PDA

View Full Version : Boat info

Scotti
08-11-2007, 05:58 PM
Hi All.

Scotti Here, Yes I am a newbie to this site so Hi to everyone. I am in south west WA and look foreward to spending a lot of time out and about with my new (secondhand) boat.

I have bought myself a stejcraft 18foot fibreglass half cabin with a suzuki dt75 2 stroke outboard on it. The boat is a 1985 and motor also. I have put on the outboard a stingray hydrofoil.

Does anyone have any knowledge of this type of setup and the seaworthyness of this setup. ie: motor reliability, stability, fuel economy , etc.

The boat has a 15lb plough anchor with about 50m of 16mm anchor rope. I would think the size rope is a bit overkill. Any ideas on nominal rope diameter and the type of rope?

Appreciate any info.

tunaticer
08-11-2007, 06:31 PM
G'day Scott, welcome to the site.

Congrats on buying your boat and I hope you have lots of enjoyment with it.

The hull should be good as long as no timber rot has set in, a good safe boat hull.
The motor however is of an age where I would not be venturing too far from the land with. Unfortunately thew older motors will almost definitely be having signs of corrosion and wear and tear and when they decide to stop you generally do not have too much warning signs of it going to happen. I would seriously be looking at upgrading to a much newer outboard or a brand new outboard if i was contemplating anything more than a few miles offshore.

Depending on the depth of water you are likely to be fishing will determine the amount of rope you should have aboard. 5 times the depth is the rule of thumb in areas with reasonable currents and 3 times for a slow current area. I would opt for 12mm silver poly rope.

Jack.

Timfishin4fun
09-11-2007, 06:42 AM