View Full Version : 23ft sharkcat

Homer_Jay
23-11-2007, 04:14 PM
Anyone seen the 23 sharkcat on ebay for sale??

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=220174338479&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=012

I went and had a look at it today. Its a fair bit tired and has had a few dodgy repairs and a paint job. The trailer needs work and it has electric brakes that are probably stuffed, even though the owner says they work.
One of the outboards has thrown a rod through the block and the other one is a bit of an unknown.

But all in all its the basis of a good project. At the right price.

What do you cat experts think its worth???

shano
23-11-2007, 05:35 PM
no !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!
but i will have a look!:)

Dean1
23-11-2007, 08:41 PM
Did you see its on boatpoint 4 sale 4 $33'500?

northernblue
23-11-2007, 08:44 PM
Did you see its on boatpoint 4 sale 4 $33'500?

Best news I've heard all day :D

Homer_Jay
23-11-2007, 10:30 PM
Yeah seen it on boat point.

Its not worth that, and the owner knows it.

24-11-2007, 12:26 AM
No expert at all but a few ideas- find out the boats history.

More of a family set out than a fishing rig.

Not a lot of full enclosed cabin ones around. That would weigh a lot and with all that glass on a shark it might be a bit nose heavy and a slug with 150-200 l of fuel each side, water and house batteries on board. Be interested in how the bloke says it performed. I hope you have something big to tow that rig as a original shark cat triaxel trailer with rollers in steel for a 23 footer was 980kg with alloy rims. Boat would go 2 tones.

Check with someone about them misting the motors with that rig set up as a lot that ran smaller power killed motors unless set up right. They chew bearings , salt score bores and throw rods if left standing between use.

It is a very expensive boat to replace (like $80k for the hull and trailer min) and he is right about a rerig required and I would up the motor size. You are going to have to watch the transom weight on a rerig so new generation 2 strokes or suzuki 140 4 strokes . Motor cost alone is more like 16 grand at least.

Hopefully someone here has been on a full cabin one as most would have been patrol boats I guess. No one else could afford them. You really have to check em well for rot at that age and the quality of prior repairs.

Price - work backwards- whats it worth as a smick unit repowered with a pair of zuk 140s 4st as they were light or etecs about 3-4 years old with lowhours

Finished $45K????????
Motors $16k
Fitting out and cosmetics $2K
Trailer repairs and Brakes $4300
paint $2200
Electrical??

Rough numbers and you are already back at $20500???? if everything else is OK. You have to work out what it is worth finished and work backwards so you don't overcapitalise.

Can't afford to overpay as it is a bit of a specialist boat with a full cabin so harder to sell due to trailering weight but rare as it is a outboard rig not the volvo deisel duoprop. Been in th eduoprop and they are a bit slow unless upgraded but handeled ok. Never quite felt like they were going fast enough.

Let us know what you find out.

Homer_Jay
24-11-2007, 06:06 AM
Thanks Cormorant,

thats along the lines I was thinking. And like i said, its definatly abit tired. There are alot of bits and pieces around the boat that are broken or just been neglected.

The layout is actually the one that I like. There is still a surprising amount of fishing space. they are a big boat.

I have spent alot of time on one with twin 150 4stroke yammies and i think this is about the ideal power for one. But expensive motors and hard to find a good pair secondhand.

I am worried about the rot. The previous owner has replaced the floor on the back deck only (and done a pretty dodgy job at that) so the cabin floor hasnt been touched.

They are a monster boat on the trailer. Lucky i only have about 1 km to tow to the boat ramp, otherwise i probably would never even consider such a boat.

gavsgonefishing
24-11-2007, 08:01 AM
I reckon with something like that you are buying the hull and a trailer which will need repair.

I would of said it would need to be repowered with at least 175 s (Iseen them powered with 200's).

I assume that everything is stuffed, and if anything is reusable, thats a bonus.

I also assume that you are quite handy, so you will be doing a lot of the work yourself, because you wouldnt take on a project like this (cost too much) to outsource the work required.

I reckon he under eastimated the trailer repairs, probably closer to 2000.00
glass repair and respray depending on the seriousness of the repairs (floor ok?)
2000-3000

electrics, always needs to be pulled out and start again 1000.00

Hydraulics OK Ihope

taking into account that you will be buying the gps/sounder for it, average 2000

You would have to go 4 strokes for the economy of the thing, so 20-30k

rough figures, I reckon its going to cost in total 50 000 to get in the water.

