View Full Version : make your browser load Ausfish pages MUCH faster

ashh
06-09-2007, 12:03 AM
Mods, move this if need be...wasnt sure where to put it.

Firstly download and install Firefox, but keep Internet Explorer as a second browser.
Secondly, this info is freely available on the web, I am simply putting this info here because quite frankly, it works and it works well....oh and the best things in life are free:D

OK.
This simple tutorial WILL speed up your browser, and WILL make it load pages much, much faster. It takes only about 10mins to do, is safe, and you dont need to be a computer whiz to do it, and you will be very surprised at the results. This will only work with Firefox, and you must have a broadband connection.

!!! THIS IS FOR MOZILLA FIREFOX - NOT INTERNET EXPLORER !!!

1.Type about:config into the address bar and hit enter. Scroll down and look for the following entries:

network.http.pipelining
network.http.proxy.pipelining
network.http.pipelining.maxrequests

Normally the browser will make one request to a web page at a time. When you enable pipelining it will make several at once, which really speeds up page loading.

2. Alter the above entries as follows: (simply double click on entry to change values)

Set network.http.pipelining to true

Set network.http.proxy.pipelining to true

Set network.http.pipelining.maxrequests to some number like 30. This means it will make 30 requests at once.

3. Now, right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer. Name it nglayout.initialpaint.delay and set its value to 0 (zero). This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it recieves.

4. Again, anywhere on the page , Right-click, select New-> Boolean, Name it: network.http.pipelining.firstrequest
and Set to True

5. Right-click again (anywhere), select New-> Boolean, Name it: browser.turbo.enabled
and Set to True

You must close and restart firefox for changes to take effect.

HAPPY FAST BROWSING ! ;D

ps. copy paste and print this out, makes it bit easier to do.

disclaimer: if you stuff anything up it aint my fault!........if for some reason you do manage to do something wrong, its not like youve stuffed around with your registry settings or anything, just re-install firefox and start again, but yeah, it isnt hard to do.

Ausfish
06-09-2007, 12:20 AM
If you are not already using Firefox just go to http://www.getfirefox.com

Firefox is already faster than Internet Explorer so you will notice a speed
.increase even if you use it and don't apply the above.

Foxy4
06-09-2007, 02:35 PM
I'm gunna get me some of them Firefox The way to fly for sure.

Foxy4
06-09-2007, 03:13 PM
Wow thank you heaps I have just downloaded it and set it up and what a huge difference it makes.

thirsty merc
06-09-2007, 03:17 PM
Thanks ashh that works a treat , so much faster , thanks for sharing ............Thirsty

the gecko
06-09-2007, 03:19 PM
Thanks assh. Ive been on firefox for years, but Ive never seen this.
It hasnt made a huge difference to adsl2 speeds at work, but Im sure it will work well at home. Loading all those ads has been a huge pain at 521k.

It took me a while to find the right mouse on a mac. Control click for mac users.

snelly1971
06-09-2007, 03:43 PM
Thanks ...Works a Treat..

Cheers Mick

Timfishin4fun
06-09-2007, 04:01 PM
thanx ash this is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Whitto
06-09-2007, 05:02 PM
Thanks All, Goes like a rocket now, Cheers Whitto:D

Hamish73
06-09-2007, 05:05 PM
flock is another free browser that works well

06-09-2007, 07:49 PM
Yeah, nice Ash! some people must have too much tim eon their hands! Welcome to the fast lane!

rhys

06-09-2007, 09:18 PM
Thanks assh, has sped up my browser 5 fold.

the gecko
07-09-2007, 07:23 AM
at 512k, it was taking 22 secs to load a page. Now it takes just 7 secs!

awesome.
Cant wait for adsl2 in my home area. Its due in a couple of months.

ashh
07-09-2007, 06:18 PM
no problems fellas glad you like it.
Anyone else......If you havent done it yet.....ya missin out! :D

Fish_gutz
26-09-2007, 07:45 AM
Cheers for that it works heaps faster now.

