View Full Version : My Project

Lewy
29-07-2007, 07:19 PM
Thought I might share my weekend obsession. Its 4.3m long 1.9m wide and built from Paulownia Timber ( lite weight timber native of China but grown here) and Fibreglass. When I took it off the mould it weighed in at 51kg. I hope to have the bare hull come in at around 100kgs.
Alraedy have a 30hp 4 stroke Yammy to bolt on the back. Started it about Feb this year hope to be complete for the summer.
The hull is 8mm thick with 2 layers of 285gsm glass on the outside with one layer inside with frames below the floor glassed in with 600gsm tape @ 300mm centres
The entire under floor is to be air tight.

Lewy

29-07-2007, 07:26 PM
Now that's just impressive!!
Any pictures of the interior??
What a beauty :)

29-07-2007, 07:58 PM
Now that is ARTWORK!! Nothing like seeing true craftsmanship.

GAD
29-07-2007, 10:33 PM
Impressive , and can we see more

minno
29-07-2007, 11:53 PM
Nice job. Let us know how its going in time to come.

minno

griz066
30-07-2007, 02:10 PM
Holy crap that is just awesome
What i would give for skills like that

Lewy
17-01-2008, 08:50 PM
Its taken almost a year but its almost there.

Lewy

Hamish73
17-01-2008, 08:58 PM
looks great! have you weighed it in its current form?

wiz
17-01-2008, 09:39 PM
Great stuff Lewy

Looks like you've got all the tools, and by the looks of your boat you certainly know how to use them.

Great job

frank100
17-01-2008, 11:24 PM
Very impressive, great job. Interested in a report on your first "sea trial"

Frank

rainbow runner
17-01-2008, 11:55 PM
Looks great, keep us up to date!!

CharlieH
17-01-2008, 11:57 PM
Very nice indeed!

18-01-2008, 12:04 AM
What a beauty! :)

Very well done! Congratulations - you bring joy to a lot of people by building something like that. :)

18-01-2008, 06:38 AM
For once in my life I'm completely lost for words other then hooly dooly and I'm so jealous of your skills.
Well done matey.

Gees my 1961 43.7hp Royal Scott would look good on the back :D

18-01-2008, 07:46 AM
Thanks for sharing, really well done.

You obviously enjoy what you are doing.

Do you have a name as yet?

If not what about a Poll with the winner and me to have a run in the completed vessel, perhaps at the naming cermony::)

PS Looove the workshop;D

AussieBrad
18-01-2008, 09:31 AM
Its taken almost a year but its almost there.

Lewy

Looks great mate, looks like its sitting in bunnings in those latter photos :)

Lewy
02-03-2008, 08:23 PM
Hi,
Its finished at last and in the water, having a couple of trim problems, it was porpoising at around 3500 - 4000 revs ( about 25 kmph off the GPS) Fitted smart tabs and hav gained about 8-10 KMPH at just over 4500 revs, tried a SE Sport Hydro foil which slowed it down a bit and did not improve the porpoising. Only have 11 degrees angle on the transom so I'm going fit wedges to the outboard to increase the angle. Apart from that its turning a view heads.

Lewy

Hamish73
02-03-2008, 08:36 PM
Awesome looking boat , well done :thumbup:

Breambuster33
02-03-2008, 09:01 PM
ripper job mate you should be proud

TonyM
02-03-2008, 09:48 PM
That's incredible Lewy - congratulations on your work of art!

She looks a million bucks!

02-03-2008, 09:54 PM
She looks beautiful mate.
As Tony said above..a work of art.

02-03-2008, 10:08 PM
Only one other boat in my life has ever had true spirit in its creation....Henry Fonda's boat in "On Golden Pond". Something about the passion and soul in thier creation. Masterpiece Lewy.

02-03-2008, 10:09 PM
I have finaly found a boat that I would never drive in unknown territory for fear of finding that unknown sandbank. WOW top effort.

Cheers Chris

pursuit001
03-03-2008, 05:51 PM
thats a smart looking boat. looks the goods mate how many hours have you put into it so far getting it to where it is?
cheers shane

backlash08
03-03-2008, 06:09 PM
great creation - well done

03-03-2008, 06:19 PM

Simply gorgeous, very admirable

Reel Magic
03-03-2008, 06:39 PM
Gday,

Top effort mate, outstanding class and skill....

Ryan.

03-03-2008, 07:10 PM
Absolutely stunning craftmanship. Kudos to you my friend.

What sort of background do you have with building such a fine boat?

Lewy
03-03-2008, 07:20 PM
Absolutely stunning craftmanship. Kudos to you my friend.

What sort of background do you have with building such a fine boat?

I'm a joiner by trade but drive a computer nowdays - the boat was therapy, and to show the guys on the floor that I've still got it.

Lewy

03-03-2008, 07:34 PM
Yep you still got it, in spades mate. congrats again.

Dan5
03-03-2008, 07:36 PM
Only one other boat in my life has ever had true spirit in its creation....Henry Fonda's boat in "On Golden Pond". Something about the passion and soul in thier creation. Masterpiece Lewy.

That boat also spang to mind when i saw Lewy's masterpiece,the one in the movie was called "SUCK MY WAKE" i hav'nt seen that movie for proberbly 15 or more year's.

Good onya Lewy she truely is a masterpiece,
Dan....

griz066
03-03-2008, 09:35 PM
That is absolutly B E A utifull well done you've still got it alright

Fatenhappy
05-03-2008, 05:40 PM
Sweet ... like your work !!!