View Full Version : really, really , " not happy Jan ".
deadbeatloser
17-12-2007, 01:33 PM
went out to wide caloundra today got some nice fish ,when low and behold my windscreen on my new boat disappeard over the side or out the back of me rig like fu#@. 26knts and bang banggoodbye,rung the people where i got it and they want me to take an hour a half each way and they cant say whos fault it is. or when i will get it back. well they didnt say the windscreen was unsinkable. warranty? or insurance and let them chase the boat company;D . some one could have been seriously injured, it has very sharp edges as it made a mess of me gelcoat on cabin>:(
17-12-2007, 01:38 PM
geees don't hear about that too often, heard of all sorts of mishaps, but never a Windscreen falling off, seen them smashed, fallen through and pulled apart at the corners but not falling off!
17-12-2007, 01:54 PM
All i can sat is, bloody hell!!!! get down to the dealer asap.
17-12-2007, 02:09 PM
Mate.Dont say that I didnt warn you about this.
The power of the mighty E-tec has obviously just ripped the windscreen right off.
Lucky it didnt decapitate you.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/shocked.gif
julian1
17-12-2007, 02:53 PM
should be no argument, they should replace asap before Xmas pull one off another boat etc, and then the damaged gelcoat, it doesn't what you were doing with the boat the windscreen should not fall off ! smash it maybe but completely fall off ! as was said luckily you weren't seriously injured.
rocksberg6
17-12-2007, 02:56 PM
Can you post a before and after photo Deadbeat!
oops sorry!!!HeHeHeHe;D ;D ;D
hondaguy
17-12-2007, 03:46 PM
If you bought the boat in capalaba I bet they will stuff you around big time.
SgBFish
17-12-2007, 03:52 PM
WOW
Was anyone sitting at the back when it came off?
bluefin59
17-12-2007, 03:56 PM
Far out mate thats not good ,after all you had to go through ,how was it held bolts or rivets appears to be an installation problem it would surely come under warranty i'd have thought at least you can still use the boat . Maybe you should check all the other fixings on the boat ,those etecs are awful powerful mate ...matt
KAGEY1
17-12-2007, 04:06 PM
Dbl Sorry To Hear Of Your Misfortune. Here's To A Speedy Fix And Return To All Things Nautical.
Cheers For Xmas,geoff
17-12-2007, 04:10 PM
hmmm I was waiting for the e-tec power replies :P
Correct me if i'm wrong, but isn't the stabicraft all alloy? You'd need 2pac repairs then
Essence
17-12-2007, 05:26 PM
Wow, straight back to the dealer asap!!
deadbeatloser
17-12-2007, 05:32 PM
Correct me if i'm wrong, but isn't the stabicraft all alloy? You'd need 2pac repairs then
yes i didnt want to say it was the power of the e-tec, but now that you say it , i think your are right;D :D ;D :D
the cabin is fibreglass on some models.
i will have to get used to the windtunnel look::)
17-12-2007, 05:34 PM
that answers the question of mine on the gel coat, thanks for clearing it up.
Wasn't aware they have f'glass topsides on some, a bit like savage did a few years back
deadbeatloser
17-12-2007, 06:13 PM
Can you post a before and after photo Deadbeat!
oops sorry!!!HeHeHeHe;D ;D ;D
DSC00934.JPG (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=17682&stc=1&d=1197879102)jp.jpg (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=17683&stc=1&d=1197879169)
Getout
17-12-2007, 06:14 PM
Can't blame the dealer for not giving an answer over the phone. For all he knows you might have torn it off on the garage door at home. The dealer has a good name to protect, so I say give them a go.
17-12-2007, 08:27 PM
Yeah, dave, like a red flag to a bull,wasn't it.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/tongue.gif
However,DBL,it might be worth getting in touch with the E-tec marketing people.
This would make great material for the new E-Tec video's.
