View Full Version : What Offshore Boat would you prefer?

Plastic_Magic
27-10-2007, 09:33 AM
What offshore boat would you prefer?

Dean1
27-10-2007, 09:41 AM
Gee this will start some catfights!!! A 5.2metre kevlacat there extremely seaworthy, safe, stable, very managable, heaps of deckspace, under 2 tonne and dont cost an arm and a leg to run.. Me very happy ;D

captain rednut
27-10-2007, 09:58 AM
haines hunter all the way, im not sure about your motor selection? suzuki or yamaha maybe?

ashleyhj74
27-10-2007, 10:00 AM
i would've gone the Edencraft 233 Formula with either twin 150 yam 4-strokes or more if you wish.

mirage
27-10-2007, 10:02 AM
Go the KC.
Just curious Plastic, why are you comparing a 1900 Alison with the other three?

27-10-2007, 10:59 AM
Go the KC.
Just curious Plastic, why are you comparing a 1900 Alison with the other three?

I was thinking the same thing :-/ :-/ .... Nagg
PS .... 3 great boats in that mix

Plastic_Magic
27-10-2007, 11:09 AM
Hay mirage as i herd from a friend that the allison is a awsome ride and would be up there with the other 3. I did not belive him and i thought i would see what you guys think. We have recently purchased the 2400 KC and absolutely are stoked with the performance of it.

Cheers Plastic_Magic

seatime
27-10-2007, 11:39 AM
The Haines 800 would be my pick, not with the 200's though, they're not V-Tec.
I'd go for the latest technology when spending that sort of $$. 150's might do the job, or the 225's, I'd like to test on a couple of set-ups to find the right balance.

27-10-2007, 11:55 AM
I have not been in an Allison 19, but I have seen them. I wouldnt have thought that the ride from that boat would be any better or worse than my 70s 21 degree Vagabond which has a slightly longer hull length (no pod - standard). I wouldnt have thought mine would compete against an 8 metre well designed and built boat. I think boats one to three are not fair comparisons for the Allision. Just my 2CW bearing in mind I havnt been in any of these boats.

mirage
27-10-2007, 12:55 PM
OK, thanks Plastic. I can't comment on the Alison but I also just bought a KC2400. Am in the process of re-powering it with Suzuki's.

Plastic_Magic
27-10-2007, 01:21 PM
Hay Mirage we also have just purchased a KC2400 and it is powered with 140 Suzuki 4-Strokes. It has been matched with 4 blade solas stainless steel props and are also counter rotating wich gives the boat that bit more lift out the water. The other thing i counld not get over is the KC2400 with 140's do around the 95km/hr mark and that is hooking for a big boat.

Cheers Plastic_Magic

poundalead
27-10-2007, 02:28 PM
From all the boats I have seen I reckon the Platemaster's in Maryborough would have to be the best. Out of the one's in that list I would pick the 2400 kevlacat anyday. I went on a charter to the Southern Gutter's in one and it was blowing 25kts on the way back. It just begged for more punishment. Hervey bay is renowned for that short sharp chop. I haven't been in any of the other boats, but a mate has an Allison and reckons it blows the doors off his old Hainesy which is a big statement. You bought well with the Kevla IMHO...... Happy fishing

Cheers Benny

Vitamin Sea
27-10-2007, 02:59 PM
A 2400 KC any day of the week, if I couldn' have that, my pick would be a 5.2 KC;)

Fish Guts
27-10-2007, 04:33 PM
Noosa cat. hands down.

deadbeatloser
27-10-2007, 07:46 PM
kc in that list. coastal cat for value for money ;D

bustastu
27-10-2007, 08:37 PM
I've always been a Haines man but the 2400 KC is a sweet boat. $30,000 difference in the two might swing my decision towards the KC.

27-10-2007, 09:45 PM
HH are bringing out a new 7.5m I just happen to be fitting the 2 x 225's Hondas to it, should be a nice rig :)

rat_catcher
27-10-2007, 09:51 PM
HH are bringing out a new 7.5m I just happen to be fitting the 2 x 225's Hondas to it, should be a nice rig :)
Pics???????

