View Full Version : Breakdown Support, What do you do
BilgeBoy
15-12-2007, 09:03 PM
I got to thinking about what I would do if I broke down out in the bay and it was kinda scary really how under prepared I was. I am not a member of the VMR, I don't have a brother with a boat...Jeepers what would I do!!!
So that got me to thinking...What does everyone else do??
BilgeBoy
Nico.d.R
15-12-2007, 10:15 PM
i got 4 mates that i could try on the phone if that fails i would call the vmr on the vhf
trueblue
15-12-2007, 10:25 PM
I got to thinking about what I would do if I broke down out in the bay and it was kinda scary really how under prepared I was. I am not a member of the VMR, I don't have a brother with a boat...Jeepers what would I do!!!
So that got me to thinking...What does everyone else do??
BilgeBoy
For less that $60 per year... just join up and know you are covered.
Add up absolutely everything you spend on boating per year, servicing the boat, fuel, oil, fishing gear and tackle, lures, bait, ice, insurance, rego, etc, etc.
Then calculate how very small a percentage of that total expense the $60 associate membership with VMR or Coast Guard would be and you'll be amazed. Its damn near nothing by comparison.
mik01
15-12-2007, 11:32 PM
For less that $60 per year... just join up and know you are covered.
Add up absolutely everything you spend on boating per year, servicing the boat, fuel, oil, fishing gear and tackle, lures, bait, ice, insurance, rego, etc, etc.
Then calculate how very small a percentage of that total expense the $60 associate membership with VMR or Coast Guard would be and you'll be amazed. Its damn near nothing by comparison.
agree totally - whats $50 odd bucks a year? you probably have racq or similar for your car which is damn easier to sort out if you break down on the road.
seatime
16-12-2007, 06:52 AM
It gladdens my heart to see VMR membership is out polling the other options.
The AVCG breakdown service or VMR waterside assistance program not only offers the subscriber a free tow it also helps support and fund these organisations.
Mrs Ronnie H
16-12-2007, 10:47 AM
I'm with you. Never really think about breaking down.
Suppose it is one of those things you don't give much thought to until it happens.
Would like to think if i were in trouble and there were other boaties nearby they would help--- other options would use mobile or radio to call VMR.
Question--- How many of us would help another boaty in trouble???????
Ronnie
the gecko
16-12-2007, 11:30 AM
wont the RACQ come and help me?
16-12-2007, 11:33 AM
Question--- How many of us would help another boaty in trouble???????
I have done so a handful of times but sometimes when you see how ill prepared some people are, you do feel that your good nature is being abused. :(
I do all of my fishing in areas covered by the Jacobs Well VMR and the Manly Coast Guard. I now have associate membership of each. That amounts to about the price of a fishing trip for each one.... and I feel a whole lot better for having made a small commitment to both of them. :)
Then there is through the week & not week-ends.
16-12-2007, 02:42 PM
Then there is through the week & not week-ends.
During the week, the VMR and Coastguard services are still available. Some are not rostered on to monitor the marine radio channels but there is plenty of coverage on Moreton Bay of the radio channels by a couple of the VMR units; plus, the Moreton Bay Trailer Boat club will log you in to their register and will monitor the airwaves on behalf of all the VMR and Coastguard groups from 7 am to 9.30 pm. If a rescue boat needs to go out for the same reasons during the week as on a weekend, then groups such at the Brisbane Coastguard (Manly) will muster a boat and crew to go.
You should be less inclined to assume that fellow boaties will be available mid-week, though. There have been plenty of times when I felt that I must have been the only boat out on Moreton Bay at the time - radio chat traffic can be that quiet. Of course, that is not the case if you are fishing at the Harry Atkinson Artificial Reef. ;D
seatime
16-12-2007, 08:21 PM
wont the RACQ come and help me?
reckon it'd be easier to bring a broke boat home if you could winch it up onto the aft deck and tilt it off at the ramp :D
aussie9
16-12-2007, 08:32 PM
Had serious fuel problems on the bay recently. I had to call the local VMR and 20 litres of fresh fuel cost me $255.00.
I soon paid the $60 to join the Raby Bay Crew as an Associate member.
This gives a 2 hour tow by them for free or they re-emburse you any costs by having to call any other VMR's in Qld for assistance.
Cheap as chips mate!!
datamile
16-12-2007, 08:38 PM
Must get round to joining, at least I'm log on and off now. Mishappens can happen to anyone, engine probs , hit something in the water etc.
