View Full Version : Boat license

B_E_N
03-08-2007, 10:51 AM
hi,

huge favour to ask anyone with the knowledge. looking to get my boat license (finally) and wondering if anyone knows anyone good to get in contact with, maybe ausfish members that do licenseing? any info would be great. im on the northside but could make the trip to southside or further possibly.
thanks ben

Tailortaker
03-08-2007, 10:54 AM
G'day Ben, Try Archies, they do the one day courses from Bribie and scarbrough.Search them on the web. They are good..
Grant
________
Porn On (http://www.####tube.com/)

TheSaint
03-08-2007, 11:22 AM
I used ABC boating & they provided a great service..

Fish Guts
03-08-2007, 11:24 AM
i have seen gelsec another ausfish member's boat that does licensing. you should get in contact with him.

B_E_N
03-08-2007, 11:33 AM
thanks guys, i know archies at redcliffe does them, a guy used to do them down the rod from where i live at the yatch club at shorncliffe but hes left, i would of got it for free aswell coz my old man knows him but i was lazy and its gonna cost me lol

Ausfish
03-08-2007, 12:19 PM
Have a chat to gelsec, he is a fellow member. He did register for the Trades & Services Directory but I don't think he has set up his ad yet.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/directories/

B_E_N
03-08-2007, 12:25 PM
thanks guys, already have pm'd him

03-08-2007, 12:54 PM
don't you guys just go to the QLD equivalent of our maritime?

Tailortaker
03-08-2007, 12:58 PM
don't you guys just go to the QLD equivalent of our maritime?
In QLD you can do a day course through an independent boat licence trainer, they give you a certificate which you take to the transport department and get your boat licence on your car licence..
________
WORLD RALLY TEAM (http://www.suzuki-tech.com/wiki/Suzuki_World_Rally_Team)

elliven
03-08-2007, 01:32 PM
Most volunteer marine rescue groups hold liscense test days throughout the year.

seatime
03-08-2007, 02:02 PM
Most volunteer marine rescue groups hold liscense test days throughout the year.

To obtain a Queensland Recreational Marine Driver Licence (RMDL), an applicant must "demonstrate you are competent to navigate and manage a recreational boat by successfully completing an approved BoatSafe licence training course".

Only "BoatSafe Training Organisations" with "BoatSafe Training Providers" using approved training vessels can conduct boat licence training courses. Volunteer rescue groups and TAFE colleges in Qld are not BTO's and are unable to hold licence test days.

A "BoatSafe licence training course" is a "competency based" course.

here's some more info;http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Home/Licensing/Recreational

Steve.

elliven
03-08-2007, 02:51 PM
Sorry mate ,i guess differrent states have their differrent laws just like in tassie they have to wear their pfd all the time i think ,you think there would be the same rules across the board,sorry for the wrong info.

seatime
03-08-2007, 03:37 PM
elliven, wouldn't it be so much easier if there was some uniformity with rec boat licences, also fish slot size/ bag limits, safety gear, etc. Moving interstate can cause unwanted hassles. Boaties and anglers really need to be well read these days to avoid infringing.