View Full Version : My new Bluefin
ILikeBlu
22-08-2007, 11:42 AM
Gday all :)
First off I would like to say what a top site! I have gained a wealth of knowledge over the months reading on these forums, been great.
Well after months of looking at boats then reading about them, then looking at other boats. Then looking at used boats and new boats, all the while staying within a budget and traveling miles on end, I finally made up my mind. To the families relief ::) lol. She is a Bluefin 525 Bowrider with a 90hp Mercury 2 stroke on a Dunbier Loader trailer and I just luv her ;) she has 13 hours on her at the moment after 2 weeks.
This is my first boat in 20 years, I had two others when I was 20ish a old 16ft centre console glass over ply, it weighed a ton haha. I then saved a old barnacle encrusted Seafarer with a sandblast to the hull and a good 2pac paint job, both were pretty shabby to say the least. So to step into a new one is pretty reassuring safety wise. Went out to the Barwon Banks caught a mixed bag, saw a few whales was great. :)
Sorry if I am yabbering on, feel like Big Kev I'm excited. Also thought I would post her up seeing as there are heaps of Ausfishers on the Sunny Coast to give a wave to.
Tassie JR
22-08-2007, 06:37 PM
nice looking rig ya got there all you need to do now is catch some more fish.
cheers tassie JR
reidy_g
22-08-2007, 06:40 PM
I'm picking up exactly the same rig (hopefully) this week - and by the sounds of it did the same runaround beforehand. How's she gone so far?
ILikeBlu
22-08-2007, 07:07 PM
Im hearing you there Tassie JR :) Although I always knew the drought would break, as soon as I bought a boat :p lol Fingers crossed on some nice weather like the last month has been.
Sweet reidy_g good to hear, I was counting down the sleeps in the end lol. Im very happy with her, plenty of room for me and the missus and teenage boys when they are keen. The finish of the bluefin is very good as well. I think you will be happy :)
I went with the 90hp 2stroke, for more money I could have got a etec or a 4stroke, but to be honest the last time I owned a outboard they were huge noisy smokey things but the new ones are gems to me.
Another bonus is she just fits in my garage, the rubbers on the rollerdoor just brushes the top of the windscreen.
bluefin59
23-08-2007, 04:33 PM
Congrats mate i'v had my fin for over 3 yrs now great boats for the money mate hope you enjoy it as much as i have mine i'v done just on 400hrs ,welcome to the club mate ...matt
snelly1971
23-08-2007, 05:12 PM
Gday all :)
First off I would like to say what a top site! I have gained a wealth of knowledge over the months reading on these forums, been great.
Well after months of looking at boats then reading about them, then looking at other boats. Then looking at used boats and new boats, all the while staying within a budget and traveling miles on end, I finally made up my mind. To the families relief ::) lol. She is a Bluefin 525 Bowrider with a 90hp Mercury 2 stroke on a Dunbier Loader trailer and I just luv her ;) she has 13 hours on her at the moment after 2 weeks.
This is my first boat in 20 years, I had two others when I was 20ish a old 16ft centre console glass over ply, it weighed a ton haha. I then saved a old barnacle encrusted Seafarer with a sandblast to the hull and a good 2pac paint job, both were pretty shabby to say the least. So to step into a new one is pretty reassuring safety wise. Went out to the Barwon Banks caught a mixed bag, saw a few whales was great. :)
Sorry if I am yabbering on, feel like Big Kev I'm excited. Also thought I would post her up seeing as there are heaps of Ausfishers on the Sunny Coast to give a wave to.
Your not Yabbering...you are just excited to have a new toy...Enjoy!!...Enjoy...
Cheers Mick
Hamish73
09-09-2007, 02:38 PM
Nice looking rig :)
What made you guys choose the BlueFin over the ather offerings?
reidy_g
09-09-2007, 04:16 PM
Nice looking rig :)
What made you guys choose the BlueFin over the ather offerings?
For me it was build quality, local reputation, positive level flotation, finished off nicely and 3mm side plate on the bowrider. Overall best boat for buck. Went Bluefin over Telwater 'cause I prefer 3mm side plate over 2mm pressed and IMO they're a little overpriced.
