View Full Version : Off to a bad start!

DeanWh
16-10-2007, 11:34 AM
I am new to this forum, and also new to boating, i.e. I bought my first decent sized boat about a month ago. A 17 foot Savage with a 115 Evinrude - not that I know much about boats and motors. I wanted to share my experiences with you all, as I feel that some may get a good laugh, but it has been a trying time for me and the only way to get over it is to laugh.

I bought the boat from a guy in Whyalla (incidentally, he put me in hospital over 15 years ago when we were kids but we are grown ups now!!), for $5000. His Dad just died and his decision to sell was an emotional one.

A friend and I tested the boat out in Whyalla's waters and because we caught 2 squid in a matter of minutes, I decided to buy it (that was a joke!).

Anyway, I drove back home to Adelaide, showed a couple of my mates and within a few days we were heading for St Kilda to launch and go fishing. We got the boat in the water no problem but the battery was flat. Because we had been trying out all the lights and gadgets etc, we had drained the battery without realizing it.

So I drove to the BP at Burton and bought a new battery, which is probably a good thing anyway as it pays to have a spare. So within the hour we were back on board, the motor was running, and we were heading out.

We had been told that St. Kilda can be dangerous in low tides but if we kept to ‘The Channel’, we should be right. However we left in daylight, and decided to come home at night, and at low tide! Stupidity, AND inexperience.

We had caught a few crabs and thought ourselves pretty clever. The boat motor had been running like a dream, we couldn’t see any leaks in the boat and all looked rosy, however the low tide at St. Kilda was about to give us our first real scare.

As we are inexperienced we weren’t confident of the actual where-a-bouts of the channel, and our natural tendency was to head towards the blue lights of St. Kilda. On more than one occasion we went from 10-12 feet of water to 2 feet within a few seconds, only to turn around just in the nick of time, head the other way and be met with the same problem the other way. It only became obvious to us later that we were bouncing from one side of the channel to the other trying to find our way back.

It got real scary when we didn’t turn back in time and the motor dug into the sand and seaweed. It was a trying time, and at one point, a seagull flew over us and then in front of us. We thought, maybe it’s showing us the way, and for a while it seemed it was, but nope, we almost run aground again.

Eventually we found the flashing lights and the black poles with the platforms on top, recognizing them from when we left; we finally got our bums back to the boat ramp. We realized how lucky we had been that things weren’t worse, but did afford a bit of a laugh. However, our mishaps hadn’t finished for the night.

After winching the boat back on the trailer, my mate had left the winch handle on the winch. It wasn’t until I turned onto Waterloo corner road that for some reason my mind just thought about it. “Hey, where did you put the winch handle?”

We looked in the car, in the boat and couldn’t find it. We drove all the way back to St. Kilda, looked around the marina and still no luck. After giving up, we headed back and just by pure luck, it happened to be in the middle of the road on the main bend of the main road to St. Kilda!

We decided to go out the following weekend, but this time we were going to leave on high tide, sleep in the boat and then come back on high tide. We had to sleep on the boat due to the times of the high tides.

On this night, we had no issues, well not really, as we had two batteries, but we found out how quickly the spot light fitted to the side of the boat drained the battery! Lucky we had two batteries. The other thing we found was that the fish well was filling with water. This didn’t happen the other night, but I found a bung in the boat which fitted the hole in the well nicely (still didn’t explain why there was no water filling it last week).

Mid-morning, I headed out to a drop called ‘The Shed’, for no other reason than that I found the GPS markers for it on the Internet and it said we can catch Snapper there. Once we got there, we slept a bit more and at dawn starting throwing our lines out.

Then I looked through the hole of the fish well cover and the damn thing was full again. We couldn’t work it out. Rather than panic (I mean we were only in 50 foot of water LOL), we just bucketed the water out, and decided to keep an eye on it. Then one of my friends noticed the water was coming from the front and not the back. The bottom cavities in the cabin were somehow filling with water and this was draining down into the fish well. At this point, my other mate noticed a gurgling sound and the back of the boat was starting to fill with water. Massive panic!

We instantly started heading back in, knowing we had about 16km to travel. When we launched the day before we had 50 liters of petrol, however, what we didn’t know was how long this amount of fuel would last. Again, inexperience was our downfall.

