View Full Version : Couldn't be happier!!!!!

mik01
17-10-2007, 08:18 PM
As I have no kids, and apart from the day my wife married me, today ranks as one of the greatest days of my life... ;D ;D ;D ;D

just brought home my first boat - a Coxcraft Rumrunner (88 model) with a 98 Yammie 115. no pics yet as got home too late, but will post a couple tmrw.

can't fit it in the garage, and the 'boss' has stipulated it must fit or disappear. so off tomorrow to get the windscreen altered to be able to fold down. then looking to throw it out on the water on sat/sun.

just want to say a huge thanks to all here on Ausfish who have contributed (not just to me) in the past, as I have used all your advice to make sure I have made a good decision on what to look for and what to buy.

one question I have is this - as you can see I live at wello - where do you recommend I take my pride and joy for a service and a general once over?
I am thinking i need a stainless fuel tank fitted also, as the existing alloy one seems slightly dodgy.

who is best to service the Yammie (near me) and who is best to do the fuel tank?

cheers all,

mik

17-10-2007, 08:33 PM

Congrats on the rumrunner mik, As for servicing, go and see graheme at wellington point marine, he knows of a really good mobile guy. He'll put you onto him.

As for a stainless tank, have you considered a ready made cruisetank, or will it have to be custom done?

mik01
17-10-2007, 09:12 PM

Congrats on the rumrunner mik, As for servicing, go and see graheme at wellington point marine, he knows of a really good mobile guy. He'll put you onto him.

As for a stainless tank, have you considered a ready made cruisetank, or will it have to be custom done?

thanks mate. I'll check out your recommendation. I also hear that wynnum marine or similar are good? do you use them? if not who do you use out your way?

not sure what a 'cruisetank' is?
it is a 80L, underfloor tank at the moment. I am worried as the breather looks dodgy and I can smell fuel vapours. also, the sender doesn't work so I can't tell how much fuel is in it, which would be handy instead of opening the filler and using a dipstick.

17-10-2007, 09:20 PM

cruisetank are a brand of prefab'd tanks, I think bias may be able to get their hands on them

Greg should be the mechanic these days at mr t's, he's a very good mechanic, Tell him Dave from Precision Detailing sent you if see him.

Wynnum marine are very reputable and are yamaha dealers, wondall road marine are also very reputable but are not yamaha dealers, pretty sure they service all makes.

Regards to the breather, they're supposed to be a little smelly, but not overly, because thats what they do. Just check all hoses and connections in and around the fuel tank, all lines and filters.

Someone should be able to give you an estimated economy figure of x nm/litre for your rig. At least will give you a guide to run at.

Roughasguts
17-10-2007, 09:38 PM
Mate congrats on the boat.

What happens when you drop the trailer off the jockey wheel? with the tow bar coupling sitting on the ground could you get the windscreen under the garage door then.

If so all I did was make a small dolly with 4 castors on it that slips under the trailer draw bar. She slides in under the garage door then. Cost me 8 bucks and so far lasted 6 years.

mik01
17-10-2007, 10:20 PM
thanks guys - will be calling both Wynnum and Wondall marine in the morning.

due to the slope on the driveway (slopes up), I can't even drop the jockey wheel before it gets into the roller door!! :( good suggestion, Rough, but no can do. At the moment, I can't even drop the trailer off the back of the car (on the driveway) as the jockey wheel is long and the trailer sits so low on the towball.

might have to invest in a shorter jockey wheel???
I am only about 100mm too high!!!! can you believe it?! :-/

Dave, cheers for the info about the fuel tank. I'll spend some time and check all fittings etc. it does smell overly strong - perhaps its no big deal and I am worrying for nothing. just don't want to get out on the water and blow up:o

Roughasguts
17-10-2007, 10:29 PM
Hmmm Bummer can that 100mm be taken out by removing the roller door stops at the top of the track then.

17-10-2007, 11:15 PM
Mate tell Brian at Wondall Road Marine that a member of Ausfish with an old Seafarer Vagabond with stiff steering and a 93 Yammy 115 said that he was the man to see because he secretly preferred Yammys over those black things that he sells! Seriously - great place to get the work done mate. He has serviced my Mercs and now Yammy over the years and is exceptional. He will kid you around a bit, but he will simply be taking the piss.

You should get 70kph properly propped at at guestimate.

18-10-2007, 07:21 AM
Just a variation to the caster roller idea if that will not work. You could try a bit of heavy plate bent like a Z. The top of the z to bolt on to the tow ball hole, and have another tow ball mounted on the bottom of the z. The gap between the top and the bottom being about 150mm. That way you can swap it over before you reverse down the driveway and it will fit under. Just means you have to muck around a bit each time you get your boat in and out, but may be better than trying to modify your windscreen.

mik01
18-10-2007, 08:31 AM
thanks for the tips all - keep em coming.

as I am towing with the falcon, she sits very low already - can't get her any lower! I fear I have no choice but to modify the windscreen.
I've done a search on here and found some advice so will call a marine windo mob for a price and advice.

or I could simply attach a hinge to each section of the window (ie - one on each side panel and the front) so they fold down, and secure them with an inside slide bolt when up?
would you see any issues with this setup?

