View Full Version : Boat Crash Brisbane River 01.09.07

Lone_Wolf
01-09-2007, 05:39 PM
Details are sketchy presently however it was just announced on Sky News at 5.25pm that two boats have collided off Pinkenba this afternoon around 5pm. There allegedly are 2 fatalities and 3 people missing including children.
It does not sound good.

LW

Derek Bullock
01-09-2007, 05:45 PM
September 01, 2007 03:35pm

BREAKING NEWS: Two people are feared dead and three others are missing after two boats collided in waters off Brisbane this afternoon.
A massive search and rescue operation is underway on Moreton Bay, about two kilometres off the Pinkenba boat ramp on Brisbane's northside, where the boats crashed about 4.45pm police said.

mako101
01-09-2007, 05:48 PM
I read this on news.com and felt gutted, I was fishing around there just last week apparently it happened around 2 ks from the Pinkenba boat ramp.
I didn`t hear there were children on either boat, I really hope thats not the case.
Collision in broad daylight is a shock too.

ashh
01-09-2007, 05:55 PM
hope the missing are found safe and well....wouldnt want to be floating around out there too long

alleycat
01-09-2007, 06:24 PM
Very sad news, i would have expected it to happen at the pin or broadwater before the bay.

Derek Bullock
01-09-2007, 06:33 PM
September 01, 2007 06:15pm

THREE people were killed and another three, including two children, were injured when two boats collided off Brisbane this afternoon.
A search and rescue operation was being carried out at Moreton Bay, about 2km off the Pinkenba boat ramp on Brisbane's northside, where the boats collided about 4.45pm (AEST), police said.
Three people were killed in the accident but no other details were available, a Queensland Ambulance Service spokesman said.
The search was continuing for another two people.

A 15-year-old girl found unconscious, 13-year-old girl with leg injuries and another female in a serious condition had been taken to the Royal Brisbane Hospital, the spokesman said.

loophole
01-09-2007, 06:40 PM
were there any fatalities? very sad to hear

Derek Bullock
01-09-2007, 06:43 PM
3 Dead
3 In Hospital
2 Still Missing

2DKnBJ
01-09-2007, 06:50 PM
As a boatie the first thing you think is " I hope it's not some one i know" but the sad fact is these people do belong to someone.Such an unfortunate incident especially in broad daylight.
My condolances to the families involved.

Cheers Dazza

Chas & Clarry
01-09-2007, 06:50 PM
I bet I'm not the only person thinking this: my 16 yrs old daughter is out there with friends today for River Fire.,,ringing to check she is OK is meaningless, because she won't hear her phone (I've tried it).

I'm sure she is OK, certainly out with a very experienced skipper, but for someone that won't be how it turns out. Aways sad when someone comes to grief on a day that should just be great fun for everyone.

I missed the news reports, is it upriver from Pinkenba, or out towards the Bay??

C&C

2DKnBJ
01-09-2007, 06:53 PM
From the news reports it was towards the mouth.

Cheers Dazza

Derek Bullock
01-09-2007, 07:14 PM
Reports have changed

September 01, 2007 06:15pm

Article from: AAP

TWO people are feared dead and another seven, including two children, were injured when two boats collided off Brisbane's northside this afternoon.

Initial police reports said three people had been killed, a 15-year-old girl had been found unconscious, a 13-year-old girl had leg injuries and another woman was in a serious condition.
Police now say two people are missing feared dead, while seven people have been confirmed as being injured after two boats collided about 2km off the Pinkenba boat ramp at 4.45pm (AEST) today.
Of the injured, one woman is is in a serious condition and will be airlifted to hospital.
The other six have injuries not considered life-threatening and will be taken to Royal Brisbane Hospital.
A search and rescue is on to find the two missing people.
One of the boats involved in the crash has sunk, and police said the other looked like it might sink soon.
A large number of pleasure craft are on Brisbane River for tonight's annual Riverfire fireworks festival, but it is not known whether the boats involved in the incident were recreational.

