PDA

View Full Version : V17 Haines Reno

Doc and son
25-09-2007, 05:08 PM
G'day,

It's my first time on this site and I now have a sore back from being riveted to the stories.

My father bought a brand new Haines V17 runabout in 1968, and we have just dragged it out from a twenty-five year sleep under a mango tree.

The stringers have been cut out, the transom also needs replacing.

We would like to restore configuration in original shape, that is no pod, etc.

Also we do not want to paint the boat.

Our questions:
We would be attacking the transom first, once complete we will run new stringers to meet the new transom, is this logic OK?
My understanding is that we are best replacing the transom from the inside. What is the best method of doing this? Concern is that we will need to lift off top shell, with no stringers in floor is this OK?
Lastly, I can not write in this space without giving credit to those who have made it possible.
In particular, Ross and Bev I understand a site like this only works because of members input. So thank you for your effort and giving the whole human side to a fantastic story.Luke
PS Pictures attached hopefully....

Hamish73
25-09-2007, 05:25 PM
I know 2/3 of SFA about what you are doing, but this link should answer most of not all of your questions, good luck and keep mposting progress reports :)
http://www.shareaproject.com/pages/projectTut,p,152,00.html

blaze
25-09-2007, 05:36 PM
IMO- cut the deck in front of the outboard well to do the transom, others will say go in from the rear. I feel the inside way ends up neater for an amuture and stronger.
I would also use hollow glass stringers, they are easier to fit and better become an integreral part of the hull.
transom, stringers floor in that order
cheers
blaze
Ps
I have a couple of threads on rebuilds also, dont know if they still come up in a search though

gavsgonefishing
25-09-2007, 10:59 PM
Mate, I love restos like this.