View Full Version : Preferred Boat
25-08-2007, 06:45 AM
I am interested in thoughts on the following boats regarding performance, finish quality and the most important...value for money which definitely does not mean the most expensive one wins.
bushbeachboy
25-08-2007, 07:01 AM
What are the criteria mate?
25-08-2007, 07:05 AM
There should have been an option for "I don't know" in the poll :P
I have never been in any of these boats but the AMM's look great. The Fishers that Col_S produces always gets me drooling though ;D
Aigutso
25-08-2007, 07:07 AM
Stabicraft for me Greg, ugly things but reckon a great sea-boat, the bigger models with the half cabins have a lot of room, can get that loo in there as well, and probably readily available and reasonably priced; Barcrushers also look value for money..
With the custom plateys like AMM and Fisher nice looking boats but they are starting to get up there in bucks and the waiting list? Reckon the fishers will poll well.
mike
megafish71
25-08-2007, 07:16 AM
I have just been through this, trying to figure out who has the better boat and which builder offers better value for money. Better design for my purposes etc. Visited many plate boat builders, Fisher and AMM included. All builders have their own way of doing things and their own unique differences in design and function. I don't think you can have this question answered via a poll. I have chossen a builder not in your list, and chose this build on hull design, deck layout and most importantly builder attitude. I was going to start a thread on here about the build but seing the way some people on this site have reacted to treads about having plate boats built by builders who arn't regulars on this site I thought I would give it a miss. PM me if you would like to know who I'm having building my boat and why.
Cheers Ron
Hamish73
25-08-2007, 07:56 AM
I have just been through this, trying to figure out who has the better boat and which builder offers better value for money. Better design for my purposes etc. Visited many plate boat builders, Fisher and AMM included. All builders have their own way of doing things and their own unique differences in design and function. I don't think you can have this question answered via a poll. I have chossen a builder not in your list, and chose this build on hull design, deck layout and most importantly builder attitude. I was going to start a thread on here about the build but seing the way some people on this site have reacted to treads about having plate boats built by builders who arn't regulars on this site I thought I would give it a miss. PM me if you would like to know who I'm having building my boat and why.
Cheers Ron
who give a f&%k what other people think?? It's a forum, isnt the idea to express ones opinion??? Start a thread IK say, pics would be good too :)
I havent been in any of the above boats either. I used to repair welders for AMM and was pretty impressed with their setup, not that I could pick a good one from a bad one.
25-08-2007, 08:16 AM
Fisher by a nautical mile for all those criteria especially ride ;D;D;D;D;D
There is a reason for the waiting list - I would be more worried about any of them that could start tomorrow.
Ron - post it up mate - always good to see them come together and you have been on the site for ages so I dont reckon anyone would or should have any dramas with it.
No Riptide - Rhys will be devastated :-X;D;D;D
25-08-2007, 08:30 AM
I knew what your reply would be Greg. I did leave Riptide out on purpose...there is a reason for that. I have left them out of the equation at this stage.
peterbo3
25-08-2007, 08:48 AM
Ron,
Put up whatever you want. Especially pics. Everyone likes to see how a plate boat goes together.
I voted for Fisher only because I have one on order for early Dec delivery. I have been on an AMM boat & was very impressed but there were some $$$$ issues for me.
Pinhead, seeing you did not include Riptide in the list, are you planning a Riptide purchase? ;) ;) ;)
25-08-2007, 08:59 AM
Ron,
Put up whatever you want. Especially pics. Everyone likes to see how a plate boat goes together.
I voted for Fisher only because I have one on order for early Dec delivery. I have been on an AMM boat & was very impressed but there were some $$$$ issues for me.
Pinhead, seeing you did not include Riptide in the list, are you planning a Riptide purchase? ;) ;) ;)
No Peter...that is why I said they are not in the equation.
Not sure what I will be buying at this stage hence the poll, to find out about other makes. I have not been in any of those I mentioned so just trying to test the waters on what other members have etc. Obviously no one is going to say I have ABC brand and it is crap..no one will admit to that.