Vitamin Sea
18-10-2007, 10:28 AM
Gidday Mik01

Congrats on the new boat, the Rumrunner's go well, should be happy with her.

Regarding fuel tank, a cheaper alternative to the Cruisetank would be to get a custom Ally one made up, will last for years.

If you would like to go down that path let me know as I have the bloke who can do it for you, by all means get a price on the stainless so that you can compare.

Bill

mik01
18-10-2007, 10:36 AM
sum

guys - have just removed the windscreen. looks like it will be fairly easy to apply some hinges, or even wingnuts so I can simply remove the windscreen when I get home.
would prefer the hinge route though. will keep you informed as I go - perhaps someone might benefit from my experience here.

here's some pics of my new toy (bimi down)....

Roughasguts
18-10-2007, 11:27 AM
Nice boat, Nice street two (bastard) guess your going to be busy polishing this weekend Har har get plenty of beer first.

Anyway not sure but it looks like you could drop the boat down a bit on those rollers, Maybe even a hundred MM.

Maybe the rear ones can't move down much but surely the ones by the mudguard and bow roller can come down a fair way.

mik01
18-10-2007, 11:40 AM
Nice boat, Nice street two (bastard) guess your going to be busy polishing this weekend Har har get plenty of beer first.

Anyway not sure but it looks like you could drop the boat down a bit on those rollers, Maybe even a hundred MM.

Maybe the rear ones can't move down much but surely the ones by the mudguard and bow roller can come down a fair way.

errr thanks (I think!!)
would rather be in the water all weekend, but the inevitable polish is coming soon I guess. will have plenty of supplies at hand, you can count on that! ;)

never thought of dropping the rollers down - good idea - I'll have a look.
will this compromise the boat in any way? (ie launch and retrieve?)

Roughasguts
18-10-2007, 12:32 PM
Nah dropping the rollers down shouldn't hurt the boat at all.
As long as they all still suport the hull and theres still a slight incline rearwards for launching all should be good.

Infact lowering the center of gravity will help the towing of the rig a tad.

18-10-2007, 12:55 PM
Good left field idea RR. I was also wondering if it was possible to raise the connection points of the rollerdoor up a bit. That may give you a bit extra.

mik01
18-10-2007, 01:18 PM
Good left field idea RR. I was also wondering if it was possible to raise the connection points of the rollerdoor up a bit. That may give you a bit extra.

good idea but can't do it as there is a timber fascia along the front covering the roll of the roller door. this would have to be removed, and it looks like it is load bearing...

also the roller door is electric, therefore the track and motor sit pretty low inside the garage. its a real pity cos the garage has a v roofline with heaps of height - its just the entry and roller that ruin it.

I've looked at the windscreen and can hinge it no worries, which shouldn't compromise the rigidity when up. will post up some pics when done - off to get the bits now

18-10-2007, 04:56 PM

Mik, Just a quick one regarding the height of the rig.

I cannot make out in the pic, but make sure the axle is under sprung, that is, the leaf springs are running under the axle.

If they are over the axle, put them under and that will make a pretty big height difference.

18-10-2007, 05:25 PM
Good to see another Rumrunner owner Mik.

I had one about the same vintage and kept it for about 5 years. Took it everywhere, Harvey bay, Yeppoon, The banks, Moreton, Gold coast and all the spots in between.

I put in a Navman 2100 fuel transducer to keep track of the fuel.

They are a very sea worthy vessel but can rock a fair bit in choppy conditions.

Found a pic of the old girl

mik01
18-10-2007, 05:48 PM
gday Dave - springs are under the axle :(

nice looking rumrunner there Chris - any idea where I can get the original Coxcraft and Rumrunner stickers so mine looks a little better?

Camo
18-10-2007, 05:53 PM
Miko1, mate very pretty boat you have there. You're gonna have loads of fun in it. I agree with the guys here, drop the rollers down, and if necessary you can lower the guards to get a few more cm to play with. You can even buy smaller wheels and guards if necessay. I did the same thing with mine to fit in the shed, and have had no problems at all with towing, launching, or retrieving the boat. My boat is so close to the guards, that you cant stand on them to get in the boat. But at least it fits in the shed.

Camo

Camo
19-10-2007, 06:43 AM
Mate just another thought, you could let the tyres down that would give you less height on the boat. That coupled with some of the other suggestions might be enough to get you under the door.

Camo