PDA

View Full Version : Converting Estuarine Fish to Freshwater

Baron01
03-12-2007, 12:17 PM
Hello to you all from a new member!

I have been keeping freshwater (tropical) aquariums for a few years now, & have recently started to think about setting up a native aquarium. I was originally going to stock some local black bream (freshwater or only just brackish) but have been reading several posts where people talk about converting saltwater fish to freshwater (bream, flathead, whiting).

I live right on a creek in the Newcastle area (so no problems getting the fish!) but i was wondering if anyone might be willing to put up some info on the process of converting the fish.

My main questions would be about tank filtration (what sorts) and conversion times (hours/days/weeks?)

If anyone could let me know how they have gone about this sort of thing it would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

Cammy
06-12-2007, 06:24 AM
hey mate remember to not take undersize fish.
also u can by bream in pet shops for like 20 bucks, yellowfin.

i have never done it before but i am also interested, i heard that u set the tank up with salt water from the sea and gradually add fresh water in once every 2 days.- just take a little salt out then add fresh, there are heaps of methods of doing it. im sure u will get more infomation.

cam

Baron01
06-12-2007, 11:42 AM
Thanks for the reply Cam,

There are a few commercial fish farms in the area that stock bream (and other natives) off and on, but I have never seen them in any of the local fish shops (apart from a few sad looking barra and overpriced eeltailed cats). Apart from having a native tank with a few nice looking fish I'm looking to try this so I can go through the process of catching my own wild fish for my tanks. It would be cool to be able to say I collected my own fish for my displays, and I suppose i might be trying to save a few $$$ in the process too.