27-10-2007, 10:05 PM
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
They are all magic boats but i'd have to say for the ride and rough water performance the KC but price wellllllllllllllll what more can ya say.
Jt

28-10-2007, 06:02 AM
Pics???????

New model release is early next year.. you will have to hold on;D

U4REEL
28-10-2007, 10:35 AM
Kevla for sure!

love my 5.2m KC.
johnny

TJ Bear
28-10-2007, 04:34 PM
Voted for the HH but would depend on the style of fishing you intend on doing. If the majority of your fishing is offsore bottom bashing then the KC would be great but if you do a lot of trolling as I do I could not bear all that tunnel slap, also think the HH 8m Patriot can be optioned as a better overnighter/ weekender. None of the boats really suit me as they would cost way to much to run considering the amount of trolling I do and require a lot of very expensive engine maintenance. Personaly Im in love with the Steber 22 Offshore with the Desiel shaft drive MMMMMMM ;D Its even trailerable.

Deiter
29-10-2007, 05:24 AM
This sounds like a "look what I bought" poll.
Also, when you say "WE" bought a KC2400, does that mean "dad" bought one? Not trying to spoil your party, just curious as to the purpose of the poll if "you" already bought an outside boat.

Damo

Cobia Kid
29-10-2007, 05:56 AM
I voted for HH But have an allison. Got the 189 Fisherman, Extremly loverly boat. If you had put the 244 Angler allison up there that would have been my easy pick!
Jamie

29-10-2007, 06:01 AM
The big cat with the safety of twin motors.
Assuming purchase price and running/maintainance costs were not an issue..................:o ::) ;D

pog mo hoin
29-10-2007, 07:25 AM
How about the Seafarer Voyager????

31-10-2007, 03:08 PM
This sounds like a "look what I bought" poll.
Also, when you say "WE" bought a KC2400, does that mean "dad" bought one? Not trying to spoil your party, just curious as to the purpose of the poll if "you" already bought an outside boat.

Damo

lol damohttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif.
The young fella is obviously stoked that his old man has bought a KC and this is his way of letting us know how happy he is.
Hell ,I'd be over the moon as well if my old man traded his quinny 385 in for a KC 2400.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif

Finnatical
31-10-2007, 04:17 PM
I am biased and would go for the KC2400. They are a good boat although the tunnel slap is irritating in certain sea conditions when trolling, you do however get used to it. Not sure about the 95km/hr, mine certainly is a lot slower than that... Maybe 80km/hr on a very light load with its tongue hanging out!

Jason

Deiter
31-10-2007, 05:20 PM
Scott, as i suspected. Bloody good luck to him though. Bastard.

insideout
31-10-2007, 05:48 PM
Hay Mirage we also have just purchased a KC2400 and it is powered with 140 Suzuki 4-Strokes. It has been matched with 4 blade solas stainless steel props and are also counter rotating wich gives the boat that bit more lift out the water. The other thing i counld not get over is the KC2400 with 140's do around the 95km/hr mark and that is hooking for a big boat.

Cheers Plastic_Magic

you sure that you dont have twin 250s zukes on the back to get 95 kmh?

Plastic_Magic
02-11-2007, 04:09 PM
Hay insideout

this boat has twin 140 suzukis with 4 blade stainless steel props witch are counter rotationg with give the boat a bit more lift out the water. In the test run the boat pulled 91km/hr at around 6 grand and still had more room for the motors to be trimmed up witch i am asumming would give it that little more speed.

Cheers PM

02-11-2007, 04:24 PM
Hay insideout

this boat has twin 140 suzukis with 4 blade stainless steel props witch are counter rotationg with give the boat a bit more lift out the water. In the test run the boat pulled 91km/hr at around 6 grand and still had more room for the motors to be trimmed up witch i am asumming would give it that little more speed.

Cheers PM

What pitch are you running to acheive 91kl/hr at 6000rpm. I need a peice of that:o

RICKTA
02-11-2007, 04:50 PM
scrap the allison and add cruise craft.

Finnatical
03-11-2007, 04:24 PM
Pm,

Was that 91km/hr on the speedo or on the GPS. the speedo on my boat is wildly ambitious and would give a reading similar to those sorts of numbers. the speed on the GPS is a very different story though. Never trust a speedo that is not hooked to a GPS.

