View Full Version : poly or ally ???????
Thirsty work 2
22-07-2007, 06:03 PM
hey guys lookin at gettin a boat . tossin up between 4.1 poly or somethin along the lines of a quintrex 385 explorer trophy. any advice would be greatly appreciated. cheers.
Kleyny
22-07-2007, 07:08 PM
Depends on what you want ot use it for i guess.
I got a alloy, because it suited me better larger boat for the weight and therfore the motor can be a smaller one. and my towing weight is also less for the size of the vehicles i have at present.
One plus i have seen on the water for the polly is the ride seems to be better.
These are just my opinions
neil
bushbeachboy
23-07-2007, 04:54 AM
G'day Thirsty,
I've got a 4.1 Polycraft in the tiller steer configuration, powered by a 40hp 3 cyl Yammie with power trim/tilt, electric start, oil injection. I just love it. The ride is brilliant, better than any of the vee hull tinnies I've owned, and the poly is a punt. It's also very stable to fish from, like standing on a pontoon. It's very quiet on the water ie you don't get that noisy wave-against-tin sound that you get in tinnies. It's very tough. You can hit things (which I seem to do a bit:-[ ) and it just doesn't dent like a tinnie. I live in NQ (for the moment) and I tend to fish right up in the mangroves at times, which means frequent collisions with things. The poly is right at home there (as would be an ally boat), but I never worry about scratching it or denting it. In a painted tinny, particularly a nice one like an Explorer Trophy, I'd be constantly annoyed about any paint damage.
And if you drop a hook or sinker in the bottom of the poly, you just don't stress about it because there is no corrosion to worry about.
I like the fact that it came 'set up' so to speak with inbuilt anchor well, storage, casting platforms, bow and side rails etc.
I bought mine second hand from a fellow Ausfisher. It came with a 30hp 2 stroke motor, which was adequate but worked hard to keep the boat up and running nicely. I upgraded to the Yammie because it had a couple of features I liked namely power trim and oil injection. I wanted the Yammie because the power trim button is situated right on the front end of the tiller arm, just about where your thumb rests, so you can do your trimming on the fly, using one hand. Some other brands have the trim button on the tiller, but require the use of your non-tiller hand to work the trim. The oil injection is just heaps more economical on oil consumption.
The boat is a bit bum-heavy, so I fitted a Permatrim to the motor and it is just brilliant now! It is also very economical to run, and the 40hp motor just does it easily. If you want more info on poly boats, have a look at www.polyboatowners.com (http://www.polyboatowners.com) The members there are friendly and willing to answer any of your questions. Quite a few of them are members here as well, and there is no 'competition' between the sites, so you will feel right at home.
Whatever your decision, good luck and tight lines!!!!!!8-)
Now... about competition, maybe we could organise an Ausfish vs PBO fishing comp.....;D
shabss
23-07-2007, 05:37 AM
this is meant to be the saltwater reports section
Synful
23-07-2007, 05:46 AM
Hi Thirsty,
I'm looking at getting a Poly for Xmas this year and with all the pros and cons weighed up against the tinnies, the poly just seems to be lower maintenance at the end of the day.
Good luck either way!:)
alleycat
23-07-2007, 07:05 AM
Before you buy a poly check out the seajay 4.1 sports for bay waters or 4.1 seajay nomad for estuary work, very well made boats.
bushbeachboy
23-07-2007, 02:14 PM
G'day Chubby,
The mods will move it in due course mate.8-)
Fisher4life
23-07-2007, 03:11 PM
i was recently in this predicament also, and ended up opting for a 4.2 top ender (quintrex with the flared bow) and i don't regret it for a second. the ride is great, not as quiet as the poly as there is no flex. but the layout of the boat is the biggest thing. by having a tinnie, you have more room in the boat, and they are easier to modify into the boat that you want rather then what gets dropped out of the mould.
shandos
23-07-2007, 03:16 PM
I went the Poly with a 40hp E-Tec -- tiller steer -- no regrets -- It absolutely flys with E-tec on the back.
Shandos
Wahoo
23-07-2007, 03:25 PM
this is meant to be the saltwater reports section
this is the boating chat so its in the right place, i'd go alloy, mods on a boat is the biggest issue, easier done on an alloy than a plastic,they are a little quiter than a pressed alloy boat but IMHO the plastic boat still gives the kiddney a slap about, for the same size boats the alloy boat has a hell of alot more room in it, for some reason the plastic need more HP to get them going means more fuel
Synful, a mate of mine has a plastic boat for sale, its only 1 month old with only 8hrs on it
Charlie
23-07-2007, 05:14 PM
Tough choice between these two boats, the poly is twice the boat weight wise so it may come down to the tow vehicle but the poly is a lot more seaworthy if you heading a kilometre of so offshore whist the quinny is lot easier to handle freshwater fishing without a real boat ramp. I’d have one of each if allowed their both fine craft.