View Full Version : Sportfish transom weights

turbostx
05-10-2007, 07:37 PM
G'day all, just wondering if any of you have or know of 90's models sportfish 5.2or 5.5's that have been fitted with 4 strokes. Iwas just wondering howthe boat responded to the extra weight as im thinking of fitting one to my 5.2. It has a 20 inch transom with 90 johno on thats a bit tired. Any benefits of going 25 inch apart from the obvious powerhead a bit higher? Looking at the 100 /115 yams at 172 and 192kgs. any help appreciated, info on sportfish's pretty hard to get down here in not so sunny vic! cheers Col.

05-10-2007, 07:47 PM
Col - I re powered a 5.5m 2001 model centre cab with a DF140. The extra weight was actually a big help with the ride.

With the 5.2m though I reckon I would look at the ETEC 90 or 115 as either a 4 stroke yammie or zuke in the 100/115hp will weigh the arse down coming on the plane and at rest.

turbostx
06-10-2007, 03:01 PM
Thanks Greg, Ive been told that the 3 cyl 90 etec would be under powered on my boat and well without wanting to open another can of worms i would much prefer the 4 strokes there are just too many horror stories about them white BOMBadiers!

eugah
08-10-2007, 09:39 AM
I have a 5.0 metre centre console fitted with a 90 Optimax, it weighs 170kg & can come in either a 20 or 25 inch. At rest it probably weighs the back down a little more than i would like, however when it is going it handles really well. If you are interested in a Optimax the 115 is exactly the same motor as the 90.

Adrian

dfox
08-10-2007, 04:23 PM
Col, my mate has a 5.2, it was fitted with a 90 yammy 2stroke with 20inch leg, its since been fitted with a 100hp yammy 4stroke with a 25inch leg, the transom was modified to suit obviously. The boat is a centre console with the console well towards the back, up front theres a 5-600 litre ice box and the fuel tank is as far forward as it will go. The boat is used for commercial line fishing for mackerel, the engine had clocked up 600hours now and in that time the boat has performed as good as if not slightly better then the original motor. Its 2 knots faster, handles big loads better and is far superior fuel wise. The engine has a foil fitted, but so did the 90. Hope that helps mate ...foxy

turbostx
08-10-2007, 07:09 PM
Thanks for the reply's fellas, I,m reasonably confident that the boat can handle the extra weight, mine is the fishing cuddy which is the smallest cab size so the driving position and crew weight is well forward. When i was out fishing on the weekend even got my 100kg old man to sit on the motor at rest and under way and whilst bogging down a little bit was'nt as bad as i thought considering that was an extra 100kg instead of maybe 30 or 40kg at most.
http://www.fishnet.com.au/content/fishnet/images/members/0547ac22-215d-463a-92e9-a03a9f386122.jpg

reel-em-in
09-10-2007, 08:24 PM
Turbostx
I've been going through the same process of deliberation in repowering my 5.0m Fishing Cuddy. A couple of extra thoughts to consider. The 5.0 metre sportfish was power rated to a max of 67kW which I think translates to about 90HP so watch out for insurance risk if your 5.2 is rated the same and you go the 100HP or above. Another issue is the self draining cockpit. Even with a 2 stroke 70HP yammie I still get wet feet from time to time (especially if the kill tank and esky is loaded) so the added weight may make this more of a problem. At this time I'm leaning toward the 90 ETEC as the added weight still causes me the jitters. I did see a 5.5 cuddy with a 90HP Honda. At troll speed it seemed pretty low in the back end at at rest sat down to the duck boards in still water. Hope this helps good luck with the purchase and by the way your boat looks great. Go the Sportfish Brigade.

turbostx
09-10-2007, 09:03 PM
Thanks reel em in, I too get water coming at rest sometimes mainly when 2 people in one corner especially on the side where the 2 batteries are. I love the thought of having a 145kg 90 etec on mine too but have been told by two dealers the i would need the 115 to match the(tired!) v4 90 johnson. The 115 is probably stretching the budget too far anyway, does anyone out there have any experience with a 90 etec pushing a similar boat??

brrbear
10-10-2007, 02:42 PM
a friend has a 75 etec on the 5m cuddy sportfish which he seems to be happy with.
you would think the bit extrA horsepower on the 5.2 would be similar.

litenup
10-10-2007, 09:59 PM
Mate, I have owned and used professionly a 5.2 CC Sportfish (Original), powered by 90 Yammie (2 stroke), 90 Honda and 100 Yammie. The performance was similar, maybe a tad slower out hole, top end speed was slightly higher with both 4 stokes than 2 stoke and fuel about half of 2 stoke (cruising). Don't believe the rubbish that you need more hp if going to 4 stroke. All engines gave about 36mph top. My personal preference was 100 yammie, but you could consider going 115 if $ not a problem. Cheers Pete.

litenup
10-10-2007, 10:03 PM
Forgot to mention, both boats were 20 inch shafts on half pods, so didn't need to get power head any further out of water.. Only needed foil on early Honda, they changed the gearbox in the later model (used both). Cheers again Pete

10-10-2007, 10:13 PM
Sportfish Porn :P;D;D;D

turbostx
12-10-2007, 12:30 PM
Thanks litenup, The 100 yamaha is the motor I probably think suits my needs most, I gain 10hp without much of a weight penalty. Would prob leave the transom 20' . Strecthing the budget as it is and $300 extra for 25' motor plus couple hundred to get it extended 5' and then it will probably hit the cuttin board, wife already angry enough etc etc...

turbostx
12-10-2007, 07:52 PM
Heres an early on photo of mine with over 230kg's hangin' off the transom - plus the motor!
http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc142/sportfish/shark007.jpg

reel-em-in
12-10-2007, 08:01 PM
Was that the guy in the shorts or the shark. lol

Seriously shallow water there to be fishing for sharks.

Don't forget to let us know how she performs once you've fitted and tested the new motor.

Cheers Steve