Still a bloody good boat irrespective of top end speed as it is a rare day offshore that you can run at anything near WOT. Once you get used to the cat quirks (if you have never owned one) you will never look back. Can i suggest that you take the time to spend a couple of hours on the water with the dealer when the new boat is delivered to get them to teach you how to drive it. It will speed up your knowledge on how best to handle them and get the most out of a cat and get you confident with the boat in a much shorter timeframe.

Good luck and don't forget to post some pics when it arrives.
Jason

04-11-2007, 09:33 PM
scrap the allison and add cruise craft.

Well cc'c are better finished but they dont ride better !;)

insideout
05-11-2007, 12:00 PM
gday plastic magic, tell your oldman he has made a good choice of boat to buy and finnatical is dead right in his comments about learning to drive a cat,for they are different!! Took me 1 year to learn the traits of my KC and every day we go fishing, i still learn more...

True Grit
05-11-2007, 01:55 PM
Im pretty happy with this ;D hh 233 formula 250 suzi.

05-11-2007, 02:11 PM
hhmm I reckon ANYTHING rides better than an Alison!!

06-11-2007, 02:54 PM
hhmm I reckon ANYTHING rides better than an Alison!!

Really? What Allison are you refering to? The 19 hasn a deepish v and is quite heavy compared to siilar sized boats giving them a fair ride, they also dont have those big shoulders that the cc's have which tend to bang!

Plastic_Magic
06-11-2007, 05:43 PM
Hey Fellas thanks for all the replys.

Finnatical the speed was regeristered on the Speedo. Yeah Dad has owned a 5.5m Noosa Cat Sportsman for 7 years now and has never looked at going back to a mono. So i was impressed with the ride of the 5.5m Noosa-cat but the KC-2400 is an ubeatable trailer boat. Again thanks for the replys.

Cheers Plastic_Magic

pueter66
10-11-2007, 01:51 PM
Mate if you have the money you would be mad to go past the Kev.Cat
I dont think I have heard a bad word about them except you have to relearn how to handle that style of boat if you are only used to a single hull.

11-11-2007, 07:58 AM
That's grand dad bought it isn't it Loch? Was talking to Perko the other day.

And at 6,000rpm the Zukes should hit the rev limiter.

Narby_Pup
11-11-2007, 08:14 AM
Hay Smithy dont spoil the party i was enjoying sound like a rich prick for a while there. Yea grandady came good for the familly and the lad has been walking around with a bulge in his duds for a week now. The whole Perkins clan are going to enjoy a lot of good days and nights out to sea thanks to MUM & DAD who i must say worked very hard to be able to afford this boat.To any one who has still got there parents love EM while you got em. CHEERS PUP.

Nick175
02-11-2008, 05:07 PM
It seems every time the name "Allison" is brought up, people seem to bag the crap out of them. Regardless of what people may say, they are in actual fact a good quality boat. At least there are some people in this forum who actually give these boats a fair go and appreciate what they are.

We have owned the Fisherman 189 and Fisherman 21. Both great boats, which is the reason why we chose to stay with Allison rather than go to different brands. We have travelled in 1.5 metre seas at 50 – 60 kms in the 21 and the boat performed well.

I also agree with the comment about comparing the Allison Ocean Angler 244 with the other hulls, in order for a fairer comparison. I mean 8 metre boats with large twins, compared to a 6 metre boat with a 115??

jeffrey_h
02-11-2008, 05:39 PM
Well since Nick175 has restarted this thread I will also ask, like Ricta did, what's wrong with C.C. Outsider being on the list??

I'm now looking for an outside boat up to 6mt mono and need more options.

Jeffrey

Jabba_
02-11-2008, 07:35 PM
New model release is early next year.. you will have to hold on;D

Is this the model you talking about.......
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y159/jabba1/P1020582.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y159/jabba1/P1020584.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y159/jabba1/P1020588.jpg
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y159/jabba1/P1020586.jpg
Mmmmmmm beautiful

02-11-2008, 07:39 PM
Yeh Jabba.. but it's only got 175's on it :)

I was in talking to jef about that one a few weeeks back. great layout for a fishing/overnighter.. but a very heavy rig.

