View Full Version : Hope this does not happen much in buying boats
megalodon
17-12-2007, 09:02 PM
I have to wonder why more and more people have no moral values.
Decided to buy a tinny with trailer and motor if i found one the right price just to get the kids out fishing quicker for Xmas. As it happened one for under 2 grand turned up in the paper close to me in North Brissie. Ok ring the guy up and im the first caller and he tells me he has to go to work but will be home at 10.30 and to drop around for a look at the boat. I asked him if he had transfer papers with him. Nope so ok i tell him ill download them and bring them with me. So i get the papers and go and withdraw $1800 from the hole in the wall down the road. Now i go and get to his place and he turns around and tells me the boat is sold. A guy rang up after me and turned up first and bought it. Then he smiles and points to the boat in the yard and says that was it. Still can not believe this low life did this and same for the guy that bought the boat knowing full well someone was in before him. I have little satisfaction giving the guy examples of lower body parts he resembles and what a low prick he is for doing it. Made well and sure not only his neighbor that went and hid behind a wall where he was building his house and every other neighbor heard what i said to him. He only got 2 minutes of my mouth. Ive had 2 days of my kids crying and whining they wont get to go fishing at Xmas. Love how kids do that and keep thinking it will make a difference.
So whats the opinion is this a low act having someone go to all that trouble and then having some low life sell it out from under you or is this a common act for Brissie. I sure know i have and never will do that to anyone.
18-12-2007, 06:06 AM
Have a look from the sellers prospective.
How many people would say they're going to come and buy no questions asked...please don't sell to anybody else and then don't turn up.
I'd do exactly the same as the seller has done. First in with the cash gets the done deal.
But I inform buyers of this when they ring.
What time did you turn up to inspect??
It's hard on the genuine buyer trying to do the right thing but everything happens for the better. Might seem that way at the moment but in a year or you might be glad this has happened.
If the kids want to go fishing you can always fish from the bank or hire a boat.
As your on the northside there are lots of hire places. One that I know of is just as you drive onto Bribie.
Vindicator
18-12-2007, 07:00 AM
I have had it done to me and I have also jumped in ahead of people when buying farm equipment. Finga is right, look at it from the sellers perspective, what if you got there and hated the damned thing and this other bloke was flying through never to return but the seller had to wait for you. Understandable if you had first option to buy but if someone says they'll buy it on the spot you've got to break their legs so they can't get away.
Yeah it p$*%@s you off that you missed out on it but its all part of buying and selling
Kezza
straddie
18-12-2007, 07:04 AM
Heya Megalodon
Lifes too short mate, you got beaten to the line by a buyer and looking looking after themselves. It's how it is, suck it up and get the phone book out and look for "boat hire". Not the same as having you own but might keep the kids happy till you can track down another dinghy for yourself.
the gecko
18-12-2007, 09:02 AM
I always put down a deposit and get a receipt before I drive to the hole in the wall. I never go looking without making sure I carry some cash, and I also want to see the sellers id.
Flattie Assassin
18-12-2007, 09:20 AM
I always put down a deposit and get a receipt before I drive to the hole in the wall. I never go looking without making sure I carry some cash, and I also want to see the sellers id.
Agreed, that is all it takes. If you'd left a deposit, and the boat had been sold. Then you would have reason to be pissed.
18-12-2007, 09:43 AM
Yes, I have sold 2 boats in the weekend shopper etc and as Finga says, have had numerous people say I will come round with cash etc.. in no way am I implying you would have done this mate, but as said, the other guy just beat you to it.
Sorry to hear about it, but hey, the paper is full of cheap boats, just keep looking and chin up, you'll be OK
BenatCoffs
18-12-2007, 10:00 AM
So whats the opinion is this a low act having someone go to all that trouble and then having some low life sell it out from under you or is this a common act for Brissie. I sure know i have and never will do that to anyone.
I've had enough 'no-shows' selling cars and stuff that I would always sell to the first guy waving cash at me - imagine if I turned him away and then you never showed up?
Too bad, you missed out, there'll always be another opportunity.