Timmy94
01-09-2007, 07:19 PM
In the news report it also said the F-111 will join the search after finishing the riverfire show

xerubus
01-09-2007, 07:36 PM
this is really sad news... thoughts for people involved.

breamnut
01-09-2007, 07:49 PM
its not good but i want to know how the hell can 2 boats collide?
i saw it happen in the twee on a perfectly sunny day and 1 boat was anchored and the other boat jusr ran straight into it!
i just dont get it?

loophole
01-09-2007, 08:22 PM
In the news report it also said the F-111 will join the search after finishing the riverfire show

do you really think that an F-111 would search for them in the bay. but correct me if im wrong BUT the two F-111 flew west after flying through the river fire and i dont think an F-111 is a serch and rescue machine.
there is not a clear version of a straight story as to what happened this afternoon and derek bullocks story has changed about four times i am sticking to the news report.

Derek Bullock
01-09-2007, 08:25 PM
there is not a clear version of a straight story as to what happened this afternoon and derek bullocks story has changed about four times i am sticking to the news report.

I have simply quoted the news reports.

subzero
01-09-2007, 08:26 PM
Sadly, no one whom has ever had an accident of any type plans on it.
All accidents are preventable as this one would have been today irrespective of the circumstances and irrespective of whom is to blame if blame HAS to be laid at someones feet.

Weather the sun was on the windshield of either vessel or not it is unlikely that at least one of them maintained a proper watch, if you cant see you reduce speed or stop. If the second vessel was NOT restricted in her maneuverability then she too was not maintaining a proper watch or the incident could almost certainly of been avoided unless the speed was so great of one vessel that the other could not get out of its way on time.

2 things cause most accidental collisions on water, speed and inattentiveness, it only takes a few moments of distraction and it can be all over.
Their is also a 3rd reason, bravado and showing off. Happened to me and the wife once in a hire boat.... a mate in another boat decided to scare us and try and get close. We were in a very underpowered vessel so I cut power and sat their. He did a few circles of us and ended up getting caught in his own wash and rode straight over the top of our bow, damaged both boats which he had to pay for. Very scary leaning back as far as you can go as a hull slides across your boat inches in front of your eyes. The wife has never got on a small boat since in over 30 years... just too scared.... hopefully and just as unlikely that this is going to be the scenario as it pans out in the wash.

This is a terrible tragedy, one that is sadly played out on our roads every day without us even giving any more to it than a passing thought. As boaters we consider ourselves to be linked by a love for the water, boats themselves and fishing so we tend to "Feel" for those whom are suffering more than we would otherwise. I feel for all party's involved in todays terrible events as most if not all Ausfishers will as well.

Sometimes we can all draw lessons from those that have erred before us, I am sure their will be lessons or reminders that we will all learn from this over the coming days.

My thoughts go out to all the victims today, and their are many more than just those on the 2 boats that collided today.

I hope my comments don't become topical, I am not accusing anyone of anything and quite frankly in the big picture I don't really care whom is to blame. They are purely my personal comments and opinions.

Kind Regards
Lloyd

Derek Bullock
01-09-2007, 08:32 PM
Agree with you completely Lloyd.

Derek

01-09-2007, 08:36 PM
AT 8.35pm, it was confirmed that 4 people have died as a result of this incident.

Sad day.

subzero
01-09-2007, 08:37 PM
Jesus, just keeps getting worse and worse. Hopefully the number gets wound back. Confirmed or not, sometimes these things jump all over the show... I hope they are wrong.

Updated report on the Courier Mail

FOUR people have been confirmed dead, according to Sky News, and others, including two children, have been injured in a collision between two boats off Brisbane's northside this afternoon.

Initial police reports said three people had been killed, a 15-year-old girl had been found unconscious, a 13-year-old girl had leg injuries and another woman was in a serious condition.

Seven people were confirmed as being injured after the boats collided about 2km off the Pinkenba boat ramp at 4.45pm (AEST) today.

Of the injured, one woman was in a serious condition and was airlifted to hospital.