When the boat was starting to fill with water, we had just less than one full jerry, and the other two jerry’s had a few litres in them each. With a few kilometers to go, the main jerry ran out. I had to get one of my friends to plug in one of the other jerry’s and hold it in such a position, that we could the last few litres.

When that one ran out, we were actually in the marina’s channel, but we couldn’t get the motor to start on the third jerry’s bit of fuel and the boat floating aimlessly banged into the rocks. To my delight, it was just one of the fins on the motor that hit a rock and only left a small ding.

We finally got the motor started and got the ramp, and got the boat out of the water. Once on the trailer, we opened the two main bungs and the water just gushed out. Now for those who know this area of Adelaide, you are going to appreciate this next bit.

I live in Paralowie, and although close, is still a 10 minute drive from St. Kilda. When I arrived home, the water was still flowing out the bottom bung hole! I don’t mean trickling, it was still flowing!

We found an area on the bottom of the boat that had been bogged up with car bog. I don’t know why they used bog, but they did, and this was where it had been leaking through. My boat has some sort of under cavity bit where it all joins to the bottom bung hole (including the fish well) and then you have the top hole.

This under cavity had been slowly filling with water over the two fishing trips, and had just filled up. It must be some cavity with the amount of water that came out. No wonder we used so much fuel, the boat was weighted down with water.

We fixed the hole using a fiber glass repair kit and the next time we went out, we left at lunch, and came back in the afternoon. We decided we weren’t going to take any chances. The boat didn’t leak and it was our first trip with no issues (although after launching, we still forgot to remove the winch handle, and luckily found it in the car park!).

Last night was the first time I was taking my wife out, and it was just me and her. We planned this for quite some time, getting a babysitter, getting burley and bait and everything we needed. The plan was to crab at night near St. Kilda and then head out to the Shed for snapper and whiting in the early morning.

It was a nightmare!

Firstly, we put the boat in the water at the ramp, and I had forgotten to put the bungs in. I mean man, of all the things to forget. I couldn’t believe it when I looked into the boat to see a foot of water in the back half. If I hadn’t looked and drove the car of to the car park…….well, you can imagine.

I got completely soaked, not to mention the floor of the boat, but after getting the bungs in and getting the boat back on the trailer, we were able to get it out and drain it. Not to be defeated, we cleaned up and tried again.

Take two was better. We got out into the water and the plan was to crab around St. Kilda area in the evening, and then head out to the Shed before the high tide which was around 5:30am. After catching a few crabs it got late and we rested a bit before I started to head out.

Then my lack of inexperience with St. Kilda caused me issues again. I can not get this area right and three times I hit the sand and seaweed. Every time I though I was heading in the right direction – which was West on my compass, towards the Black Pole on my GPS and towards a flashing light, I still kept hitting the sand. In the end, I gave up, and just waited for other boats to come out before high tide and just follow them.

Sure enough, they started heading out around 4am, and so did we. We got to the Shed, burlied up, and waited around. Nothing was happening, and I remembered from the last time that we could actually see this huge lump on the fish finder, which I couldn’t see on this occasion. So after a while, we thought that if we just putt around the area, eventually we would find the lump on the fish finder.

After 10 minutes, I just could not find the lump, and so I said to my wife, just drop anchor here and we’ll keep waiting. Well, my wife; bless her cotton socks – she let the anchor out alright, she let it out without tying it, and we lost it!

My only positive at that point was that she did it and not me, and the reason I say this is because if I had done that, I would have been so upset with myself, I would have been a ba$%^rd to be around. As it were, she did it, and the last thing I wanted was her being upset. She tried not to cry but she couldn’t help herself.

I think if the last month had been rosier, then the loss of the anchor wouldn’t have been such a deal. But she knew I had been fighting everything uphill with this boat, and that this was possibly the last straw for me.

Well, I don’t know. Maybe I’m not cut out for boating, or maybe this is just the initiation stage most people go through before embarking on a very productive fishing and relaxing lifestyle – which essentially is my aim.

I called my friend to tell him the story and we laughed and laughed. This is truly a test of ones own fortitude. He let me know that he just happened to be in Big W that day where he saw anchors and ropes being sold. Funny that hey?

I know others have been through worse, a lot worse, but I really felt compelled to share this story. I feel a lot better having written this down, and hope that it brings a smile to a few faces.

