View Full Version : Anyone want to try weaving this?

Owen
05-07-2007, 11:45 PM
G'day guys,

Work continues on my weave design software package.
I got it to a reasonably useable state and added such features as a proper setup/install programme and a help file. Writing software is fun (sort of).. writing help files is boring as bat sh*t :(

I had almost given up on this due to the almost non-existant feedback I got from all the people who downloaded it, but after some encouragement from a rodbuilder for whom I have the utmost respect that it was a worthwhile project I decided to continue developing it.

This is a design I'm working on.
I'd like to see how it turns out if an experienced hand does it. (as opposed to my amateurish efforts)

Any takers?
I'll send the weave grids and left list.
You pick the colours :)

170 turns x 138 thread high - 7 layers
Should turn out about 21mm high x 26mm long if all A thread or about 43mm long if you went for C on the wrap thread, so it'll have to be a largish blank to fit it on.

06-07-2007, 02:59 PM
Jesus that looks a tad complicated and time consuming, but then I said that about my very first fish weave and American flag.

Owen
06-07-2007, 04:57 PM
Yeah Noel I reckon I'll get a few more grey hairs out of this one.
Trouble is I can't see well enough at night to do this stuff, so it'll be a while before I have a crack at it.
Either that or I set up an array of lights behind me.

sid_fishes
06-07-2007, 05:35 PM
mate , what are you trying to do send us all blind ,,, give it to stuart he loves this stuff as for me i cut the lion off and i,m doing my snapper on my rod now cheers ian

06-07-2007, 05:37 PM
Mate, I'm just about done with all the 'odd jobs' I've had to do for the last 6 weeks.
Gees lucky I don't work...don't know how I would have fitted everything in.

About next Wednesday I intend on doing some more wood turning and try a weave.
I might as well jump in the deep end with this as well ya reckon??
I have to make my jig and stuff up but I reckon I can find a comb or two.

Or option 2 is I come up and install some really good lights for you. We could also go fishing and get some action shots as well. Nothing like realism in a weave ;D
Cheers Scott :)

Owen
06-07-2007, 06:24 PM
G'day Scott.
You're welcome any time.
The dam isn't firing real well at the moment though from all accounts.
I've made some changes to the head area from the one I sent you. More detail in this one.
If you want a lend of my Doc Ski weaving video let me know.

07-07-2007, 06:19 AM
Got that movie mate.
I just have to watch it. I reckon it'll be entertainment for the entire family one night :)
Or maybe just me one morning

Bearclaw
07-07-2007, 03:22 PM
Owen, I will give it a go. But haven't got a printer at the moment.
Have you asked Doc if he will try it.

Owen
07-07-2007, 04:50 PM
Myles,
I'll post the project files and send you the link.
That way you can change the colours to suit the threads you have.

Bearclaw
07-07-2007, 06:04 PM
Owen I will PM my address.

Owen
09-07-2007, 10:05 PM
Myles,
I stuck it in the post today.
They only use carrier pigeons up here, so you should have it by the weekend ;-)