The other six had injuries not considered life-threatening and were taken to Royal Brisbane Hospital.

One of the boats involved in the crash had sunk, and police said the other looked like it might sink soon.

A large number of pleasure craft are on Brisbane River for tonight's annual Riverfire fireworks festival, but it is not known whether the boats involved in the incident were recreational.

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22346541-5003402,00.html

01-09-2007, 08:39 PM
Very sad day,

Derek Bullock
01-09-2007, 08:41 PM
News reports are all over the place actually. Might be an idea to wait until this is all confirmed by police but either way, yes, a very sad day for Brisbane

01-09-2007, 08:42 PM
By Paula Doneman, David Murray and Kay Dibben
September 01, 2007 08:32pm
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/sm_sundaymail.gif
Font size: + (http://www.news.com.au/story/0,23599,22346072-29277,00.html#) - (http://www.news.com.au/story/0,23599,22346072-29277,00.html#)
Send this article: Print (http://www.news.com.au/story/0,23599,22346072-29277,00.html#) Email (http://www.news.com.au/email/popup/0,23605,22346072-29277,00.html)

FOUR people were killed and seven others injured, three critically, when two boats collided on Brisbane's Moreton Bay late this afternoon.

Two men, a woman in her 20s and a child died in the accident which happened in calm conditions, 2km offshore from the Pinkenba boat ramp at 4.45pm.
One of the boats involved was a 7m Fourwind, with 10 people on board, believed to be from two families.

The other craft was a Haines Hunter, with at least three adults on board.

The seven injured were taken to the Kirra St boat ramp at Pinkenba, where a fleet of ambulances were waiting.

Water police, a rescue helicopter and RAAF helicopter were still searching the water for survivors.

Police at the boat ramp set up a command centre to co-ordinate the search and rescue mission.

The accident came as dozens of boats headed up the Brisbane River for the Riverfire fireworks festival.
Ambulance officers said one woman was in a critical condition, a 15-year-old girl had been unconscious when she was brought in and a 13-year-old girl had broken legs.

At least a dozen police were at the scene and a helipad was set up at the Pinkenba boat ramp.

Derek Bullock
01-09-2007, 08:44 PM
Oh shit, what a day.

moreton
01-09-2007, 08:47 PM
I'm sure they were out only to have a good time....."safety never takes a holiday"
Very sad day
Moreton

loophole
01-09-2007, 08:49 PM
this is very sad and sent chills down the back of my spine as just today I was out there only wished i was there to help them. If this happened 2km fom pinkenba then why did it get so bad. there would have been plenty of boats out there at the time so why werent the coastguard called.
I AM NOT ACCUSING ANY ONE FOR NOT HELPING THESE PEOPLE! and i no that if they were injured without a life jackett on that it would be quite hard to fight the strong currents of the brisbane river.

loophole
01-09-2007, 08:52 PM
lucky_phill thank you this is more detalied information

Derek Bullock
01-09-2007, 08:55 PM
I SEE THAT STORY HAS HAD MORE ADDED TO IT

By Paula Doneman, David Murray and Kay Dibben
September 01, 2007 08:32pm

FOUR people, including a child, were killed when two boats collided at high speed on Brisbane's Moreton Bay late this afternoon.
Police said two men and a woman in her 20s also died when the boats, carrying passengers on their way to the Riverfire fireworks festival, collided at 4.45pm.
The accident happened 2km offshore from Pinkenba.

Ten people, including children and adults from two families, were rescued by water police and taken to waiting ambulances at Pinkenba.

Three of them were reported to have serious injuries, including a 13-year-old girl with broken legs.
Seven ambulances were lined up on shore, and paramedics had stretchers at the ready at the back of each vehicle.

At least a dozen police attended and a helipad was set up at the Pinkenba boat ramp.

Patients were being transferred to the Royal Brisbane and Women's, the Mater and Mater Children's hospitals under police escort.

Earlier, a huge rescue mission was launched involving water police, a rescue helicopter and RAAF chopper.