Dean

SgBFish
16-10-2007, 11:53 AM
Dean you were destined to be on the water.
Consider yourself initiated.

shamus
16-10-2007, 12:02 PM
They Sell Anchors At Big W???

shamus
16-10-2007, 12:14 PM
seriously, that makes my dramas when I first got my boat sound prety simple. Should be all sorted nowthough...

tully
16-10-2007, 12:20 PM
Good one Dean, I'm from henley beach originaly myself, don't worry mate I've made every boating blunder known to man (some more than once). We learn from our mistakes and adventures. Good luck with the snapper and whiting.

dnej
16-10-2007, 12:26 PM
Dean,you have made my day LMHO.You didnt change your boat name per chance?
David

tez1
16-10-2007, 12:27 PM
lol welcome to boating m8,i too have had a few mishaps with the winch handle,plugs,anchor..you know what i mean,::) anyway when i go out these days i have a routine check everything then check it again,its good to take the missus with you too then if you forget something usaully they remember,mine nags me to death,ie have you got this ,,blah,blah i dont mind though helps when first starting out..st kilda is a bugger on the low tide has a narrow channel if you have google earth you can see the channel pretty good, might help get a good bearing on your gps to go at the low tide anyway good luck and you will find plenty of help on this site,and try fishsa.com good info there too for gps marks.

tez

16-10-2007, 12:37 PM
Funny story (it's good to be nice to your decky no matter what! within reason) and repeated so many times over, I was introduced to boating/fishing in my nappies (as I will leave also:)) so the learning curve was slow, still stuff up regular, more so as I get older.

But seriously you are the skipper, the buck stops with you, it's your responsibility to ensure all is ship shape (seaworthy) before putting the boat on the water. A case could be argued the boat was not seaworthy with out an anchor connected.

Keep your chin up it will get better and possibly worse at times but the better times are worth the wait for, honest I know they do exist....sure that in the upcoming 4th month of my own personal new boat ownership it will be a cracker for good memories.......

STUIE63
16-10-2007, 12:49 PM
Dean welcome to ausfish . mate what an initiation to boating as long as you can laugh about it and learn from it all is good . they reckon there are only two types of boaties those that have left the bungs out and those that haven't left them out Yet!!!

fish-n-dive
16-10-2007, 12:55 PM
Thanks for sharing mate and welcome to Ausfish............we have all had our share of 'glitches' I can assure you!!!

As an aside, did you ever consider writing for a living..............LOL..............:D

landog
16-10-2007, 12:56 PM
What a great story.

I to bought a boat a few months back with 0 previous experience with boats. Every trip I take something goes wrong, I learn from it and move on.

So far Ive had 3 trips:

Trip 1 (Maiden Voyage): got to the ramp, undid verything, (people banked up behind me) grabbed the winch...oops dosnt fit on the winch hex bolt! (thank christ I checked before pushing the boat off). Buckle everyhting up, drive straight to witworths, try a few of theirs .. none of the fit. Ring a guy at a welding trialer boat place, he tells me i have an older size hex, go to a hardware store and buy one and he will weld it onto a handle. I go to hardware store, get hex, go to guys to weld, welds it to a handle, launch boat 4 hrs later.

Trip 2: Decide before I start going out for a whole day Ill get the boat serviced. Pick it up on the day feeling really good, like everyhting is tested and ok. Launch boat, motor for 1 hr, engine starts beeping. I think weird, but ill ignore it. Then engine stops (its a 2 stroke 115 merc). Look at oil. NOne!. Radio for someone to tow me. 2 guys rock up and tow me to cottage point, Buy 5 x 4 liters of oil (never going to run out again). Gte back to ramp, reach for winch handle. not there. start looking everywhere, find it 10 mins later up on a pole in the carpark (thanks to someone).

Trip 3: yesterday - Just wonderful, lauched boat easily, motored for 20 mins, anchored, put lines in, caught 7 snapper in5 mins, winched up on a shit angle and had to push it off again and rewinch it up bu otherwise it was magic.

Every trip I learn a little more, about the boat, what to do in what order, how to read the conditions etc etc.

Dory4.1
16-10-2007, 01:10 PM
Mate , surely it can only get better from here?

