PDA

View Full Version : mud tyres in sand

seameter
11-12-2007, 01:59 PM
Hi.
I am only fairly new to 4wding and I am only just getting into it now that i have a couple of mates who also have fourbies. At the moment my rodeo is just running on 235/75/ 15 simex at tyres and I am not a fan of these. In the past I have mainly done sand driving on moreton / fraser but now i am looking to expand into other types as well. My question is if I put chunkier tyres on such as BF Goodrich mud terrain is the car still going to go ok in the sand. If they will not what do people recommend I do?. I am also after a bit more height in my rodeo. does anybody know a good tyre size for the 2.8TD rodeo which will help lift the car up a little.

Blackened
11-12-2007, 03:52 PM
G'day

I also have a 2.8 TD rodeo, 2001 dual cab tray back.

The biggest size you can go on standard rims are 225/75R16, this is legally.

Anything bigger, look @ suspension, My consensus is the rodeo was never meant to be a lifted 4x4, there's just enough clearance there standard anyway.

Dave

seameter
11-12-2007, 05:37 PM
I should mention that the rodeo has a 45mm front lift and a 50mm rear lift and sits on 15x7 steel rims

Tailortaker
11-12-2007, 07:59 PM
I'm not sure but with the lift you get awy with 33's if not 32's, as for muddies on the sand you'll have no dramas.
Cheers TT

Benny01
11-12-2007, 09:19 PM
muddies are crap on sand. they dig nice holes

Taipan
11-12-2007, 10:47 PM
I had BFG muddies on my old Patrol and had no drama's on sand, If I defalted the tyres.

Poodroo
12-12-2007, 07:00 AM
I agree with Benny01. Mud tyres with aggressive tread patterns tent to allow wheel spin and they grab the sand and shovel it behind them resulting in nice trenches. If you let down the tyre pressures you can probably still get through but I think A/T's are the best for all round use.

Poodroo

ozscott
12-12-2007, 07:04 AM