Police said early investigatons indicated that the boats involved were a 7m Fourwind carrying 10 people from two families, and a smaller Haines Hunter with at least three adults on board.

A police spokeswoman said: "'The crash certainly wasn't a slow-speed impact."

The accident came as dozens of boats headed up the Brisbane River to celebrate Riverfire.

Senior Sergeant Pat Swindells said one vessel had sunk and the other was in a precarious position. It was also expected to be go under.
Some of the injured were interviewed and breath-tested by police at the Pinkenba boat ramp.

A family of four was spoken to by police in an ambulance which had its doors closed to avoid media scrutiny.
In another ambulance, a young girl with minor injuries was being treated while her father looked on.

loophole
01-09-2007, 09:25 PM
derek bullock are u a news reporter! gezz i dont think there is 1 true straight story. hopefully the out come has resulted in 0 lost lives

subzero
01-09-2007, 09:28 PM
From the ABC tonight, truly devastating, all the deaths were apparently from the one boat. :'(
http://abc.net.au/news/stories/2007/09/01/2021460.htm

Four dead, 10 injured after boat collision

Police have now confirmed that four people were killed and 10 injured tonight after two boats collided near the mouth of the Brisbane River.

Police say the collision took place at about 4.40pm AEST, two kilometres from the mouth of the river on Moreton Bay.

Inspector Ross Martin says the four people killed and another who was critically injured were on board one boat.

Of the 10 passengers on board the other boat, seven received minor injuries, two were critically injured and the male skipper was not hurt.

Inspector Martin says the cause of the accident is not known.

"The Water Police and the forensic crash unit will conduct investigations into the cause, they'll interview the surviving people but that'll be handled, I'd say, from tomorrow," he said.

One of the boats sunk and the other is badly damaged.

01-09-2007, 09:35 PM
Fark :o :o :o I just got home, not sure what to say :'( lost for words .............

Timmy94
01-09-2007, 09:43 PM
loophole ever heard of news.com.au? It gets updated just so you know and the news is updated when it comes to hand so you should be thankful and all those stories are true. Did any1 here if the other boat sunk? The first 1 did.

loophole
01-09-2007, 10:00 PM
u thank u timmy 94 i am still shaken up that this has happened thats why i have posted so much.

maztez
01-09-2007, 10:02 PM
Its a very sad night .Brejen , Gawby and myself were dangling a line at the 36's N E of the seaway when it happened . We were on channel and heard the emergency teams coordinating the rescues and searches.
From the news reports it seems that speed had a major hand in the event .Our thoughts are with the victims .
Terry

tim barra master
01-09-2007, 10:12 PM
An absolute trajety alright I hope for the skippers sake they were sober I would not be suprised to here QLD FOLLOW SOUTHERN STATES WITH COMPULSERY LIFE JACKETS weather on the move or on the water
Anyhow I was on the river this arvo and I lost the party mood I was also searching at low speed for suvivors and was really suppriesed to be told by qld water police to leave to area I did not see the impact but was there very soon after I was not in anyones way. but many moved in and wrere a real problem.

01-09-2007, 10:29 PM
Terrible news, a tragic father's day weekend for some families no doubt.

Loophole, be thankful that Derek is updating the news as it comes in.

Thankyou Derek.

r.

gawby
01-09-2007, 10:45 PM
Can i hear someone saying, SORRY DEREK.

When an incident like this happens sketchy information comes in and is reported on. As time progresses more information is gathered and an update is conducted. This update normally changes the last information supplied.
Hence, the information that Derek supplied was being updated as it came to hand. This is how reports are updated on TV and Radio as well.
So i say, don't knock Derek for suppling information trying to keep us informed on such a tragic incident.
Graeme;)

Chas & Clarry
01-09-2007, 10:56 PM
My daughter has just returned from the area (good news for me) (went to river fire)

She saw a boat being towed back in that she described as very smashed (I know that is stating the obvious from the news reports of course).

