View Full Version : Barra weave

Owen
25-08-2007, 09:33 PM
I knocked this weave pattern up as a test in PicToWeave.

It's 92 high x 86 threads wide. Gudebrod "A" metallic silver over Speed "C" wrap thread.
As always, I'm earning as I go :-/

I failed to leave enough thread hanging out the left of the weave so when it came time to pack & tighten the weave I discovered that grabbing it with pliers like I normally did wouldn't work as the metallic thread just fell apart :(
So I hard to just push down real hard and do all the tightening from the right. Trouble is that the metallic thread start to unravel if it moves through the wrap threads too much, which you can see around the eye area :'(

Next time I'll leave enough both ends so I can wrap it around my hand and pull from both ends at once!

I'm still pretty happy with it though :)

The first photo is a composite (two stuck together) as the weave wraps too far around the rod to get in one shot.

The second is how you see it holding the rod.

It's on the drier at the moment gettiing the first coat of epoxy. I'll post more pics when it's done (like it or not 8-) )

Owen
25-08-2007, 09:36 PM
You can download the pattern from my site, but here's the left list for anyone that's interested.

Wrap Colour = 0001 Black Gudebrod
Wrap count = 86
Design thread count = 92
Wrap Thread Size = NCP C
Design Thread Size = Metallic A
Approximate Design Height (mm) = 16.38
Approximate Design Width (mm) = 17.48
Layers In Wrap = 1

Colours used:
9002 Silver Gudebrod

1: 37,39,
2: 36,38,40-42,
3: 35,37,39-40,42-43,
4: 34,36,38-39,41-44,
5: 33,35,37-38,40-42,44,
6: 32,34,36,39-41,43-46,
7: 31,33,35,37-39,42-47,
8: 30-32,34-37,40-44,47-48,
9: 29-43,45-49,
10: 29-42,44-46,48-50,
11: 28,30-41,43-45,47-51,
12: 27-29,31-44,46-47,49-51,
13: 26-29,31-43,45-46,48-51,
14: 25-30,32-50,
15: 24-31,33-48,76-82,
16: 23-31,33-44,74-84,
17: 22-32,34-46,67-85,
18: 21-33,35-77,83-86,
19: 20-33,35-75,78-85,
20: 20-34,36-72,76-84,
21: 19-35,37-70,73-84,
22: 18-36,38-75,80-83,
23: 17-37,39-73,76-82,
24: 17-38,40-70,74-80,
25: 16-39,41-78,
26: 16-40,42-75,
27: 15-40,42-67,72-74,
28: 15-41,43-73,
29: 14-42,44-72,
30: 14-43,45-65,70-71,
31: 14-43,45-70,
32: 13-44,46-61,66-70,
33: 13-45,56-65,67-71,
34: 13-46,59-66,71-72,
35: 13-47,61-72,
36: 13-48,68-71,
37: 13-49,
38: 13-19,23-50,
39: 13-19,21-22,24-51,
40: 13-20,22-23,25-52,
41: 13-20,22-24,26-53,
42: 13-21,23-25,27-54,
43: 13-21,23-26,28-55,
44: 14-22,24-27,29-56,
45: 14-22,24-28,30-36,40-42,44-57,
46: 15-23,25-29,31-35,37-43,47-58,
47: 10-13,15-23,25-30,36-45,49-59,
48: 8-13,15-24,26-32,34-60,
49: 7-11,14,16-24,26-31,33-61,
50: 8-15,17-24,26-30,32-62,
51: 5-15,17-25,27-30,32-63,
52: 3-16,18-25,27-29,31-64,
53: 2-5,9-26,28-29,31-47,50-65,
54: 1-8,13-17,19-29,31-47,49-66,
55: 2-4,7-12,17-18,20-28,30-46,49-67,
56: 4-6,9-28,30-46,48-68,
57: 5-8,13-19,21-29,31-45,47-69,
58: 8-12,18-20,22-29,31-45,47-70,
59: 10-21,23-29,31-45,47-71,
60: 13-22,24-29,31-44,46-65,69-72,
61: 24-30,32-43,46-64,66-68,70-73,
62: 25-30,32-43,45-64,66,68-74,
63: 26-31,33-42,44-64,66-68,70-75,
64: 27-31,33-42,44-65,69-73,75-76,90,
65: 29-32,34-72,74-77,89-91,
66: 30-32,34-78,88-92,
67: 31-33,35-72,74-79,88-92,
68: 32-34,36-71,73-80,87-91,
69: 33-35,37-70,72-77,80,87-90,
70: 35-69,71-76,78-79,86,88-89,
71: 36-68,70-75,77-80,85-87,
72: 38-67,69-74,76-80,84,86-88,
73: 42-66,68-73,75-80,83-85,87,
74: 45-65,67-72,74-77,79,82,84-86,
75: 49-64,66-72,74-76,78,81-83,85,
76: 51-64,66-71,73-78,80,82-84,
77: 53-64,66-70,72-77,79-81,83,
78: 56-65,67-69,71-76,79-82,
79: 59-68,70-75,78-81,
80: 61-68,70-74,77,79-80,
81: 62-67,69-70,72-73,77-79,
82: 63-66,68-69,71-72,75-78,
83: 64-66,68-70,74-76,
84: 65-67,69,71,73-75,
85: 67-68,70-73,
86: 69-70,