02-11-2008, 07:44 PM
Here is a few picks of the one I fitted out.. took off my phone;)

Jabba_
02-11-2008, 07:45 PM
They maybe only 175's, but they are E-tec's..;D ;D
So it should go like the clappers

sharkcat one
02-11-2008, 08:25 PM
Hi , just purchased a commander catamaran 6.2

very, very happy.
check out their web site
www.commandercatamarans.com.au (http://www.commandercatamarans.com.au)

02-11-2008, 10:30 PM
Can't believe the other perko has held his tongue on this one!

MyWay
02-11-2008, 11:55 PM
Hay insideout

Cheers PM
that this excellent
on my mates cats 2400 with same set up as above they pull only 78km/h on both KC
whit 3 person and full fuel on flat sea
that is by GPS

myway

Wahoo
03-11-2008, 08:29 PM
Here is a few picks of the one I fitted out.. took off my phone;)

damn fine looking boat Gary

03-11-2008, 08:33 PM
yeh.. it sure is.. but for $195k its outta my range :P

Benno1
04-11-2008, 05:15 PM
if i had to choose another boat to go offshore in...itd have to be the KevlaKat...ive always liked the look of them...and from what ive read off here theyre a sturdy...roomy...dry all round good boat...that coupled with the twins...OH MY...what a time we'd have!!!
IF we ever get another boat...its be a toss up between the KK 2400 or an 8 meter platey...ive already picked the names out :P...for the Kevla itd be Meow Meow (Mr Benno doesnt like that one :P)...and the Platey..."Dinner Plate"
just my 2 cents worth...

Mrs Benno1

Razgo-
05-11-2008, 06:56 PM
what about powercats? http://www.powercatmarine.com.au/powercat.htm

all out of my price range anyway. they are all over 150K? might be able to afford a 10 year old one.

3rd degree
05-11-2008, 08:33 PM
Johns new Haines looks pretty wild!

Did you get to take it for a run Gary?

06-11-2008, 04:22 PM
Yes Jim,

Had a couple of runs in her. had to adjust the engine height and try a few different props :)

06-11-2008, 06:45 PM
yeah yeah but whats it like Garry - you have a very sweet benchmark even if its a different size!

06-11-2008, 07:02 PM
It's a BIG boat.. perfect for around the 1770 traps.. sleeps 4:o although 3 would be very comfy.. good fuel range.. great deck space.

The only downfall apart from $$ is it's just too big to be trailoring around:'(

tin can marlin
08-11-2008, 01:10 AM
I think people have been a bit hard on the allisons after craig lowndes could have any boat he wants and he got a allison i think that speaks voulmes for the product and people might say yeah he got it for nothing well i can tell you that bruce cunningham did not give it to him and allison are not the type to advitise. Ithink they are the most underated ride on the market if they were marketed like haines etc they would be one of the best sellers around. Regards Mark

08-11-2008, 03:36 AM
yeh.. it sure is.. but for $195k its outta my range :P

195K,,,bloody hell..either boats have gone up a lot in 3 years or there are a lot of extras on that boat.

Certainly would not be paying that much money for any trailer boat.

08-11-2008, 05:19 AM
I think people have been a bit hard on the allisons after craig lowndes could have any boat he wants and he got a allison i think that speaks voulmes for the product and people might say yeah he got it for nothing well i can tell you that bruce cunningham did not give it to him and allison are not the type to advitise. Ithink they are the most underated ride on the market if they were marketed like haines etc they would be one of the best sellers around. Regards Mark

cunninghams selling Allison now also ??????
the Allison's are not your type of boat tcm

Jabba_
09-11-2008, 07:34 AM

Well that makes all the differance, because Loundsey bought Allison they must be a good boat... But they still have a girls name, and thats bad...;D

squizzytaylor
09-11-2008, 03:51 PM
I took the Allison but thats what I would choose out of the 4 for my own use and based on my budget as well.

