View Full Version : goodwin longboats

yamp
18-10-2007, 10:46 PM
looking at goodwin longboat 5 m just after any members experience with these or similar style boat/length hoping to use it in creeks and go out in abit.interested to see what sort of distances members travel and setups.Is 5m abit short to travel out any real distance safely, what would others reccommend? I fish in the mackay region cheers yamp

Guido
19-10-2007, 08:36 AM
Got a mate with a 5m WAHOO C/C, apparently derived from the the same mould somewhere in the past. Couldn't give it enough wraps for it's ride in the sloppy stuff, but it's narrow beam at rest and low sides is a pain to fish from when anchored. The Goodwin looks to have higher sides so check that your knees aren't getting a hammering and you can stand/fish in a comfy position.

Self draining deck is a whiz...open all hatches, hose her out, tilt it right up so it's resting on the skeg and cleaning is done.

Obviously for a boat that size it has limitations but this WAHOO has been 40mile out on a flat day no problems. It's a wet boat most of the time but loves riding with them or skipping across a side on sea. Never felt in danger, even in some very messy conditions.

http://www.alexjulius.com.au/bnb14/rig_seapro.htm

Very similar to this one which was for sale a while back...

Guido

PS. It loves getting air time off waves also ;)

scorpionNQ
19-10-2007, 03:40 PM
The 5m goodwins are a bit thin on the ground. The southwind 5.2m is probably a more common boat. The is a beauty for sale at the moment in the trading post 19K. Depends how far out you wish to fish, the 5.8 would be ideal in my opinion. These are a little tricky to locate as well, as I have been chasing one for some time, and have just purchaseda 6.7m( damm). The 5.2 have not really got the long boat look or ride, but they do have higher sides and are still a capable ocean going craft. The bloke who owns the 5.2 in the trading post fishes about 30nms out( or used to) Up my way we also have the Hooker, very similar, but I have never seen one for sale under about $24k

Lee

krazyfisher
20-10-2007, 07:39 AM
I had a 5mtr goodwin in mackay and used to go out to all the islands with no problems was a good boat. any questions let me know

SirFishalot
20-10-2007, 04:18 PM
Was on a charter boat which had a goodwin 5000 as a tender, we loaded it up with 15 adults and was amazed with how well it sat in the water with this much weight!! We didn't have to go more than a couple of hundered metres and werent going fast but still...

The skipper said they often used the boat for fishing and wake boarding.
After that charter I was thinking of getting one myself :)

death_ship
20-10-2007, 07:03 PM
apparently the UB was designed to carry large weights and use low horsepower.

yamp
20-10-2007, 10:57 PM
thanks for replies,crazyfisher I see you are in mackay did you use it locally if so what sort of trips did you do? and what sort of setup did you have motor/tiller or console etc,would you reccommend 5 or do you think a 5.8 alot better for Mackay region, not sure on best length, keen to get some advice on how many you can comfortable fish and just + and - for longboats for mackay region. I did a search on the site tonite sounds like the southwinds or goodwins would be better I think stability over better ride of hooker boat as I think I would only be worried about the ride if I get stuck out with a bad ride home as I wouldn't normally go out if the conditions were not going to be to flash.I will have to look into southwind on trading post and keep eye open for goodwins cheers Yamp

krazyfisher
21-10-2007, 08:18 AM
Yamp
yes it was used locally used to go out to the smith group, st bees wigton etc. it was a center console with a 60hp and was good for 65-70kph. the longer the better but the 5mtr took be anywhere i wanted to go and very good on fuel. as for how many can you fish 4 would be no problems if you were not fishing in heavy run. The layout of the goodwin is better for fishing than the southwind.

yamp
21-10-2007, 11:09 AM
thanks for info krazyfisher swaying to 5 m now 5.9 price is probably a big jump up, will have to check it out cheers Yamp

bushbeachboy
21-10-2007, 12:20 PM
Yamp,
Give Peter Hazard at Pro Tackle Townsville a call. He owns a 5m Goodwin and has done for years. He is very comfortable going out wide in it.

