PDA

View Full Version : how to identify species of fish on sounder?

crowser
17-10-2007, 06:47 PM
wonderin how ppl identify wat type of species a fish is on a sounder and how large it is..

plz help,
crowser

disorderly
17-10-2007, 07:16 PM
Have a look at the "Sounder Reading" thread on Electronics.
Ought to keep you busy for a while.
Some real good stuff there toohttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

Scott

loophole
17-10-2007, 07:33 PM
didnt know u could go that far ?

Hamish73
17-10-2007, 07:48 PM
I would imagine that determining the species would be about as accurate as playing darts blindfolded

FNQCairns
17-10-2007, 07:54 PM
I am no expert but i think it comes from getting to know the species in the areas they fish, with time they become recognisable as the best guess, at least that is what I have found.
Fishing an unknown region with little experience in the fish that it should contain even an expert may have no hope at the species level until they pull a few up and build an understanding.

For instance up here we can have spanish zipping around a bait school but out side sydney the fish zipping around may be Kingfish, it would be interesting to see an expert sit in a sounder simulator so he has no idea what region the sounder reading relates.

But again I don't really know, I am not that good at reading sounders.

cheers fnq

crowser
17-10-2007, 07:55 PM
just wonderin, cauz on a thread other day, someone asked bout a sounder and some guy said its a queenfish bout 40-60cm or something..

crowser

kingtin
17-10-2007, 08:14 PM