Bugger dragging yamaha's under water or punching customers in the nuts,I can see it now....There is Deadbeatloser and his E-tec flying along and he's ducking and dodging fittings and boat debris as his new boat disintegrates around him because of the enormous power and speed of the E-tec.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gif
Best of all it would actually be "based on a true story".http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif
scott
deadbeatloser
17-12-2007, 09:04 PM
Yeah, dave, like a red flag to a bull,wasn't it.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/tongue.gif
Bugger dragging yamaha's under water or punching customers in the nuts,I can see it now....There is Deadbeatloser and his E-tec flying along and he's ducking and dodging fittings and boat debris as his new boat disintegrates around him because of the enormous power and speed of the E-tec.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gif
Best of all it would actually be "based on a true story".http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif
scott
now thats an idea and a half, you have me in stitches.
no i am going down to look at honda 4s or something the e-tec is way to fast.
17-12-2007, 10:15 PM
scott
Hahahaha, love the idea, make sure you get some royalties from bombardier ;)
18-12-2007, 05:30 AM
Hi DBL.
Surely mate it is time for your luck to change!
Although, very lucky no-one was hurt in this incident.
Are the screens fitted by the dealer, or in NZ?
Cheers and best of luck with speedy repairs.
18-12-2007, 06:35 AM
That's a new friggin' boat.
How many hours on her now??
Up the dealer. Up him for the rent.
If I remember you had a terrible time getting the boat and then they needed 2 weeks (was that right??) to bung the screen on.
They lied through their eye teeth to you mate just to get the sale.
You've put up with a lot of BS over this boat. Accept it no more.
That is a direct result of shoddy workmanship by either the manufacturer or the person who put the screen on.
My money would be on the person fitting the screen.
I'd be demanding a new upper deck and new screen and all done to my satisfaction.
I'd also have any other work they did redone just to be on the safe side.
If the screen can fall off, what else could happen??
You have a pretty good relationship with Stabicraft in NZ. Shoot them another e-mail with nice big pictures.
I'm sure they would not be happy about the screen falling off.
Makes you wonder how long the Stabi-craft sign is going to swing over that gate.
They may have been leisurely in getting the boat to you. I'd be making a point of not letting them have any leisure time until the situation is resolved.
Make them drive the hour and a half.
That is definitely not an insurance issue.
Screens don't just fall off.
Bloody hell. That's just BS
P.S. There would be no way in hell would I let that dealer fix the boat.
There has to be another dealer close by.
deadbeatloser
18-12-2007, 06:36 AM
Hi DBL.
Surely mate it is time for your luck to change!
Although, very lucky no-one was hurt in this incident.
Are the screens fitted by the dealer, or in NZ?
Cheers and best of luck with speedy repairs.
the screen was fitted in briz by dealer, one inch wood screws it looks to me,
thanx nigelr heres hope'n
>:(
18-12-2007, 06:42 AM
Hui DBL,
Good move to have the dealership fit your windscreen hey??? At least there should we no warranty drama's, all the best with it
18-12-2007, 09:30 AM
Mr T's must love being parked next to these guys at Capalaba::)
deadbeatloser
18-12-2007, 10:35 AM
the guys at leisure marine r a worthless to do business with, they are trying to put blame back on there shonky shithouse work, i am taking it up with DFT .
18-12-2007, 10:38 AM
Take it up with Stabicraft as well.
It's their name on the line not Leisure Marine.
As a side note I wonder how many boat manufacturers have had their name swing over Leisure Marine's gate and have taken it down because of what-ever reason??
Dicko
18-12-2007, 10:49 AM
I've never seen, or heard of that type of problem before.:D
Good to see you have a touch of humor left in you.
What did they actually say this morning ?
18-12-2007, 01:36 PM
Crap hey...how the hell are woodscrews, as opposed to stainless nuts and bolts, meant to be strong enough for the long (or short in this case) haul?
