View Full Version : Fiberglass itch cure
snelly1971
18-10-2007, 07:06 PM
Just had my first introduction to the dreaded fiberglass itch....I have been told several different methods to help ....
Method 1...Take a very hot shower and wash downwards with a flannel..
Method 2...Cold shower first...then hot shower...washing body with a stocking to help remove the glass particles..
I know i should have worn the appropriate gear...and I will be definaltey be purchasing some before my next outing with the sander...
Anyone like to share there remedies...
Cheers Mick
onerabbit
18-10-2007, 07:16 PM
Hey Mick,
only ever suffered as a kid after my dad 'glassed my coolite surfboard.
It must have been nearly midnight before I could get away from the hose outside our holiday shack, the cold water DID seem to help.
I'd go for the protective clothing next time.
snelly1971
18-10-2007, 07:30 PM
Hey Mick,
only ever suffered as a kid after my dad 'glassed my coolite surfboard.
It must have been nearly midnight before I could get away from the hose outside our holiday shack, the cold water DID seem to help.
I'd go for the protective clothing next time.
I did a Google search...50% say hot shower 50% say only cold...???
I hat a near scalding shower and washed my self with heap of soap with a face washer...washing only downwards and then i covered myself with pine tarsel lotion...these seems to have helped a little
Grand_Marlin
18-10-2007, 07:52 PM
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
That is so funny.
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Playing with things you know nothing about :-X
Hope this helps :D
ps the itching stops after 2 days
ColacGirl
18-10-2007, 08:36 PM
You are so mean Pete! ::)
Ross said "Get a carton of beer and a bottle of spirits... by time you've drunk them you won't feel a thing" ;)
Seriously though, prevention is easier than trying to cure.
--
Bev
captain rednut
18-10-2007, 09:01 PM
hi mick the best method is to totally smoother your affected areas with talcum powder early in the morning before you start sweeting as it cloggs your paws when you sweat . it works well thanks jim
snelly1971
18-10-2007, 09:02 PM
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
That is so funny.
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Playing with things you know nothing about :-X
Hope this helps :D
ps the itching stops after 2 days
Funny bugger arnt you Pete...Well we will see who is laughing when i am sitting back next month stuffing my face full of Yummy Tasmanian Crayfish....:P
I will admit ...i know nothing about the horrible stuff,,,Thats why i asked for your advice::)...and look where that got me....;)
I will be going back to Aluminium or steel on my next boat:-/
snelly1971
18-10-2007, 09:03 PM
hi mick the best method is to totally smoother your affected areas with talcum powder early in the morning before you start sweeting as it cloggs your paws when you sweat . it works well thanks jim
Tried that...and it helped a little
18-10-2007, 09:05 PM
What about the grog method??
Did that help??
18-10-2007, 09:06 PM
I will be going back to Aluminium or steel on my next boat:-/
You mean there's going to be yet another kid coming at some stage?? :D
snelly1971
18-10-2007, 09:59 PM
You mean there's going to be yet another kid coming at some stage?? :D
No definatly not...1 more and thats it for the rug rats...
Cant try the Grog...I have given it up...been 10 months now...Wouldnt you think my supposed called MATE GM...would have told me to wear protective clothing ect...Gee i reckon i was up every hour last night..itching and bloody scratching..:'(:'(
snelly1971
18-10-2007, 10:01 PM
Yes GM...I know...You are lying back there with a real snug look on your face...
18-10-2007, 10:30 PM
I've had the misfortune to work arround the stuff a couple of times.
I find a comfortably hot shower and a brush, not too soft not too hard and lots of soap........your not trying to scrub it out by brut force..... but scrub all the same.... keeping the lather up floats the stuff away.
and definitely work from the top down.
even better than the protective clothing.......get a sander with dust extraction and use it with a good industrial vac....... I'd still be wearing the protective gear..... but good dust extraction will do more.
the metabo duo or the festo rotex are the machines of choice depending on your budjet.
Mick,
Just ignore it.....
I have it again today, crawling around in a customers little bloody skiboat, installing a bowtank, squeezing into cramped areas.
Perhaps I am just used to it but I find the evening shower eases it a bit and the folowing morning its usually gone.
Sanding doesn't usually do it I find. Its grinding glass that really gets it into your skin.
Hey, what happened about that cat in QLD you were considering?
snelly1971
18-10-2007, 11:16 PM
Mick,
Just ignore it.....
I have it again today, crawling around in a customers little bloody skiboat, installing a bowtank, squeezing into cramped areas.
Perhaps I am just used to it but I find the evening shower eases it a bit and the folowing morning its usually gone.
Sanding doesn't usually do it I find. Its grinding glass that really gets it into your skin.
Hey, what happened about that cat in QLD you were considering?