Rgs
Michael

recurveron
16-10-2007, 01:33 PM
Great effort in writting that, glad everything turned out well. As said above join the fishsa site , lots of helpfull blokes and good info for your waters

darkside
16-10-2007, 01:57 PM
Dean although a small consolation i think you have caught more fish in 3 shoker outings than i have in 5 dream run years , so you may have found the compromise! Besides it's all a learning curve , and when it comes to boats i don't think we ever stop learning .And for the record i lost a winch handle but didn't realise till i was back at the ramp and had to winch the boat up with a shifter , ""Thats Fun "":'(

DeanWh
16-10-2007, 02:01 PM
Thanks guys for all your feedback and replies. I feel a lot better now just knowing these things happen. Of course the next thing is to find some good spots and catch some fish. We've only caught crabs and a couple of small salmon. I want the big reds!!

I will look at FishSA too

Dean

mirage
16-10-2007, 03:47 PM
Great story Dean.
Should be smooth sailing now. Steep learning curve, you've had 2 years of stuff ups in the first month!
Now you can enjoy the boat.

16-10-2007, 05:03 PM
Some funny stuff there but gee your a worry. And it was your fault for not having the anchor tied at the end.

tigermullet
16-10-2007, 05:41 PM
Thanks Dean, That's the best story heard in quite some time. Very amusing. You have crammed a lot of learning into a short period. Good onya.;D

Tell your wife not to worry about the anchor - the effing seabed is covered in em.

mik01
16-10-2007, 07:08 PM
Dean - that bit about the missus throwing the anchor into the sea cracked me up...
You know, I half by expected someone to up you for being an incompetent newbie - as some people seem to complain long and loud around here recently.

but I'm pleased to see its all good - so thanks to everyone for the good sentiments. I've just bought my first boat, and hopefully have learned from your mistakes (gee I hope so!).

good luck mate and see you out on the water if you ever venture to sunny QLD!

mik
there's many positives to having new blood on the boating scene

polky
16-10-2007, 08:21 PM
Dean you will find most fishos have forgotten the bungs at least once. With my first rig it took me 3 attempts to make it to the reefs from flat battery,hole in fuel tank,motor not start and other problems. Matey find those spots and get into the reds, good luck. Polky.

16-10-2007, 08:27 PM
Dean....what a story...at least you laughed about it.
Welcome to the site. You might have to paint your winch handle a very bright RED.;D

All the best with your future fishing trips.

jigsnreels
16-10-2007, 08:44 PM
Is'n boating fun? Don't worry mate, we've all had plenty of stuffups and laugh about 'em now. On the not so funny side your old "mate" could have put you back in hossy again.

Stick with it, it gets better. Doesn't seem to get any cheaper though, there's always something....

lifestyle
16-10-2007, 08:50 PM
every boaty has got a story to tell of some sort like that. Yours was a corker though. Every mistake you will learn from . You arn't that fellow form the 4wd show are you ( Russel Couit). Keep on boating its a top way to spend your week ends.

darkside
16-10-2007, 08:57 PM
would make a top thread " tell us your funniest or worst boating experience";D

Blueroo
16-10-2007, 08:59 PM
Good on you and your missus Dean. I hope you both stick with it. It gets better.
It sounds like you are getting experienced pretty quickly.
I've done the leave the bungs out twice now. Gets a bit embarressing having to jump in the water at the boat club to put the bungs in. Hmm.
Stue

rando
16-10-2007, 09:15 PM
Dean,
Ive done all of that and more, you gain experience with every trip .
One thing to save stuffups, write out a routine for
1. prepare the boat
2. launch
3.Retrieve
Get a good marine chart of the area you want to fish, and learn the beacons, Including their individual flash signatures. Keep it on the boat. If you know the beacons and you have a compass fitted ,and a rolling ruler you can always get home.
GPS helps too.;D

Just one more advise for a newbie. Always give beacons a fair bit of room. They do not necessarily mark the EXACT location of an obstruction.
Have fun , stay safe
rando

17-10-2007, 03:31 AM
Dean Dean Dean, I imagine that you like the rest of us will encounter little misfortunes like this throughout your boating career. Most every boatie i know has a mishap every single season and they tend not to divulge them as eloquently as you have.

Bungs are one of those things that will scare you into not forgetting ever again. That problem is now solved.

Anchor ropes are always tied to the boat in some form or other, another one solved.

Fuel will never again be short for a trip i bet my left agate. Another one solved.