18-12-2007, 11:40 AM
I know it happens all the time, and it does p!ss you off big time, but a sale is a sale, I once drove for 6 hours to have a look at something (with money to buy) and when I got there the guy had sold it, I was just a tad p!ssed, I explained that he had my Mobile number and it would have been nice to call and say it was gone, at least I could have saved half the trip, but he just said "Oh well!"
ryansrods
18-12-2007, 12:12 PM
mate first in best dressed its that simple theres plenty of cheap tinnys out there even drop int your local boat yard they usually have a selection of cheaper second hand boat s avalable and these plases have to abide by laws and regulations so ya shouldnt get jibbed on anything and remember these regestered businesses want repeat business so it does them no favour to disregard customer requests
if you turned up at 10.30 or even a bit before, as he requested & he has sold it, then i would be annoyed as well.. If you were late & did not at least ring & tell him you were a short distance away, he has every right to sell from under you. As said above too many don't bother to come at all so first in best dressed.
i remember i sold a ute once, had two people turn up at once, looked at it & started chatting to each other, third buyer turned up, i asked other two what they were doing & was told they hadn't decided, third feller put hand in pocket & pulled out cash, said to other two, thanks for looking it's sold...a bird in the hand etc..;)
krazyfisher
18-12-2007, 01:02 PM
first come first serve.
sales a sale you dont know if you will get another one
Nicko
18-12-2007, 01:16 PM
Hello, I've had the same problem before but I was wanting to buy some wheels for my car.
I rung the guy I was going to buy them off in the morning and he told me that I can come check them out in the evening around 6pm when he gets home from work....
So all day, I'm getting really really excited because I had seen the pics, they were in good nick and with a decent price attached. I end up getting to the guys place only to be told that he sold it a couple of hours earlier. :/
It's so damn annoying, I feel your pain.
Nick
I have to wonder why more and more people have no moral values.
Decided to buy a tinny with trailer and motor if i found one the right price just to get the kids out fishing quicker for Xmas. As it happened one for under 2 grand turned up in the paper close to me in North Brissie. Ok ring the guy up and im the first caller and he tells me he has to go to work but will be home at 10.30 and to drop around for a look at the boat. I asked him if he had transfer papers with him. Nope so ok i tell him ill download them and bring them with me. So i get the papers and go and withdraw $1800 from the hole in the wall down the road. Now i go and get to his place and he turns around and tells me the boat is sold. A guy rang up after me and turned up first and bought it. Then he smiles and points to the boat in the yard and says that was it. Still can not believe this low life did this and same for the guy that bought the boat knowing full well someone was in before him. I have little satisfaction giving the guy examples of lower body parts he resembles and what a low prick he is for doing it. Made well and sure not only his neighbor that went and hid behind a wall where he was building his house and every other neighbor heard what i said to him. He only got 2 minutes of my mouth. Ive had 2 days of my kids crying and whining they wont get to go fishing at Xmas. Love how kids do that and keep thinking it will make a difference.
outofcontrol
18-12-2007, 01:49 PM
it dosen't take much for everybody to do the right thing, if he is so desperate to sell it and wouldn't hold up his side of an agreement you are better off without it.
try to buy from someone with a bit of respect for others and you will have a better chance of not getting rip off
Leighton
18-12-2007, 02:27 PM
I would be pis*ed mate, in this day and age of mobile phones it only takes a simple call
Reel Magic
18-12-2007, 03:17 PM
Mate first in - first served,
I've had plenty of people in the past promise to buy and never ever turned up.
The seller had every right to accept the first offer and I would have too, I actually think it is a bit rude that you gave this guy a serve the way you are talking about.
There are way to many dishonest people around I'm afraid for this seller to sit on his hands hoping you would turn up.
Ryan.
18-12-2007, 03:33 PM
Yeah mate the earlybird gets the worm, on the few times I have sold stuff I found out the only way is to sell to the first with the cash, also found buyers will ring make a vague commitment for viewing, keeping me at home or expectant (not saying you did this) so I now don't give out my full address and ask them to ring again just as they are leaving for the street number or so I can then inform them the item is sold.
The seller in your instance could have done a lot better.
18-12-2007, 05:02 PM
Must the same view with regards cool down, just means the boat wasn't for you.
Quick story... Looking for a ute last year and drove 50mins to see one, took for a drive, agreed on a price pending mechanical inspection. Rang the bloke back that night and put a deposit down.
He calls me the next day and says use is now not for sale..... I was speechless, full well knowing someone offered him a bit more $$ and he took it.
Best thing what could of happened to tell u the truth, a week or so later after looking hard, found a more suitable ute for less money ion better condition.
Just chill out, tinnys under 2k are out there, just rock up with cash in hand next time
bluefin59
18-12-2007, 05:40 PM
A bit of a bummer but these things happen for a reason something better will turn up its like anything karma is a funny thing it will come around both ways maybe it was a dog ,you will find something better getover it and start looking there is plenty in that price range you'll be right ....matt
megalodon
18-12-2007, 07:33 PM
Yep well he said he wouldn't be home till 10.30 and we agreed id be there at 10.30 and id download and bring the transfer papers for trailer and boat and i turned up at 10.30. I just find it a disgusting low act if a person can not keep there word. Looking at the 3 hours over time i missed at work, my fuel and about a 5 minute phone call to him on the mobile it possibly cost me easy over $100 for this muck around.
