PDA

View Full Version : Salt in Optimax

Vitamin Sea
26-11-2007, 04:50 PM
Hi all

Took the lid off the Opti this afternoon for a look see, have not done so for quite a while.

Have noticed, well you can't miss it, a lot of crystallized salt on the motor, now i'm no outboard mechanic but I know that can't be good for anything.

Sprayed a fair bit of WD 40 over it, as that's all I had.

For those who don't know it's a 200hp, 60hrs on the clock.

Do you have any ideas as to what I should spray it with and possible prevention.

Thanks

Bill

Blackened
26-11-2007, 05:06 PM
G'day

Bill, go and grab yourself some salt-x.

I think bias may have it, wellington point marine definatly does.

Follow with inox as WD40 has been known to have some adverse effects on some rubber/insulation.

Dave

Vitamin Sea
26-11-2007, 06:05 PM
Thanks Dave

I was going to get some inox tomorrow as that is the prefered, think I've seen salt-x at bias, will see.

Quite a bit getting in, a bit unnerving.

Don't know why they have the air vent in the cowl, I assume cooling? don't know.

Cheers

Bill

bluefin59
26-11-2007, 06:16 PM
Just a thought i have a 60hp merc and it took a bit of spray in through the trim switch on the side of the motor the water came of my transducer i was running a 1kw lowrance and didnt notice until much later all i did is pull the switch out and put a little silicone around it then reinstalled it . It is held in with a tin plate thingy ihope that makes sense i ended up putting a transducer cover on as well ...matt

disorderly
26-11-2007, 06:23 PM
Yeah Bill the inox will do the trick.
I also noticed that some spray or salt air was getting into the E-Tec early on as I noticed a bolt head with white deposits on it.
Was also recommended inox and seems to be working.
bluefin 59 makes a good point as I also had problems with a transducer kicking up a bit of a rooster tail of water.Gotta watch that.

Scott

Vitamin Sea
26-11-2007, 07:40 PM
Thanks Scott and Matt