View Full Version : afc

breamnut
30-10-2007, 09:10 PM
here is a poll.
i like any fishing show or anything to do with fishing.

Tailortaker
30-10-2007, 09:36 PM
I'm with you on that one breamnut. Anyfishing show makes me happy.
________
Honda mb/t/x series (http://www.honda-wiki.org/wiki/Honda_MB/T/X_Series)

Cammy
30-10-2007, 10:46 PM
i picked " i like anything to do with fishing" because it's tru lol

cam

Dunco
31-10-2007, 07:16 AM
I'll watch any fishing show. There is allways something to learn.

31-10-2007, 07:20 AM
If its fishing I'll watch it!

It's a little too Americanised for me though!

Nagg

Little grey men
31-10-2007, 09:03 AM
I like fishing shows that are informative and well thought out, with commentators that don't go too over the top. We are Australians and most of us better identify with someone that we can relate too. Steve Starling is good in my book, he presents in an intelligent way while still getting excited over his catch, but he doesn't leap around like a monkey on speed if he hooks something decent.
It looks as though we are sliding slowly into the American way, like it or not.
I know this can be entertaining for some people but I'd prefer some originality.
We're Aussies, Proud not Loud.

kingtin
31-10-2007, 02:59 PM
Switching between channels the other day, I saw a bloke in a boat fishing so stopped to have a dekko. It was Briz 31 and not having a tv paper I can't tell you what the programme was but they were fishing for bluefin tuna. It was a low-key type of programme, matter of fact, and no leaping around whooping or kissing fish and such bloody stupid antics, until that is........One bloke tried to help the other bloke with his hook-up by grabbing his leader and putting two turns of mono around his hand. These guys are supposed to be pros! ::) ;) ;D

Anyways, not only did he lose the bluefin, he also nearly lost his fingers so I suppose in a way, it was very educational.....................don't forget yer welding gloves!......;D

Apart from that, I learned that you don't have to bleed bluefin and if you brain spike 'em, you simply take the bloodline out when you fillet.

Quite enjoyable and I will keep an eye open for it again.........refreshing not to have sponsorship rammed down your throat

Tailortaker
31-10-2007, 03:03 PM
I think that show would have been River to Reef, It's on briz 31 tuesday night at 8.00 pm and saturday at 8pm.
Cheers TT
________
Pornstars Stoya (http://www.####tube.com/categories/883/stoya/videos/1)

RayDeR
31-10-2007, 04:12 PM
G'day!

I voted for "it would be better with a new commentator". I probably should have gone for "I like anything to do with fishing".

However, it seems the positive votes have won by a mile, so far.

RayDeR

TinarooTriumph
31-10-2007, 04:13 PM
There are some great Fishing Shows out their. The AFC is my favourite, and running close behind that is I-Fish. Hook line and Sinker or whatever it's called is bloody good for a laugh, but you can't take them (or their gear!) seriously. Good old Escape with ET is another good one.

Im hearing ya's about the crazy commentator bloke... but imagine if he wasn't all hyped up... it wouldnt be as exciting. It's like Rugby League... if Ray Warren wasn't in the Commentary Box, no one would watch it! Simple as that. The one thing the AFC is doing and doing bloody well is getting the younger generation right into Fishing in a good manner, not like a 'Catch and Kill' show or DVD that I've seen in the past. It's already Americanised... but who's complaining? Its bloody good for the Industry I feel.

Theo.

rob tranter
31-10-2007, 04:37 PM
Due to the Rock I live under I'm not sure which Show this AFC is, and due to the limited responses I can vote for I haven't voted.

I can't say I like any Fishing show as, Rex to me, is a Dill.

I like ET's show and I like, I Fish, all though I think the bigger of the two fella's on it is also in my opinion a Dill.

Rob wheel barrow ( I can never think of his last name) isn't a bad show either.

It's like Rugby League... if Ray Warren wasn't in the Commentary Box, no one would watch it!
Now thats a Huge statement,Ray Warren? another Dill, and he is a big part of why I don't watch Rugby League much any more.
Peter Sterling can commentate, but not Rabbit's

I do have to addmit that all of the Fishing Shows have good scene's though.

And I agree with KEEP IT AUSTRALIAN, we have enough Yanky copy cat Sh!t with kids wearing hat's backwards, there strides down around there ankles, earings in every body part they can think of, listening to crap rap, and not showing respect for who they are and where they come from.

Sorry I just hate that crap.

Aussie and Bloody Proud
Rob T8-)

shappy
31-10-2007, 05:01 PM
i voted that i like the show, i think the promoters of the show think the need to push the american style to attract the younger audience wearing thier hats backwards as rob said. but fishing i believe sells itself without it, thats why i would rate e.t. as the best show on the tele. its not in your face/over the top presenting.
the guys that hate the show because of the commentry i can understand, i'm good at tunnig out certain things ( wife calls it selective deafness).

did have a laugh when mad dog hovered in over tim morgan in the chopper and probably scared every fish for 500 metres way!!!

rob tranter
31-10-2007, 07:01 PM
Cheers Shappy you have lifted that rock that I live under.