I sell heaps of things and can have 10 or more calls on some items and first call gets first look and after that i take phone numbers and give them a expected time id call if the item does not sell. No matter how the person sounds i have enough respect to take into account a persons time and fuel to run over to look at something. It takes no time to take a phone number of second and third in line. I do know what its like being a seller ive had people ring me 3 times telling me they are in the car on the way only 15 minutes away but still not turn up but you still wait till the agreed time then give another 30 minutes at least because anything can happen from traffic to flat tyres.
18-12-2007, 07:36 PM
Yep well he said he wouldn't be home till 10.30 and we agreed id be there at 10.30 and id download and bring the transfer papers for trailer and boat and i turned up at 10.30. I just find it a disgusting low act if a person can not keep there word. Looking at the 3 hours over time i missed at work, my fuel and about a 5 minute phone call to him on the mobile it possibly cost me easy over $100 for this muck around.
I sell heaps of things and can have 10 or more calls on some items and first call gets first look and after that i take phone numbers and give them a expected time id call if the item does not sell. No matter how the person sounds i have enough respect to take into account a persons time and fuel to run over to look at something. It takes no time to take a phone number of second and third in line. I do know what its like being a seller ive had people ring me 3 times telling me they are in the car on the way only 15 minutes away but still not turn up but you still wait till the agreed time then give another 30 minutes at least because anything can happen from traffic to flat tyres.
You are truely a real gentleman and person of honor matey.
Not many left in this world.
Make sure you take your kids fishing somewhere over the holidays :D
megalodon
18-12-2007, 08:49 PM
Nope im just from the country and moved here 7 years ago and that how you treat people you deal with or if not they will never have anything to do with you or help you. In the country if that happens you can end up having a very hard time with everything in life.
Flattie Assassin
18-12-2007, 09:05 PM
Mate i agree. The country can be a great place.
I can commiserate, the city is a lot different. As stated carry some cash. Money talks.
megalodon
18-12-2007, 09:31 PM
Ha i had the full $1800 on me and transfer papers ready to tow it away then and there i wasnt making 2 trips. Time is worth more than that. The guy that bought it musnt have had enough money since the boat was still there in the back yard. You buy something you remove it asap. As for carry cash i deal with nothing other than cash. Anywhere you buy something for over $100 if you can not get at least 10% off it they dont want to sell it. Nothing is a sale unless they pass the 30% off mark. A good deal is getting to the 50% off mark other than jewelers then thats only what the item was worth to start with.
griz066
19-12-2007, 12:08 PM
Have a look here u might still get on the water 4 xmas with the kids.
http://cars.listings.ebay.com.au/Boats_Fishing-Boats_W0QQdfspZ1QQfasiZ1QQfbfmtZ1QQfclZ3QQfsooZ1QQ fsopZ3QQloglZ0QQsabfmtsZ2QQsacatZ102698QQsascsZ2QQ sbrbinZtQQsbrsrtZdQQsocmdZListingItemList
sheridan
19-12-2007, 06:30 PM
I agree with megalodon if the seller made the time then he should keep it if you make an agreement with someone then you keep it or maybe people don't do that anymore these days
udlman
19-12-2007, 06:30 PM
What would have been worse, is if u had parted with the $$$ , signed xfer papers and then found out it was stolen. Quick sales are always one to be wary about. Genuine sellers will allways give some time to check it out.
Brad.
megalodon
21-12-2007, 09:58 AM
Thanks for the e-bay idea any options are welcome. I have watched e-bay for about 2 months and got out bidded twice because i was at work at finishing time and one i just lost out on i seen re-listed about 3 weeks later because the winner did a no show and by that time we had spend a bit of the money we had put aside and couldn't go high enough with the bidding. Seen a lot of boats re-listed on e-bay from winners not buying them. I also watch the Trading post every day for new listing.
As for someone selling a stolen boat yes that is something you need to watch out for and thats why i was after this boat the scum sold out on me because the boat and trailer were both still registered and i could have checked all the numbers against the papers and his license. Also you could tell they had lived in that house at least 10 years from the way the back sheds were.
Sea-Dog
22-12-2007, 11:28 PM
I missed out recently in the opposite circumstances.
I found a VERY cheap centre console on boatpoint. I rung the number and was told that another bloke was on his way around in the next 15 minutes. The seller phoned me back to say that the other guy said he wanted the boat, but would be around again to hear the motor running. (flat battery had to be charged)
I asked if he'd left any deposit. No, he hasn't. So I said, "What if I come around now and put down a substantial deposit?"
"No", he says. "I've told him he could have it, I just wouldn't let him buy it without him seeing the motor running"
I said, "Well, if he tries to bargain you down on price - just call me and I'll come around and pay the asking price. In fact, I'd pay more."
