19-11-2007, 08:20 AM
I am after pots or even the frame
I KNOW CRAB'N'GEAR HAS THEM
but someone might have some sitting around
thanks8-)

bondy99
19-11-2007, 04:57 PM
Welcome to the club Spiro, I've been trying to get some myself. I don't have a boat though. After the spanner crab closure is lifted is there an opportunity to go out and drop a few off and see what we can get?.

I just need to know how much rope to get for each pot and then a few decent floats. I've been off Straddie a few years ago but dont know what depth it was or the line working on.

19-11-2007, 11:40 PM
Theres allways a chance of a trip, just allways change my mind and go offshore if the weather is going to be that good. I will keep you in mind.

craigie
20-11-2007, 03:34 PM
G'day Spirro,

Mate, I have some sitting around but that's cause I don't have a big boat to get out and use them.
Very rare to come by, so I ended up getting a few from Mike at Crab'n'gear. Got some big round ones that work well.

Not selling, but offering my gear (and gps marks) if you need an extra deck hand when you do chase some spanners.

Craigie.

20-11-2007, 11:47 PM
See how we go after the 20th of December Craigie and Peter pm phone numbers.

bondy99
21-11-2007, 10:48 PM
G'day Spiro

Just sent you a pm. Peter

wayneoro
24-11-2007, 06:06 AM
big unit has some for sale [pro ones] he said pm him

bondy99
24-11-2007, 08:21 PM
I'm going to buy some from CrabNGear, also 500m of rope, and a few floats, but that wont happen until after 20th December.

sempre
25-11-2007, 07:21 PM
Yeh i've got 6 Chris , but you can't have em.
Sorry about the gee up , had to do it .
Heard you had a good trip the other night .

bondy99
25-11-2007, 10:28 PM
G'day Spiro I might make up a few myself on top just in case the others go astray. I think 500 Metres of 4mm silver rope should be enough for 6 traps. Peter

26-11-2007, 05:25 AM
Yeah that should be fine. I have a shallow set of marks{35-40m} aswell as a deeper set of marks {50-55m}

wayneoro
26-11-2007, 07:48 AM
i bought those spring up pots from crab in gear they are top pots real top job they did havent used them yet

bondy99
27-11-2007, 11:07 AM
G'day Wayneoro. I don't think those spring up pots are ideal for spanner crabs, the only ones I've seen used , proven and successful are the rectangular interweaved mesh types.

I guess as an experiment you could try it and see how it goes. Peter

bondy99
27-11-2007, 11:11 AM
Spiro,

Thanks for letting me know the depth, there should be enough rope in that coil to cover it, I think 330m 4mm thick, I'll double check. With the pots, I'm not sure I'll have all 6 of them , I'm trying to get these a bit at a time. Not many dollars getting Austudy allowance.

Out of curiosity Spiro, how big is your boat? Peter

bondy99
29-11-2007, 12:07 PM
Spiro,

Just to let you know, I have placed an order for 4 spanner crab dillies, 1200mm x 800mm from Crab'n'gear, will be picking up on Monday 17th December. With the rope, do you recommend 330 metres of green rope (6mm thick) or 500 metres of silver rope (4 mm thick)?

At least 4 ordered for now and probably another 4 will be ordered in January.

Pm your phone number.
Cheers, Peter.

craigie
29-11-2007, 05:46 PM
BONDY99,

6MM rope !! 4mm starts to cut your hands after a while when your pulling it up from such depths.
Not sure what you are paying for the rope ?

I would have a look at glasscraft marine & Chandlery or ATS Nets & Ropes before buying rope elsewhere. From memory Glasscraft were doing 330m spools of 6mm Silver (thats the brand not the colour !) Rope for around $60 ?
ATS should do you a good deal on a 400m spool of 6mm green (that is the colour this time) rope.

Craigie.

bondy99
29-11-2007, 05:56 PM
G'day Craigie,

Ok 6mm rope, 330M for about $40.00 from CrabNGear. I know ATS, I'll have a chat to the guys at that place, I think they are still at 8 Brewer St, Clontarf. Silver rope I normally associate as it as being light and floats (sort of). I'll have a chat to ATS on a 400m spool of green, if they can beat the offer what CrabNgear is offering then I'll grab it. Happy crabbing to be done. Been a longtime since I've done spanner crabbing. Let's hope Spiro is checking this site. Peter

crab man
01-12-2007, 03:24 PM
Hey Bondy99 Not 100% sure but i think you only aloud 1 spanner crab trap per person to be only hand pulled and only aloud one trap per line. worth checking out mate im 90% sure this is the rule. And ofcourse as you know crabbing is aloud from mid night the 20th (so from the 21st you could say!) Good Luck Fellas if it were me i would /will be starting in 50mts

02-12-2007, 08:58 PM
Crab man are you sure of that rule? I will have to check up cause i think it is 4 traps per person. I hope im right because there is a few people besides myself that use 4 each.

bondy99
02-12-2007, 10:23 PM
Spanner crabs I think is more than than 1 pot per person, The last time I went out was 4 years ago. maybe longer and it was 4 per person then, I'll check tomorrow with Fisheries Regs, I'm sure it has not changed.

bondy99
02-12-2007, 10:35 PM
G'day Spiro, Craggie and Crab Man (Craig),

According to my research with Qld DPIF Website, Spiro and I are both correct, it is 4 pots per person, I have attached the weblink for authentication plus a cut and paste of their wording.