Knowing where the channels are is always going to be fun if you have never ventured in that area before. You, like the rest of us, have taken the initiative to explore and explorers will forever be touching bottom somewhere some times.
Do your research before you head out and try to know where channels are meant to be and if you can get a latest update map to take with you.

The world of being a boatie is one with huge amounts of enjoyment and lots of holes you have to fill with $50 notes. Enjoy it while you can.

17-10-2007, 06:03 AM
Well Dean, again, welcome to boating and ausfish.

I had to pick myself up off the floor to type! Thanks for sharing your initiation experiences...it does get better!

There isn't too much more you can experience, and I'd reckon there's not one person here that hasn't done at least one or all of hitting sand banks, dropping untied anchors, dropping a winch handle (that's my favorite - lost a few in my time) or leaving the bungs out at some point.

At least you're getting it all out of the way in a couple of trips.

Rando is on the money, write out the check lists and school your deckies too.

Hope you get some good trips in now to build your confidence.

Just a tip for that skinny channel, if you haven't already, go out during the day and plot yourself a course with the GPS and save it so you can call it up when you need it.

TOPAZ
17-10-2007, 10:55 AM
Dean,

I have refrained from posting a reply to this thread, but I am afraid that I can hold off no longer.
My opinion is somewhat different from most of the above, in that I think that what has happened to you is not in the least bit funny, and, with only very minor changes in circumstances, could have been tragic!
Boating is a very serious business - the potential for things to go wrong is ever present, and there is no room for complacency or half measures in anything that you do on the water.
I have had 20 years experience as a member of a marine search and rescue organisation, and 15 years of teaching boating safety to members of the public in Melbourne.
My advice, BEFORE YOUR LUCK RUNS OUT, is to enrol in a Safe Boating Course in your area (probably the Coast Guard is a good place to start) and get some basic knowledge about boating and all that it entails with respect to equipment, procedures, weather, safety, maintenance etc.
You are not only endangering yourself, but your passengers as well, and don't forget the volunteers whom you will expect to come and rescue you when you inevitably come unstuck.

The advice given in the previous replies is all very good, but I think you need some formal training to get it all together.

Sorry to be so negative, but out there, on the water, there are no second chances, and you can't get out and walk home!

Here endeth the lesson!

Richard.

landog
17-10-2007, 11:34 AM
One other thing you might consider doing is taking an experienced person out with you a few times.

Despite all my relatively minor learning mistakes, the one thing I havent done yet is go out at night or with only crew that know as little as I do.

Fortunately Ive got a father in law that was a commercial fisherman so hes been on all 3 trips and has taught me an infinte number of things already.

This isnt meant to be a criticism by the way, just a suggestion..its helped me heaps.

Examples
- learning how to anchor effectively (when to use what anchor etc)
- learning how to pull up at a pontoon
- learning how to deal with big wash from ferries etc

I did the compulsory safe boating course, but am also contemplating doing the follow up practical course. Frankly I found the compulsory course pretty useless - study the book and then regurgitate the answers. The practical expereince since has been invaluable.

tigermullet
18-10-2007, 05:36 PM
Topaz, you do make some very good points except for this assumption - "and don't forget the volunteers whom you will expect to come and rescue you when you inevitably come unstuck.

Many do not expect volunteers to come to our rescue.

mik01
18-10-2007, 06:12 PM
ahhhh see - i KNEW it was coming.
Topaz - did you do a course to learn boating or did you learn as a young tacker by trial and error????

hands up how many of you 'seasoned' boaties have done a formal course in basic boating skills??????????

death_ship
18-10-2007, 06:14 PM
I think your aspirations were far above your capabilities, lucky you were able to come out of it safely, funny but scary.

Dean1
18-10-2007, 08:09 PM
Hey Dean cool name mate ;) I must say tho i havent had that much bad luck the whole time ive been fishing!! :D Surely ur missus saw the rope coming to an end?!;D Things can only get better mate you wont make those same mistakes again in a hurry :oops:

tigermullet
18-10-2007, 09:19 PM
Hi again Dean, Don't be put off by any negative comments in this thread. Your story was great and showed that you coped well with each incident.

Not only that, you saw the funny side of things.

Keep on doing what you obviously have been doing - learning and depending upon your own resources.

