View Full Version : Fishing songs

manchild
13-09-2007, 07:39 PM
Im in a process of putting together a bunch of songs .After everyone suggestions ,So what song do you like to listen while you goin to the ramp?What get you in that relaxed mood and why?So far i got The late uncle George -my island home and Tom waits downtown train .
George

bdowdy
13-09-2007, 08:01 PM
try brad paisley ITS COUNTRY but he does alot of fishing himself and its in a lot of his songs, theres one song youll love its called IM GONNA MISS HER its agreat song about abloke who goes fishing and doesnt really care if the missis leaves youll find it if you google. cheers bdowdy

manchild
13-09-2007, 08:03 PM
Know the song mate thanks ,its great .That reminded me of meat and potato man from him.Great .
George

BR65
13-09-2007, 08:13 PM
Mate, I love "When I Retire" by Dave Averey?
Nugget plays it on his show some times, just about sums it up I reckon.

brian

Ausfish
13-09-2007, 08:57 PM
If you want actual fishing songs, not just songs to listen to while fishing, checkout "Worlds Greatest Fishing Band" Papa was a Fishin Man - 50 song - 4CD set. Formerly known as the Dorados. They are American but still good fishin music.

They also have a CD's titled "All Gone Fishin" & "Drinkin Town Fishin Problem"

For Australia fishing songs check out Ron Odgers CD titled "Sittin, Sippin, Fishin"

manchild
13-09-2007, 09:14 PM
Thanks Steve.I actually dont listen to anything while fishing ,but there is a few songs i like to listen to while on the way to the ramp or driving down the beach looking for that gutter.Its kinda puts me in the mood and my kids love it too ,having said that it can be boring listen to Slims light on the hill 10 times in a row on my sons request.
George

haggis
13-09-2007, 09:19 PM
I like Troy Casser Daleys River Boy as it is the first song I heard on my first boat a little over two years ago . but I also like most music from the eighties ( not quite fishing music )
cheers fae haggis ......................

loophole
13-09-2007, 09:40 PM
nova 106.9 thats just me tho as i was born in the early 90's lol
but if its on i will listen to nugget on 4bc on sat and sun between 5am-7am

juju
13-09-2007, 09:59 PM
Its a big day dawning, i see the sunlight flickering out across the bay
All rigged up and im ready to go , got the charts from the bureau...weatherman said the weathers fine
A big black marlin is going to be mine
Haul up the anchor, move in slow, blast of engines and off we go...
This is where i love to be riding the swell on the deep blue sea...
Hay mate come out fishing with me.....

25 odd years ago on cris conroys world of boats, a 30 min show on the marlin comp off tangals
Never been able to get that thing out of my head...esp on a early morning running out...

snelly1971
13-09-2007, 11:38 PM
I must admit that i sometimes play AC Dc...when we have some wild trips back home from offshore....but Keith Urban is easy on the ears also....

jez and suze
14-09-2007, 06:33 AM
cant remember what the song is......think its the theme to nuggets show.....but it has all the local fishing names thrown in.....you can get it off nuggets site.

Flattie Assassin
14-09-2007, 06:40 AM
I listen to Paul Kelly a lot on my ipod while kayaking. It's good solid Australian ear candy. :)

gawby
14-09-2007, 08:46 AM
;D I got into trouble for some of the jokes i put on here so am not going to start with the songs i know.;D ;D ;D

Graeme;)

Custaro
14-09-2007, 11:29 AM
'Custard - Lucky Star'
or
'The Titanics - Millionaire Adventure Balloonist'

'The Fauves - Celebrate the Failure' would be a good one for coming home from the ramp.

B_E_N
14-09-2007, 12:13 PM
if you up and heading out early in the morning nothing beats jack johnson "rainbow" a must have!

14-09-2007, 04:26 PM
zz top, its just great fishing music!!!!!!!