Owen
25-08-2007, 09:45 PM
For those that prefer to work off a grid only, you can print them across multiple pages. This one is six pages stapled together. If you stick them on a corkboard it makes it easy to see where you are. Especially on colour-change weaves (multi-layer).

Also attached is a photo of a wonder weaver. This is a "two wheel version". They're bloody expensive, but they do make life easier on large weaves that wrap right around the rod.

Owen
26-08-2007, 12:41 AM
Here she be after epoxy :thumbsup:

26-08-2007, 08:07 AM
Looks good mate :D
Sometimes those metallics drive me nuts when they kinda pull apart.
What's the weave on the rod in the background going to be??
The wonder weaver eh...definitely a bit different to the combs on the PVC pipe eh.
Cheers Scott :)
PS you still haven't sent your address so I can send some wood you know. Sandy may be right you know :)

sid_fishes
26-08-2007, 08:16 AM
owen, that looks great. how long did it take to knock it up.wonder weaver, where did you get it from and is the barra the first weave to come out of it?and i know myles was going to do one of your weaves ,do you know if he has done it yet.anyway keep posting pics cheers ian

Owen
26-08-2007, 09:29 AM
Ian,
The one we got is a "Wonder Weaver II"
http://www.renzetti.com/home.php?cat=282
It only has two "rings" instead of three on the original. The original would be better on metallic though as it'd stop them tangling so easy as you turn the rod. There's a big difference in price though.
This is the first weave I've done in it and it took a little of getting used to.
I reckon the combs are fine if you're not going to do really big weaves.

I did send Myles a weave but it's pretty big, so he'll probably wait until retirement before he attacks it ;)

Scott,
The rod in the background is sandy's RBW rod. I'll let her divulge that one.
Sandy was right? That I can't get that silly playing with only one?

I've been crook all week, so I've been off work.
I'll PM you the adress & courier account number.

Owen
26-08-2007, 09:32 AM
Ian,
Probably took me an hour or two in PicToWeave and then 5 or 6 hours to weave it.
I'm going to make some changes to the pectoral & cordal fin and have another go at some point.
I also have a color change pattern for it.

sid_fishes
26-08-2007, 09:52 AM
owen,with the weaver is the numbered section a hard plastic or a high density foam?

Owen
26-08-2007, 10:46 AM
owen,with the weaver is the numbered section a hard plastic or a high density foam?

Ian,
The numbered section is hard plastic.
It loks like the degree wheel off a pipe bender or something similar as it's number 0 to 90.

Then there is a ring of high density foam a little bigger than the number ring with slots in it to hold the thread. Each slot lines up with a number.

They're quite brilliant in their simplicity and well made. Even the grub screw all have nylon inserts to protect the blank.

They aren't cheap, but if you went to a machine shop and asked them to make one it'd cost you more.

sid_fishes
26-08-2007, 11:26 AM
thanks champ for that, think i might have to have a chat to scott. say hi to sandy cheers ian

26-08-2007, 12:12 PM
thanks champ for that, think i might have to have a chat to scott. say hi to sandy cheers ian
Me...:o:o
why me?????
Owens the weave king :D
Cheers mate ;D