GT

kokomo
08-01-2009, 06:34 AM
http://www.fibreliteboats.com.au/specifications_cab.htm

how about one of these?? they are built super light with yacht technology

jimbo59
08-01-2009, 08:59 AM
Well that makes all the differance, because Loundsey bought Allison they must be a good boat... But they still have a girls name, and thats bad...;D
Jee hope bruce allison doesnt see that coment, he raced formula 5000 and has nuts bigger than criceys :o ...jim

White Pointer
08-01-2009, 07:48 PM

Having researched until I'm blind I made a decision and ordered a Fisher Maxi 600 - but I can't vote for it.

So as far as I am concerned everybody else made a mistake! That should get you going.

White Pointer

Tri N Hard
08-01-2009, 08:06 PM
That is like comparing a 6m boat to a 4m boat of cause the 2400 cat in gunna be the bees nees,but u dont mention the price difference,There is always going to be a better boat than yours, but if your budget is limited i think most people would be very happy with an allison 1900.Ive been in the 5m allison and they ride good for there size.u have got to think is a 8m boat that practicle to the weekend fisho,extra fuel,heavy to tow,storage proplems.Im not knocking the guys that own these big boats, i think there is a boat for everyone needs and it shouldnt be a case of my boat better than yours.

bigjimg
08-01-2009, 09:35 PM
Correct me please if i am wrong,but i believe Craig Lowndes bought his boat from Kratzemans Marine.Doesn't Bruce Cunningham have Cunninghams Marine??Jim
Oh forgot,I am happy with the Sig.Felt no need to poll my preference.;)

business class
12-01-2009, 09:39 AM
personaly i would prefer the Newly designed 8m Sea Storm PLatinium with the twin 150hp as pictured ;D as a 250 just is not enough horse power once loaded IMO. Twin 150's and top speed at 43 knots sounds good to me. And a complete rig coming in at $145,000.00 not a bad price either i think. especially compared to 195k Garry's talking about:o .

backlash08
12-01-2009, 10:50 AM
BC - the 8M seastorm is a nice looking thing

12-01-2009, 11:37 AM
BC - the 8M seastorm is a nice looking thing

Looks like that 8m is struggling a bit for fishing room:o

business class
12-01-2009, 12:38 PM
Looks like that 8m is struggling a bit for fishing room:o

i think we might be able to fish 1 or 2 out of her. ;D

Matty

OPTI
21-01-2009, 06:51 PM
i was thinking we could play cricket in that between bites:D

business class
22-01-2009, 09:03 AM
i was thinking we could play cricket in that between bites:D

Start our own test series hey, what ya think! :D

zakster
23-01-2009, 09:33 PM
my preference would be a 6.6 hydrofield. There is nothing the boats on the list can do that the 6.6 hydro cant. Then if you talk 8 metre, well no contest, the hydro, hands down.;D ;D

24-01-2009, 05:18 PM
Anyone got a Steber 22ft? They look pretty good esp the 125HP diesel with shaft drive and are trailerable ie 1900kg inc trailer.

When are you doing test runs? PM me pls.

Saltboy
24-01-2009, 06:50 PM
Have a look at Sailfish made out of Lismore way. Unbelievable ride and platform. "Mono" use to run a fishing charter out of Brunswick Heads with one and raved about them. I can vouch for them also. Definately on my list when I win lotto.

Horto22
24-01-2009, 07:49 PM
Here our 8.0m Fisher, last boat to leave there factory before christmas shut down. Feeling double luck about now given current events. We had this set up for game fishing of Bermagui. Bait board is removable and can be placed in gunwales on either side up near cabin when trolling. Has removable game chair & swing back esky seat for toatl flexibility.

Cheers JMH

TJ Bear
24-01-2009, 07:54 PM
Now that is one nice looking Fisher. What motor ot motors have you got on her? What's the fuel tank size? How she travel offshore?

Horto22
24-01-2009, 09:07 PM
She runs a single 300 Suzuki which is good for 38 knots, may ink a little bit more once shes fully loosened up. Has 2-175L tanks or 350 L total. Havent had too much time out in her as yet, but so far her performance into a head sea is excellent. Have only had one trip in a 3m following seas so far and she tracked straight and true. We had a 6.1m barcrusher before this which we absolutly loved. This boat is like a super sized version and has so much more room and is incredibly dry in comparison.

