PDA

View Full Version : anchoring tinny at sea

vector
02-09-2007, 10:48 AM
hi, im new to this, ive sorta grown up around boats and have now purchased my own, im wondering how much rope i'll require to anchor at sea? im thinking about getting another 50m to add to my 30, is 8mm ok? i will be trying to anchor at depths of 15- 30m is 30 m too much to ask? also what sort of anchor? ive got a combination one already (like a plough) what is this suited to? ill definatly pick up a reef anchor (with the prongs). btw the boat is a 4.2m tinny

thanks

datamile
02-09-2007, 10:58 AM
QLD Boatsafe would say 2-3m of chain + 3-5times the depth in rope. Danforth is the recommend anchor for sand/mud.

vector
02-09-2007, 11:00 AM
so for 30m i would need 80m? the anchor i got isnt a danforth its one of these http://www.duckflatwoodenboats.com/pics/for%20sale/largepics/Anchor2.jpg

Chimo
02-09-2007, 11:02 AM
Hi Vector

Dont knoe where you are located but 8mm is probably ok but personally I like thicker in silver as it a lot kinder to your hands to have the extra. Three to five times the depth is the rule of thumb with a length of chain abot the same as the boat length. That said I often use the depth plus about 20m with a reef anchor and heavy chain in 120 to 130 ft and that works fine but I use a retriver to get it up.

You also should consider an anchor retriever to make life easy esp if you fish solo as I often do. Capt (Jimmy) (PM him) has possibly got a few left that were recently made up. These are good as they are like a split ring so you dont have to leave them on the rope all the time. There are others that also let you take them off but they are far more expensive.

Hope this is of help and other will no doubt add their answers too.

Good luck

Cheers
Chimo

vector
02-09-2007, 11:09 AM
im located on far nth coast ballina, so if you wernt using a retriever youd have difficulty getting it back up? do you have a link for retrieving methods? thanks

Chimo
02-09-2007, 12:00 PM