PDA

View Full Version : Trolling in a Cat - One Motor or Two?

Finnatical
13-08-2007, 01:29 PM
I am fairly new to owning a cat having recently purchased a Kelvalcat 2400 with Suzuki four strokes. I am very impressed with the ride and still have that gut feeling of the thump on the next wave that never seems to come....

With the upcoming pelagic and game fishing season I am curious to know how many of the other cat owners troll on one motor or both. I have done some experimenting of my own and while the boat will troll fairly well on one motor, it is obviously more happy running on both (I have however accepted that nothing will get rid of the tunnel slap while trolling).

There are definately pros and cons to both ways and most people I have spoken to so far suggest trolling on both, however fuel usage and engine hours are the negative two points that come to mind straight away.

Any opinions and experiences on how best to get the most out of the boat during long hours of trolling over the summer would be greatly appreicated.
Jason

Kerry
13-08-2007, 02:03 PM
In the water if one motor ain't going then it's broke!

For mine if one is running both are running, no exceptions, no point in dragging a perfectly good engine around the ocean with the chance of shoving water up the wrong way. Running one v two and to achieve similar speeds there realy is not a great difference in fuel burn. Will certainly be a little more with 2 but certainly not half just 'cause one engine is shutdown.

Similar with a Cat coming off a trailer, both engines should be running otherwise you could get water up the rear end.

finding_time
13-08-2007, 04:13 PM
From a mechanical point of view Kerry has pointed out a few problems with using only 1 motor, but the fishing side is a little more complicated.