View Full Version : Finally my new Boat

snelly1971
13-08-2007, 10:58 PM
Just finally paid for my new addition..28 foot Hobson Tri...Hull..Beam 9 foot ...Twin 115 Yammie 4 strokes...Added goodies to be fitted are Furuno 10 inch Sounder with 2 KW Trannie...10 inch Garmin Chart Plotter...Diesel Genset with Hydrolic Pot Hauler...and many other nick Nacks....

snelly1971
13-08-2007, 11:00 PM
and More Pictures

snelly1971
13-08-2007, 11:02 PM
More pictures

snelly1971
13-08-2007, 11:05 PM
;d;d;d;d;d;d;d;d;d;d

13-08-2007, 11:17 PM
I think she will handle any thing the west coast can throw at it Mick, I think you will head for home well before the boat ever needs to.
HAS IT GOT A BLOODY HEATER MICK

snelly1971
13-08-2007, 11:20 PM
Heater...well i am probably going a bit overboard but i am thinking of fitting a little reverse cycle heat pump/ air con on to it....what do you reckon...

Grand_Marlin
14-08-2007, 06:52 AM
Nice setup Mick, it will be very comfortable and plenty of room to fish.

The Hobsons aren't a real pretty boat, but they are well renowned for their sea handling capabilities.

14-08-2007, 07:33 AM
Good on you Mick, thats the one you were talking about a while ago I guess? I had a quick squiz after you mentioned it.

Looks the goods and the reverse cycle AC cooler / heater off the genset would be a cheap, safe way to go with the price drop on those things at the moment.

maztez
14-08-2007, 07:47 AM
Hey Mick congratulations... wot a nice looking outfit ...im jealous
cheers Terry

14-08-2007, 08:16 AM
I'm thinking 8kw minimun Mick

wheelerdog
14-08-2007, 01:04 PM
what a weapon

snelly1971
14-08-2007, 01:39 PM
Hope to be heading down Monday to Hobart to start getting her fitted up and arrange some transport to get her home...

14-08-2007, 04:03 PM
Nice rig Mick....built for safety and comfort eh? Plenty of room and even trailerable at 28ft is a bonus. Hope she serves you well done there....brrrrrrrrrrrrr

Cheers and congratulations

snelly1971
14-08-2007, 04:11 PM
[quote=Big_Ren;667735]Nice rig Mick....built for safety and comfort eh? Plenty of room and even trailerable at 28ft is a bonus. Hope she serves you well done there....brrrrrrrrrrrrr

Cheers and congratulations
Paul[/quote

Thanks ...Well as for being trailerable..ha ha....it maybe ..but on our winding roads down here she wont be going too far once i get her home...

14-08-2007, 04:34 PM
which way will you bring home via Mick, up the lyle or up the guts. I reckon it would be a better tow through the midlands, be longer though.

snelly1971
14-08-2007, 05:01 PM
which way will you bring home via Mick, up the lyle or up the guts. I reckon it would be a better tow through the midlands, be longer though.

Was going to drive her home by water Blaze..but the fella doing a couple of little Glass jobs for me has a mate who owns a tow truck business so i am thinking of using his tilt tray tuck and hire him to bring the boat home via the Lyell ..

Cheers Mick

DALEPRICE
14-08-2007, 05:13 PM
gday mick,
congrats on the purchase, she looks like a goa.
what sort of work will you be doing out of her ??
cheers dale

be great to hear how she preforms in the sea.

snelly1971
14-08-2007, 05:21 PM
Work...haha...Pleasure....just want to be able to jump in her and go down the coast for a week at a time and be self suffient...I will pick up a little 10 to 12 foot RIB and use that to go ashore crayfishing ect...gee it is going to be nice when the temp is between 0 and 10 deg to be able to shut the door and fire up the heat pump....

Cheers Mick

Mr__Bean
15-08-2007, 12:22 AM
Snelly,

Tough looking boat, it looks like she will get you home through the worst of it.

Been thinking of your heating needs and I am not sure 240 volt would be they best way to go (assuming this is what you were intending).

