View Full Version : 550 southwind
How's it going guys.
I've come across a 550 southwind and was wandering what people thought of their ride , stability and build quality.
I am a very keen fisherman who fishes all kind of conditions from big chop in the bay to off shore chasing tuna and mako's and then taking the family out for a cruise and a muck around fish here and there.
You reckon this boat would fit my intentions,would it be better in ride etc compared to say a 5.5 seafarer or 5.5 mako.
Thank you for your help.
BTW would it handle the weight of a 4str.
Phredo
20-09-2007, 11:01 AM
G'day Gozz,
My opinion only mate so take it or leave it - okay?
I had a real good look at a 550 Southwind 'walk-round' a year or so ago.
They are now called Sother Star I think . . .
Nice layout for what I wanted to do, which isn't unlike your situation except that you sound like a bit more hard-core fish hunter than me.
These things are quite heavy (lots of glass) so sit well in the Moreton Bay chop and the ride is very good even though the entry isn't what it could have been.
The thing I was looking at was a bit underpowered (I thought) so I opted for something else but if it had say, a 150hp something strapped to its bum I probably would have bought it.
Can't fault my Allison though.
Fred
the lump
20-09-2007, 12:10 PM
I used to work with a fell who had the 55o walkaround which I have been fishing on. The only thing I could fault it on was that it was underpowered with the 115 yammy 4 banger. Apart from that it was very good. Stability,ride top notch.:)
Thanks fellers.
That is the one problem with them that I can see,they need a heap of power to get them going.
I read a test on one that ran a 130 2str yammy and could only manage 30knots,most boats would be going a lot higher at top end with that kind of power.
The other problem is I fish 2 to 3 days a week and If had to run a 150hp hard every time I went out it would cost to much to go fishing.
Tassie JR
20-09-2007, 08:24 PM
Hey mate we have the Southwind sf640 with a 225 yammie 4 stroke ours handles the water very good, Southwind was made by yamaha so they could put there big 4 strokes on them. they are now called southern star. They are a very stable boat and the roupher the water gets the better they ride and they have a brillant slick finish. i reckon a 150 4stroke would suit the 550 nice. With the 225 on ours it pushes 85 km. Good luck on whatever you get.
cheers tassie JR
Tassie JR
20-09-2007, 08:31 PM
Here is the link that has the boat test results and all the pros and cons about it.
http://www.marinews.com/details.php?recordid=191
cheers tassie JR
rumy1
20-09-2007, 09:10 PM
My mate has a Southwind 5.5m and it is heavy but it's the same hule as the 5.9m. My mate has a 115 Yamaha 4 stroke and would like a 150 yamaha 4 stroke. The 115 does him good but when it comes time to load a few mates for the reef, it doesn't like it. Apart from the small motor, he loves his boat !!!
Thanks for the reply's.
So it should go good with a 140 suzzy 4st you reckon.
BlacknBlue
21-09-2007, 09:20 PM
I had a 550WR with a 130 yamaha for a few of years- could not fault it except for no built in live bait tank- out to the shelf, rough seas and towing the kids around, 36kts, 150ltr underfloor tank, very large cockpit and you don't have to go through the bloody cabin to set the anchor!- Here are some pics, ( sold it for 27 grand earlier this year to buy a Black Watch)
http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k153/RB211-524G/southwind3.jpg
http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k153/RB211-524G/southwind2.jpg
http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k153/RB211-524G/southwind1.jpg
http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k153/RB211-524G/southwindinyard003.jpg
Thanks for going to all that effort posting your photos,very nice boat,there starting to grow on me.