The boat is only worth what you want to put into it, they are rarely a money making exercise

Gav

youngfisho
24-11-2007, 11:10 AM
on another note, there is a 5.2m kevlacat 1991 in the boat yard at boats galore, bundaberg. Just itching for a repower. currently has to 90hp yammies which are on the stuffed side. Current price is 33k with a new, sensabrake trailer. Would be a good rig to purchase and repower. Dealers are suzuki stockists, would be a winner with twin 70 suzis on the back.

andrew

hungry6
24-11-2007, 12:19 PM
To me it looked like a bargain, but all in all you would have to try and get it as cheap as posible, not at $33k. but she would be a very nice boat when finished with all new motor, lectronic and best of all, you would know where everything went.
Ask pete Grand Marlin, that's if he has already got his eye peeled on it already.
Haha, I can just imagine Pete salivating over this one.

Homer_Jay
24-11-2007, 06:55 PM
Thanks guys,

Not really interested in a smaller cat. As I like to go away for weekends I need a boat thats has comfortable sleeping acomm.

Im not wanting to sell the boat and make money. So not too worried about a little overcapitalisation.

Just really not sure of the exact figure its worth. Not much to compare it too.

Grand_Marlin
25-11-2007, 07:41 AM
G'day Homer,

There have been a few around lately - some with outboards, most with diesels.

They range between $35,000 & $55,000.

Even the $55,000 ones haven't been in pristine condition.

Something like the one you are looking at, tidied up but not completely rebuilt, with newer motors should be in the mid $40's

Most of the advice / prices from others is correct.

On the trailer you could spend a bit of money - springs, brakes etc etc etc could run out to 5 grand, depending on the condition.

The weight is a concern. I have the same boat but with the diesel and it weighs 3.68 tonne without leg, without fuel and without any gear onboard.
In full fishing trim (with 800 litres of fuel) it will be a 5 tonne boat on trailer.
Therefore it is way outside the realm of the Landcruiser to tow it.

I disagree with the comments re: weight on back.
The 23 carries weight well, and 200hp 4 strokes would be ideal.
150's would be a miniumum, under that is not advised.
You cant compare the diesel to on outboard powered cat, as they are 2 completely different boats for performance / handling.
The cabin weight does not affect them, they are very well balanced.
The fuel tanks are also 3/4 aft.

Personally, I would offer around $20,000 as is.

You cant expect to sell a boat in poor condition for big $$$

bolt64
25-11-2007, 08:15 AM
gidd , yeah ive seen that one too much work for me can anyone give me a comparison between the 5.2 & 6.2 kevlacat as im tossing up between them ?::)

Homer_Jay
25-11-2007, 07:18 PM
Thanks GM,

some good advice. The more I think about it and work out the figures the more I think that $20,000 would be top dollar.

Would be too easy to blow the budget to get it on the water.
I think you could easy spend $5000 on the trailer to bring it up to scratch.

I have towed one before so I know all about the weights involved. But the one I towed didnt have the cabin, so not as much windage to deal with.

northernblue
25-11-2007, 10:31 PM
Yeah, as stated a sensabrake system and axels/springs [tandem] will set you back about $5k + labor.

Rosco4x4
26-11-2007, 03:51 PM
Hey Boys, A top mate of mine "Wadeo" is the man to talk to. He has completed the "23 cat rebuild process" and knows these puppies inside out. I'm sure he could enlighten you on the hidden costs which come about with a project like this. All i can say is that I fish with him and I'ts money well spent.
Ps. I'll get on to wadeo for you.

kozzy cobia
26-11-2007, 07:06 PM
tell him he is dreaming,
this boat could cost you with new 4 stroke motors,paint,repairs,electronics $60,000 to bring it back to pristine condition plus $33,000 for it. you would be far better off waiting to pick up a late mod 2400 ser K.C around $100,000 or a late moddle 2700 Series N.C at $110,000 to $120,000.
I just went through this with the 3100 ser N.C as they hold their value.In the end i ordered a new hull 9 months ago and will be fitting it out my self.

kozzy cobia
26-11-2007, 08:23 PM
the 7m shark cat i fished in is a great boat but towing is a real problem and the fuel bill is a killer at the end of the day with 2 strokes. As a project boat it could blow out dramaticly have you cosidered a 2400Ser K.C. There is one on boat point for $79,000