I'd be happy to tow in anyone or offer assistance, just as most people do, and that's one of the great things about boating, that I hope doesn't start to fade in this modern world.
BILLY THE KID
16-12-2007, 09:20 PM
I'd be happy to tow in anyone or offer assistance, just as most people do, and that's one of the great things about boating, that I hope doesn't start to fade in this modern world.
i towed in some bloke yesterday from huybers . outboard wouldn't start for him , last time he rowed for 6 hrs ? missus told him that maybe it was service time for the old jigger ::)
mik01
16-12-2007, 09:24 PM
i towed in some bloke yesterday from huybers . outboard wouldn't start for him , last time he rowed for 6 hrs ? missus told him that maybe it was service time for the old jigger ::)
I'd help anyone if asked.
but it sure would piss me off if I had to tow a bloke like this home only to find out that he couldnt be bothered to fork out for KNOWN problems to be repaired:-[
I hope he at least offered you some money for fuel??::)
BILLY THE KID
16-12-2007, 10:10 PM
but it sure would piss me off if I had to tow a bloke like this home only to find out that he couldnt be bothered to fork out for KNOWN problems to be repaired:-[
nope . just a thanks for that / much appreciated . even had a mate come down the ramp at wello to grab my bow so i could untie the other bloke . only had about 2 metres of rope to tow with aswell .
only had the boat out twice ( first boat ) and didnt really have a idea what i was doing towing someone in . good learning experience i guess
Vmr swung in as we were in the leads
Seahorse
18-12-2007, 07:28 AM
Where do u look on line.
There must be a site where u can join on line.
Maybe this should be plastered everywhere.
After reading this i will join immediately.
Vindicator
18-12-2007, 09:49 AM
I'm a member of M'ba coast guard but would still offer a donation if they had to come and tow me home from out on the reef. After all, if they can't get enough funds to operate, who would we call then?
Kezza
trueblue
18-12-2007, 10:07 AM
Where do u look on line.
Few organisations would be set up for you to join online. Most of them are based right nearby popular boat ramps though. Just drop in and say hello, and ask for an associate membership application. Pay your money and they will give you a resiept there and then. A week or so later you will receive a pack from the memberships officer giving you your associate member call sign and some useful information etc.
18-12-2007, 10:07 AM
I own a 2st so I run the very real risk of a simple tow costing me thousands in dollars and uncountable damage in time and missed opportunities.
I will tow but only if it is on the idle circuit, if it cannot be done within the constraints of the equipment I own then I will call help either phone or radio for them and stick around, render assistance if they want me too or I believe I should.
Of coarse and it goes without saying if emergency action was needed as in a tow away from immediate strife I would do so.
These days without some form of backup (aux, membership, deal with a mate) it's not really responsible to head out.
trueblue
18-12-2007, 10:17 AM
If it cannot be done within the constraints of the equipment I own then I will call help either phone or radio for them and stick around, render assistance if they want me too or I believe I should.
Of coarse and it goes without saying if emergency action was needed as in a tow away from immediate strife I would do so.
These days without some form of backup (aux, membership, deal with a mate) it's not really responsible to head out.
This really does need to be considered. Towing can be very hazardous, and can blow up your engine if done incorrectly. We prop our boats to push just our boat at maximum weight, not for towing another vessel so ultimately you will be set up way overpropped (too much prop pitch) for towing and your engine will be loaded up to buggery.
Also, there have been many instances of people towing on too short a rope and having control problems, or tearing out cleats that were not designed to tow, and all sorts of other damage.
Lots of hazards involved in towing, far too many to go into in detail. Doesn't mean don't help people, just consider whether or not you it is a good idea for you to be doing a tow.
19-12-2007, 05:44 AM
I found an e-mail that I had overlooked from VMR Raby Bay about whether my membership of VMR Jacobs Well would cover any tow fees incurred in Moreton Bay by VMR RB...reproduced as relevant here (its dated 30.11.07):
"
reciprocal rights between VMR's and in fact Coast Guard is sort of a sore point as you might have noticed as the various rescue organisations have so far been unable to agree on a overall plan.
However all seems not lost - from our practice we have recharged tows of VMR Jacobs Well (Beenleigh) and Southport Gold Members to these organisations without a problem and I am not aware that they have changed systems.
VMR Raby Bay takes a slightly different approach with our Associate Membership program as our cover extends for assistance (up to 2 hours) Queensland-wide (VMR & Coastguard). Whilst you might have to pay for example Coast Guard Mooloolaba for a tow, VMR Raby Bay will refund you the cost.