I am trying to save myself some legwork..spent 3 months looking and choosing before I bought the last boat...trying to save on that effort a bit this time.
25-08-2007, 10:03 AM
I don't think I would like someone else picking my boat for me:P. This situation will lend itself to those not in the know having a guess(myself included) so in fact your are only asking for everyones opinion. May as well see what builder has the biggest turn over and buy that :(
ffejsmada
25-08-2007, 12:54 PM
Hey Pinhead, Have you had a look at Joshua Boats in Slacks Creek???????????
Might be worth you while.
www.joshuaboats.com.au
Cheers, Jeff
25-08-2007, 01:16 PM
don't worry Garry...no one will be choosing what I buy but it is always good tp get others opinions.
Deiter
25-08-2007, 02:06 PM
G'day Pinhead, can i ask what the intended purpose/s of the boat will be??
zaraspook
25-08-2007, 02:51 PM
What about Skeeters for all who like lure casting
Dean1
25-08-2007, 04:56 PM
don't worry Garry...no one will be choosing what I buy but it is always good tp get others opinions. Dont do it buy a twin hull you will never look back ;D
sid_fishes
25-08-2007, 04:56 PM
greg, mate after all this time of thinking you were going to buy what i thought was an ugly piece of fibreglass, and now your thinking plate boats, hmmmmmm i have to ask why ?? mate as a tradie i tend to look hard at the finish of boats , and i must admitt i was a bit surprised at the non incuslion of the riptide,having said that,when i looked at the trailcraft range, great boats, but bad finish,tabs hmm, amm looked good the first time i saw them , but at a cost, stabilcraft ugly as,fisher, well what can i say, the waiting time for 1 , cant beat the finish and no i dont work for col he just does a good thing. just my thoughts cheers ian
25-08-2007, 05:08 PM
Ian...fibreglass has not been ruled out either.
I know Col builds a good boat but the wait is a lil off putting.
Riptide appear to build a good boat also but a bit of an issue there as far as I am concerned.
The others I was just looking for opinions...and then maybe look at them.
So many makes these days.
bay_firey
25-08-2007, 05:35 PM
Can't speak from experience but if I was after a rig in that class my first (and possibly last) port of call would be fisher
I just love the look of them
And from all reports they are a great bunch of guys to deal with which HAS to be worth more than a few dollars
25-08-2007, 07:17 PM
Hi Greg
What do you want to do with this boat?
Who will you be catering for ie Sue too or not and does it include anything more than fishing inside and out and a means to get to the Cove?
One assumes your not looking to kip on it?
I would certainly include glass too.
PS Also are you going to tow it or store it?
25-08-2007, 09:08 PM
Hi Greg
What do you want to do with this boat? fishing Pin and bay areas
Who will you be catering for ie Sue too or not and does it include anything more than fishing inside and out and a means to get to the Cove? it needs to have a dunny..porta will do. Yes..it will need to go to the Cove
One assumes your not looking to kip on it? if so it will only be me on a fishing trip or me and a deckie
I would certainly include glass too. what about a striper???
PS Also are you going to tow it or store it?
i will tow it
Tassie JR
25-08-2007, 09:12 PM
pinhead i would prefer glass but outer the platyz go the fisher i have seen nothing but good reports about them, got a mate with a fisher 480 centre console great little boat he heads to the barwons, wide caloundra every where when we drive beside him the way it cuts threw the water is unbelievable.
cheers tassie JR
seawasp6666
25-08-2007, 09:24 PM
Hello pin head whats up with riptide come on let it out can you talk about it
26-08-2007, 05:30 AM
Hi Greg
What size / weight limit is there re towing? Still the ute or large 4wd?
Sounds like either new or second hand is OK if a striper is in the mix?
Is there a preferred motor ie do you have a chosen service person that you will use? Seems easier to go forward from that rather than some of the the other criteria.
As you probably wont want to wait its only an issue of budget and going forward resale potential.
All this probably keeps you away from orphans and small output producers and long waiting lists and probably the imports.
This probably leaves the choice between a small number of glass and Al boats that have a cabin and probably a walkaround capability and are not too big that you cannot use it solo if the mood takes which means a very good quality roller trailer and elec winch. Stiper ? size
Lots of choices and could be getting close to time for a matrix.