Whilst fuel heaters are relatively safe when installed correctly, they do pose a significant risk in small enclosures due to oxygen starvation, so they are out.

But I wonder what may be available in a lower voltage heat pump?

Maybe something available from the caravan industry or from trucking (24 volt)?

If not, I would still be more comfortable with a yanky unit on 110 volt rather than 240 volt when on the water I think.

Anyway, just food for thought I guess.

- Darren

snelly1971
15-08-2007, 12:37 AM
Snelly,

Tough looking boat, it looks like she will get you home through the worst of it.

Been thinking of your heating needs and I am not sure 240 volt would be they best way to go (assuming this is what you were intending).

Whilst fuel heaters are relatively safe when installed correctly, they do pose a significant risk in small enclosures due to oxygen starvation, so they are out.

But I wonder what may be available in a lower voltage heat pump?

Maybe something available from the caravan industry or from trucking (24 volt)?

If not, I would still be more comfortable with a yanky unit on 110 volt rather than 240 volt when on the water I think.

Anyway, just food for thought I guess.

- Darren

Hi Darren..the unit i am looking at it 2.5 KW ...all fishing / trawlers are now being fitted with them so them must be ok...as long as they are wired properly then there should be no safety issues..

Cheers Mick

Deiter
15-08-2007, 01:13 AM
Mick, nice looking rig mate.

With regards to your heater, it would not be difficult to get a 240v unit and mount an inverter inside or as close to the unit as possible, with all 240v gear out of harms reach. For an extra safety precaution, connect the earth wire from the unit to the neutral side of the 240v and you will have earthing protection aswell. Just make sure that there is a c/breaker in line with the active, or even better, an ELCB (earth leakage circuit breaker) such as used in all new houses now.

Damo

snelly1971
15-08-2007, 01:51 AM
Thats what i have been told to do thanks Damo....I am looking at either a 5 -6 kva deisel watercooled generator so i can mount it in one of the huge hatches underfloor...

cheers Mick

Deiter
15-08-2007, 02:38 AM
Jeez Mick!!!! A 5-6 kva is a fair whack of a beast! what are you planning to run off it? 5kva is 20 amps @240v, and 100amps @12v. Here's an idea, forget the reverse cycle air-con, you could install a heated spa!!!!

Damo

snelly1971
15-08-2007, 03:18 AM
I want to run my search/work lights as well as my hydrolics for the pot hauler

Grand_Marlin
15-08-2007, 07:26 AM
You will need 5kva to run the sounder ;D ;D ;D

Don't worry Mick, I won't tell ;D :-X

snelly1971
15-08-2007, 10:00 AM
Haha Pete...my eyes must be going on me eh....Brock was right about you..LOL....

snelly1971
17-08-2007, 05:24 PM
Finally pick the boat up Monday....I have hired a tilt tray truck to transport it home the 300km to Strahan....Towing it home was just not an option...the bloody roads here are so bad and we have some really nasty mountain ranges here to get over...let alone dealing with snow and black ice...

So i should be able to post some pics of our first fishing trip very shortly....YEah......

hungry6
17-08-2007, 05:57 PM
So, is that boat going to be a crayfish boat? if it is i just found a new best friend, sorry Pete.

snelly1971
17-08-2007, 06:28 PM
So, is that boat going to be a crayfish boat? if it is i just found a new best friend, sorry Pete.

Yes...it will be doing alot of that...you are always welcome to come down to the sunny part of Aus and come for a trip..

seabug
17-08-2007, 07:31 PM
Hi Mick,
Congratulations.
I love the idea of the lock-up cabin.
You will be able to take the family fishing in comfort.8-) 8-) 8-)

It will also be a wonderful boat for visiting SPOT X;D ;D ;D

seabug

17-08-2007, 07:41 PM
snelly,

What an awesome fishing boat.
Are you married,though?
With a boat like that I would probably spend more time on the water than land!
Divorce would be inevitablehttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif!