Now that you have mentioned Tim Morgan I know what show it is, afraid I don't pay to much attention to show names. (More likely to be Alcohol induced short term memory):o

Not a bad show, haven't watched for a while so can't comment on commentary style, enjoy watching them use the soft plastics though, wish I could do that even a little bit.:)

Rob T8-)

shappy
31-10-2007, 07:41 PM
no worries rob!:D
when i started with soft plastics i watched the squidgie secerts tape on a week night and gave them a go that weekend, targeting flathead. i did everthing starlo and bushy said and i was lucky enogh to get a 20cm flathead first cast and have not stopped. giv it a go mate!!!;D

shappy

breamnut
01-11-2007, 02:18 PM
haha not many kids were there hat backwards and that other sh!t they are just people who try to hard to fit in or THINK there cool.
pritty funny really.
the afc is a good show. its exiting with the fast boats and all but how would you make it more aussie?

basskid
01-11-2007, 06:44 PM
Hhahahha I agree with Breamnut,
i reckon it is a good show with some good laughs and even the pros sometimes have bad days like dave green, he caught nothing at lake st Claire so it does teach people that pros dont always catch fish.
p.s I AM NOT TRYING TO BAG OUT DAVID GREEN INFACT HE IS MY FAV FISHERMAN.

zaraspook
01-11-2007, 07:34 PM
Didnt royter do that one year as well?

bdowdy
01-11-2007, 07:54 PM
why have we got a racing commmentator

Daniel_603
01-11-2007, 08:19 PM
Didnt royter do that one year as well?
I Think he just got disqaulified in the 1st series on the gold coast for not wearing hes Pfd.But i reckon he did struggle compared to the others in the 1st couple of years .

AFC is good to watch i reckon though that the format of the Breamin Videos from 2001 would better to watch.Although it would be a lot harder to do these days considering theres over 10 Qualafiars when back then it was only 4

haggis
02-11-2007, 08:45 PM
I Have never seen the show mentioned but like anything to do with fishing .
if you only pick up one usefull piece of imformation then you are better off than when you started watching the show .
cheers fae haggis ........................

cuzzamundi
06-11-2007, 12:25 AM
I like most, except for a few of the more mainstream shows that plug the sponsorship gear etc. will have to watch the one you were viewing kev.

cuzza

Lutjanus johnii
06-11-2007, 07:23 AM
Like the show. Can't wait to see the barra episode's

Little grey men
07-11-2007, 10:31 AM
I must admit, I watched last Saturdays episode carefully after reading this post last week, and was entertained... I think they certainly would be reaching the younger audience with all the flash and dazzle of the intro's and what not, my five and a half year old boy sat through the whole show. Modern advertising I suppose, grab their attention and keep it ( they sure have done their homework on that front ). I enjoyed listening to what the anglers had to say.
It would be interesting to know how many non anglers watched the show because of the way it's produced and presented. hmmmmm interesting.

Poseidon
07-11-2007, 11:07 AM
The commentary is crap however can't help myself and watch it just the same. Anything to do with fishing gets me in however a little more fishing and a little less of the yabba in the background would suit me.

mini696
07-11-2007, 02:06 PM
Bring back Rexie.

My issue with the majority of fishing shows these days is the loser commentators. Most of them act like complete fools, and never actually tell you why they are where they are, how they planned the trip, what the fish with. Bascially no tips at all.

They have turned into one big advert for the boat and rod manufacturers that sponser them.

I bet a lot of the guys on this site could put together a more informative show than any of the current shows.

Lutjanus johnii
08-11-2007, 08:52 PM
[quote]I bet a lot of the guys on this site could put together a more informative show than any of the current shows.[quote]

I think allot of the members have a face for radio, myself included.

Maybe the members should put together a list of changes and requests for next years shows. Who knows they mite take us serious and implement what the fishing public want.

But I still think the show is a good start to getting the kids interested.

Bassjunky
11-11-2007, 11:06 AM
I very much like the show and it is rather informative. I just dont like all the product plugging but they do have to pay the bills though. An hour show and it only had aroung 20 min of fishing. Still a good watch though

11-11-2007, 06:04 PM
Having just watched the Monduran round ..... I was wrapped ..... More Barra (& catfish::) ) than bass ( Bass 1 only)
I've got to say .... It was the most enjoyable episode yet:D ... Nagg

barra_mauler001
11-11-2007, 06:08 PM
afc is CHAMP mate!