The seller even had the decency to ring me the next day and let me know the 1st bloke had just paid for and picked up the boat. Even wished me the best of luck in finding another.
Bloody good bloke.
23-12-2007, 06:15 AM
"A disgusting and low act" "scum" C'mon mate a bit of perspective here there's a lot more worse humans out there that deserve your anger. It's just a boat no point poppin an artery over it.
Mate feel sorry you but after what i have been through selling my boat from now on i will not wait for anyone.
I think i would have waited home about 8 weekends waiting for blokes promising to come around and no show.
Then i had a deposit paid and no contact for a month.
Not a bunch of laughs being a seller.
Troy
Tailortaker
23-12-2007, 05:06 PM
Mate feel sorry you but after what i have been through selling my boat from now on i will not wait for anyone.
I think i would have waited home about 8 weekends waiting for blokes promising to come around and no show.
Then i had a deposit paid and no contact for a month.
Not a bunch of laughs being a seller.
Troy
Have they contacted you yet?
Getout
23-12-2007, 05:26 PM
You would have to be mad to agree to buy a boat without even looking at it. This guy did you a favour. Next time, go looking with a cash deposit in your pocket (and get a receipt)
steveg1100
23-12-2007, 07:59 PM
As is mentioned by most I have been mucked around too many times siting around waiting for no shows on the weekend. As soon as someone turns up with the cash its theirs. You can't take the chance on someone that has not even seen the boat buying it. Move on there are lots of other boats, most sellers would have done the same thing.
megalodon
23-12-2007, 09:14 PM
I never told him id buy the boat. Read what was said. He gave me the time to turn up and we agreed 10.30 because he said he would be at work till 10.30. I turned up with all paper work and all the cash because if i wanted the boat i was taking it there and then. Though he told me he sold it to another guy before 10.30
I was just pissed at all the crap i did, money i lost and things i had to change through the day just to get there at His arranged time and my 3 year old crying on and off all weekend because he didnt get a boat.
Not a problem as always cross me and shit happens.
I noticed on Saturday his tinny was listed again and he also had a outboard listed. Guess the guy that bought the boat didnt have the money to start with. Before you think it if he dropped the price from $1800 to $800 i wouldnt buy the thing off him.
As for most sellers would do the right thing. Well thats fine if you sell one or two things a year. If you sell hundreds of things a year you need moral values and respect for other peoples time and effort.
I sell world wide and have had all sorts of strange things happen but that was the lowest act id seen when someone can not even keep there word for 3 hours.
Megalondon, mate gotta agree with Getout, I couldn't imagine you'd get much of a boat, even a tinny for under 2 grand. It might have been full of electrolysis or the motor was probably stuffed. I suppose unless you've put a deposit on it then he can sell to whoever he wants. Mate as for abusing him in front of his neibours, I guess you'd pick you mark but you've got to be careful. You wouldn't want to be knocked on your ass in front of your kids. Which is what I would have done if I had been in his place. You're obviously disappointed but you've got to chalk it up to experience and move on.
Mate I suppose you’ve already checked it but there are some reasonable tinnies in the trading post around the 2 grand mark.
http://www.tradingpost.com.au/search/cat_Kayaks%2c+Canoes+%26+Dinghies_loc_locRZSQregtA VSCdistRZSQAVSCstateRZSQ4AVSCregRZSQBrisbane+and+S outh+East_off_0_sect_Marine_show_bnaRZSQFalseAVSCm oaRZSQFalseAVSCcmaRZSQFalseAVSCpsaRZSQFalseAVSCdaR ZSQFalseAVSCpaRZSQFalseAVSCvtaRZSQFalse_sort_otRZS Q1BJDZfdRZSQSearchDisplayPriorityIndAVSCotRZSQ1BJD ZfdRZSQFirstPublished_sqt_1_srchtype_pg_stpg_1_sub s_Sail+%26+Non-Power_
I suppose a bit late for christmas but the weather is shit anyway, it will probably be good boating weather in the new year.
Camo
Mate have a look at this one
http://www.tradingpost.com.au/iteminfo/adnumber_6769158_cat_Kayaks%2c+Canoes+%26+Dinghies _loc_locRZSQregtAVSCdistRZSQAVSCstateRZSQ4AVSCregR ZSQBrisbane+and+South+East_off_33_sect_Marine_show _bnaRZSQFalseAVSCmoaRZSQFalseAVSCcmaRZSQFalseAVSCp saRZSQFalseAVSCdaRZSQFalseAVSCpaRZSQFalseAVSCvtaRZ SQFalse_sort_otRZSQ1BJDZfdRZSQSearchDisplayPriorit yIndAVSCotRZSQ1BJDZfdRZSQFirstPublished_sqt_1_stpg _1_subs_Sail+%26+Non-Power_