I enclose our Associate Membership application for your perusal.
kind regards
Volunteer Marine Rescue Raby Bay
George Brenk"
mik01
19-12-2007, 10:19 PM
Where do u look on line.
you CAN join online and here is the first link to set you on the path.
you can pay via paypal (which is how I joined) and you will receive all the info in the mail.
best thing is, they have all your details on file and issue you with a simple code that you use to log on/off with. beats describing your boat, rego, mobile over the airwaves.
http://www.vmraq.org.au/JOIN.ASP
this is for Victoria Point only - http://www.vmr.org.au/watersideassist.html
tidemaster
20-12-2007, 03:58 PM
I joined Seatow on the Gold Coast, but will also join VMR for futher afield
BILLY THE KID
20-12-2007, 04:50 PM
nope just a thanks heap/ much appreciated and off they went
missus told me yestrerday it was only 2 weeks prior the 6 hr row happened
some people are just asking for trouble with shoddy serviced motors
I've been a member of our local VMR for 23 years and during the time I have been an Associate where I just paid my money and went fishing. I did require a tow once when my 11m steel boat gearbox that was 5 years old failed.
I have subsequently been an active radio operator, management committee and executive member. I don't have a boat any more but I am more involved than ever.
Today I went and had a look at the rescue log and one person was towed a month ago and it cost him dearly so after he paid the bill he became a member. Well today he was towed in again this time in a different boat for free so lightning does strike in the same place twice.
As for getting your "jollies" by rescuing people well some of our boat crew do get seasick no different from the rest of the public but they still do a professional job and I can't see any joy in getting your jollies when you are having a laugh at the sea but they still do their job. Today was a good day weather wise so it would have been a pleasure to go out but it isn't always so and they can't pick when they have to go out.
Feral
26-12-2007, 05:08 PM
Just downloaded the form for Bribie, costs a bit more than I thought! - $111. Cant really afford that at the moment. (I mainly fish the dams, so my membership was going to be more a donation, not like they do rescues on the dams!)
Just downloaded the form for Bribie, costs a bit more than I thought! - $111.
I think you better call then as no VMR that I know charges that for membership. I looked at their form and you can read it two ways $66 joining fee and $55 per year. The other way which I believe is correct is $66 all up and out of that $11 is a joining fee and $55 for yearly membership. I know Coastguard active members pay a bit first up to cover training manuals etc but VMR I would be very surprised indeed.
ss--ss
28-12-2007, 08:30 AM
All of these seem to cover Vic & qld... Is there a vmr for nsw ?
mik01
28-12-2007, 08:51 AM
All of these seem to cover Vic & qld... Is there a vmr for nsw ?
yeah mate - its the coastguard..
http://www.coastguard.com.au/home.html
Mrs Ronnie H
29-12-2007, 02:50 PM
Feral
Where did you find the form for Bribie Island.. Can you send link.
Not sure whether to join Bribie or Scarborough-- At Beachmere so what do you guys think.????????????
Ronnie
mik01
29-12-2007, 04:59 PM
Feral
Where did you find the form for Bribie Island.. Can you send link.
Not sure whether to join Bribie or Scarborough-- At Beachmere so what do you guys think.????????????
Ronnie
maybe whichever you launch from the most?
i find its better in case you want to drop in to change details or whatever, so you can do it when you take the boat out instead of making a special trip there.
then again, most stuff is done online or over the phone so you may not care about that.
Foxy4
01-01-2008, 07:58 AM
It gladdens my heart to see VMR membership is out polling the other options.
The AVCG breakdown service or VMR waterside assistance program not only offers the subscriber a free tow it also helps support and fund these organisations.
I agree with Gelsec on this one. Being a member of AVCG QF3 @ Redcliffe, i know the importance of both us and VMR and funding.
pickers
01-01-2008, 08:24 AM
bilgeboy
go join a VMR cause it's a well spent $56.00 and as I have already found out they are more reliable than friends with a boat.
pickers
Searaider 2
01-01-2008, 09:09 AM
Geday Ronnie H
The link to Bribie VMR is :-
http://www.vmraq.org.au/org.asp?oid=280
I've been a accosiate member at Redcliffe Coast Guard for years & I believe that my yearly Subs is the best money that I could spend on Safety for the Boat .
To date I havent had to use them for a tow etc , but once logging on with them for a trip , its a good feeling to know that they are there if needed .
