhere above the Topic of Capricorn, Thats where the real fishing begins!!!

RayDeR
30-01-2008, 11:53 AM
Hehe, re the comments on rainfall in Tassie, here are the BOM's 30year averages for Hobart v Gold coast

Gold Coast Average Rainfall mm
184 181 213 114 124 122 96 103 49 108 137 166

Hobart Average Rainfall mm
42 35 37 46 37 29 47 49 41 49 45 58

Mmmmm, except for September, every other month Goldie gets double, triple, x4, x5 the rain Hobart gets.:o and the further north you go, the more the multiples increase. One thing about Tas, it's really pretty dry down here

G'day!

Tasmania takes all day and half the night to get those drizzly totals.

The Gold Coast gets it in storms which last an hour or two and let the sun shine the rest of the day.

Ray De R