Sounds like a half cabin or cuddy cabin, from her description with the cabin itself looking badly damaged as if the other boat had gone over the top, screen smashed, shades demolished.

NOW this is just a description of what she saw passing by the tow (within 30 meters) we are not wanting to add to any rumour mill.

Very sad night for some families.

C&C (and S)

Great White
01-09-2007, 10:58 PM
Shocking to think that something like this can happen during the day :o When I was first told about it I thought for sure it was at night :(

I read 10 people on a 7 meter boat ????? not sure but I would think that is too many but kids under 12 ? count as 1/2 an adult. I guess all the details and full story will be in tomorrows paper.

I hope and pray for those injured to pull through and what can be said for those that lost their lives 4 in total, how tragic.

Just makes you take note of how things can go deadly wrong on the water and we should all take extra care.

Sea-Dog
01-09-2007, 11:15 PM
From NineMSN...

Four confirmed dead in Qld boat crash

Saturday Sep 1 22:16 AEST
Four people are dead, including a child, and three are critically injured after two boats collided off Brisbane.
Police said two pleasure craft collided about 2km from Pinkenba, on Moreton Bay, at about 4.30pm (AEST) on Saturday.
Two men, a woman and a child, aged around eight years old, were killed and one person was critically injured onboard one boat, police said.

In the other boat, a seven metre vessel, two people received critical injuries, seven people suffered minor injuries, while the skipper, a 17-year-old boy, was uninjured.
The injured were ferried back to shore where ambulances were waiting, before being taken to the Royal Brisbane Hospital.
A Queensland Ambulance Service spokesman said the worst injury among the seven "walking wounded" with minor injuries was a fractured arm.
An air and water search and rescue operation has now been called off as all people on the boats are accounted for.
Queensland Police Inspector Ross Martin said the teenage skipper was breath tested and no alcohol was detected. He said the boy had a licence to drive the vessel.
The cause of the crash wasn't clear, and investigations had begun, Insp Martin said.

I reckon this kid has just totally screwed his life...

Imagine the weight of this on your young shoulders. Even if he wasn't at fault - he would be constantly thinking "If only I had........"

My heartfelt condolences to all involved.

I am off to bed, after I go and smile at my kids for a while as they sleep.

Its just another reminder to major on the important things in life. Tomorrow may not happen, so make today count. :(:(:(

T1
02-09-2007, 12:43 AM
Hi All

TINN & I were at the lions game when we got the call from Mrs TINN telling us of the tragic news! We couldn't believe it and spent the whole 2nd qtr sitting there in shock wondering how such a thing could happen in the Brissie (or just out)???

Unbelievable and as i sit here and type after reading all the news reports on the incident, i'm still in disbelief! How one persons error can be so costly! The 8yr old victim hits home - we celebrated our sons 1st b'day today with close friends of whom almost all have young kids... You just want to hug them and never let go :'( !

Take Care T

plaztix
02-09-2007, 01:30 AM
Shocking news. Just got home from the Powderfinger/silverchair concert on a big high but am now in shock and cant believe what i'm reading.

T - We also celebrated our boys 1st birthday today. The whole day has been a total buzz (until now) but this news has really hit home, especially when i heard that young kids where involved in the accident, it relates now more than ever.

Just makes you realise how important each and every day with them is.

Its hard to believe that something like this can happen on a stretch of water as vast as the brissie river, but i guess today there was probably a lot more traffic out than any other day in the year and boats full of people (distractions) sure dont help.

My sincerest condolences to all those affected by this terrible accident.