26-08-2007, 03:11 PM
Hi Greg
Heres a stiper for you, could be ok but maybe a bit of a handfull solo? Not a bad price cf to some
http://honolulu.craigslist.org/oah/boa/402922283.html
Also maybe you could hang the 130HP thats for sale on AF on the back of a 670 Alrounder as long as you got them to build extra sound deadening / insulation into the tri hull around the cabin as there is no way anyone could sleep in the cabin with all the slapping and sloshing under it the way they sell them.
On second thoughts maybe go for a lighter motor with more power as they are bum heavy with the heavier 4s like the Honda anyway.
I'm into this now, my neighbour came over to look at some tinnys and ended up buying a big FRP rig::)
27-08-2007, 12:17 PM
:o:o:o:o:o:o:o:o:o:o:o:o
aint nothing wrong with the Riptide Seawasp...just Greg having a seniors moment!!!!;)
Yeah, yeah Greg, I know...predictable response;D;D;D
megafish71
28-08-2007, 08:47 AM
who give a f&%k what other people think?? It's a forum, isnt the idea to express ones opinion??? Start a thread IK say, pics would be good too :)
I havent been in any of the above boats either. I used to repair welders for AMM and was pretty impressed with their setup, not that I could pick a good one from a bad one.
Your rite Hamish, I will start a thread for the boat when construction starts in a few weeks. I will also do a thread on the build of my ally trailer, I am building this myself so it will be good to get some feedback on this as it progresses.
Ron
28-08-2007, 05:26 PM
I sent off about 7 or 8 emails to several boat manufacturers and retailers...so far only one reply..damn they must have a mile of orders...I am not going to run around and spend all my time chasing details and prices..did that the last time for 3 months..not doing that again...will be using emails and phone this time...if no response then I won't be buying from these peopel regardless of boat price or quality.
Great White
28-08-2007, 05:45 PM
Greg If it were me and it was about a year and a half ago I looked at the trailcraft range;D Great build quality, great value for money and easy on the eye :D Gee come to think of it I wish women were built like a trailcraft :-X Only joking my dear (Herm) :P But you loved the boat too.
The only reason we did not get it was we were doing a house extension and expecting our second baby ::)
Fisher for me, I just love the quality of the finish as well as the technology eg the water ballast keel. Hopefully my next boat will be a 660 walkaround like "Alchemy". My dream boat. (Well the dream boat within my price range anyway).
Camo
Alchemy
30-08-2007, 07:25 PM
Fisher for me, I just love the quality of the finish as well as the technology eg the water ballast keel. Hopefully my next boat will be a 660 walkaround like "Alchemy". My dream boat. (Well the dream boat within my price range anyway).
Camo
Camo, every man and every boat has its price ;) I might just have to upgrade myself one day ::)
xrayxray
31-08-2007, 06:51 PM
Just got back from fishing the swains,took my fisher 660 maxi,trip was a great adventure.
I am certain i don't need to consider purchasing another trailer boat as this one shines in every way.
Buy right once saves money in the long run even if you got to wait a bit.
Best of luck with your decision Greg.
cheers mickey.
megafish71
31-08-2007, 08:53 PM
Just got back from fishing the swains,took my fisher 660 maxi,trip was a great adventure.
I am certain i don't need to consider purchasing another trailer boat as this one shines in every way.
cheers mickey.
Now I know Col builds a good boat, looked at several of his boats and meet with Col to discuss my next boat. But I am having mine built elsewhere. So could somebody please tell me why the Fisher range of boats is sooooo much better than any other plate boat.
Ron
seatime
31-08-2007, 10:00 PM
I voted for the Stabicraft. I did a lot of research before buying one, talking to different boat owners, boat builders, test driving and observing other builds out on the water. I've used a Fisher 5m runabout many times for work and they were never in my calculations. They didn't fit what I wanted in a hull.
horses for courses.
I've found the Stabi perfect for fishing out of, it handles seas from any direction with ease and it carry's loads easily.