09-09-2007, 04:51 PM
That is one fine looking boat. Recently I was getting new rollers fitted to my Dunbier trailer and whilst I was there I took a look around and also fell in love with the Bluefin boats in the yard. All I can say is you are a lucky guy to own such a nice boat. Congratulations.
datamile
09-09-2007, 05:11 PM
I think those bluefin people are so lucky that they should rent them out for us poor people who are dreaming of one.
I'm still wondering how many hours a year I will do for my 29K
reidy_g
09-09-2007, 05:44 PM
I think those bluefin people are so lucky that they should rent them out for us poor people who are dreaming of one.
I'm still wondering how many hours a year I will do for my 29K
Talk to my bank.....they own a lot more of it than I do!!!!!;D ;D
loophole
09-09-2007, 06:18 PM
Ilikeblu and reidy _g i am another blue fin owner of the 525 bowrider (Well im not its dads:D but i am lucky enough to get to go out in it and use it lol;D ;D )
but he did well in chosing the bluefin bowrider shes a nice boat and rides well except shes powered by a 115hp mariner.
i have a pic but cant work out how to add it and i will take some more and post them on here A.S.A.P as we have aded some extra thingies onto her since he brought it
reidy_g
09-09-2007, 06:28 PM
Great Loophole. Thanks. Love to see some pics and hear about your add-ons when you get the chance.
loophole
11-09-2007, 07:25 PM
reidy_g i took a photo with the digi camera but it wont let me put it in post (maybe the filr is too big) any way i might try takeing a pic with me camera phone and try that
ILikeBlu
12-09-2007, 02:43 PM
Thanks Guys :DGood to hear there are a few Blueys getting around :)
Hamish73, I am with reidy_g, the finish and build were what got me then the price blew the others out of contention.
loophole try this site to upload and resize your pics for forums http://photobucket.com/
And here for helping you post your pics :)
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=103565
reidy_g have you picked yours up yet m8? And have been out in her m8, keen to know what you think.
datamile
12-09-2007, 05:42 PM
Mr tinnes said today that their boat show price had finished its now back up to around 32K ;( , and they said that I couldn't have a try out without signing a purchase order with a boat trial clause.
Anyone fancy taking the wife and kids around the bay for 10 mins just to see if the bowrider is the boat that they really want me to have.
reidy_g
13-09-2007, 01:56 PM
reidy_g have you picked yours up yet m8? And have been out in her m8, keen to know what you think.
...ILikeBlu ...PM on its way.
Mr tinnes said today that their boat show price had finished its now back up to around 32K ;( , and they said that I couldn't have a try out without signing a purchase order with a boat trial clause.
Anyone fancy taking the wife and kids around the bay for 10 mins just to see if the bowrider is the boat that they really want me to have.
...datamile...PM on its way.
secret relations
13-09-2007, 02:02 PM
congrats on the new boat mate.
i have a quick question for you. I have a dunbier loader trailor and for some reason the boat won't pull up straight. It literally pulls hard to the right as you are looking down the ramp. I have also found that i have to almost submerge the rear axel to get the boat to sit above the bottom skids pads.
before i take the long journey down to brisbane to get dunbier to look at it, is there something i am missing when i am pulling it up. It is also very hard to wind up, and when it comes up the boat sits about 6 inches too far to the left.
ILikeBlu
13-09-2007, 03:39 PM
Secret Relations : I found out the hard way myself that if your trailer is to far in the water the boat goes on crooked and can get caught between the centre slides and the rollers.
What seems to work for me, is to just get the bends of the main slides just above the water (not half in). The V frame with the roller in the middle sort of lifts the boat and does the guiding as you wind, the only trouble I have had was because I put the trailer in to deep. My winch is a 5to1 and it seems to winch up pretty good, if it becomes to hard the centre of the boat is catching between the rollers somewhere. Try doing it with the trailer further up it should go on straight and alot easier.
AnthonyL
14-09-2007, 06:26 PM
We have a bluefin bowrider too, bought from Mr T's and we are very happy with it.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v306/clean1/boat2.jpg
topend
14-09-2007, 08:20 PM
Looking to buy one myself - barracuda, just deciding on motor sounds as though you are more than happy with them, I'm sure I've made the right choice. Tight lines.
ILikeBlu
15-09-2007, 05:41 PM
AnthonyL nice rig m8, I like that Bimini and baitboard as well :)
Nice Topend :)
I saw a maroon one on the water a few weeks ago, looked pretty flash to :)