View Full Version : Building a rod

Damian G
07-12-2007, 08:46 AM
Hey guys i just need some help on building a rod/reel... i was wondering what would be best for a snapper/boat rod at about the $60-70 mark

thnx

ryansrods
07-12-2007, 09:48 AM
your not gonna get much for 60-70 bucs

rockfisho
07-12-2007, 11:37 AM
You'd get a better rod at the mart with a K than building it under that buget. I'm about to build a heavy surf/ rock rod. My blank alone will be around $70, and the components and rollers will add up to about $120. You pay a high retail mark up on components.

If you manage to find a way to build a good quality rod at that price please tell me how.

Owen

07-12-2007, 01:46 PM
You can turn a Samurai NV7 blank into an excellent snapper rod, however it will cost you more than $70 perhaps double that.

Ready made off the shelf rods are OK. You will get value for money if you shop around... but building them yourself....you won't beat that sense of achievement, true story!

Everyone here will be more than happy to lend a hand.

What ever you decide, good luck.

roz :)

BenatCoffs
08-12-2007, 05:34 PM
Hey guys i just need some help on building a rod/reel... i was wondering what would be best for a snapper/boat rod at about the $60-70 mark

thnx

The 'best' at around $60/$70 would be (IMO)

Kilwell SB7 Blank = $34.20 or FM686 @ $29.15
10" Straight EVA $4
4" Straight EVA $2
DPSM Reel Seat $7.86
BNLG30 = $7.28
BNLG20 = $4.07
BNLG10 = $1.76
BNLG8 x 4 = $6.20
BPLT8 tip = $2.75

Total = $70.12

Prices 'quoted' are from my local, the website of which is banned from Ausfish :P

If you don't already have thread, epoxy (adhesive and finish) sealer, brushes etc then this will take up a sizeable portion of the budget too (the component cost of that rod is your budget already...)

Would be a decent stick though, but far from the 'best' of the 'best' of course, but given your budget...

Keechie
08-12-2007, 06:24 PM
hi i am going to build a rod over the school holidays. the rod i am building is a 1-2 kilogram soft plastic / hardbodied rod and it adds up to $197 that includes the $75 samurai blank and a fuji alconite kit valued at $81.

regards,
keechie

09-12-2007, 08:02 PM
G'day Keechie.
Mate good on ya' for giving it a go, hope you enjoy the process and catch heaps of fish with it! Should be a great little stick!

storchy
22-12-2007, 10:26 PM
Hi Guys am just getting into the rod building process myself, have bought a 1 to 3 kg spin samarai blank and fuji guides from Mo tac and have got some bits and pieces together to build a rod lathe and dryer, was wondering what are some good books with lots of detail about rod building, weaving and wrapping etc, i feel i would gain more by building rods myself than by spending huge dollars on custom built rods by others, cheers

23-12-2007, 05:42 AM
Hi storchy, welcome to Ausfish.
Check out this US site thoroughly.
www.rodbuilding.org (http://www.rodbuilding.org)
An absolute mine of useful info.
Good on ya' for building your own, lots of fun ahead!

storchy
23-12-2007, 12:03 PM
THANKS Nigelr have been doing heaps of research and looking at the web sites around the place just finished cleaning up an old fishing rod for the old man came up a treat, looking forward to posting some pics when i start the new one hopefully you all might be able to help out with some ideas when i get going on it. cheers