There are always compromises to be made with a particular hull design and IMHO the Stabi offers the least amount of compromises.
Isaac
01-09-2007, 06:59 AM
Now I know Col builds a good boat, looked at several of his boats and meet with Col to discuss my next boat. But I am having mine built elsewhere. So could somebody please tell me why the Fisher range of boats is sooooo much better than any other plate boat.
Ron
Ron, did you go for a ride in a Fisher when you where looking?
Ron
I don't know about Fisher being sooo much better than any other plate boat. I've looked at a few plate boats and the thing that impresses me about Fisher is the attention to detail, the finish and the fact that it is built locally. I'd rather my money goes to a great local product than a WA or NZ product. Plus Fisher has beat out most of the competition last year to wins some awards, they have to be doing something right.
Camo
megafish71
01-09-2007, 07:07 PM
Ron, did you go for a ride in a Fisher when you where looking?
Yes, However the hull I was interested in (the 730) is totally different to all the other size hulls that Col builds. It has a very fine entry and reacts very differently to trim than any other hull design that Im aware of. I didn't like the idea that perhaps if somebody else had to take the helm, that wasn't used to the way the boat handled could get themselves into difficulties. You see we often fish some reasonably remote areas, alongway from any help if things should go wrong. The reason for going to a larger boat is to frequent these areas more often. Im not bagging Cols boats, infact I think he builds great boats, but didn't have the right boat to suit my purposes. I just want some of the people on here to quantify some of their comments and not just say that Fisher are the best boats. I'd like to know why people think that. To say the a Fisher is finished off better than an AMM is just rubbish, but the Fisher does offer better value for money than the over priced AMM. The balast tubes are a great inovation for the fisher boats, but it does limit the use of some of the under deck area. The Nobel Super V will ride better than most plateys including the fisher in any sea, but it is a rolly boat at rest, not good if you have family members that suffer from seasickness. I could go on and on about the pros and cons of many manufacturers, as I have spent the last 2years doing exactly that.
Ron
megafish71
01-09-2007, 07:14 PM
[quote][/Now I know Col builds a good boat, looked at several of his boats and meet with Col to discuss my next boat. But I am having mine built elsewhere. So could somebody please tell me why the Fisher range of boats is sooooo much better than any other plate boat.
RonQUOTE]
I don't know about Fisher being sooo much better than any other plate boat. I've looked at a few plate boats and the thing that impresses me about Fisher is the attention to detail, the finish and the fact that it is built locally. I'd rather my money goes to a great local product than a WA or NZ product. Plus Fisher has beat out most of the competition last year to wins some awards, they have to be doing something right.
Camo
I too like to support locals, but there is plenty of good plate boat builders in the south east corner of QLD. Also some bloody good ones here in the north aswell.
Awards don't impress me, have a look at how many Telwater have for their poor quality mass produced Quintrex rubbish.
Ron
Come on Ron how can you say that about good old Quintrex. I just wont hear you talk about them like that. The thing I like about Telwater is their attention to detail. They ensure that just enough salt gets under the paint, to allow the paint to bubble within six months of purchase. Also their frugal use of weld, just enough to keep the metal intact and that’s all. You wouldn't want to make the boat too heavy by using too much weld. They also ensure there is just enough flex in the boat whilst on or off the trailer to make the windscreen craze or the welds split. But it crazes or cracks slowly so you don't notice until its out of warranty. If all that’s not worth an award then I don't know what is. The thing that telwater really excels at is conning idiots like me into buying their product.
I just can't understand why Quintrex is not in the poll. :P
megafish71
02-09-2007, 07:12 PM
Come on Ron how can you say that about good old Quintrex. I just wont hear you talk about them like that. The thing I like about Telwater is their attention to detail. They ensure that just enough salt gets under the paint, to allow the paint to bubble within six months of purchase. Also their frugal use of weld, just enough to keep the metal intact and that’s all. You wouldn't want to make the boat too heavy by using too much weld. They also ensure there is just enough flex in the boat whilst on or off the trailer to make the windscreen craze or the welds split. But it crazes or cracks slowly so you don't notice until its out of warranty. If all that’s not worth an award then I don't know what is. The thing that telwater really excels at is conning idiots like me into buying their product.