Welcome to the club. And for God's sake keep on writing - I can't wait to read the next chapter;D

tigermullet
18-10-2007, 10:19 PM
On second thoughts, Topaz, I disagree with just about everything that you have said in your response to Dean's story.

Boating is not 'a very serious business' - it is generally fun and usually very safe.

There is room for complacency. We place a lot of faith in technology, and have since the first man set out on a suitable log. Do we aim to equip our unsinkable boats with six spare motors? I couldn't sleep on boat if I didn't feel relaxed and complacent most of the time.

There are, almost always, second chances. Expanses of water do not equate to 'liquid death'. Keeping cool and not panicking often saves the situation.

As for formal courses - Australia is surrounded by water and most of the population has grown up with fishing, swimming, surfing and sailing just about anything that will float.

There is a place for some book learning - we do need to know collision rules, buoyage etc., but there is nothing wrong with learning from experience.

Basically that is what Dean has done - he went out and came back safely and will certainly learn from his experiences.

We too have learnt something an have been given an amusing reminder of our early incidents and mistakes.

Did luck play a part? Probably. But then it does, just about every day.;D

19-10-2007, 05:14 AM
Dean...still chuckling over your excursions.

I have been around boats off and on for 39 years...have seen some damn funny things and also done some myself.
I have left the bungs out...ran onto sandbanks...twice in my current boat..30' of boat is not all that easy to get off the stuff either.
First boat I boat with my wife...we ventured out..she sticks her head up through the hatch in the cabin..stupid me says..throw the anchor out please...what does she do? Throws the anchor out..literally...now the boat had a nice little bow sprit with anchor chain roller on it...does she lower the anchor down over that...hell no..she throws it..over the top of the bow rail. Me being the ever calm person I am hollers at her...ya stupid *=-**..... why did u do that...she gives me the evil glare..then I realised the rope was not tied off in the anchor well..once again in my ever calm tone I yell at her...grab the bloody rope..thankfully she got it in time. That was her one and only time she did anchor duties..I was relegated to deckie after that incident. Thankfully now have anchor winch..getting lazy in my old age.

Enjoy your boating and laugh about these adventures.

Topaz..lighten up..we are all aware of things that can happen on the water but it is far safer than driving on the roads these days,

19-10-2007, 05:31 AM
Topaz, I too have refrained from posting a reply to this thread.

Chill out dude, we have all done things like that, we were all green horns at one stage, yes even you.

They are safe and alive and learnt a valuable lesson, so chill mate.

Chris Ryan
19-10-2007, 06:25 AM
Hey Dean,

Your story sounds like on of my first trips out too. I ran aground - twice firs time out. Third time, I was on the Gold Coast broadwater with my wife, son and my father-in-law. Put the boat in the water and tied them to a pontoon at the Sundale bridge ramp, I parked the car and as I closed the door here were the bungs sitting in the door. Quick sprint (and I am not a small guy so it looked ridiculous) ran down the ramp, chest deep in water, put in the bung. Then saw I hadn't taken the trailering lock off the motor either so it went up, push the lever back then we were away, bilge pump ran for about 5 mins to get the water out.

Then we were fishing, anchored up then a storm was rolling in. Mrs yanked up the anchor but left it sitting on the bow rather than in the achor well, well we came back in (so did a heap of others) and I had to slow down for a massive wake made by a 30' Larson, so as we bobbed over the wake, yup the achor went over the side, I started to take off again, rope disappearing fast and my wife grabbed the rope but to no avail as the nylon started to burn her hands so she let it go. We then had fun trying to get it on the trailer - F-I-L didn't realise you needed to put the ratchet lock on the winch all the time and as hit wet hand slipped off the handle, back into the water we went. It was not funny at the time, but looking back it is. Most of the guys I have met through here and at ramps have done the same sort of things mate.....I guarantee you are not alone!!

Hookin
19-10-2007, 09:33 AM
LOL .... Oh the memoires... I too have been through just about all with bungs and all, I still have distrubing recollections of standing waist deep in the NT's croc infested Mary river Shady camp barage trying to fix a sheared fly wheel key way

Stick at it mate .... hopefully it will get better for ya, did for us, just put it all down to experience.

Justin

DeanWh
21-10-2007, 06:25 PM
Hi All,
I thank everybody for the replies including Richard.

I will not sound or appear unappreciative of you Richard because you do make valid points.