I previously owned a 595 Goodwin and only have praise for it. Great boat in a big sea. I've been out in Halifax Bay in 25 knots plus (stupid I know) but I had to try it out somehow. No worries whatever. It's also very stable underfoot. Very economical to run too, and a good fuel capacity at 150 litres. Unfortunately for me I now live in Toowoomba, so no use for a big boat. I'm just waiting for global warming to raise the sea level so I can buy another Goodwin and launch from the bottom of the Toowoomba Range.:P

Gavin Goodwin is a top bloke to get along with also. If you give him a call he will gladly give you heaps of details and info. He can probably also arrange a test drive in one of his boats in your area. You normally find Goodwin owners are quite happy with their boats.

BBB

death_ship
21-10-2007, 07:55 PM
been out in a southwind 5.2 cc 2000 model i think last 2 weekends offshore, saturday was pretty crappy, they handle the slop well. pretty impressed with the handling, lots of fishing room. they have low sides with rails and i felt like i was gonna fall overboard a couple times. pretty economical with 70 yammy 2 stroke. the console has hinged sides with clears at full height that swing out at 45 degrees and lock onto the gunnel which deflect all the spray so you stay dry as well, really good setup. see pic here http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=118133

yamp
22-10-2007, 07:33 PM
Just heard of another longboat make, tafline,they were supposed to be once made in cairns,very similar to southwinds,wondering if any one knows of these or has any experience with them,also saw some panga boats on the net from the states has any one out their imported in the 20 to 40 k price range,pricing seems pretty good the way aussie dollar is,no idea on import prices just another thought cheers Yamp

22-10-2007, 07:54 PM
Hey Yamp

I own a 5.2 southwind ub 520 ( longboat ) i've fished the shelf 60nm east of double island point in it, it is a very very good sea boat though a little wet at times!

It has a yamaha 80 four stroke on it and with a 120l fuel tank has a 350km range!

I'm sell it soon so keep an eye out in the for sale section if your interested in long boats , it's very very well set up!

ian

scorpionNQ
23-10-2007, 09:08 AM
Hey Yamp,

I have been talking to you on the phone from Townsville. Did you get my e-mail about the Tafline in Cairns?
Lee

yamp
23-10-2007, 12:28 PM
Hows it going lee,I think you must have been speaking to my old man on the phone I just doing a bit of research for him on longboats cheers Yamp

23-10-2007, 02:29 PM
If you're keen on a bit of a drive or visiting Townsville, the goodwin's are manufactured in Ingham 1 hr north of Townsville.

I recently had a look at them and in my opinion the sides are pretty low for my liking, but then I've always preferred a boat with good high sides.

From what I've heard they are a very soft riding boat and the newer ones are very stable now and set up really well for fishing, its just the side height I've got any qualms with.

2rods
24-10-2007, 05:49 PM
YAMP.....

I have a goodwin 5950 long boat with a 70 suzuki on it..... a good all round boat and it rides well. Yep the sides are low but I find that once you are use to that its fine....good set up for fishing and a good range.... it is not a fast boat but at 35kms/hr at 4000rpm its fine..

The only down side is they are a bit wet at times but its only water::) and trying to get a good transducer set up is driving me mad at the minute....I need shoot through hull!

Mine has all the fruit on it with S/S everything..as for going out wide I take mine to the Tiwi Islands and beond...600km round trip no problems:o

If you have any more Q's send me a PM with your number and I'll ring you or visa versa;D

ozbee
25-10-2007, 05:00 PM
second hand one for sale at barries marine in home hill got a 115 etec on it if your interested

Dunco
27-10-2007, 02:27 PM
Meet Gavin Goodwin a couple of times. Good bloke, allways easy goin. Have allways heard good reports about his boats in Townsville. Fixed some stuff at his place and have seen his projects in various stages. Haven't got much experience with glass so I don't know what to look for, but he keeps a tidy workshop. Just thought I'd blabber on a bit :)