View Full Version : Water test?
I was wondering how many people who bought boats actually went on a water test of the boat before committing. I know that it depends on how much the boat costs and what it is as well, as well as new vs used, but it would be interesting to get a rough idea.
Personally, I have now bought 4 boats without a water test :-X . First was a little used inflatable with 4hp motor, second was a used 3.7m tinny with 15hp motor, third was a new 4.2m tinny with 30hp motor, and now a used 509 stabicraft with 75 etec.
Roughasguts
20-09-2007, 02:02 AM
No didn't do the water test in fact never even started the motor, not even a compression test.
Pretty big gamble really but all was well with it.
On the other hand if I was selling and someone wanted a water test I would propbably tell him to get stuffed. Think I would wan't $200.00 bucks for me time and effort first, refundable on purchase of course.
MyEscape
20-09-2007, 04:09 AM
Well I voted yes to the water test, but then it was more of a run out in the harbour in Gladstone (for my Cruisecraft, new). In fact the dealer already had the boat in the water at a jetty so I didn't get to assist/watch the boat being launched etc. There seems to be a bit of discussion about launch/retreive as well lately.
My previous boat bought here in Mackay (a 4.15m Seajay) was just bought after looking at the boat. Didn't take it for a run, didn't start the motor (new boat package anyway)
I think when buying a boat, you should consider the whole package seriously (trailer included) how it launches etc. If the dealer launches it with a tractor and you've got a sedan, then look out.
Probably gone off on a tangent, but there's a lot to consider. Not just if the second hand motor starts in the bloke's yard with the muffs on. What's it like starting when hot after a run etc.
20-09-2007, 05:31 AM
I haven't on any of my 3 boats.
Don't know why I didn't???
Maybe because the first was $500 little glass boat with a 9.8hp Merc. and I thought what's the point...there's no holes in the bottom so she'll do.
The little tinny was just a hull and I brought it off a good old mate so I thought what's the point.
The big boat was a dead-set bargain of the year and wanted to get it home (more precisely out of his yard) as quick as I could before the dude changed his mind :D
But I did run the motor and do a comp. test and the hull was one of those classic styled hulls and I couldn't find any rot so....the cheque book came out and out I drove :D
timddo
20-09-2007, 05:59 AM
I said no. The dealer didn't have a boat in stock and i got lazy to drive 60 minutes to another dealer for a test run. It's a new package and in theory it all should work. Well the boats sitting in the backyard doing nothing since new. Thanks to the bloody weekend weather Gods.
sharkymark2
20-09-2007, 06:14 AM
I almost spent $14k on a ally can. 4.3 with 40 yamaha at the last boat and camping show. Boat looked fantastic; lots of floor space really well set out -perfect. I asked for a test run but they were very negative; told me they were selling plenty without having to test them. I said fair enough but I am not forking over $14K without a test run. So arranged to go to Gold Coast and pay a $200 deposit refundable if it was a negative experience. Well I was so excited until I started to motor around the canal. The littlest bit of chop and it was bang bang bang, The motor didn't feel like 40 horses as I had just sold a little 13 footer with a 25 hp johnson that went like a demented cat. I ran it through a few little waves and water was all over the place. Drove back and told him I was disappointed. Ended up buying a second hand nautiglass 1/2 cab and selling off the 89 model Johnson and putting a new 60 hp Yammmy 4 stroke on. Now it s a totally different boat from the ally can but is safe around most bay areas.
20-09-2007, 06:27 AM
had about 14 boats thus far and all hav been second hand and none water tested, havnt been disapointed in value for money for any of them. The newest would have been a 5m chasecraft back in the eighties. There has been alsort, from ply to glass to aliminum, alsorts of power plant , even an old 45 chysler and have all performed as expected. Maybe I've been lucky or have brought at the right price and accepted what I got. There has been a couple that needed rebuilding before wetting there bums.
STUIE63
20-09-2007, 07:05 AM
I've bought three and haven't water tested I knew what i was buying before getting them.
Sandman
20-09-2007, 07:22 AM
Only tested one before buying as the first was recently built and i never had any complaints, except it was a tinnie and my back history returned after a year or so driving it out in the bay. My current second hand was water tested and thats what made me buy it in the end as well it is in current survey any future boats i may buy will certainly be tested before buying and not buy before you try scenario- saying all this i find that you will allways find faults later on but you learn as you go and you ensure you check these on the next purchase! How do you find the Stabi?
20-09-2007, 07:32 AM
Bought a new alum hull, after driving 1700km and before paying the balance gave it a good once over, saw something I did not understand, pointed it out to the builder got told how it does this and this is really good, paid for hull towed it home shaking my head thinking who does this to fishing boat and how could I have thought to ask that specific question before, after or during the build. I was over a barrel.