Cheers...up em mate.
deadbeatloser
18-12-2007, 04:47 PM
Can't blame the dealer for not giving an answer over the phone. For all he knows you might have torn it off on the garage door at home. The dealer has a good name to protect, so I say give them a go.
leisure marine at capalaba doesnt hav a good name , wat do you work there ?
leisure marine is a rip off no service no frills RIP OFF:-/
death_ship
18-12-2007, 04:54 PM
get straight on the phone to stabi manager and get some direction on what to do, everyone knows you gotta bolt through fibreglass, thats crap.
deadbeatloser
18-12-2007, 06:01 PM
get straight on the phone to stabi manager and get some direction on what to do, everyone knows you gotta bolt through fibreglass, thats crap.
yes have sent stabi another email. have spoke with legal eagles and my insurance company, outcome should not be to far away? l.m. said that i have been a pain from the start. lmfho
mik01
18-12-2007, 06:39 PM
yes have sent stabi another email. have spoke with legal eagles and my insurance company, outcome should not be to far away? l.m. said that i have been a pain from the start. lmfho
farrrkkk mate - are you saying they simply screwed through the underside of the 'glass into the windscreen frame (or vice versa?)?. ::)
who else has a stabi on here guys and what is your 'screen attached with???
Rod Fishing
18-12-2007, 08:56 PM
Hey DBL what happened to your other thread about the dealership????????
Rod.....
death_ship
18-12-2007, 09:12 PM
hopefully insurance comes thru if all else fails.
18-12-2007, 09:22 PM
Rod.....
more than likely the powers that are have deleted it
bradels
18-12-2007, 10:11 PM
So let me get this straight Lm seriously under quoted delivery time ,then to speed things up they secured the windscreen halfarsed with a screwgun and wood screws then they implied you have been a pain from the start for complaining about the bullshit delivery time ,omg this company should be avoided at all costs.
I have heard bad things about Lm before this takes the cake !
mik01
18-12-2007, 10:30 PM
Rod.....
its here...
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=118119&highlight=stabi
Rod Fishing
19-12-2007, 02:18 AM
Thanks Mik01,
That was the wrong post the one i was refering to had the dealerships name mentioned.
19-12-2007, 02:22 AM
I recently wandered through the mentioned dealership. Things that made me decide real fast that I would not buy a boat there was firstly there were no prices on any of the boats and secondly the fact I wandered around the entire parameter of the premises without even so much as a hello from anybody. I could have been a customer looking to spend huge dollars there for all they knew. Oh well, sorry to hear of your dilemma and I hope that it gets sorted out for you at light speed.
19-12-2007, 05:53 AM
I'll say it...
Leisure Marine.
It's been mentioned in this thread, that thread and lots of other threads about shoddy service.
deadbeatloser
19-12-2007, 06:17 AM
Rod.....
dont know rod ? maybe the internet police got it . posted it and it was there then 10min later it wasnt. did you read it . all true
Getout
19-12-2007, 06:57 AM
leisure marine at capalaba doesnt hav a good name , wat do you work there ?
leisure marine is a rip off no service no frills RIP OFF:-/
No DBL, I don't work there, but I do run my own retail business and I get tired of people bunging on a turn over their own mistakes. I'm not saying that it WAS your mistake in this case but if I was this dealer, I'd want to see the item in question before making a decision.
19-12-2007, 07:03 AM
Pictures should suffice in this instance.
Pictures are good enough for insurance assessors now.
timddo
19-12-2007, 09:02 AM
No DBL, I don't work there, but I do run my own retail business and I get tired of people bunging on a turn over their own mistakes. I'm not saying that it WAS your mistake in this case but if I was this dealer, I'd want to see the item in question before making a decision.
Sounds great. Loooks like deadbeatloser might need to go for a dive. recover the windscreen and all the screws they used and bring it back to LM for their inspection. :) :) . My windscreen on my boat is pop riverted in with around 15 i think and is bonded with sikaflex. So the winscreen should never fall off.
termi
19-12-2007, 10:55 AM
Saw a demo one in an adelaide boat yard the other day with a smashed windscreen on the drivers side. Could be a fault with them.
unbelievable!!!
how a business can stay afloat(no pun intended) with practices like this is beyond me. I've only dealt with them once for a minor repair to my trailer and i wasn't super impressed either.....stupid thing, someone pinched the rod wrap i use to secure the radio aerial when it is stowed. you'd think it was probably just a punter in the yard but the missus swears she saw it on the boat in the yard when we were there to pick it up.....then gone by the time the Yard man had fetched it for us! Glad I took out everything else that wasn't bolted down.