Bloody funny bugger. Love it, keep up the good work
Ron
05-09-2007, 05:35 AM
When my boat comes in, it will be a 5 metre-ish Stabi or more likely one of the Aussie variants, Typhoon, Scorpion, Aztec, Snypercraft. Like the Ocean Cylinder as well, but too xxxxy new.
Love the safety aspect of these hulls, excellent build quality as well. I like a bit of spearfishing, which the stability of these hulls caters for very well.
Just a few more years to go..................
Cheers!
baitable
06-09-2007, 07:32 AM
try the boys atr stones cnr, take the new 620C barcrusher for a spin, you wont be dissapointed....
deadbeatloser
07-09-2007, 07:19 AM
Hey Pinhead, Have you had a look at Joshua Boats in Slacks Creek???????????
Might be worth you while.
www.joshuaboats.com.au (http://www.joshuaboats.com.au)
Cheers, Jeff
how can u compare any of those boats to the ??????? ;D ;D in a class of its own
;D STABI CRAFT;D
deadbeatloser
07-09-2007, 07:25 AM
When my boat comes in, it will be a 5 metre-ish Stabi or more likely one of the Aussie variants, Typhoon, Scorpion, Aztec, Snypercraft. Like the Ocean Cylinder as well, but too xxxxy new.
Love the safety aspect of these hulls, excellent build quality as well. I like a bit of spearfishing, which the stability of these hulls caters for very well.
Just a few more years to go..................
Cheers!
8-) ;D :P :-/ :( :) :-* :-[ ;) :o >:( ::) :-X :'( :D
got me quote from typhoon boats and it was 24000 just for bare hull, compared to stabi at 17000 bare hull, i would love to hav bought typhoon but 7000 difference in price was way to much 4 me, ocean cyl was 17500 for 4.5 tiller hull only. gold plated i think?????????????????????????????
8-) ;D :P :-/ :( :) :-* :-[ ;) :o >:( ::) :-X :'( :D
got me quote from typhoon boats and it was 24000 just for bare hull, compared to stabi at 17000 bare hull, i would love to hav bought typhoon but 7000 difference in price was way to much 4 me, ocean cyl was 17500 for 4.5 tiller hull only. gold plated i think?????????????????????????????
Agreed. I also considered Aussie variants but the price gap is too much, and Stabi's aren't cheap in their own right. I would have thought the NZ boat would be more expensive given that it needs to be shipped across the tasman. And its not like the stabis skimp in quality to get the price down. Perhaps they got the manufacturing process just right or just the amount of volume to get some economies of scale.
02-10-2007, 10:42 PM
Camo, it seems like you're not alone.
Wags
needaboat
03-10-2007, 05:04 PM
G'day Pinhead,
I have got a Barcrusher 560 which I think is a great boat (got to justify the 50k price tag somehow!).It will suit me very well for the next couple of years but as all boats do, it does have its negative points.Would I buy a Barcrusher as my next boat, no I wouldn't. The things I have found good about the BC are:
-Excellent build quality, ie good welds, good paintjob
-Good stability at rest (flooding centre keel, similar to Fisher boats)
-Runs very well on smallish motor - have 115 suzuki which powers it very well
-ease of use one up, or with my two young boys
-Very good value for money (plate vs plate, not plate vs pressed)
Things that aren't so good about them
-Requires trim tabs, I have just had a set fitted.
-cabin length, I sleep on my boat quite a bit on trips and the bunks aren't long enough. I have to place a box between the bunk and seat box and put an air bed over the top of it. This works very well but I would rather not have to set it up every night when camping.
-During manufacture you couldn't modify a lot of things. They had a standard list of extras and that was about it. They would add unusual modifications but it was at a prohibitive cost.
It all depends on what you want to use the boat for, I like both fishing and camping hence my next boat will have a decent lock up cabin with full length bunks. To be honest I will look very closely at Fisher boats in a couple of years. If I had the extra 20k last year I would have bought either a Fisher or Riptide in the slightly larger boat. Last of all, I really do enjoy my Barcrusher and believe they are definately up there with good plate boats.
