View Full Version : whats your weirdest catch on lures ?

jamie martin
01-11-2007, 07:55 AM
when i was in townsville my mate(darren) and i were fishing the Bhole river chasing barra with lures. we were drifting with the tide casting to the edge of the mangroves. as usual my casting got a bit wild and my lure ended up in the mangroves about 6 feet above the water. i gave a big yank on my rod and pulled a branch into the water. as i got the branch closer i noticed i'd foul hooked a brown snake and he didn't seem to be happy. my mate said "thats not coming in the boat" i said "you reckon". then my mate bashed it to death with an oar, funny he didn't seem to care about my lure !!
in currumbin creek one day darren and i were trolling lures, i saw a splash and something black (thought it was a big flathead) then my mates drag started screaming, and what i thought was a flathead turned out to be an osprey. it flew off with his lure for about 20 metres before dropping it. at least he knew his lure looks realistic !
please let me know your weirdest catch on lures ? we all could use a laugh !!
jamie

01-11-2007, 09:00 AM
arrow squid

baitwaster
01-11-2007, 09:21 AM
Murray cod - on a hard lure I bought at k-mart for $2 when I was on a hunting trip to Bourke.

Little grey men
01-11-2007, 10:33 AM
I posted this pic a while ago, got this monster while chasing bass. It was told it was a spotted gudgeon.

I also caught my cat on a lure ( without trebles ) let me set the scene for you.

When I was learning how to use a baitcaster, I couldn't find any casting plugs so I used a heavy little lure with the trebles removed. I'd cast this thing in the backyard whenever I got the chance, under the watchful eyes of Buttons the big fat cat. Every once in a while Buttons would chase the lure as I was retrieving it, all very cute and funny until one day, somehow the lure and line wrapped around it's front paw. The animal let out a scream and went ballistic.
Watching the cat jumping backwards high into the air while shaking it's body reminded me of footage of barramundi leaping from the water. Heart pounding stuff.
The wife was yelling STOP, STOP!!!, the kids were laughing and I was down to the business of fighting the family pet on the end of my baitcaster..
Pure mahem and panic filled the backyard as Buttons jumped from one end of the yard to the other. I finally had to hand the rod to my wife while I grabbed the cat and removed the lure from it's paw.....that night she got an extra ten minutes of belly rub, and I tended to my very scratched arms.

ffejsmada
01-11-2007, 10:37 AM
myself;D;D;D;D;D

01-11-2007, 10:49 AM
Caugfht a sea snake down at the Aplins Weir the other day, it was foul hooked which leads me to believe it was just in the wrong apot at the wrong time. Jeez I had some fun getting it off though.

STUIE63
01-11-2007, 11:00 AM
My brother caught his cat with a gold bomber. the lure was sitting on top of his tackle box and kitty decided to play.three of its paws were caught on three different trebles and it cost $240 for the vet to get them out and three new trebles for the lure would have loved to have seen it because kitty is physco at the best of times.

BrandonH
01-11-2007, 11:01 AM
2 foot long Water dragon on a surface lure, would have had a king fisher the same afternoon if the hooks set lol :o

Didley
01-11-2007, 11:12 AM
2 foot long Water dragon on a surface lure, would have had a king fisher the same afternoon if the hooks set lol :o

Dito, did the same but a smaller model casting for jacks along a rock wall.

crab man
01-11-2007, 11:24 AM
400lb cow at monduran lure bounced of a branch landed right on its ass stuck in its tail/hail lost a spool of braid felt really bad but i guess the lucky famer got a new barra classic gold and black !!!

manchild
01-11-2007, 06:43 PM
My mates jack russel.He just couldnt resisted when we tested them in the pool ,he just jumped straight in .Silly bugger.
George

01-11-2007, 07:25 PM
True story. Mate and myself fishing at Eurimbula creek about three yrs ago throwing lures at snags for jacks or whatever. After several hours we were getting quite cocky by calling the type of fish that will take the lure before the cast is made.
Glenn calls for a jack, bang a jack. Yeah predictable in a creek. The day progressed on with several right guesses each and a few wrong and last cast of the day I call Mudcrab. Made the cast, brought the lure back about 2 feet felt a hit struck brought it in, Bloody huge mudcrab. I was amazed and pissed off at the same time, Eurimbula creek is a mud crab sanctuary so no crab sangas for dinner for me that night.

Other odd catch while lure fishing was a sea eagle while stickbaiting for barras and a huge water rat trolling a lure for trevally.

EDNA
01-11-2007, 07:30 PM
My wife!;D

01-11-2007, 07:52 PM
9 Days ago at Monduran .......... A FLYING PELICAN:o ..... Broke me off pretty quick ..... Nagg
PS ..... I want my Poltergeist back!

plaztix
02-11-2007, 07:56 AM
This fella bit off more than he could chew;)

Caught a small black tip reef shark on a gulp swimming mullet, photo is on a different computer, will attach tonight.

Little grey men
02-11-2007, 08:12 AM
Hey Plastix, did you get a weight on that catch. Mine went 0.25 grams scaled and gutted.;D

Fisher4life
02-11-2007, 08:22 PM
Caught a mud crab last weekend on the same SP pictured in 'little grey man's' post.