Good luck with getting it sorted
Cheers Roo.
cajunnsw
19-12-2007, 03:42 PM
There is no doubt you are lucky not to be injured. Absolutely unbeleivable if the windscreen was screwed in.
You need to write down the whole story - preferably withou passion (i couldn't) and send it to Stabi, and to the dealers.
"In Writing" is the safest way to get these things sorted.
19-12-2007, 05:49 PM
I recently wandered through the mentioned dealership. Things that made me decide real fast that I would not buy a boat there was firstly there were no prices on any of the boats and secondly the fact I wandered around the entire parameter of the premises without even so much as a hello from anybody. I could have been a customer looking to spend huge dollars there for all they knew. Oh well, sorry to hear of your dilemma and I hope that it gets sorted out for you at light speed.
been there done that...and they wanted 20 grand and an intent to purchase signed prior to an on water test..I died laughing when they told me that...that was the last time I have been there.
19-12-2007, 05:50 PM
DBL..I would not even be contacting LM or Stabicraft...all correspondence to both of them would be by way of my lawyer...I can give you the name of one..he is like a bloody Rottweiler when he starts on something like this.
sid_fishes
19-12-2007, 05:52 PM
just a quick question. how is it that they are still in business, why do people still go there.sid
deadbeatloser
19-12-2007, 06:53 PM
DBL..I would not even be contacting LM or Stabicraft...all correspondence to both of them would be by way of my lawyer...I can give you the name of one..he is like a bloody Rottweiler when he starts on something like this.
yes that would be great pinhead. will definitly give him a yell could you send me his details. dont think i will be taking it back to L.M. will use it over christmas,hav lots of photos for proof and hav shown to other dealership who could not believe how it was put on , not even any sikaflex or silicone (lock nuts n bolt).
thanx dbl
deadbeatloser
19-12-2007, 07:01 PM
just a quick question. how is it that they are still in business, why do people still go there.sid
i will say that greg who is one of the salesman is there a bloke of good character and do not begrudge this man ..... yes ian i do know what you are saying and i ask myself the same question but we all hope there is such a thing as karma so heres hope'n it catchs them soon.
:):):):):):):):):)
mark r
19-12-2007, 07:39 PM
sent my 175hp eninrude(2003 380hrs) in for a service to those guys they come back and said it needed a rebuild. the engine was runninig ok just had a small miss at about 1500rpm. so i had it rebuilt which i was very sus on in the first place got it back the first thing was they cleaned the old fuel filter with crc and left it on there hoping i wouldn't pick up on it .Sorted that out took for a run it went for half an hour and siezed as they kinked the oil line to cylinder five rang them they told me i had to pay for rescue (they didnt give a shit) to tow it back to the ramp. got it back from the second rebuild it had water leaks and oil leaks bolts missing some bolts over tightened and cracked the shroudes the motor was running like shit as the water was spraying into the plugs. This had been going on for four months they didnt even apoligise they were that rude my days of going there are over as far as im concerned they ruined a perfectly good motor.
On what grounds did they state it required a rebuild Mark??
I am in Melb so I have no beef with/or knowledge of the dealer in question. Just very interested in the situation with your engine.
20-12-2007, 02:52 AM
I recently wandered through the mentioned dealership. Things that made me decide real fast that I would not buy a boat there was firstly there were no prices on any of the boats
They display their prices pretty openly on their website.
Nonetheless, I have been thinking about finding $94 000 for a Stabi 659SC. However, given all that I read about this dealership, maybe I might delay that for a while just in case an alternative dealership appears. I am in no hurry - "Marry in haste, repent at Leisure" seems to be the appropriate adage. It does seem odd that there is only one Stabi dealership here.
In case you want a bumper sticker that suits, they are available ...
http://myskitch.com/charleville/dock-20071220-031014.jpg
;D ;D ;D
darkside
20-12-2007, 07:22 AM
love the sticker , DBL has to put it on his boat before he takes it in for repair !!!:-[
20-12-2007, 07:35 AM
I have been thinking about finding $94 000 for a Stabi 659SC.
