PDA

View Full Version : Archerfish

k.masci
28-11-2007, 09:06 AM
Hi there,

My name is Kate Masci and I'm a research student at Griffith Uni in Brisbane. I'm trying to get into contact with fishermen/women or commercial barra charters who potentially catch archerfish. My project is focussed on archerfish from across their entire range in Australia (WA to Qld). I use genetic methods to look at the movement of fish between rivers. I also want to look at how the different species of archerfish are related to each other. If you catch archerfish regularly and think you can help me out or would like more information please email me (k.masci@griffith.edu.au) or reply to this post.

Thanks alot in advance,
Kate

Scott nthQld
28-11-2007, 01:40 PM
Hi Kate,

I would like to help, but don't catch them regularly, they are usually pretty few and far between. If I do get one, I would like to help, just let me knwo what to do.

Cheers

Scott

k.masci
29-11-2007, 12:18 PM
Hi Scott,

Thanks a lot for your reply. Townsville is getting near the end of their range which is why they're not really common there, but it's also an important place for me to get samples, so that I can see how far these fish can move around Australia. Do you always fish in the same area when you go fishing?

I can send you a little sampling kit which will fit in a tackle box in case you catch any. The kit contains a few tubes filled with ethanol, some labels, a pair of scissors, a pair of tweezers and a little data sheet to fill out. If you catch a fish all you have to do is cut about a 1cmx1cm piece off the anal fin (the fin under the belly of the fish) and put it straight into the ethanol. If you catch more than one individual in the same place the fins can go in the same tube.

On the labels all I need is the date and the creek or river where the fish was caught.