View Full Version : Viking Power
stick
17-09-2007, 03:25 PM
Ive been offered the neighbours early model seafarer viking for $6000 . Perfect hull,no scratches and great trailer. The motor is an old 85hp suzuki that the owner says is to unreliable . What i would like to know is the right hp if i buy and re power. Primary use outside fishing. Hate missing the bite but would like to see some economy.
17-09-2007, 03:46 PM
Hi Stick
Sounds like a good deal
Specs below but up 150 HP or 115 Etec would be good too about 13 to 14 K
SPECIFICATIONS
Centre-Line Length: 5.5m Maximum Beam: 2.3m Weight: 850KG Approx. Dead-Rise: 19º Maximum Power: 150HP Max Engine Weight:195KG Transom Height: 25” Load Capacity: Six Adults Length Overall on Trailer Including Engine: 6850m Overall Height on Trailer: 2200m
Width On Trailer: 2.3mVIKING 5.5
5.5M SPORTS FISHERMAN MKI I
'Viking' is an appropriate name for this blue water warrior. Delivering rough water performance out of all proportion to the hull size, this turn of the century Viking is far and away the best 5.5m offshore craft available today.
The Viking has now been upgraded from stem to stern in keeping with the lines and features proven so popular in the classic Seafarer Victory. It is a more spacious boat, a better performing boat, and internal layout and features represent the state of the art in modern offshore fishing boat design.
The bow layout of the Viking is standard Seafarer fitup, with a large self- draining rope locker and quality stainless steel deck hardware. A short bow sprit keeps ground tackle clear of the glass work, and the entire area is easily and comfortably accessed through the cabin-front hatch.
Those who anchor offshore in deep and sometimes rough water will appreciate cabin access to the foredeck and other features designed to make a sometimes difficult job a lot easier. The cabin height has been increased and there are two steps forward to get the operator within comfortable reach of the deck hatch and hardware through what is now a very large access hatch. The top step contains a large locker which can be used for general storage, or it can be utilised to store a large quantity of rope for deep water anchoring. 'Re attention to detail for which Seafarer is well known is evident in the use of aluminium stair tread fitted to these steps to ensure safe secure footing.
Side shelves with padded facings running the length of the cabin sides act as back rests when the cabin seats are used, and these shelves also provide a lot of valuable and quickly accessible storage space. It is a popular option these days to have radios flush mounted in the side shelf facings where they are completely protected from damaging salt water spray.
Further storage is available under the bunks which are fitted with quality, comfortable cushions, and for serious fishing days the foot well between bunks is an ideal place to locate fish boxes or extra gear not required in the cockpit.
71e entire dash console is new, with all of the features of the larger Seafarer models now included. The helm console has a dedicated area for gauges, set well clear of the wheel with all of the important instrument located immediately below the forward line of sight. Above this a flush mounted compass is located exactly where a compass should be mounted.
Between the wheel and the gauge panel a large area has been left clear to flush or bracket mount either separate GPS and sounder cabinets side by side, or large GPS/mapping/sounder combination sets. There is plenty of room for the largest instruments in this space, which puts these important electronics within comfortable reach the operator.
The throttle control is flush mounted so there is no intrusion into the helm space, and the wheel is a heavy duty model with non feedback steering.
Standard seating is comfortable, side hugging bucket seats. The standard Viking cockpit is presented as a low maintenance, hard working area for serious fishermen, with big side pockets, under floor wet storage space, stainless steel rod holders, big quarter deck wells, recessed hand rails and much more.
STANDARD EQUIPMENT
<Single Tone Hull & Deck Colour Flash on Cabin Side Custom Striping <Moulded Bow Sprit Bow Roller & Cross Bollard Separate Self-Draining Anchor Well Including Hatch Opening Front Hatch Wrap-Around Windscreen with Heavy Duty Frame Stainless Steel Windscreen Grab Rail Moulded Shelf in Dash & Grab Rail Cabin Bunk Cushions >Cabin Storage Shelves Passenger Side Glove Box in Side Coaming <Full LengthSide Pockets with Rod Storage Racks for Four Rods Open Helm & Navigator Seats on Swivel Pedestals Rear Full Width Upholstered 2” Folding Split Bench Seat with 2” Back-Rest 130L Plastic Fuel Tank & Deck Filler Flush Mount Compass GME GX-600 VHF Marine Radio with Aerial Cabin & Cockpit Lights 2 Pin 12 Volt Outlet Wiring Loom & Switch Panel
Johnson Bilge Pump with Electronic Automatic Float Switch
Stainless Split Bow Rail
Recessed Cockpit Side Stainless Steel Grab Rails
Four Stainless Steel Rod Holders
Recessed Rear Stainless Steel Cleats
Cockpit Floor Carpet or Non Skid Floor (Please Note Option On Order)
Side Pocket Cockpit Lining
Rear Bait/ Storage Wells with Teflon Cutting Board Lids
Moulded Half-Pod with Transom Boarding Platforms
Thru- Hull Transducer Box
Port and Starboard Lights
Bimini Mounted Nav Light
100% Acrylic Canvas Bimini with Provision for Front & Side Clears
Single Delkor Heavy Duty marine Battery with S/S Hold Down
Non–Feedback Steering
Factory Pre-Rig Dealer Supply
Seafarer MT-170T-MO Tandem Tinka Classic Trailer (Refer to Specifications), Includes Galvanised Trailer Walk-Way & LED Lights
bigbrian47
17-09-2007, 04:03 PM
stick
i presume your are talking about the 17footer
chimo's rundown is on the later 5.5 mtr
i have a 17ftr with a v4 60degree 2str johnson 20inch leg
when i bought the boat 20 years ago it had a 175 on it
great for skiing but too heavy on the stern
90s good 115 probably better
if the floor/transom are good it would be be good buying
good luck brian
jimbo59
17-09-2007, 04:18 PM
Here is a photo of a job i have just finished it is a seafarer ventura i think they have the same hull as the viking.He had a 150 on his so they can handle a few ponies, i wouldn't want to go bigger, 150 would just be on it's limits i think.