Boat turned out to be biggest dog on the water I have ever been in, nothing a grinder and soon lots of hundreds will not fix:(
Water test is nice - if not you get what you are given.
20-09-2007, 07:41 AM
i went for my first ever water test on tuesday. this is only the third boat i've owned and i didn't water test the other two. all i really got out of it was a full check that everything worked ok, a bit of a run down on how to use an electric winch because i've never used one before and also a reminder of why all motors over 115 should have hydraulic steering (steering is first project as soon as i get it home). i had pretty much done the deal anyway and a water test wouldn't have made much difference unless something blew up of course.
I find the results interesting so far, because if I asked the same question about buying a car (new or used), I bet no one would have said they about without a test drive (except if bought from auction), even if the car was only worth couple of grand.
I guess the difficulty in getting the boat on the water in the first place to test
is the real barrier.
SgBFish
20-09-2007, 07:54 AM
I water tested my last boat as a way of introducing the family to what they were getting into and to make them feel included in the process.
I particularly wanted to see how well the trailer worked.
paul251
20-09-2007, 09:00 AM
Well a lot of you guy's are a lot more trusting than me,I would'nt even buy a 3.5metre tinny with 15hp on the back without testing.How many times has there been threads up where theres holes in boats and people can't find them on dry land, at least out on the water as soon as you come in you can let go the bungs and see for yourself.Just because a boat looks pretty stock standard does not mean it will handle the same as your mates/brothers,or who ever's,which also would include giving the motor a good burst to see if things sound right, and the motor does'nt cavitate all over the joint/porpoise whatever.All 5 boats we've bought have been water tested and I would never consider buying one any other way, and any potential seller who did'nt want to water test i'd say see ya as fast as i could.
20-09-2007, 09:07 AM
I needed to to vote both yes and no.
My first 9 foot tinny and 4hp motor I didn't - no real need too for a little dam punt.
Poca-Hontis (Haines 16C with 140hp Evinrude) I did run through the broadwater and out into the seaway.
Bogey (6.m Lighting with 130hp) took for a run out into moreton Bay.
Ymer (34 Blackwatch) we took for about 6 runs before deciding to buy her.
My only new boat (currently on order) 5m Brooker Discovery with 60p Yamaha - I didn't as I bought it remotely in Queensland from Tassie.
I think it depends because the two I didn't I was aware what I wanted to do in them and new the boat was capable.
The others I was unsure of my expectations and the boats capability so I wanted to test them.
Regardless of what boat - if you were buying a second hand motor -you'd always want it run at least and preferably checked over by someone who knew what they were doing.
shamus
20-09-2007, 10:50 AM
I didn;t water test mine... didn;t even start the engine... only paid $1000 though, and I figured that the trailer looked brand new so even if the motor was stuffed, a fibreglass hull with steering, fuel tank, seats, spare wheel for trailer and a stuffed 40HP evinrude would have to be worht at least $1000
deadbeatloser
20-09-2007, 12:03 PM
I find the results interesting so far, because if I asked the same question about buying a car (new or used), I bet no one would have said they about without a test drive (except if bought from auction), even if the car was only worth couple of grand.
I guess the difficulty in getting the boat on the water in the first place to test
is the real barrier.
2 new boats in 6months nil test,
6 new bikes never test ridden. but a car is totally different story,
hope the the e-tec is good, lol;D
20-09-2007, 02:14 PM
i water tested my mclay, simply because i couldnt find a lot of info about them.
the few reports i got gave them the thumbs up, but i just had to water test it to set my mind at ease.
my 5,25 stacer i bought new, had been in em before so i was knowing what i was getting
my 12ft stacer i bought form a deceased estate, so no water test.
stick
20-09-2007, 04:40 PM
Voted yes . Who wouldnt want a run out of south west rocks. 6 boats first 3 no run. Cant pick problems at high revs / speed sitting at idle in a driveway. New may be a different story - be a while before i find out !
bluefin59
20-09-2007, 06:46 PM
I voted yes even though i have had 5 boats over the years the only boat i went for a run in is my present boat a bluefin predator i bought it after approaching
Mr Ts tinnies nearly 4 yr ago when they were fairly new they had no problem with taking me for a run in the bay and i was sold it on it and ordered one the same day i waited 6weeks for delivery , was also the day i first fished placcies but that is another story matt.........