17-08-2007, 07:55 PM
Obviously Snelly is a single man.:P Mate that is one serious rig and I know you are going to have a ball sailing in her. Those twin Yammy 115's I know will serve you well too as they are the same motors that my uncle (Frank OO) has on his Cruisecraft 685 outsider and they really perform well. You won't need me to tell you to enjoy that's for sure. You're a lucky bugger! ;D

seabug
17-08-2007, 08:08 PM
Obviously Snelly is a single man.:P Mate that is one serious rig and I know you are going to have a ball sailing in her. Those twin Yammy 115's I know will serve you well too as they are the same motors that my uncle (Frank OO) has on his Cruisecraft 685 outsider and they really perform well. You won't need me to tell you to enjoy that's for sure. You're a lucky bugger! ;D

Snelly is very much a happy family man

As for being a lucky bugger,if that means working hard and having a go at any job then you are correct.

seabug

snelly1971
17-08-2007, 08:18 PM

Happy Family man;D;D

My painting business has gone really really well the last few years and at the moment there is a mining boom happening down here so work is plentiful...

As for the Motors ..they have 130 hrs on each...so that should give me 10 years fishing..

Cheers Mick

Wahoo
18-08-2007, 06:13 AM
congrats on your new boat Mick, looks great and heaps of room

snelly1971
18-08-2007, 11:44 AM
congrats on your new boat Mick, looks great and heaps of room

Thanks Daz;D There is certainly plenty of deck room...13 foot by eight foot:o:o

snelly1971
20-08-2007, 01:44 AM
Well off to get the boat:P:P:P:P

Just hope we can get it home the 300+ kms without any dramas:-/:-/

Fingers CROSSED::)::)::)::)::)

Col_s
20-08-2007, 08:17 AM
Hey Mick.......Hope it's all good for you.

When I get down that way one day I'll chase you up for a trip.

Are you fitting a 10inch navnet??

Cheers Col

snelly1971
22-08-2007, 06:10 PM
Hey Mick.......Hope it's all good for you.

When I get down that way one day I'll chase you up for a trip.

Are you fitting a 10inch navnet??

Cheers Col

Hi Col...no problem ...give me a buzz and we will have a day out..not fitting it with Navnet..Garmin 3210..10.4 inch plotter and Furuno Fcv 292..10 inch sounder..

Cheers Mick

PS..the boat is finally home today...loaded onto the back of a Semi...

22-08-2007, 07:26 PM
Mick,

When should I be round??????

snelly1971
22-08-2007, 10:10 PM
Mick,

When should I be round??????

Hi Brett...got a few little jobs to do on the boat and pretty flat out at the moment with work..but we will organise a trip soon

snelly1971
22-08-2007, 10:57 PM
Hi Col...no problem ...give me a buzz and we will have a day out..not fitting it with Navnet..Garmin 3210..10.4 inch plotter and Furuno Fcv 292..10 inch sounder..

Cheers Mick

PS..the boat is finally home today...loaded onto the back of a Semi...

PS..Col..we dont want you down here if you are going to try and steal our ideas...

LOL...

Cheers Mick

23-08-2007, 10:00 AM
Mate there seems to be a mark or something wrong on the superstructure Port side.

Best you bring it to my place where I can inspect it and give it soem REAL sea trials for say....ooohhhhh..... 3 or 4 years.....:):):)

Col_s
23-08-2007, 10:21 AM
PS..Col..we dont want you down here if you are going to try and steal our ideas...

LOL...

Cheers Mick

Mick.......don't want your ideas........... just your crayfish;D ;D

snelly1971
23-08-2007, 04:45 PM
Mate there seems to be a mark or something wrong on the superstructure Port side.

Best you bring it to my place where I can inspect it and give it soem REAL sea trials for say....ooohhhhh..... 3 or 4 years.....:):):)

Cheers Mike...I have got Blaze lined up to come and do a bit of a tidy up...But if you want to tow here the couple of thousand KM up there and sea trial her your quite welcome to:o:o

PS....There are no trailer brakes....:o:o

snelly1971
23-08-2007, 04:46 PM
Mick.......don't want your ideas........... just your crayfish;D ;D

Give us a bit of notice Col and we will have enough crays here for you to eat until you say no more.....;);)

catfish55
23-08-2007, 05:08 PM
Ok I'm Jellious!!!!!

snelly1971
23-08-2007, 06:25 PM
Here is an example Col...

