View Full Version : Live Bait Tanks

Seahorse
15-11-2007, 06:58 PM
Iam looking at the most ecomimical way of making a bait tank for the boat.
I was thinking about buying small esky and putting in one of those kits that i saw in bias catologue. I didnt want to make it permament, but have room to put something on back of transom, as on the stacer its ver 500mm wide.
Does anyone have one?

ashh
15-11-2007, 07:13 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=108211&highlight=live+bait+tank

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=112279&highlight=live+bait+tank

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=106284&highlight=live+bait+tank

;D

Vindicator
15-11-2007, 07:25 PM
You're on the right track with the esky. Its cheap and if your not going to use it all the time you can leave it at home. Just don't go too cheap and buy one of the old styro eskies::)

Kezza

frankgrimes
15-11-2007, 07:28 PM
Iam looking at the most ecomimical way of making a bait tank for the boat.
I was thinking about buying small esky and putting in one of those kits that i saw in bias catologue. I didnt want to make it permament, but have room to put something on back of transom, as on the stacer its ver 500mm wide.
Does anyone have one?

Hey Greg,

Bunnings have a 25lt "drum", with rubber sealed lid and handy bung at the bottom - Perfect for a livie tank! There called a "Open Head Camper Drum", and are in the pool section...cost is like $20...as to how to plumb it up, Ash had some good links for ya! ;)

Seahorse
15-11-2007, 07:43 PM
Thanks mick. I will go and have a look.
Kezza. I was just thinking of getting one from kmart, but the drum sounds good.
Ash- Thanks mate. just had a look. Just need to sit down and draw something up

greg

15-11-2007, 07:48 PM
in the small boats ive had, i just run one of those "plano" live bait buckets
i never had a drama with keeping baits alive, the trick is to put the bucket under the cage, then lift it into the boat for travel. inexpenssive and effient.
the only draw back is the amount of livies you can keep.

Seahorse
15-11-2007, 08:41 PM
Lippa
Whats the deal with the plano tanks?
How they work?

frankgrimes
15-11-2007, 08:49 PM
Hey Greg,

Bunnings have a 25lt "drum", with rubber sealed lid and handy bung at the bottom - Perfect for a livie tank! There called a "Open Head Camper Drum", and are in the pool section...cost is like $20...as to how to plumb it up, Ash had some good links for ya! ;)

Here's a pic of one fyr....I've kept 5+ big yakkas alive in one of these for a whole day without a problem(with battery operated aerator)

15-11-2007, 08:50 PM
they are basicly a bucket with holes in it, that designed to sit inside a solid bucket. the idea is to catch ur live bait and put it in the "inner" bucket. at rest you tie the inner bucket off the side of the boat, underway it sits inside the other bucket, which is full of water.
http://www.planomolding.com/content/index.cfm?siteaction=product&lineid=4&groupid=6&sectionid=19&partid=116

like the one in the link

they sell em a Blokes Cant Fish

Seahorse
15-11-2007, 09:06 PM
Thanks mick,
Thanks lippa.
Had no trouble catching livies today buy only stay alive very short time in bucket.
Looks like my weekend project.

greg

1975fflh
16-11-2007, 07:32 PM
Hi Mate

I used an old esky the boiss lady wanted to throw out, just grabbed the cheapest bilge pump i could find (about $15) the went to harware shop got some pvc pipe a bend and a t piece drilled a few hole in the bit that goes in the t piece wired a on off swirch stuck it on the side coneccted a small 12 volt 7 amp hour battery (that was kicking around and its great for the live bait . Oh I painted the white inside of the eskywith some darl spaycan paint that was in the shed. ,