QuinnyII
20-09-2007, 08:15 PM
Funny this thread was started now, I purchased a BROOKER 410 SAFARI at the Brisbane Boat Show and have been second guessing myself whether i should have ducked down to the dealership for a test run before i signed. Oh well only a few weeks till i pick her up and will know if i made the right decision then.
Cheers Quinnie.
haggis
20-09-2007, 09:23 PM
I never water tested my first 3.75 tinny but when i upgraded to a 410 runabout i water tested one from wynnum marine . glad i did as i upped the motor from a two stroke yammie 30 to a 4 yammie 40 . great little boat with heaps of power .
cheers fae haggis .............................
Outer Edge
21-09-2007, 06:18 PM
I am totaly blowen away as to the amont of boaties that have purchased a boat with out a test run .......UNLESS you have a bargin of the year or you have been in one of simular set up ,go ahead... However..(even though they can be the same boat they can be set up differant ) this can lead to a better or worse handling..
OR as one of the other member`s has mentioned ( rode like a dog ) can bring you unstuck.
If you gonna buy a boat take it for a good run and get a feel for what it is capable of , you will find others will perform better then some.
Outer Edge
sik008
21-09-2007, 06:37 PM
we water tested our boat before buying because we were comparing boats cause he hadnt decided at that moment
marty+jojo
21-09-2007, 07:46 PM
I did not test my blue fin 4.2 mangrove jack, anyway i'm happy with it. However i have two mates that own tabs boats i have only been in one and he did not water test, it was purchased new and it leaks:o ..... also it is a very wet boat.... my other mate that has one hates his and can't wait to sell it, he says next time he see's a tab's deeler he is going to throw a bucket of salt water over him::) and ask him how he likes it.
Marty.
26-09-2007, 05:10 AM
Didn't test my current boat.
Was fortunate to get an experienced owner selling an 'as new' bmt that was at a price I could just afford.
Looking at the boat, talking to the owner, knowing that I was damn lucky to be in the right place at the right time, smacked down the $$$ straight away!
Have not been dissapointed.
Lapras
24-01-2008, 06:54 AM
I am totaly blown away as to the amont of boaties that have purchased a boat with out a test run
I didn't test my current boat, although I did get them to start the motor.
Some of the reason is the difficulty of setting up a test, but for me, the bigger part was I had no exerience with boats of the type I was buying.
I had owned a tinny with tiller steer - went and got my license (where I drove an unfamilar boat for about 1 minute under heavy instruction) and went out and bought a second hand boat. I was scared stiff, had no idea about electric starts, trim/tilts or anything else and the last thing I wanted to do was be responsible for someone else's property.
Would you test a car if you didn't have confidence in driving?
Next time I definitely would test drive because I now know what I am looking for in a boat.
seahorse whisperer
24-01-2008, 10:51 AM
No, but I wish I did. I am still battling Quintrex for rectification......
1st.. no clark 12' punt
2nd..no Mantacraft 12' punt (great little boat)
3rd.. yes Seafarer VC centre console, only because i needed to see if the ride was different to a cuddy, should not have worried, was great..
4th..no Webster, couldn't find one to test, heard only good reports & definately very happy..
Brumby
24-01-2008, 01:27 PM
Bought three boats in the past couple of years, only tested one, mainly because I was'nt too sure whether going up a couple of sizes from the Signature was really going to make a difference (it does!). Wouldn't you know it, that's the only one I've had any trouble with - fine on the test run, first time after paid the $$, warning horn shrieking it's head off. Suspect old matey had disconnected it before hand, anyway joke was on him, turned out to be low fuel pressure (kinked hose) and I got it for the right price anyway.;D
18-09-2008, 01:57 PM
Water tested 3 and didn't with 3 so I guess thats 50 : 50.
Happy with all
MeePee_99
18-09-2008, 06:18 PM
is the real barrier.
Why would you say that, nearly everyone i know bought a car without a test run
MeePee_99
18-09-2008, 06:19 PM
And i didnt test run my hornet trophy, but i had to order it and i knew it would be awesome
Tazmaniac
18-09-2008, 07:00 PM
I tested my last 4 boats. I would never buy a car without a test drive, and with my current boat costing me a damn sight more that I'd ever spend on a car, there was no way I was going to commit without a sea trial. I drove down to Bunbury from Perth to have a look, and even though it was blowing a 25-30knot Southerly, I insisted on a test run. I was rapt at its rough water capabilities and towed it home the same day. Had he refused a test, I'd have driven home without it. As for selling, I'm only too happy to take someone out if he is serious.
Taz.