Hope this helps
deadbeatloser
05-10-2007, 06:58 PM
G'day Pinhead,
I have got a Barcrusher 560 which I think is a great boat (got to justify the 50k price tag somehow!).It will suit me very well for the next couple of years but as all boats do, it does have its negative points.Would I buy a Barcrusher as my next boat, no I wouldn't. The things I have found good about the BC are:
-Excellent build quality, ie good welds, good paintjob
-Good stability at rest (flooding centre keel, similar to Fisher boats)
-Runs very well on smallish motor - have 115 suzuki which powers it very well
-ease of use one up, or with my two young boys
-Very good value for money (plate vs plate, not plate vs pressed)
Things that aren't so good about them
-Requires trim tabs, I have just had a set fitted.
-cabin length, I sleep on my boat quite a bit on trips and the bunks aren't long enough. I have to place a box between the bunk and seat box and put an air bed over the top of it. This works very well but I would rather not have to set it up every night when camping.
-During manufacture you couldn't modify a lot of things. They had a standard list of extras and that was about it. They would add unusual modifications but it was at a prohibitive cost.
It all depends on what you want to use the boat for, I like both fishing and camping hence my next boat will have a decent lock up cabin with full length bunks. To be honest I will look very closely at Fisher boats in a couple of years. If I had the extra 20k last year I would have bought either a Fisher or Riptide in the slightly larger boat. Last of all, I really do enjoy my Barcrusher and believe they are definately up there with good plate boats.
Hope this helps
m8 good honest summary of ur experience, thank you
Far side
06-10-2007, 11:34 AM
Having the same boat I agree with needaboat
I would like to try a glass boat in the next upgrade and cruise craft is on my list unless bar crusher can come up with a better fitout
I just cant knock the hull on the bc the ride and sea performance is great. with respect to the trim tabs the bc dont have strakes on the hull hence the roll on the plane I do like the sounder to work at 25 - 30 KNts and it does on the bc due to no bubbles under the hull at speed. I also found the dash size on the BC to be small and not good for accomodating sounders GPS etc. I needed to install a full set of clears and that does make a real difference with getting wet on a beamy windy sea. The trailer supplied with the boat is well setup and drive on off is a breeze it tows well as well.
With respect to modifying this hull design and structure thes boats are as close to a mass produced platey as you can get. all of the panels are plasmer and laser cut to the design and then welded into place. because a machine does the cutting the fitting of components is at high tolerance and welding is from plate to plate with no fill this just makes things strong and neat. Hence they dont like to change any structural design because it works.
I can appreciate this thinking because they can give a guarantee of structual quality across australia and their call backs for faults are non existant
All in all the pluses outweigh the minisus with this boat
Some good advise for people buying boats is to use key words on boat names in a google search and read on ther are plenty of people out there with problems on different brands of boats
bushbeachboy
13-10-2007, 06:21 PM
Have you thought about the 6m Polycraft or is it not suited to your needs? It's very stable and very tough.
BBB
PROBIE
10-11-2007, 01:20 PM
cheers mickey.
Hey Mickey
Do you have twins on that fisher (for the trip to the swains).
TED
pueter66
10-11-2007, 01:41 PM
Gday
I have been in a Tabs 18ft Boat and they seem to handle quite well and with the stablicraft I have just come back from New Zealand and every man and his dog has one over there.
Local fishermen over there reckon you will go mad with the waves slapping on the hull, though they all reckon the boat handles great.
I fish out of a Makocraft 610 plate and the ride is superb (better than my old 20ft fiberglass) I guess it all depends what you want to do with the boat.
They are also based down on the Queensland border. Cheers Pueter66
Mickey were are you based out of fishing the swains thats a hell of a trip.
I live in CQ myself
xrayxray http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?p=676479#post676479)
cheers mickey.
Mickey
25-04-2008, 08:32 PM
How did this post resurface when the last post was 10/11/07.
Pursuit 550 at the show seemed good value in the 5.5mt range. Don't know about ride.