I have $37.58 I could donate. But only if I get 1/2 shares or at least get a trip in her. :D
darkside
20-12-2007, 07:39 AM
i will come along, but i don't want a window seat.
deadbeatloser
20-12-2007, 08:22 AM
i will come along, but i don't want a window seat.
you can come out in mine if you like it doesnt have any window seats, but does hav horrible blak scuff marks all over it from when it was shipped here from nz. i dont think i will never ever own another stabi in my lifetime. currently looking at HAINES 600 patriot, any offers on one stabi 509. quicker i dump this boat the better i think and i warn all about the perils of dealing with companys that dont know how to do business with consumer respect.......................
:-/ >:( :-[ :-/
death_ship
20-12-2007, 02:56 PM
you can come out in mine if you like it doesnt have any window seats, but does hav horrible blak scuff marks all over it from when it was shipped here from nz. i dont think i will never ever own another stabi in my lifetime. currently looking at HAINES 600 patriot, any offers on one stabi 509. quicker i dump this boat the better i think and i warn all about the perils of dealing with companys that dont know how to do business with consumer respect.......................
:-/ >:( :-[ :-/
now your talking man8-)
mark r
20-12-2007, 07:38 PM
BM cylinder 4 was aperently at 60% but by the time i got to the dealer it had been striped down and off the boat so i coudnt see the compression test it did look a little dry so it cost me for a oil pump as well as six new piston and rings and hone after this point was when the headache started
20-12-2007, 07:41 PM
I have $37.58 I could donate.
Now there's a bloke who saves his money and does not spend it. ::)
$37.58! :o
I have not had anyone at a shop accept coinage including a one cent and two cent pieces for several decades now. ;D ;D ;D
You're gonna tell me that Leisure Marine will though! ;D ;D ;D
20-12-2007, 07:43 PM
they will, but they like their $1 and $2 notes in paper
Wow, they saw you coming unfortunately Mark.... :(
To pull down an engine before comp testing in front of the customer says dodgy to me straight away. You arrive and its in pieces, so they need prove nothing.
Was the "dry' cylinder obviously scored/scratched??
6 new pistons!!!???? Your engine required a rebore and 1 new piston. Approx $2000-2300 and probably no oil pump required.
Be interesting to see if it even had 6 new pistons or if they simply bored the crook cylinder and replaced the one piston.......
Sorry to hear of your woes... :(
mark r
20-12-2007, 08:14 PM
Bm i put a complaint into evinrude they also found it interesting . each time i went into the dealership there was someone always complaining to the mechanics about work they had done. i always have it serviced at another dealer who are great but they couldnt do it for a month so i thought its only a service ill get these guys to do and this is were i ended up four months later. even there workshop has shit everywhere
So was the crook cylinder actually scored??
mark r
20-12-2007, 09:10 PM
Bm didnt feel scored just dry
deadbeatloser
22-12-2007, 09:00 PM
So let me get this straight Lm seriously under quoted delivery time ,then to speed things up they secured the windscreen halfarsed with a screwgun and wood screws then they implied you have been a pain from the start for complaining about the bullshit delivery time ,omg this company should be avoided at all costs.
I have heard bad things about Lm before this takes the cake !
hope to see them pull there heads in and start showing people that they can do business with some integritey, and prove me wrong
:) :)
Bm didnt feel scored just dry
With no score marks you'd have to question the logic behind boring it (other than ripping you off).
Not good...
DBL, its stories like yours that make me ashamed to be in this industry :( Knowing what I know from within it seems that so many of the dealers are shonks.
Sea-Dog
23-12-2007, 11:28 AM
Rod.....
Isn't one of the mods here sponsored by said organisation?
:-X
deadbeatloser
23-12-2007, 12:12 PM
With no score marks you'd have to question the logic behind boring it (other than ripping you off).
Not good...