However my inexperience was down to having my own boat. I've been boating many times up in Whyalla with mates who have many years of experience.

There was one occassion when my friend (who's been fishing and boating all his life) decided to take my wife and I on his boat for a nice trip from Cowleds landing to Fitzerald Bay. It was our honey moon (although we still weren't married - we decided to be different) and we planned on staying at his shack.

Anyway, when we left the weather was perfect, but even this old dog got it wrong. After about two hours and fishing for squid around the Cowleds area, we started to move north when all of a sudden the weather picked up. Thinking that we could manage we motored along in his big 8 meter wooden boat.

But as we got closer to Whyalla, the waves were becoming massive. Not only that, there was one point when his whole steering snapped. His steering was the old style rope pulley system. He was steering the boat with the two ropes, one in each hand.

At one point close to the Whyalla marina (and for those who know Whyalla will know it gets rough here), one wave actually turned his boat to horizontal, while he was holding on to these two ropes, my wife and his wife were huddled up in the cabin. I'll never forget that moment.

I have a huge appreciation for the water.

My story was written for a purpose because having my own boat is a new experience. Apart from the trip with my wife, all the other trips were taken with mates because there was no way I'd go out on my own. I needed two other pairs of eyes.

We checked everything before leaving, we checked the lights, the gps and fish gfinder, we checked the radio to make sure it worked but it had a blown fuse so we replaced that. In fact, this was the reason the damn battery went flat!

Anyway, my point is this. I am not irresponsible, just inexperienced at having my own boat. The events of the past month actually upset me greatly. I was seriously ready to throw in the towel and just go out with other boat owners instead.

But do you want to know why I didn't. Because I have 6 kids, and MAN, I need to be able to get away!

I don't want to throw in the towel, and so I have re-assessed my plans for fishing. No longer will I venture all the way out to places like the Shed etc, which are like 16km's out. Instead I'll look at some closer spots like Glenelg and Semaphore etc, until my experience grows.

I will create a check list, I already have two batteries and a battery charger. We have one of those wind up torches, we check for water leaks, I listen closely to any unfamiliar sounds. I'll stick to places where I can see other boats etc etc. One thing I also noticed is that I had mobile coverage when out on the water which adds a bit of security.

This boat is my baby now and I want to make it work. My friend who comes with me is like my angel in disguise. At the first sign of anything wrong he notices it. Some people would see him as a nuisance because at the first sign of any problem (even extremely minor), hew will make you head home, however I feel safer having him with me.

Best to you all, and thankyou

Dean

tez1
21-10-2007, 06:37 PM
hi deanwh did you get the pm i sent

tez

DeanWh
22-10-2007, 09:56 AM
Hi tez,
In fact I did, however when I tried to reply it confused me as to how to.

But anyway, the link you sent me I found quite some time ago and have bookmarked it and even printed it out and put it in my boat. It was that link where I found the marks for the Shed.

Dean

tez1
22-10-2007, 08:43 PM
ok m8 no problem,yeah it confused me too first time,

tez

22-10-2007, 09:05 PM
Thanks for sharing Dean, it will get better. Do you know any longer term boaties as it heaps cheaper to do a trip or two with them and watch.

On the other hand you are lucky to have a partner who will spend time on the boat, treat her well, I guesss you got her flowers to make sure that she knows anchors are not but she is!!

Enjoy those KGW I miss them.

Ram-rod
23-10-2007, 12:01 AM
Good thread this because all the boaties i have known can relate.. what about those winch handles though. I know that there are two ratios and a removeble handle in the simple answer, but i only had my new boat (alarger one hence the two speed winch) 3 weeks and lost my handle twice, found it once and it dissapeared on me the second. AQnd then it slipped off the nut and smacked me in the neck when winching my quinnie on to the trailer. THAT was the last straw, welded the mongrel on to the nut and voila, problem solved...

Trackamick
23-10-2007, 09:47 AM
Dean,
I had to read your story twice, I couldn't help myself.
You have definitely had your initiation, welcome to the boating fraternity.
I will remember this story every time I have a drama.
I'm sure your not the first these type of events happened to but you had the where it all to publish yours and put a grin on the faces of those who read it.
Trackamick:D

saltchaser
23-10-2007, 08:11 PM
the joys of boating good stories lmfao