4x4frog
26-09-2007, 09:11 AM
Thanks Ash. Load speed is now 2 times what it was before and more in quiet times. I'll have to wait until the school hol's are over as there is 5 comps working our network at the moment with all the kids home and one 'blow in':o(6 if the laptop is on when I am out working on a car in the garage and using the net for info on repairs.;D

bay_firey
26-09-2007, 07:02 PM
That works just so well
Have ADSL2 here at home 8000k d/load and it is now nearly like turning the page in a book

Dreamweaver
18-11-2007, 03:04 PM
G'day Ash,

Mate, all I can say is....A HUGE THANK YOU! 8-)

Just (re)joined and was using IE - performed like a burried dead pig :'(

Installed firefox and followed your (very good) tweek doco - MUCH better!

;D

tigermullet
20-11-2007, 10:18 PM
Big thanks Ashh. Works like a charm and I think it has helped with my new connection via Virgin Broadband. The signal in this area is not the best but it still works very well with Firefox and your tweaks.

So far I am very impressed with Virgin Broadband - $60 per month for 4gigs broadband PLUS fee local and std calls. Hard to beat.

tully
04-01-2008, 08:25 PM
Thanks ashh, the slow speed of this site was starting to annoy me. Now it's great, you're the man.

rc@hinze
06-01-2008, 09:43 PM
thanks mate, can't believe how much faster it is. I think I might become a firefox fan from now on.

Blueroo
11-02-2008, 10:11 PM
Thanks Ash. Works a treat. well done.
Stue

Breambuster33
16-02-2008, 05:58 PM
Great work ask:D
works mickey mouse

chief 1
01-03-2008, 11:38 AM
Thanks,lots more faster,is there anyway to change the writing

nobody
01-03-2008, 11:57 AM
hi,
how come my html code is off.

QF3 MROCP
14-03-2008, 09:47 PM
what code changes do we do in the GPS now to find fish??

Best advise I ever got apart from "Don't Marry Her!!"

Dreamweaver
19-05-2008, 10:14 AM
what code changes do we do in the GPS now to find fish??

Best advise I ever got apart from "Don't Marry Her!!"

;D I think we're ALL waiting for THAT code :P

Dreamweaver
19-05-2008, 10:44 AM
Thanks,lots more faster,is there anyway to change the writing

Hi Dyan

Do you mean the font that is displayed on this forum?

ifishcq1
20-05-2008, 10:37 PM
Thanks Ash I can finally get through in no time top thread

SL

13-07-2008, 07:58 PM
This also works in 3.0, at least it just did for me.

For Steve
16-08-2008, 09:05 AM
Hi ashh

I downloaded Firefox and made the config changes yesterday. Can't believe the difference. Ausfish is now running at least 3 times faster.

Thanks heaps.

Brad

Hairy_Harold
04-12-2008, 12:22 PM
Another thing that might help with speed aswell is uping the max number of connections aswell. You can just search connections in about:config and double all the numbers will generally do. No point in having up the pipelines if it can't request more connections

Pete62
05-12-2008, 07:47 AM
Hey Ash, a big thanks from me for passing over this info. Gumbies like me will bungle along until someone with the Tech knowledge shines a light in our eyes and says "WAKE UP BOOFHEAD"

Onya Bud, Pete.

uripper
06-05-2009, 08:51 AM
Ashh

Thank you so much for this
browser now running 2-4 times faster

heres another freeware download that will also help - Cleanup.exe
it cleans /deletes all the crap stored in the registry etc freeing up a lot of space & allowing faster browsing - have been using it for abt 5yrs no probs - just great
go to - http://www.stevengould.org/index.php?Itemid=223&id=29&option=com_content&task=view ;)

MalM

tigermullet
06-05-2009, 09:19 PM
This is a great thread. Have had Firefox for quite a while and using broadband cable on this computer.

Just as an exercise the suggestions given by Hairy_Harold and Uripper were tried.

What an improvement! Thank you.

Jurkyjj
14-06-2010, 06:29 PM
YUP!!
Great info Ashh!!
Works a treat.

Cheers, Jason.

01-07-2010, 01:05 PM
Is Firefox still good? Just started downloading the 3.6 version and got a window message saying it was corrupt....... I thought that was for pollies and the like.

Thanks and Cheers