DBL, its stories like yours that make me ashamed to be in this industry :( Knowing what I know from within it seems that so many of the dealers are shonks.
im just going to keep my mouth shut and see what the out come is from dealer, and if not satisfactory let the game begin.. lol .. BM is just good to see blokes like yourself helping others.. merry xmas n a happy new year.
cheers dbl
Getout
23-12-2007, 05:54 PM
DBL, dont attempt to fix it yourself. The best course of action, if you dont get immediate satisfaction, is to go mental (assuming you didn't drive it into the garage door);D
deadbeatloser
23-12-2007, 07:18 PM
DBL, dont attempt to fix it yourself. The best course of action, if you dont get immediate satisfaction, is to go mental (assuming you didn't drive it into the garage door);D
i have tried that , does work to some extent, must say that i have encounted much disbelief wich the windscreen mishap so i take it that it is an incident that doesnt seem to happen at all to others. i swear on my granmas life that i did not in any way damage my screen prior to it ejecting its self from my boat
:):'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(:)
WHATSZUP
24-12-2007, 11:24 PM
Hi DBL. Sorry to hear about the windscreen incident. I too purchased a stabi from the stabi agent on the south side of brisbane. Mine is a 589 Fisher with a 150HP Honda. I have been extremly happy with the boats performance & since the purchase mid last year have run up about 160hrs in waters off Cairns but!!!! immediatley after reading your post I checked my screen & it too is exhibiting advanced signs of separation from the fibreglass cabin.
The sides of the screen are still attached but a 5mm gap appears under the screen when the canopy is depressed by hand The screen appears to be affixed with 10mm screws thru the screen frame into the fibreglass. There is a 10-20mm thickening in the fibreglass inside the cabin under the screen and it appears rather than drilling thru this & bolting the frame to the cabin minimum length screws have been used to avoid penetrating into the cabin. I dont think sikaflex has been used to adhere the frame.
I will be contacting Stabicraft directly to establish what the recommended method of affixing the screens is and as this is now the second occurance of what could be a potentially fatal problem would assume a recall would be a prudent course of action by the manufacturer.
Anyhow hope my problem will assist you by being able to identify how these screens have been fitted by the dealer.
Sorry it took me so long to come out of the woodwork on this issue but have not visited ausfish for some weeks & also needed to register myself to make this post.
Sorry also for the long post but this is rather an involved problem & from the number of views is of interest to many members.
I would also like to share my unsatisfactory experiences with the dealer after the order was placed.
deadbeatloser
25-12-2007, 06:24 AM
Hi DBL. Sorry to hear about the windscreen incident. I too purchased a stabi from the stabi agent on the south side of brisbane. Mine is a 589 Fisher with a 150HP Honda. I have been extremly happy with the boats performance & since the purchase mid last year have run up about 160hrs in waters off Cairns but!!!! immediatley after reading your post I checked my screen & it too is exhibiting advanced signs of separation from the fibreglass cabin.
The sides of the screen are still attached but a 5mm gap appears under the screen when the canopy is depressed by hand The screen appears to be affixed with 10mm screws thru the screen frame into the fibreglass. There is a 10-20mm thickening in the fibreglass inside the cabin under the screen and it appears rather than drilling thru this & bolting the frame to the cabin minimum length screws have been used to avoid penetrating into the cabin. I dont think sikaflex has been used to adhere the frame.
I will be contacting Stabicraft directly to establish what the recommended method of affixing the screens is and as this is now the second occurance of what could be a potentially fatal problem would assume a recall would be a prudent course of action by the manufacturer.
Anyhow hope my problem will assist you by being able to identify how these screens have been fitted by the dealer.
Sorry it took me so long to come out of the woodwork on this issue but have not visited ausfish for some weeks & also needed to register myself to make this post.
Sorry also for the long post but this is rather an involved problem & from the number of views is of interest to many members.
I would also like to share my unsatisfactory experiences with the dealer after the order was placed.
now dont muck around fixing that screen as they do a bit of damage when they fly off, thankyou very much for letting me know about your dealings with the formentioned dealership. contact leeon johnston at stabi he will put you in the right direction. thanx again and goodluck . merry xmas
as you quoted i could not be happier with the boat and its performance.
:):):):):):):)
WHATSZUP
26-12-2007, 11:21 AM
Thanks DBL. Will contact Leeon at Stabicraft in the New Year. I have spoken to him previously when the dealer delivering my boat repeatedly failed to provide a final delivery date. Long story but with a happy ending as follows.
