PDA

View Full Version : Trim & tilt gauge

ovakil
09-11-2007, 07:38 PM
I'm going to redo dash on my boat,and unsure whether I should put the trim gauge back in.It hasn't worked since I've had boat.The last owner showed me whist test driving to look out back to see there was no spray coming up from motor.
Should I get gauge fixed?
What do most people do?
As I'm fairly new to boat's as well.
Thanks

shappy
09-11-2007, 07:49 PM
g'day ovakil, about to do some remodeling myself. having the guage i guess saves you turning your head around, are they costly? if on a budget you could manage without it

cheers, shappy

Marlin_Mike
09-11-2007, 07:54 PM
you can tell some motors by the sound and revs

Mike

yamp
09-11-2007, 08:05 PM
I left my off my tinny, I didn't really think it would be much use I just watch my tacho and how much spray along the side of the boat,I try to have as little of the hull in the water as possible when I'm planing in good conditions,and trim in to get nose into wave when needed ,when you are adjusting trim all the time you can hear and feel when the boats trimming right,so I don't think the gauge is much use cheers Yamp

BM
09-11-2007, 08:23 PM
Typically trim gauges don't go bung its the trim sender itself.

They can be expensive depending on the type of sender unit. What engine do you have? Some can be repaired. Some can be a fault not caused by the sender unit but by the loss of a roll pin in the upper union of the tilt ram (some Mercs).

You could also replace it with an hour meter or a volt gauge.

Cheers

tigermullet
09-11-2007, 09:10 PM
Ours still works but is hardly ever looked at. When I really need it I don't trust it all that much anyway and only use it for a few seconds before checking that the motor is deep enough to pump water. Should it give trouble I would not bother to replace it.

Roughasguts
09-11-2007, 09:26 PM