Hi Nick....I liked the Tri Hull better...The inboards on the cat scared me away...and I must say that i am very very happy with the Tri Hull...Gee i dont see how you`s blokes get used to scratching...Probably get immune to it I suppose....I have got a few days left sanding ...but i will be buying all the appropriate protective clothing ...before I do any more...Be wrapped up like a bloody mummy ....but it will be better than flamin scratching...
PS....I forgot to mention ...I am allergic to Fiberglass.....
snelly1971
18-10-2007, 11:18 PM
I've had the misfortune to work arround the stuff a couple of times.
I find a comfortably hot shower and a brush, not too soft not too hard and lots of soap........your not trying to scrub it out by brut force..... but scrub all the same.... keeping the lather up floats the stuff away.
and definitely work from the top down.
even better than the protective clothing.......get a sander with dust extraction and use it with a good industrial vac....... I'd still be wearing the protective gear..... but good dust extraction will do more.
the metabo duo or the festo rotex are the machines of choice depending on your budjet.
Dust Extraction....sounds like a good idea....
Had it today ...whilst working on the boat outside...roaring bloody 40 knots..
We are ALL allergic to fibreglass mate :) :) :)
19-10-2007, 04:34 AM
LOL @ the talcum powder..I bet you smelled sweet.
I am lucky..work with glass a lot..no reaction to it..I can sleep on the stuff.
Grand_Marlin
19-10-2007, 04:51 AM
even better than the protective clothing.......get a sander with dust extraction and use it with a good industrial vac.......
Yep, very good advice ... use the sander with dust extraction liberally on all itchy areas ;D ;D ;D
Mick, you have me all wrong ... I am not sitting here with a smug look on my face :smug:
It is more like :grin: :grin: :grin:
Here Mick, have some complimentary scratching :vrolijk_26:
.... its the least I could do for a Mate :-* :stupid:
Look at it from a positive point of view ... you can now sit out the back and have quality time with the dog :vrolijk_26:
Mad-One
19-10-2007, 05:57 AM
I'm like Pinhead I can sleep on it,roll on it and wrap myself up in it but then again back then I used to drink heaps too,;D;D;Dlike every minute that I wasn't at work. Don't know if that made a difference or not. But the blokes who did itch found a reasonably cool shower and only washing downwards helped then follow me to the pub;D;D;D
Cheers Mad
I used to work in commercial airconditioning, and used to wrap duct with that yellow insulation shit. Forget your protective all over clothing and youd pay the price.
Best and proven method is hottest shower you can stand under and wipe in one direction, the hot water opens your pores and releases the fibres. Scrub back and forth and youll break them off and be itchy for dayyyyyyys.
Dean1
19-10-2007, 06:42 PM
Hey Mick whats up bud?? What ya fibreglassin man? Oh is it that big crack youv found down the centre of your tryhardhull?? :undecided: Or are you trying to transform it into a cat somehow ::)
snelly1971
19-10-2007, 07:24 PM
Hey Mick whats up bud?? What ya fibreglassin man? Oh is it that big crack youv found down the centre of your tryhardhull?? :undecided: Or are you trying to transform it into a cat somehow ::)
Ha ha Dean...That is why you are living up there on that duck pond...Its about the only place a cat is safe to be operated....Your are always welcome to wander down and come for a ride....just bring a hanky....dont want you leaving drool marks all over my dash...:P:P
Mick..
PS....I am installing new side pockets from the gunnel to the floor for storage lockers...and some extra strength for my Pot Hauler to be mounted to as well...
BrisBen
19-10-2007, 08:38 PM
just ignore it , the more you scratch the worst it gets. You could try a spray painters suite they cover you from head to toe their lite and their cheap.
frank100
19-10-2007, 08:53 PM
Snelly1971,
Mate the easiest, fastest way I found was to take a roll of masking tape and apply the sticky side to the afected area ( a small patch at a time). You may have to aplly to the same spot a couple of times to get all the glass particles to stick to the tape. Great way to get in between fingers.
Although I have'nt tried the internal application of alchahol as a remedy for this it has some appeal, baby powder? hot / cold showers did'nt help me at all.
Frank
20-10-2007, 05:00 AM
Ha ha Dean...That is why you are living up there on that duck pond...Its about the only place a cat is safe to be operated....Your are always welcome to wander down and come for a ride....just bring a hanky....dont want you leaving drool marks all over my dash...:P:P
Mick..
PS....I am installing new side pockets from the gunnel to the floor for storage lockers...and some extra strength for my Pot Hauler to be mounted to as well...
you installing a crane similar to Deadliest Catch boats???
snelly1971
20-10-2007, 08:06 AM
you installing a crane similar to Deadliest Catch boats???
No just a normal pot hauler.....I will post some pics when she is all fitted....Dean is a little bit jealous that he could not fit one in his little cat....
Poor old cat could not carry the weight...