JMH

25-01-2009, 08:26 AM
Hi JMH

Whats the weight on the trailer?
What axle, spring and brake setup please? Trailer looks to Al, correct?

Horto22
25-01-2009, 02:57 PM
It sits on a Duralum alluminium trailer that has Brakerite elec/hydralic brakes. Trailer is rated to 4500kg if fitted with a 70mm ball. We had it fitted with a 50mm ball so it is down rated to 3500kg. We put her over a weigh bridge with fishing gear, 350 litres of fuel and full esky, kill tank & live bait tanks (approx 200-250L water) and she weighed 3820kg. Empty of water and with one tank full she should be right on 3500kg, so we will need to manage our weight somewhat but shouldnt be too hard just cant use it as a huge trailer. Will do another weigh bridge check soon.

Cheers Horto

OPTI
26-01-2009, 02:38 PM
That sure is one beast of a tinny horto ,i would of put two 300 's on her ,really make her sit up and pay attention.:P

MY ALIBI
08-02-2010, 08:09 PM
26ft stingray plate lol

business class
12-02-2010, 12:35 PM

Cheers Plastic_Magic

95km/hr:o :o i have a mate with exact same set up and if ur gauge is saying 95km/hr u need to get it fixed:P ;) as its more like 75km/hr;). But a quick boat none the less..... I have been for a run in some ordinary conditions and it was a great ride i was very impressed and i am sure u will be too.

12-02-2010, 09:47 PM
95 km's is a bit high the best i've been in a mates running half full tanks was 82 km's ( on the gps)and he had spent abit of time with differant props get his set up right.

CCDrifter
19-02-2010, 01:11 PM

Cheers Plastic_Magic

I might have to swap boats with you as my KC is as yours but know way will it do 95klm/hr. (Feels like it though as you fly past all the mono hulls offshore);D ;D

Nat

business class
19-02-2010, 01:21 PM
I might have to swap boats with you as my KC is as yours but know way will it do 95klm/hr. (Feels like it though as you fly past all the mono hulls offshore);D ;D

Nat

I think u might have just started a little competition for the next trip out;) ;D
But remember u cant pass anyone, when she is sitting in the shed NAT;) :P

Matty

19-02-2010, 01:26 PM
Don't worry Matty,

He might be struggling to keep up with us "NOW"

business class
19-02-2010, 02:11 PM
Yeah it will be hard to keep up when ya have twins yet you only have one prop.....;) :P ;D

Matty

NEWBY
22-02-2010, 09:47 PM
BOLLOCKS.......

35 Bertam Flybridge...
best fishing boat ever produced...Especially pre 1985 when they had the flared bow and 2 inches of fibreglass...;D

23-02-2010, 07:54 AM
Newby - your probably right. BTW what do you tow yours with? :)

23-02-2010, 09:05 AM
Newby - your probably right. BTW what do you tow yours with? :)

Scott,

THATS GOLD!;)

gr hilly
14-03-2010, 09:35 AM
i think some motor changes are required in this post
hilly

Dean1
14-03-2010, 04:43 PM
It's a BIG boat.. perfect for around the 1770 traps.. sleeps 4:o although 3 would be very comfy.. good fuel range.. great deck space.

The only downfall apart from $$ is it's just too big to be trailoring around:'( Hey Gazza thats a beast no doubt!! Would it be bum heavy with those 2 big Honda's on the back?? Im guessing around 1/2 tonne of weight?

Deano.

Snapper88
14-03-2010, 10:11 PM
Except you do feel everything twice and you get that slap underfoot in a choppy swell. Give me a monohull anyday

business class
15-03-2010, 09:26 AM
Except you do feel everything twice and you get that slap underfoot in a choppy swell. Give me a monohull anyday

So does this mean we win as we have a trihull:P ;D ..........

Matty

Snapper88
15-03-2010, 05:34 PM
business class - real men do it thrice hey?

15-03-2010, 05:39 PM
Hey Gazza thats a beast no doubt!! Would it be bum heavy with those 2 big Honda's on the back?? Im guessing around 1/2 tonne of weight?

Deano.

Well Dean its either 450kg of 300hp or 550kg of 450hp.. what would you have8-)