14-09-2007, 04:26 PM
For me its usually anything from the foo fighters, or for those early morning trips pink floyd usually the "Wish you were here" album sometimes Dark side of the moon gets a play.

do like kryptonite too though

14-09-2007, 04:34 PM
Jimmy Buffet hits the spot to put me in a nautical frame of mind

manchild
14-09-2007, 04:47 PM
Thanks everybody for the input.I never know so many fellow country lovers were on the site.Its great too see.
George

Crumbo
14-09-2007, 08:08 PM
Powderfinger
ACDC
Oasis
Pear Jam
and so on . . . . . any decent rock really.

fishingjew
15-09-2007, 12:04 AM
Well I must be the exception .

I like listening to pink floyd wish you where here on the way out goes with the sunrise .

Then some bb. king. dire straits paul butterfeild blues band

Jonny winter- fred McDowell - credence - eric clapton

James talor-Van morrison.

manchild
15-09-2007, 06:05 PM
oppss my first double post

manchild
15-09-2007, 06:06 PM
No exeptions there mate:) .Mark knopfler put out a fantastic country album last year,Bon jovi just done it.Who would have tought so?Bernard fanning was at the top of the countrycharts for months with his album last year.
George
This is getting far away from fishing now,sorry mods.

Timmy94
15-09-2007, 07:00 PM
'Custard - Lucky Star'
or
'The Titanics - Millionaire Adventure Balloonist'

'The Fauves - Celebrate the Failure' would be a good one for coming home from the ramp.

Custard is that the pub band from the 90's in brissie?, My dads cousin was in that Shane Bruun

This them?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Custard_(band)

Little grey men
17-09-2007, 02:15 PM
Dan Tyminski, Hayseed Dixie, George Jones..any hillbilly stuff works for me when I'm heading out to fish in the early morning. If you want a fishing song. Primus "The Old Diamond Back Sturgeon " comes to mind. A song written from the fishes perspective...pretty kooky. the bass playing is other worldly. Primus are very keen fisho's...Other Primus songs, Harold of the rocks, John the fisherman.
Not everyones cup of tea though. Most people would listen to it with a confused look on their face.
Makes me wiggle and dance like a muppet

BilgeBoy
17-09-2007, 07:06 PM
Try a song called the Wreck of the Edmond Fitzgerald by Gordon Lightfoot....Love that song...gives me chills every time I listen to it...and you wont get a more nautical song.

BilgeBoy

BigE
17-09-2007, 09:03 PM
heard one last week something about wooden boat & 75 johnson with electric choke, nice tune dont know who sang it tho.

BigE

spookie
18-09-2007, 02:22 PM
I dont reckon that you could go past Chris Rea (Gone Fishing)

Guido
18-09-2007, 04:40 PM
heard one last week something about wooden boat & 75 johnson with electric choke, nice tune dont know who sang it tho.

BigE

Thats Allan Jackson - Drive. Great song! ;)

Guido

manchild
19-09-2007, 06:38 PM
Check out this pearler i just found
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRQ7eeJZ-g0

manchild
19-09-2007, 06:41 PM
Thats Allan Jackson - Drive. Great song! ;)

Guido
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amOzi2W-0tk
here it is

banshee
19-09-2007, 07:33 PM
Got to agree with the other Pink Floyd fans,'Shine on you crazy diamond' takes some beating in the pre dawn light.

19-09-2007, 07:49 PM
When your charging out to your favorite spot (Flat stick) ...... Iron Maidens " Rhyme of the ancient mariner":guitarist: :wut: ...... & don't kill an albatross ! ..... Nagg

marshy
21-09-2007, 04:38 PM
Jimmy Buffett. No better fishing music in my opinion.

Marshy

ffejsmada
21-09-2007, 05:20 PM
Fin by Fin - The Drones
Greasy Grass River - The Black Crowes
The Endless Sea - Iggy Pop

Anything from Iggy Pop, Henry Rollins, Motorhead.

Go hard or go home!!!!!;D;D;D

bdowdy
21-09-2007, 06:47 PM
love alan jackson and that song DRIVE just love country music, another good song is its 5 oclock somewhere by alan and jimmy buffet, theres so many great songs.cheers bdowdy ...brett

Cobia Kid
21-09-2007, 08:05 PM
'' Every Rose Has Its Thorn " Guns 'n' Roses