I visited my local Stabicraft dealer in Cairns & was quoted a 12-week delivery. As a Stabi dealer in Brisbane had a 589XR in stock flew down specifically with my son to take a look & cut out the waiting period.
The 589XR was just what I wanted but after a sea trial decided the small Johno that was fitted was inadequate. Decided to pay the extra & get a HONDA 150HP fitted but a call to stabicraft to check the suitability of boat/motor combo revealed the Honda was too heavy however Stabicraft could fit a larger pod to a new hull & rate the boat for the Honda.
Hence I get the boat I am after. Great. Price is good. Even better. Delivery is 3 weeks. WOW!
How can this be a sceptical me asks the dealer as I have been quoted 12 weeks elsewhere.
And so the saga begins.
The story from the salesman is "We have a container in New Zealand with three boats inside and need a forth to fill it up. As we have a special relationship with stabicraft being their largest dealer etc etc Stabicraft will push your order thru. This also assists them in getting paid for the three boats in the container because they don’t get paid until the goods are shipped."
I am still sceptical but the salesman calls Stabicraft, in front of me, & confirms next delivery is due in three weeks. Allow one week to fit the boat out you will be on the water for Easter. It is now early March so Easter seems reasonable. Price is good so a 10% deposit changes hands.
I am sure you know what follows.
3 weeks pass. Dealer advises shipping is delayed due to customs dispute.
2 weeks pass. Dealer advises stabicraft failed to ship in this shipment . Will be in next shipment. (I am now convinced I have been duped. Delivery will be 12 weeks).
2 weeks pass. Dealer advises boat is on dock in New Zealand awaiting Shipment.
1 week passes. Dealer advises Stabicraft have change shipping methods. Delayed another two weeks.
2 weeks pass. Dealer advises boat will be BUILT this week. BUILT this week. So what was all the other bullshit. Oh! Stabicrafts fault. We can only pass on what they tell us.
4 weeks later final delivery. Take boat on sea trial with dealer. Hydraulic steering connected up in reverse. Left is right & right is left. Fix problem by reversing pipes on outboard ram. One is now short the other long. Instrument cluster is minus a fuel gauge as requested but to mount one now would need dash board to be re fibre glassed & all instruments refitted. Decided to cut my losses, pay the balance and after 14.5 weeks depart the dealer sworn never to return!
The bonus is I am now the happy owner of a Stabicraft 589 Fisher with a 150 HP Honda Vtech on a tandem Dunbier trailer & am happy to talk at length with anybody considering a similar purchase.
Take boat on sea trial with dealer. Hydraulic steering connected up in reverse. Left is right & right is left. Fix problem by reversing pipes on outboard ram. One is now short the other long. Instrument cluster is minus a fuel gauge as requested but to mount one now would need dash board to be re fibre glassed & all instruments refitted.
This is pretty appaling....Joe Average walking out of a shop with a hydro steering kit could make the mistake of setting it up incorrectly but not a marine dealer....
Even worse than the mistake is that this dealer is not test running (even in a tank) an engine pre sale and checking the steering is correct etc..
I wonder if he checks the lights on the trailers are correctly wired (have struck this a few times on top brand trailers)?????
By the way, DBL, cock ups dont just occur for the public.... :( my holidays have been delayed by 2 days ($200 per day for accomodation) because the moron machine shop (that my family has dealt with for 20 yrs) press fitted some 350 Chev (MerCruiser) pistons the wrong way on the rods........ I had to go buy a 10 ton press (the machine shop is closed till early Jan and the job needed to be finished by xmas), lost a day workwise and am now losing holidays days.......
bay_firey
26-12-2007, 09:23 PM
That is dead set pathetic.
The system had to be bled to get he air out to start with and surely, you would think, somebody must have turned the wheel between fitting and on water test run.
deadbeatloser
27-12-2007, 04:24 PM
whatsup as you said, i to love the handling and performance of the stabi and would happily recommend one of these boats to anybody looking for something similar , if you cant beatem buy one and i did:):):):)
thanx don
BM sorry to hear of your dramas , hope you get it all running sweet and get to enjoy your holidays, have a happy new year and all best for the year to come
cheers don
hondaguy
11-01-2008, 06:20 PM
have they that windscreen yet?