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/details.aspx?R=2856546

wadeo
27-11-2007, 11:35 PM
Gday homer jay, I have completed a 23' or 7m shark cat rebuild. I purchased mine for 5k on a trailer. It was nothing short of a wreck with a good winscreen and new pods to start the conversion from single inboard to twin out boards. It has been completley rebuild from bulkheads up and now is as good as new at a third of the price of a new one. It owes me 45k finished including purchase cost. It has 2000 mod v6 200 yammies which realy makes it perform and yes 2 strokes they fell well into my budget and arn't to bad on fuel at cruise speed. I dont now anywhere anyone could purchase a cat in new condition in the 7m range for 45k. More like triple that price for a new one. Remember these 23' shark cats make the 2400 kc look small. Grand marlin is very smart when it comes to these cats and nows alot of info about them and could be a key asset should you decide to build one. I do think the cat you are looking at is a little steep in that condition depending on how structurely sound it is. Boats are for enjoyment like cars and motorcycles and are all money pits. Even if it cost you 70 or 80k to finish including purchase you still have a rather cheap 7m cat that will ride every bit as good as any other cat in the same size. they are definetley more of a pain in the ass to tow though. Here are a few pics before and after of my 23 hope this info and my opinion helps .

Wadeo

hinchy
28-11-2007, 06:02 AM
Hi Wadeo

Congratulations,what a transformation,you should be very proud of the finish you have achieved in your boat.A fantastic fishing machine for a very reasonable outlay.

Hinchy

Homer_Jay
28-11-2007, 07:16 AM
Thanks for the info Wadeo,

You should be proud of the transformation to your beast. You got a bargin for 5 grand, the trailer would be worth almost that (looks in reasonable cond)

Yes, the one I am looking at is over priced when you look at what its going to cost to get her up to standard and on the water. When you look around you can get similar boats in alot better cond with reasonable motors for around the $50,000 mark.

An interesting shot of your boat with no floor in it. Did you have to replace all the timber beams running across the width of the boat? or did you just have to put the new floor in? It looks like a real big job if the beams need replacing.

What do you tow yours with anyways??

28-11-2007, 09:37 AM
Wadeo - that boat is a credit to you. What does that cat weigh on the trailer ? Have you got vacuum brakes on that trailer or do you keep it moored?

wadeo
28-11-2007, 02:14 PM
Thanks for the info Wadeo,

You should be proud of the transformation to your beast. You got a bargin for 5 grand, the trailer would be worth almost that (looks in reasonable cond)

Yes, the one I am looking at is over priced when you look at what its going to cost to get her up to standard and on the water. When you look around you can get similar boats in alot better cond with reasonable motors for around the $50,000 mark.

An interesting shot of your boat with no floor in it. Did you have to replace all the timber beams running across the width of the boat? or did you just have to put the new floor in? It looks like a real big job if the beams need replacing.

What do you tow yours with anyways??
Thanks homer jay if only all we had to do was replace cross beams. Bulkheads, tank wells and cross beams were all replaced. We added 2 extra bulkheads each side. Being a single inboard previously meant it had no transoms so each hull had to have a super tough transom built to cope with the pods and outboards. this boat is now 7.7m with a fishing deck of nearly 5.4m. All side pockets are brand new and a totally redesigned door in the side. It features a tidal kill tank where old inboard was bolted in inboard well. Cabin was fully re upolstered. Scored a counter rotating pair of 2000 yammies in excellent nick with all gauges and controls and service history used by DPI at a government auction for $7200 for the pair. I dont care about them being 2 strokes at that price. I tow it with a sooped up nissan navara but live within 3 km from ramp although i have towed her to brissie once. It was moored originally but couldn't afford or justify the very dear cost of mooring.
regards wadeo

wadeo
28-11-2007, 02:22 PM
Wadeo - that boat is a credit to you. What does that cat weigh on the trailer ? Have you got vacuum brakes on that trailer or do you keep it moored?
Thanks Greg we put it on the scales before outboards were bolted on and before fuel in tanks or safety gear. It was 2.3t on the trailer then with a certificate. Would imagine now would be about 3t with outboards and some fuel and safety gear. I went with electric drum brakes as they were about 4k cheaper and brake all six wheels with a break away system. After nine mnths they are still going strong
regards wadeo

boatboy50
29-11-2007, 07:07 PM
Wadeo,

Very nice job. A credit to you and shows you can get a great boat on a budget.

Very informative posts which inspire me yat again to get into the projects.

5k was great buying for the hull and trailer, even if it was half shot.

A credit to you that i'm sure youre proud of with every use. That's a boat you genuinely could have for the rest of your life happily.