ILikeBlu
23-08-2007, 09:29 PM
Beast of a boat m8 bloody nice rig :) My mouths watering over those crays, nearly move to Tassie for that sort of fishing. Your a lucky man :)

Cheers Jason

snelly1971
23-08-2007, 09:35 PM
Dont go much on the crays myself anymore..born and bred on them...so they are a bit out of flavour at the moment....but a juice blue eye or stripey trumpeter...ha mmmmmm..

Cheers Mick

Col_s
24-08-2007, 12:05 PM
Mick...we might have to bring a few of these down for you and do some trading ;D

24-08-2007, 12:17 PM
Hi Col
I reckon the humble cray is a lot sweeter than the muddie but I dont say no to either of them.

Col_s
24-08-2007, 12:38 PM
You guys have got me going......what's the best month down that way??

Cheers Col

snelly1971
24-08-2007, 01:02 PM
Season opens early Nov...best time are Nov to March...personally I think best times are Jan Feb...

Cheers Mick

snelly1971
24-08-2007, 01:08 PM
These are better eating than crays Col...and more fun to catch

Col_s
24-08-2007, 01:17 PM
Geeze Mick ..........hope it chews better then it looks :o :o

snelly1971
24-08-2007, 03:28 PM
Best eating fish in the sea...and they hit a hook like a frieght train...fun to catch..

snelly1971
25-08-2007, 04:28 PM
Took the boat out for a quick run today...2 meter swell with 10 -15 knots..we cruised out doing 20 knots burning 40 liters an hour...the boat impressed everyone and the stability is just amazing...she will pull a hard turn under power and not lay over at all...

Top speed was approx 33 knots...and slow cruise of 13 knots...I must admit the boat rode and handeled better than i and the other crew had expected...

Hope to have a trip out fishing in the next few weeks and post some pics..

Cheers Mick

25-08-2007, 04:44 PM
I reckon she would do the 13knts planing on 1 motor Mick, Henry use to test his boats with a 25hp and I am led to believe all his boats would plane with that hp.
ps
wonder where the moulds got to for the tri, I know the big cat moulds are in smithton, 25 foot mono mould is in wynyard.

snelly1971
25-08-2007, 08:48 PM
Cheers Blaze...as i said the expectations i had were just blown away by the boats performance....Steve who deckhanded for ab divers all his life said that its the best riding boat he has ever been in...I will reserve my decision until i have put her thru a real gnarly day....

Would be interested to find out where the moulds are..???

snelly1971
29-11-2007, 07:34 PM
Just a bit of an update...I have started to fit out my new boat over the past 2 weeks...
1.Installed a Garmin 3210 Plotter
2.Aluminium Deck hatches
3.New Powder coated Back door
4.Deck Wash and live bait tank.

My Pot hauler/longline hauler should be finished and mounted by middle next week.....I have just a little bit of glass work to do to the kill tank , and am currently getting a 600 liter stainless fuel tank being made.

Some of the next projexts will be ....Installing a FCV 1100 Furuno Sounder with a thru hull 2kw Transducer...Carpet the back deck and wheelhouse roof...Line and insulate all walls in Cabin with Celery Pine Ply...New Kitchen and mount a 12 foot zodiac on the roof....That should just about break the budget for the next 6 months...

We have had several trips out....and I am very very happy with how the boat handles...It is very predictable and she will cruise through anything you throw at her at around the 20 knot mark...approx fuel usage is 40 -45 liters an hour at this pace ...The boat can be pulled back through the revs to a slow...yes Planing speed of just 8.5 knots...

Cheers Mick

Ps....I would like to thank GM for his advice with the Glassing side of things...

snelly1971
29-11-2007, 07:39 PM
A few Pictures

upstart
29-11-2007, 10:19 PM
Hi Snelly, make sure you post some pics of the boat working Hell's Gates on a bad day!!
I was in Strahan on hols about this time last year...loved the place.