Shane Boese
02-09-2007, 05:07 AM
Paula Doneman, David Murray, Kate Patterson and Kay Dibben
September 02, 2007 12:00am
THREE members of a family, including a boy, 8, were among four people killed in a boating tragedy on Brisbane's Moreton Bay late yesterday.
Police said the boy, two men and a woman in her 20s died when the two pleasure craft collided at 4.40pm.
All four dead were on board a 5.5m Haines Hunter boat which collided with a 7m cruiser, skippered by a 17-year-old male.
He was the only person out of the 15 involved in the accident to escape unhurt. They were all from Brisbane.
Ten others, including children and adults from two families, were rescued by water police and taken to hospital for treatment. Three were in critical condition, including a woman who was the only survivor from the smaller boat.
Police Insp Ross Martin said: "Three of the deceased were from one family and there was another deceased believed to be a friend of that family."
The teenage skipper of the larger craft was breath-tested by police. He tested negative for alcohol.
The horror accident happened two nautical miles east of the Brisbane River mouth. Just a few kilometres away, tens of thousands of people were gathering to celebrate the annual Riverfire.
Police said it was not known whether either boat was heading to the river for the celebrations.
The injured were taken to waiting ambulances at Pinkenba.
Insp Martin said: "It's a tragedy. We dread these jobs, it just shows how short your life can be. At this stage the water police in conjunction with our forensic crash unit are conducting investigations into the cause.
"After talking to the injured, we believe everyone has been accounted for."
The seriously injured were taken to hospital under police escort.
One of the boats sank, and efforts were being made to re-float it last night.
A police spokeswoman said: "The crash certainly wasn't a slow-speed impact."
Queensland Ambulance Service acting Brisbane area director Steve Coombs said the injured children included a seven-year-old with a fractured arm, a 13-year-old girl with knee and hip injuries and a 15-year-old girl with a head injury.
A search and rescue helicopter contracted to the RAAF, which was in Brisbane with the Roulettes for Riverfire, was brought in to search for people in the water. It had a heat-detecting device.

02-09-2007, 06:39 AM
Thanks Derek for the continued updates on this tradgey.

For those who are interested, here is the link to the " ever updating and breaking news around the world ",...

http://www.news.com.au/breakingnews/

Lone_Wolf
02-09-2007, 06:47 AM
This is a tragic event for Brisbane. This hits home hard for me being so close to where I live now. I still believe their is something fundamentally wrong with a 17 year old being allowed access to such a powerful craft.
Granted he may have the correct licence however we all know how easy it is to obtain one. Even if he is not at fault, the ability to foresee and evade such an event only comes with experience. An adult made a decision to give him the keys to operate this craft. They had a duty of care which sadly has ended in the loss of life and injuries.

LW

02-09-2007, 06:59 AM
I think there is too many assumptions and opinions on fault and circumstances here by some Ausfishers replying to this thread.

How about we let the authorities do their job. How about we let the family and friends of the victims grieve and the injured recover.

You can debate the facts when they are released.

Lone_Wolf
02-09-2007, 07:07 AM
A police spokeswoman said: "The crash certainly wasn't a slow-speed impact."

Two boats collide at speed. I think the assumptions are correct Phil. Not one point of view put forward in this article by Ausfishers has been extreme.

I agree however that there is a need to respect these families right to grieve.

LW

02-09-2007, 07:10 AM
I think there is too many assumptions and opinions on fault and circumstances here by some Ausfishers replying to this thread.

How about we let the authorities do their job. How about we let the family and friends of the victims grieve and the injured recover.

You can debate the facts when they are released.

well said and totally agree with it.

RIP

02-09-2007, 07:40 AM
Jeez, didn't want to get into this and will close the thread if it continues.

Quote from Lone-Wolf "Granted he may have the correct licence however we all know how easy it is to obtain one. Even if he is not at fault, the ability to foresee and evade such an event only comes with experience. An adult made a decision to give him the keys to operate this craft. They had a duty of care which sadly has ended in the loss of life and injuries."

Point of view 1. you state how easy it is to obtain a licence. .. maybe for some

Point of view 2. Even if it is not his fault.... assumption

Point of view 3. ability to foresee.... things can happen in less than a split second, it may be that a skipper of 40 years experience could not have avoided the incident

Point of view 4. An adult gave him the keys... the 17 y/o may be the boat owner ... assumption

Point of view 5. They had a duty of care.... again you assume it was an adult that owned the boat.