13-11-2007, 07:47 PM
Speaking of AFC ..... Can anyone tell me when the recent Monduran round was filmed ?? .... Nagg

13-11-2007, 07:55 PM

Oh:-/ ... So the Monduran round wasn't a barra event;) ;D :P .. Nagg

Lutjanus johnii
13-11-2007, 08:32 PM
Oh:-/ ... So the Monduran round wasn't a barra event;) ;D :P .. Nagg

Yes that's right Nagg, The big fish are barramundi, the little ones are bass.:P

If all 6 shows were targeting bass I'd still watch. Looks like they are saving the best sport fishing to the last two shows.

13-11-2007, 08:59 PM
Yes that's right Nagg, The big fish are barramundi, the little ones are bass.:P

If all 6 shows were targeting bass I'd still watch. Looks like they are saving the best sport fishing to the last two shows.

Oh .... OK so thats the 1 fish that got weighed at the end!!! .... Nagg;D ;D

Steve_Morgan
13-11-2007, 09:05 PM
It was filmed mid-September.

Steve Morgan

rob tranter
14-11-2007, 06:21 AM
Watched it for the first time in a long while now that I know/remember what you were all talking about.:-[

Still the same as it used to be to me, they caught good Barra and Catties as mentioned while fishing for Bass.

Isn't that what happens anytime you go fishing, you catch something different to what you are fishing for?

The commentary was fine, didn't see anything Yank style in it.

Yep they do have to pay the Bills, to many adds would be my main whinge with any good Show, but the Sponsors Love it.

If you don't like it, turn the sound down or the telly off.

If I ever turn up to Monduran to fish for Bass and end up with Barra like that I'll be shattered;D

Good Show, Good Comp, Keep it up.

Rob T8-)

14-11-2007, 07:23 AM
It was filmed mid-September.

Steve Morgan

Thanks Steve ..... I thought it was Sept ?
Nagg

Lutjanus johnii
14-11-2007, 07:43 AM
Congrats on the show Steve. Mate the commentry is fine, not over the top. The show is full of information, the best I've seen.

Is there any plans to do more than 6 shows next year?
Could you put in a request for some NQ based episodes for me. We're not that far away. Maybe targeting jacks.

Keep up the good work.

flickflack
22-11-2007, 10:56 AM
Some interesting comments on the show. Coming from both angles. Guys unfortunately anything that goes on television costs a lot of money to put there so advertising is needed to pay for it. ithink the show is great and has come a long way since it started. It is obviously evolving as the fishing techniques become more specilised to keep the competitiors right up there. I think we can all learn a lot from watching the show, I fish plenty of tournaments and still try and watch as many of the shows as I can picking up little bits of info each time. For some of the anglers out there that want to get invoved in the tournie circuit the show would certainly get them fired up to want to do it.
The show is designed to present a specific type of fishing to the public and does this very well. It is quite easy to knock something, but when we are actually the ones that have the responsibility of making it work then things become a bit tougher.
I love watching anything with fishing in it no matter who is commentating or fishing and I recon there should be more fishing shows out there for us to watch.

just my 2 cents worth

Roderick

Foxy4
24-11-2007, 07:16 PM
If i can't get out on the water the fishing shows sure make the day much smoother. I even get up at 5am Saturday and Sunday to tune into Nugget on 4BC

the gecko
08-12-2007, 11:58 AM
Ive just finished watching the last 2 shows, and Im stoked with the info. There were heaps of hot tips, and the commentary was fine.

I think its a case of 'let those who have ears, listen?' Maybe the tips went unnoticed to a lot of guys. I saw a second hook on a slick rig, I heard a sticky wieght was added to a suspended lure, and I saw the surface strikes in the late afternoon were on the shady side of the bank. The art of walk the dog was well explained.

Those pros were giving away top tips for free. Even the tough bream rounds were interesting.

Loved the mistakes too. I could see someone was gonna lose a barra by posing before it was measured, and sure enough.....ha ha. Makes us all feel human.
Great show.

BenatCoffs
22-12-2007, 12:15 AM
I didn't vote that I like anything to do with fishing as I refuse to watch the show that spends 90% of airtime telling me that I need to tow my etec powered haines hunter with my toyota landcruiser to the groote eylandt fishing resort in order to throw squidgy soft plastics using a shimano calcutta (DC) and t-curve rod, using an environet to safely scoop fish (barra) into aforementioned Haines Hunter. Have watched every other season but for this one I have switched off.

Love AFC though, most of the guys are throwing custom rods, but you'd never know the builder cos they don't harp on and on about it.

I am getting into Youtube fishing shows though and thoroughly enjoy 'Chew on this' which is a Florida based show, and I also watch all the Adventure Bound shows that get put up there. For anyone that missed the AFC rounds, just search AFC on Youtube and they are all up there.

Mercury16
22-12-2007, 10:30 PM
The episode on lake Macquarie was good, now i know the best places to fish, even though most of them were no suprise;)

peter