MeePee_99
18-09-2008, 07:29 PM
What about all the cars which you have to order before there in the country
Tazmaniac
20-09-2008, 03:45 PM
Yeah MeePee,
I guess if you were buying new and the car was not yet in the country, then it may be a different story. Of course you would be buying with the protection of a new car warranty. Different kettle of fish when compared to buying a secondhand boat.
Taz.
battleon
21-09-2008, 02:06 AM
On the occasions I have been in the market for a boat I have found nearly all owners offer me a test run. If I am really interested in the boat I will take them up on the offer. If the boat is not quite what I want then I just say if I decide I wish to buy it I will come back and go for a run. I have no intention of wasting my time or theres going for a joy ride.
The boat I ended up with I took for a run on a very rough day and was able to see just how well it handled the conditions. I went home, had a think about it and was confident in makng him an offer.
muzzytt
21-09-2008, 12:46 PM
when I water tested my current haines hunter 565 I had my heart set on it but still wanted the test.. the seller was more than happy to do so..
However when boat was launched the trim/tilt motor stopped working..
so once he fixed that I baught the boat.
and it was good to be told how things worked on the boat.
I would never buy one without testing ever again as I got shafted on my first ever boat.
and any seller that doesnt want to can get stuffed also....
MeePee_99
21-09-2008, 12:51 PM
it was just he said all would test when buying a car which is not true
SummerTrance
21-09-2008, 03:35 PM
Didnt water test my boat b4 I bought it, however there's no way i'd buy a car without test driving it first.
Chamelion
23-09-2008, 11:05 AM
I'm in the market for my first boat and whilst I would high appreciate a water test, I may consider buying without one.
lunchcutter
23-09-2008, 11:20 AM
no water test and no compression test so out for the first trip yah had to get towed in by the coast guard take my boat back to the shop yeah they done a compression test two out of six cylinders down by a mile full rebuild done luck it was a warrnty job a test on both should of been done
Volcano
23-09-2008, 11:32 AM
My First boat I did a water test (although I had *NO* idea what I was looking for. I think I just wanted to know if it floated).
I'd probably done about 4 or 5 water tests on various boats until I decided on my current boat. I was being *VERY* fussy and was NOT going to settle for anything other than a perfect ride. The other 4 boats all looked great, and had great specs. Just ride and performance wasnt what I expected.
Personally, I would never buy a boat without a water test.
djgtom
23-09-2008, 03:39 PM
2nd last boat i bought was 2nd hand which i didn't test, had a split hull where it rested on the trailer....doh. leaked like a bugger:-[
this current boat was new and i knew what i was buying, no test either. very happy with it.
the best for last, ordered a ve commodore when they 1st came out without a test drive. what a piece of sheit. last time i do that!!
deano
First boat - no test, Turned out to be a complete POS!
Second Boat - mate had owned it since new (was only 3 months old) and i had been in it a few times and driven it when he was not legally capable of operating a vehicle of any type, so I guess you could say I tested it.
Third boat - Brand new, had never even been in a Yalta but figured every owner could not be wrong and I could not be happier with it.
Chamelion
11-11-2008, 01:38 PM
I ended up getting a water test. :)
Matt.
I didnt.....At the time the boat was the size i wanted...i liked the most from teh ones i looked at...decided well its a alloy so there will be the bit of banging and so on..next time it will be a bit different...im thinking of either a 5.8- 6 mt either plate alloy or glass.....or barcrusher ....might even have another look at the pollys.......it will be new...so those sort of $$$ it will be tested...
Lancair
11-01-2009, 06:38 PM
I was lucky that the dealer had sold exactly the tinny combo, (4.2m Stessco Catcher w/ Etec 40 Tiller), a month or so before I wanted to buy mine. They gave me the guys phone number and I rang him asking for a ride /test drive as I was considering buying the same set-up. I had actually seen his the weekend before and had chatted to him about it at the local ramp.
Now what guy with a new boat doesn't like to show it off ? I had a good half hour or so running around the river in various water conditions, so impressed I went in an ordered the same the next day. Havent regretted a thing about it yet, almost 2yrs later
Lancair
aussiefool
13-01-2009, 07:12 AM
As soon as I sell my place down south I intend to buy a boat. If I get the cash I want then it will be new. I have looked at a few set ups so far and have almost settled one one, but for $40k+ there is no way in hell I'm handing over the money or signing anything with out a water test.
No test = No sale
Aussiefool
TJ Bear
17-01-2009, 10:29 PM
I'm a boatbuilder and ever boat Ive bought has had a water test except a couple of cheap tinnies when I was a young chappy.
BOMBIE
20-01-2009, 09:45 PM
Water test means ...... very little .mine ? isSonny bill Williams looks like tarzan plays like jane still it falls apart