Any point of view or assumption put forward whether extreme or not, should not be placed here at this time and under the current circumstances.

People wonder why the facts get twisted, rumours start and mis-information is passed on and built on.

To everyone, Please keep any further comments on this thread in perspective and in relation to all victims of this incident.

Dunco
02-09-2007, 08:09 AM
Come on Phil everyone is entitled to voice their opion, that's what makes this forum. Let members decide who they think are tosser's.

IMO, it get's me going that the changes to the Laws that could have avoided such an accident are always changed after the loss of life's. I'm not saying that it could have been avoided, I don't know the details. But I truly hope something is changed. I am not blaming anyone, but we are all questioning the license system and maybe a "P" plate should be introduced. I don't care who is at fault.

THIS SHOULD NEVER HAPPEN AGAIN!!!!

Hamish73
02-09-2007, 08:21 AM
too many assumptions.
Dont rule out mechanical failure.
remember that cruiser up on the rocks from mackay recenty??
It's a tradegy and one poor family is having the worst fathers day ever and my heart goes out to them.

hungry6
02-09-2007, 09:05 AM
Just woke up after a fishing trip to read this, what a shocking news!!! My gut sank when I read the report and trying to get through everyone posts to see if there was a more positive outcome.
It's a tradgedy when lives are lost and more so the living will go on bearing a lifetime of "if what" feeling.
I'm still lost for words.

02-09-2007, 09:11 AM
lock the thread will ya Phill..or delete it altogether...some of these people will have that young bloke involved guilty of everything without knowing a single fact.

Chas & Clarry
02-09-2007, 09:28 AM
I'd say please don't lock it Phil, (but lets not allow any "trial by chat board" for the young guy).

We are a mature bunch of people, lets learn how to manage these situations respectfully.

Some of us have gone off to hug our kids, we've all paused to think about the sadness of other families.

You've reminded us not to prejudge or make assumptions, which is a fair call.

Lets see how it goes, because this is an important (and tragic) event for the fishing and baoting community of Brisbane. I recon its important to talk about it adn learn from it.

C&C

DR
02-09-2007, 09:33 AM
this is starting to head the way of the thread a few years ago when the young bloke & his girl sank out near coochie a few years ago.. some said it happened because he was fat..:-/
unless you were there, please keep your assumptions to yourself as you only make yourself look foolish.:-X

ssab1
02-09-2007, 09:50 AM
This is a tragic event for Brisbane. This hits home hard for me being so close to where I live now. I still believe their is something fundamentally wrong with a 17 year old being allowed access to such a powerful craft.
Granted he may have the correct licence however we all know how easy it is to obtain one. Even if he is not at fault, the ability to foresee and evade such an event only comes with experience. An adult made a decision to give him the keys to operate this craft. They had a duty of care which sadly has ended in the loss of life and injuries.

LW bloody hell ,hope you dont ever get called for JURY DUTY.guilty!!!!!!!now lets go home.cheers alex ps the young bloke feels bad enough ,and obviously when you got your licence(you do have one??) avoiding collision at sea is the responsibity of all skippers, was not pointed out to you.my condolences to all affected by this event

02-09-2007, 10:49 AM
I still believe their is something fundamentally wrong with a 17 year old being allowed access to such a powerful craft.
. An adult made a decision to give him the keys to operate this craft. They had a duty of care which sadly has ended in the loss of life and injuries.

LW

I think we also need to let the police investigation run its course without speculation into how it happened when we we not there!
However lone wolf's point here would make an interesting thread,as would the debate about teenagers and cars.
Maybe later though as there are obviously grieving families and emotionally damaged survivors and dont forget those that took part in the search and rescue and recovery of the dead.
Such an already tragic situation. but let the investigators do there job and if neccessary make your own judgments based on the results of the inquest/investigation.
Plenty of time for recriminations later.

mod5
02-09-2007, 10:53 AM
This post is now locked. Lets respect the dead, the survivors, the rescuers and there families. People need to grieve in peace.