Steeler
06-08-2011, 06:36 PM
This really does need to be considered. Towing can be very hazardous, and can blow up your engine if done incorrectly. We prop our boats to push just our boat at maximum weight, not for towing another vessel so ultimately you will be set up way overpropped (too much prop pitch) for towing and your engine will be loaded up to buggery.
Also, there have been many instances of people towing on too short a rope and having control problems, or tearing out cleats that were not designed to tow, and all sorts of other damage.
Lots of hazards involved in towing, far too many to go into in detail. Doesn't mean don't help people, just consider whether or not you it is a good idea for you to be doing a tow.
I asked an experienced boat racer buddy of mine one day about methods to tow and he reckoned to avoid damage use the D latch on the boat being towed where you hitch up to winch. By doing this you are lifting the bow up slightly creating less resistance.
Sounds good to me.
FishHunter
07-08-2011, 06:17 AM
I wouldnt be keen to tow someone in with my boat due to possible damage, but I would help any other way I could. I did come across some kids drifting out of Raby bay on a jet ski once and towed them in with my kayak.
johncar
07-08-2011, 08:33 AM
Yeah VMR, Coastguard are the best backup where the service is available, been with VMR bribie for 20 odd years and been a crew member and skipper for part of that time.
With my personal vessel, I would generally only tow another vessel just a short distance or out of harms way, and otherwise call for assistance on behalf of the stricken vessel and if necessary stand by untill assistance arrives.
Unless it is a life saving exercise it is possibly not worth the risk of damaging your own boat and engine as I am sure that you get no compensation from anyone when you suffer an expensive gearbox failure or such down the track.
Towing another vessel also has its risks for both vessels particularly in poor sea conditions so if you are inexperienced and not adequately equipped it should be a last resort.
I have found some guys to be cronic breakdown "victims" over the years and in fact one guy used to always run out of fuel somewhere around Moreton Is and had been doing it for years when I checked back through the VMR log. So you don't want to be taken advantage of by guys like that.
But yeah we should always try and help and look out for each other at sea.
07-08-2011, 12:09 PM
People just have to remember that towing with an outboard is fraught with danger for the motor - good way to burn a piston unless just literally above idle only and even then its risky. I would do it though if someone was in real danger or only 50m or so from the ramp etc.
mal555
07-08-2011, 12:34 PM
But yeah we should always try and help and look out for each other at sea.
It's a good point John.
Our trailable motor-boat club, located in a remote part of the country without a well equipped VMR service, has requirements where any members participating in offshore cruises, have a strong short line pre-attached to the stem mounted D bolt and secured to a bow cleat (spliced loop) prior to departure, so that in the case of a breakdown a tow line can be attached to the strongest point quickly.
It's not fun or safe, laying over the bow to attach a line to the winch point with a heaving sea breaking over you.
For those with the very modern/contemporary high, rounded bow/deck areas, where the focus is internal space...you should try this from the deck of your boat ;-).
We would never tow from a standard bow deck cleat!
If a breakdown occurs at sea in heavy weather, you cannot come alongside and take the crew off the disabled vessel and let the insurance company worry about the wreck later, because the risk off personal injury to the crew and potential collision damage is too high for both boats as they rise and fall differently in the wave action. You need to have the ability to tow to sheltered water to transfer, by casting a line from a close but safe distance.
A towing harness/line can be set up (pre-determined tow boat) running inside the D bolt stem fitting with a large diameter rope (or shackled webbing strap) held in place on the topsides (half way between the waterline and the gunnel) from line at 90 deg. to mid-ship and stern cleats.
Deck cleats are always backed underneath with either thick ply or plate alloy or SS.
The harness is one continuous length right around the boat and meet at a point 2 metres behind the transom where shackled through spliced loops, forming a bridle.
The towing line, depending on the sea conditions, is ideally 200 feet long, providing an amount of stretch as well as creating an appropiate distance between both boats.
mal555
07-08-2011, 01:30 PM
People just have to remember that towing with an outboard is fraught with danger for the motor - good way to burn a piston unless just literally above idle only and even then its risky. I would do it though if someone was in real danger or only 50m or so from the ramp etc.
I've heard this as well ozscott, but not so sure.
Commercial workboat operators cane the outboards for years.
I'm in the industry, and have used OB powered workboats to do some very hard work, from being secured alongside dredgers, pushing 100 foot pile frames into position, relocating large marina based boats to slipways etc.
I've had the little 75hp 2 st. Merc. sitting at WOT against a 100 tonne barge for 10 minutes continuously, it is propped down, but still going strong-ish after 8 years, working full days.
