View Full Version : boat licence question

Tassie JR
02-09-2007, 08:20 PM
hi just wondering how old you have to be to get a boat licence.

cheers tassie JR

02-09-2007, 08:26 PM
16 in Qld.

Phill.

loophole
02-09-2007, 08:41 PM
yeah 16 to grt a RMDL (recreational marine drivers licence) and a pwc licence in QLD but you can sit the test at 15 years and six months of age and then go down 2 the department of transport when you turn 16 to get your learners and your boat licence will be printed on that.
if your thinking of getting one i could put you onto the name of the company that i did mine with i found them very good and i think the might do courses in your area

Tassie JR
02-09-2007, 08:41 PM
thanks for that phil.

cheers tassie JR

Tassie JR
02-09-2007, 08:48 PM
thanks loophole ive still got 4 months untill im 16 but would love to do the course do you know how much it costs.

thanks tassie JR

loophole
02-09-2007, 09:10 PM
yeah $150 for the course and about $28 at department of transport

cbruh1
02-09-2007, 09:11 PM
Hey there tassie JR,

I just did my course a couple of weeks ago, did mine at bayside boat licensing at viccy pt. cost $150.

http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/resources/file/eb07c54aa85d675/Pdf_boatsafe_approved_training_providers.pdf

here is a link for the boat safe approved training organisations. it lists the organisations, the areas they use and what sort of licence, either RMDL and/or PWC, the links give you all the contact details and some also have websites.

hope this helps

Callum.

Tassie JR
02-09-2007, 09:25 PM
thanks for that loophole whats the name of the company you done it with and what does the course include, is it like a written test or what?

cheers tassie JR

Tassie JR
02-09-2007, 09:27 PM
thanks callum for the link, if the company loophole is not in my area im sure i will find one on the link you provided.

cheers tassie JR

datamile
02-09-2007, 09:32 PM
I did mine with abcboating at cleveland, but they do them at lots of places.
http://www.abcboating.com/html/qld_boat___pwc_licences.html

$150 for the course, then $36 for the license.

A day of course work, know your bouys, lights, rights of way , anchor, laws.. couple of videos. 64 question multiple choice which you have to get right.

About an hour on the water practising highspeed figure of 8, man overboard drill, and docking at a pontoon, and reversing

cbruh1
02-09-2007, 09:33 PM
Not a problem, good luck with it, and just as long as you know your port and starboard markers you should be fine.

Callum.

Tassie JR
02-09-2007, 09:44 PM
thanks datamile abc would probally be the closest for me as im only 20 mins from bribie island and i have seen there sign out the front of spinakers advertising so i know where to find them.

cheers tassie JR

Tassie JR
02-09-2007, 09:48 PM
dont worry callum i know all my markes and that so i should be right.

thanks everyone for your replies.

cheers tassie JR

Tailortaker
02-09-2007, 09:49 PM
You can do it at Bribie with Archies for about $140 if in a group of two or more. If you dont have someone else to go with you I know a couple of people that are gonna do theirs sone.
Cheers TT
________
butt Webcams (http://www.girlcamfriend.com/webcam/anal-sex/)

Tassie JR
02-09-2007, 09:51 PM
thanks for that tailortaker i might have another mate to go with me but im sure i might be able to meet up with the people you know as well. we will see how we go.

cheers tassie JR

skyline
03-09-2007, 08:06 AM
i was just wondering if you could drive a boat with a parent on board but your under 12 years of age.

datamile
03-09-2007, 09:18 AM
In Qld, anyone can drive as long as a licenced person is on board. The licenced person is in charge etc.

Exception is water skiing, where the licence holder must drive, and the lookout must be 12 or over.

TOPAZ
03-09-2007, 09:45 AM
In Victoria, unfortunately the answer is no!

Richard.

dnej
03-09-2007, 11:29 AM
Send Gelsec a message,he is a member,and does licences. Have a look ubder members lists
David

Fish Guts
03-09-2007, 11:45 AM
i reckon my pet dog could get a boat license in qld.

datamile
03-09-2007, 12:08 PM
I'm glad brissy bay is surrounded by islands. On my course 3 out 7 struggled with If your boat travels at 20 knts, how far would it go in 30 mins.

loophole
03-09-2007, 05:30 PM
tassie jr i recomend abc boat licences i did it with them at scarbrough just go to their website www.abcboating.com/ (http://www.abcboating.com/) the old guy jon is a really top bloke and knows his stuff he can dock his boat softer than a city cat captain can dock his vessel check out the dates and locations and then give em a ring to organise a date.

good luck

Tassie JR
03-09-2007, 06:37 PM
thanks for your help and replies everyone, in the course if your not 16 but are 15 and a half do you do a water test and when i turn 16 do i go to the transport and just pay the fee for the licence and walk out with it or do i have to do a water test with them.

ill also send gelsec a message asking where his courses are, abc boatings next course will be on sunday the the 23 of september at bribie island. ill also give archies a call to see when there next course is on.

again thanks for your replies cheers tassie JR