Very stubborn crab, he wouldn't let it go, until he had ripped the SP off the hook, then happily swum away eating a piece of plastic...

basskid
02-11-2007, 08:40 PM
I caught a kookuburra while casting a jackall around my dam fortunately it didnt have trebles in it but it wrapped around its foot and it did fight well haha but seriosuly it was released all well and good i am sure he will remmeber that because i will hahah lucky i didnt tell mum

Cammy
02-11-2007, 09:09 PM
i didnt catch it but my friends dad caught a huge carp with a lure on the fin, was so heavy had to get 2 ppl to carry it lol

cam

02-11-2007, 09:32 PM
Recently trolled up what I thought may have been a World record Spanish mackeral.
I fought this monster of the deep for about a half hour until I thought I finally was getting the upper hand.
Much to my surprise I saw a large sea turtle surface out back of the boat and I realized that he was masquerading as a mackeral.
He got the last laugh when he kicked up his flippers,broke me off and disa ppeared with my halco laser pro.I forgave him,though, as I think he was just in the wrong place at the wrong time and was probably just swimming along when a lure caught him unawares .

land-lubber
02-11-2007, 09:42 PM
octopus x3, long-nosed flute fish and stargazer, all on plastics, stargazer and lnff on atomic paddletails and the occies generally on 2in powerbaits ::)

plaztix
03-11-2007, 09:12 AM
Little grey men - I was to keen to get home to cook him up to weigh. What a feed. mmmmmmmmmmm:P:P

03-11-2007, 12:17 PM
It was bat fishing but it's funny enough to count.

Bro'inlaw and mates used to hire a charter on the reef off townsville couple of times a year in his younger days.

One of the mates took a snooooze with a bait down and his rod in hand;D

so the boys quietly pulled his line up and tied on a the lid of a 44 gal drum.... rigged flat...... lowered it down nice & quiet...... and gave his line a big yank;D

aparantly it faught like a beauty;D ;D ;D

captain rednut
03-11-2007, 09:37 PM
Hi Mate I Was Trolling A Rapala Cd18 In 30mtrs Of Water And At 8knots And The Reel Screamed Off And I Was Lucky Enough To Reel In A 500gram One Eyed Moreton Bay Grinner! God I Was Excited? Thanks Cr

Jeremy87
04-11-2007, 01:13 PM
Between me and the blokes i've been fishing with at the time, cormrents, mutton birds, king fishers, turtles (marine and freshwater), water dragons, goanna (wayword casts on the bank), lungfish, various foul hooked baitfish, bream bass jacks flathead cod all literally smaller than the lure, squid on poppers.

I think thats about it

I've never had an eagle go for my lure but seen white bellied sea eagles take swipes at schools of tuna which is pretty amazing.

Pistol_P
04-11-2007, 01:43 PM

;D Yeah I have hooked those water dragons too....when bass fishing they jump down and grab surface lures.....AND they are terrible fighters....come in like a bucket!!;D ;D

P.S good to see you back on the forums Brandon.....I hadnt seen your name for a long time.8-)

el_carpo
04-11-2007, 03:14 PM
I've caught fresh water clams while fishing a river. Was kind of surprised to see them on my line.

Found this pic on the net......:o;D

Vindicator
04-11-2007, 04:46 PM
Was trolling off Mooloolaba earlier in the year and suddenly line started peeling off the reel. I said to Brownie, bloody hell this is the best one yet. As I started to bring it in I thought it was a bit dodgy. As it turned out I had hooked someones snapped off anchor rope about 2 foot from the end!!

Kezza

breamnut
04-11-2007, 06:49 PM
pearl perch in the river in 2ft of water. pike eels on 2 atomic fat grubs.
big mullet,black fish, lots of birds.
my mate caught a 62cm mullet on a live whiting fishin for jack. and another mate caught a flathead on a shallow running hard body in 35ft of water after seeing a few prawns getting smashed

BrandonH
05-11-2007, 03:21 PM
Thanks Pete;) been busy of late with work (gota love change management), fishing, buying a house and an online game i have gotten addicted to:-/ Anyways your right about the fight of the water dragon's. The fun only starts when you get them to the bank and have to unhook them!!! lol

Brandon...

PS: Will have to try and catch up with you next time I am up at Noosa, its usually always a weekend unfortunately:'(

bluefin59
05-11-2007, 05:34 PM
Shopping trolley under a bridge on the nerang river up near the casino they apparently breed their .....matt

ozvettec1
05-11-2007, 05:44 PM
I caught a 5ft Wobegong on a 2" Nuke Chook last week at the Amity Rock wall on Straddie.

Davemclean
06-11-2007, 05:44 AM
a cousin of mine once caught a baby croc (can't remember where)

and I once caught a duck, unhooked none the worse for wear for it strange experience, lol

breamnut
06-11-2007, 10:34 AM
Shopping trolley under a bridge on the nerang river up near the casino they apparently breed their .....matt
yer those trollies like hanging around bridges! we get them here in tweed to and the like to eat jig ment for trevally;D

wateva-treva
06-11-2007, 04:43 PM
no joke: i foul-hooked a luderick on a 40g raider off the rocks an thought it was odd. then another a week later, same spot. so i took my mate down and so far we've landed 9 (including one hooked right up the arse), all on spinners. screw green weed man.

Covertfly
07-11-2007, 12:28 PM
Just recently caught a luderick on a small River2sea vib lure, it took the rear treble in the gob proper. Have also caught and lost a rabbit when fly fishing for trout, caught it on a back cast. nymph pulled out, on inspection had a tuft of rabbit fur still attached.

Another thing a mate and i have done is use his dog for rod and reel test. but using her chew toy (knotted Rope toy) tied to the line (No Hooks) , then one of us chase after her. Only prob she keeps coming back to give the toy back to quickly some times.