Crabbing gear

Crab pots and dillies
In tidal waters, when fishing for blue swimmer crabs, mud crabs and spanner crabs no more than four crab pots or dillies (or a combination of pots and dillies) may be used per person. Crab pots and dillies must be marked by an identifying tag bearing the surname and address of the owner. When not fixed to something they must have a light-coloured surface #oat attached, not less than 15 cm in any dimension, with the name of the owner clearly inscribed on it.

When fishing for spanner crabs the frame of an inverted dilly must be made of solid steel of a thickness of at least 6 mm and no more than 1 m in each of its dimensions. An inverted dilly net must be multifilament. If a collapsible trap is used it must be made of rigid material and have one or more collapsible sides.

http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/xchg/dpi/hs.xsl/28_3065_ENA_HTML.htm (http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/xchg/dpi/hs.xsl/28_3065_ENA_HTML.htm)

I'm sure there will be no more doubts. Peter

bondy99
04-12-2007, 01:36 PM
G'day Spiro,

Are you still going out after the 20th Dec?

04-12-2007, 11:33 PM
i can only hope, but as normal it's weather permitting......

crab man
05-12-2007, 07:20 PM
Hi Sprio , Maybe its diff in QLD im a commerical fishermen here in nsw (spanner crabber) and according to NSW fisheries its 1 per person to be hand pulled with a max of one dillie attached to each rope, dillie size a max of 1m x 1.6 m Cheers Craig

bondy99
05-12-2007, 10:45 PM
i can only hope, but as normal it's weather permitting......

No worries Spiro, weather is the key factor, I just hope I have my gear ready by the time it's ready. Peter

bondy99
05-12-2007, 10:49 PM
Hi Sprio , Maybe its diff in QLD im a commerical fishermen here in nsw (spanner crabber) and according to NSW fisheries its 1 per person to be hand pulled with a max of one dillie attached to each rope, dillie size a max of 1m x 1.6 m Cheers Craig

G'day Craig

I use to work on Fortuna II when she was based at Port Stephens. Going out to Taupo and Barco Sea Mounts.

Qld Regs are different to NSW, Check my post I've included the link to Qld's Department of Primary Industries and Fisheries. Peter

bondy99
09-12-2007, 02:06 PM
12 days to go before the closure is lifted and still waiting for my orders to be made, the way things are, could be January 2008 sometime. Peter

outsiderskip
12-12-2007, 05:03 AM
crabs are linning up
if u got any room
would love to catch some spanner
with u for a feed for xmass

pete

crab man
13-12-2007, 08:02 AM
outsiderskipis it Malcom.M is it champ?

13-12-2007, 09:41 AM
Malcom.M is it champ?

HEAD LIKE A SPARK PLUG?;D

crab man
13-12-2007, 12:29 PM
like a warn spark plug yes :)

bondy99
13-12-2007, 03:31 PM
G'day outsiderskip (Pete). Merry Christmas. Spiro, I still have not heard from CrabNGear about the traps I've ordered, might be after Christmas, possibly middle January now. Peter

14-12-2007, 12:42 AM
Well my plans might be out the door then too

bondy99
14-12-2007, 09:09 AM
Spiro,

What's happening at your end or are you waiting on me to get these traps? Peter

14-12-2007, 11:36 PM
nah i spoke to them at the Sunny Coast boat show and they said 2 days is ample for them to make them....i got a couple here.

bondy99
15-12-2007, 10:27 PM
nah i spoke to them at the Sunny Coast boat show and they said 2 days is ample for them to make them....i got a couple here.

G'day Spiro

Hmmm, looks like they told you one thing and I was told something else. I spoke to someone on the phone and placed my order in, the character I was speaking with said they had quite a few orders and might take about 2 weeks or so. I did say my deadline was the 19th December to have these ready. I have ordered 3 + 330 Metres of 6mm rope + floats.

They were suppose to call me when they're ready to collect but have not heard back as yet. That was the reason why I mentioned it might be January at the earliest. I'll give them a call on the 20th December. Still waiting for your phone number Spiro, (if you have one). Peter

bondy99
17-12-2007, 11:24 PM
Spiro, you reckon it might be a goer after the 20th or no go for a few extra weeks. Peter

bondy99
21-12-2007, 11:24 PM
G'day Spiro,

Looks like it's no go for me in December. It will be middle January before I get my pots. Do you think you might be going in January 2008? Peter

bondy99
15-01-2008, 12:17 AM
Bugger it, December was crap, January is out with heavy seas and gale force winds, I'll get those spanner crab pots in February, They'll need to be used. Peter

outsiderskip
15-01-2008, 02:05 PM
bondy 99
hi pete
season will be over by the time u get them

bondy99
16-01-2008, 04:05 PM
outsiderskip,

G'day Peter.

They should be still around, there's a few spots inside morton bay somewhere but the person in the know is shy about telling me where it is. Always next year I guess.

bondy99
22-01-2008, 04:53 PM
Spiro,

Just got a phone call today from Crab'N'Gear to say there was a stuff up in their paperwork and my spanner traps are ready to collect. I'll be picking them up at the end of this month or 2nd week into February. The weather has been crappy for fishing but the rain was desperately needed. I'll give you a call later , Peter