PDA

View Full Version : need advice on getting rods and reels on a budget

orange_juice
27-10-2007, 04:00 PM
hiya im new to fishing and all, the past months and so i have been using my mates rod. i think its about time to get a pair of rods myself,

here is what its going to be use for;
mainly catching bream or any salt water fish which i catch by the shore

budget
my budget is 150 or even 200 for the pair of rods and reel

preferences
l would prefer something that is light under the 6 foot length and should be a 2 piece rod

as i said above i am a new to fishing and all so i dont have a clue on purchasing one

thanks in advance

excuse my english as it is not my language

thanks once again

Fafnir
27-10-2007, 04:25 PM
By a pair of rods do you mean 2 rods, or 1 rod and 1 reel?

Also, if fishing from shore, you might like to consider a slightly longer rod, maybe 7 foot, for extra casting distance.

orange_juice
28-10-2007, 01:04 AM
yes i mean 2 rods and reels

thanks on the advice, 6-7 foot should be fine but can it be light weight( referring to rod being light weighted)

tunaticer
28-10-2007, 06:47 AM
G'day Orange,

I would be looking at the combos on offer from nearly all tackle outlets these days.
There are literally thousands of different combos and for the most part they will be quite reasonable for the bream application. You will find that 7 foot rods will most likely serve you best as 6 foot can be left wanting quite a bit in those slightly longer casts.

My personal preference would cost nearly 200 for one setup that will cover you for whiting right through to snapper. That would be a berkley dropshot rod in 2-4kg (around $90) and a Okuma Epix EFS 20 or 30 reel (around $100).