It's been fully submerged in sea water for 12 hours, that was 4 years ago, and still running fine, a really tough little unit that is always pushing or pulling something of significant weight.
Of course a bit smokey when the stern is against the wind, but you get over it.
There are a number of commercial operators (fast passenger carriers, oyster farmers, ab divers, port authourities etc) selling their motors after 1000 hours to the public, which would have no doubt been pushed well beyond 'normal' operating perimeters.
07-08-2011, 04:25 PM
Its the lugging matey. If you can still achieve WOT with the tow load then I cant see the issue providing its not lugging, but most outboards wouldnt come close to WOT with the tow.
AnthonyL
07-08-2011, 09:25 PM
I am a member of and on crew at Vicky Point VMR and have had to be towed myself recently when we got stuck at Mud Island one night.
Since we launch mostly from Moreton Bay Boat Club at Manly I am going to join Coastgaurd there too.
dodgyone
07-08-2011, 09:56 PM
Im a skipper with one of the WA VMR's. Fortunately never needed assistance as I would find it hard to live down if it was something minor. (or the Etec blew up)
07-08-2011, 10:24 PM
Krikey this thread has rizen from the dead with a vengance......2007.
anyway.
That bloke who rowed for 6 hours If it was from the hybers.....why din't he row for 15 minutes till he got into the shallows then walk home??
VMR & coast guard are great....but what do you do where there is no coverage......ya know there is no rescue service in Darwin except the police.
there is plenty of coast with no coverage..how about in the dams and inland rivers.
dodgyone
08-08-2011, 09:34 AM
Coast guard in Darwin now.
08-08-2011, 09:45 AM
I wouldnt be keen to tow someone in with my boat due to possible damage, but I would help any other way I could. I did come across some kids drifting out of Raby bay on a jet ski once and towed them in with my kayak.
almost any trailer boat will tow another trailer boat (or bigger) without any damge, this has been covered many times before, the tip is to take it slow, floor the throttle and you are in deep poo, a decent rope and a slow tow will see you get another boat well out of danger, whether you keep towing or call the authorities is your call, I have towed a boat in from the shelf, well over 30 miles, but it just took a long time, the owner had called the local Coast Gaurd and they met us about 5 miles from the harbour. By the way, we (in NSW) do not need to join the VMR/Coast Guard/Marine Rescue, they do not charge anything to tow or help, whether this is a good or bad thing is open to debate, they operate on a voluntary setup, but most offer some money to cover expenses if assistance is needed (but some don't on course)
mustang5
08-08-2011, 10:06 AM
I have required 2 tows in the past.
First time the old yammy threw a piston I called my mate who owns a 3.7m tinny and towed our 21ft Haines home at 3knts with a 25hp Merc. Luckily it was only in a river but still took an hour haha!.
Second time was with the Gladstone VMR who towed me from the north entrance to the marina. luckily I was a member so the cost was covered for the short trip. I was told the cost of a tow without membership from North West Island was something around the $1200 mark in fuel :O
$70 for membership now, as the price has gone up for Gladstone. Well worth double that when you think about it.
09-08-2011, 08:33 PM
Noel - just above a fast idle is ok it seems. A very reputable Merc dealer mechanic (that I trust) told me that trying to go harder is a recipe fora burnt piston.
Captain Seaweed
10-08-2011, 07:19 PM
as a member of a particular VMR are you covered at all the VMR's in the event of a tow? or just the one your a member of.
timddo
10-08-2011, 08:00 PM
I am with coastguard. Statewide coverage.
$55. Can't beat that for value.
I have had to get a tow due to my clumsiness. But that's another story
I have toeed twi boats in so calmer may be on my side.
However a deckie on a rope towing me back is interesting.
rocklobster
10-08-2011, 08:37 PM
When i renewed the insurance on my boat last year one of the questions the insurance people asked was "was i with a marine rescue group" this saved me approx $100 ,The insurance company was Suncorp . The VMR charge was $99 Also donations to these guys i think are tax deductable if you are looking for justification . It should be compulsory for all of the boating public who use their craft in offshore waters to pay an annual premium similar to the ambulance service with our rates, I towed a boat for 4 hours one day from 50 Nm out . Only did 16nm before night fell ,sea turned and got very ugly and then the VMR turned up . Longest trip of my life . Support these people or they too will dissapear .
johncar
11-08-2011, 09:24 AM
as a member of a particular VMR are you covered at all the VMR's in the event of a tow? or just the one your a member of.
I think most of them will rociprocate if you are a member of another unit, but just check the conditions of that when you join up.