http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/4601/img3183qg3.th.jpg (http://img205.imageshack.us/my.php?image=img3183qg3.jpg)
bigbrian47
17-09-2007, 04:53 PM
jimbo do you have any other pics of the ventura's alterations to the transom
before and after
cheers brian
stick
17-09-2007, 06:01 PM
Chimo,dont go me for R.S.I but that sounds a bit to nice for an old 17ft boat. Thanks for the big effort
17-09-2007, 06:25 PM
Hey Stick
No probs, lifted from the Seafarer site so not too many keystrokes involved. The old stuff is long gone but the idea was to give you an idea. Still reckon 115 etec would be an OK choice, not too heavy and a pretty sweet V4 like the carb setup but with efi (I have 2 of them)
jimbo59
17-09-2007, 07:22 PM
Gday brian these are the only ones i have taken one shows new stringers and floors going in and the other is a live well and a place for batterys ect it was glassed onto the inside of the transom and was up off the floor about 4 inches so the feet can fit under.All up he spent over20k on it including new motor/trailer floor, stringers, transom,live well,new seats and some other mods.
http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/4334/img3168oh7.th.jpg (http://img172.imageshack.us/my.php?image=img3168oh7.jpg)
http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/3188/img3173zg0.th.jpg (http://img172.imageshack.us/my.php?image=img3173zg0.jpg)
Hagar
17-09-2007, 08:59 PM
Had the same boat early on . Great hull in every regard . Just watch the nose dipping into a trough when off the plane . With fuel now a big factor I would go a 115 HP . Mine ran a 140 and did 42 knots flat stick .
stick
18-09-2007, 05:28 PM
Found out today the boat hasnt seen fresh fuel for 2 years ! The unreliable motor bit was that it developed a splutter idling in the back yard. Coal miner with a s*** load of money and no idea. Will 10 min of running on old fuel damage motor ?
bay_firey
18-09-2007, 05:46 PM
Stick
You will find that she will be rated to 175, mine is an '88 model and that is what is listed on the plate in the centre of the engine well.
Let me tell you she would be a rocket ship with a 175, much too much
I run a 115hp '99 2 stroke mercury on mine and don't see the need for too much more than that.
Flat out gets about 35knts, 3800rp runs around 22 - 24 knots and seems to use about 18 ltrs per hour by the flow meter on the sounder which seems about right when compared to litres added when i refuel.
jimbo59
18-09-2007, 06:27 PM
Gday stick, the old fuel wont damage the motor but dont run it on it again cause those suzuki's run there main jet very close to the bottom of the float chamber so even a tiny bit of water is gunna make it run like a dog and might even stop it completley.Clean the tank out throughly,fit a water seperator and take the carbies apart and give em a good clean-out.That boat will go well with that motor if it is running right.
Terry Barnes
18-09-2007, 07:57 PM
The vIking 5.2 is a fab boat the bro had one in the early 80's, pushed along with a 90 jono we used to fish the shelf of Ulladulla (on a good day) 2 on board and a 100ltr live bait tank . the guy who bought it later put omn a 115 and still has the boat. $6k good price
19-09-2007, 07:23 AM
sold Vikings for years way back then, best motor for them is a 115 (we fitted Johnsons) but some had 70HP but that was the very minimun and was all but useless, 90 was probably the real minimum, had a couple with 175HP they went like hell, fitted a few with twin 55HP they were good, but not too fast, you can use the same single transom setup for the twins on most models. even fitted one up with twin 35's Jesus what crap performance from that rig, but you can only advise the customer for so long.
Strategy
19-09-2007, 08:26 PM
Hi Stick,
I have had 2 seafarers over the years and both good boats. Currently I run a 175 on my Victory and is heaps of power. Have done many bar crossings from 1770 to Macleay River at South West Rocks.Boat is 4 years with over 300 hours and going strong. No hull / motor problems.
A 115 would be ideal for your rig. .A 115 either 2 or 4 stoke would suffice.A two stoke may give a bit more oomph early but either would give power and especially good economy.
On my earlier seafarer (mid 1970's)the floor was an issue as it aged and had to be redone.I have not heard much of this in boats built from mid eightys onwards.
If unsure, give Lynsday Fry at Seafarer a call. He is a straight shooter and has every boat built from the factory logged on file. He will offer advise and not necessarily to sell you anything.
God Luck with your proposed purchase.
Strategy.