PDA

View Full Version : My new troublesom sounder

MitchCalcutt
03-12-2007, 08:47 PM
Hi every one,
I have never looked in Electronics before and have some interesting reading.
I unfortunately have an issue with a sounder and the service centre to which I sent it for repairs.
I won’t mention the name of the offending manufacturer or the 737 model # just in case it eventually comes back working.

If you were to purchase a product from USA because it had a world wide warrantee and you saved $500 by purchasing it there, you would expect that world wide coverage would include other countries including Australia. If you thought that, then you would be wrong.
My spiffy new sounder came from Fishfinder in the USA, as I remarked I saved $500 by getting it over the net. With that saving; who in there right mind would get one from here. The sounder arrived 7 days later to my glee. As I am an electronics technician I read instructions carefully before installing it. After the system had been installed I followed the instructions to the letter as best I could, given the instructions weren’t designed to help anyone.
Power up nothing
Pulled the plug and tried again nothing
Replaced the battery with a much bigger battery and tried again with some results that weren’t encouraging. After an hour I began to get the s---‘s and gave up,

I most defiantly could go on for hours about how have been d—ked around by H--------- in both Australia and the USA but I won’t.

I do have a point though; don’t let this story get you down about getting items over the net, the money you save out weighs the remote chance you will encounter a problem with your item. If you purchase from here, get the salesperson to hook the system up to a power supply while your there and make sure it works. Warrantees on products purchased over seas will never be repairable in Australia regardless of what the manufacturer says on the packaging.