View Full Version : Repower Is A Goer

russ81
25-06-2007, 03:57 PM
Hows it going guys
I just got the approval for the new motor so hopefully by the end of the week i will have a brand spanking new motor in the water.
I will keep all informed on how it goes.

Russ

Mercury16
25-06-2007, 04:25 PM
What brand will it be?

cheers Peter

juju
25-06-2007, 04:25 PM
You will just "have to" take her out for a run then to test it...;)

russ81
25-06-2007, 04:27 PM
I have gone with the 115hp e-tec
its a drop in hp from what i have now but worth it i think especially for the price i got it for

Russ

Mercury16
25-06-2007, 04:30 PM
Good choice mate, hope it all goes well for ya,

Wahoo
25-06-2007, 04:48 PM
Good on ya Russ, bet you cant wait eh, make sure you post pics

russ81
25-06-2007, 04:58 PM
I am hanging drop the boat off in the morning at capalaba when i pick it up its straight down to the bay for a test run
I will make sure to post reports and pics and let everyone know how it goes

I feel like a kid at Christmas at the moment

Russ

Tassie JR
25-06-2007, 05:01 PM
bet you will notice the difference in fuel costs from the 140 to the 115 etec, great motor choice russ.

cheers tassie JR

Boris Slaven
25-06-2007, 05:32 PM
Russ,

I'm in the market for a 115, can you tell me what it cost you can where you bought it.

Boris.

russ81
25-06-2007, 05:35 PM
Hows it going mate
I got it from leisure marine i am unsure as to what they cost normally but at the moment they have a special deal going where they are selling them at cost, plus they give you 500 bucks to spend on chandlery

Russ

25-06-2007, 05:49 PM
Hows it going mate
I got it from leisure marine i am unsure as to what they cost normally but at the moment they have a special deal going where they are selling them at cost, plus they give you 500 bucks to spend on chandlery

Russ

Why would they do that ? Do you know what their cost really is ;D;D;D

krazyfisher
25-06-2007, 05:55 PM
cost less $500 seem cheap

russ81
25-06-2007, 05:56 PM
Hows it going mate

Im unsure as to why they are doing the sale but i was shown the pricing schedule they use and they buy them in at around 12800 and then 1000 for prop cant remember exact figures but its somewhere in that vicinity

Russ

fish-freak
25-06-2007, 05:57 PM
So leisure marine lost $500 on your 'special deal'? yeah right!!!

krazyfisher
25-06-2007, 06:00 PM
either way its a good price for a good motor and at the end of the day you will be happy.
did you go that way for fuel savings or extra distance you will be able to get?

russ81
25-06-2007, 06:12 PM
Hows it going guys

KRAZYFISHER

Yeah i decided to go that way for both reasonsas my 120l tank with the140hp merc really restricted you.

FISH-FREAK
Maybe a call to another dealership will show how much they normally go for and whether or not this is a bargain.

Russ .

25-06-2007, 06:13 PM
Hey russ congrat's, just because they say you can run it flatout straight from the box you don't have to, for me anyway the smart money long term is to pretend you are running it in - at least some anyway.

Yeah that is the price the dealers get it for, then they get the discount for volume + other mark downs etc etc from the manufacturers that knocks another few thousand of their true per engine cost. It's the reason asking to see the invoice on any big purchase is a joke- cars, tractors, outboards.

Bet you are going to love it!!

russ81
25-06-2007, 06:18 PM
Hows it going FNQCairns
I have never had a new motor before this one when you say run it in what do you mean
Avoid hard / fast acceleration ,stay below a certain amount of revs???

Russ

rat_catcher
25-06-2007, 06:25 PM
Avoid hard / fast acceleration ,stay below a certain amount of revs???
Also don't sit at a constant rev setting for an extended period of time.

Deiter
25-06-2007, 08:53 PM
http://www.oceanskiffjournal.com/Sub...ral/ETEC1.aspx (http://www.oceanskiffjournal.com/SubscriberContent/Articles/Vol01Issue05/General/ETEC1.aspx)

this link was posted not long ago by Steven78 and appears to be a genuine neutral review of the Etecs and their associated PR. Also covers the claimed 'no run-in period'.
Have a read Russ, if you haven't already, very interesting.

Damo

timddo
25-06-2007, 09:14 PM
Oh by the way. in June's qld fishing monthly. logan river marine has the etec 115 for $13885 and $500 free fishing tackle.????? Seems like an etec sale or something.

hmmm. I don't think $13800 is what they buy it in.

But the main thing is you got a good motor.

Russ how much juice did the 140 drink per km

25-06-2007, 09:57 PM
Yeah Russ just be a bit gentle, don't flog it silly and early like some would and have done because the manufacturers 'market' it as already run in, the manufactures responsibility for paying for problems ceases at the end of the warranty, 2 years??- that's around the 15 -20% of total life, with luck 10% even.

Thats a lot of years with no manufacturer responsibility of any substance:(.

Warm it up well before you torque it in gear, short runs at wot, keep the most traveled higher speed stuff to 80% or below WOT rpm and ENSURE you are reaching the absolute top (or very very near) of the manufacturers rev range at wot or it's a total waste of time trying to run it in to foster for the future because unless it gets full rpm, any time you run it will be unkind.

So pretty much everything a person should do for their engines anyway regardless of hours.

The process and method they use for the cyl bore does do away with some of the run in but they still use gudgens/mains/bigends and the leg is still full of bearings All these bits are constructed no different to 30-40 years ago and strictly need a run in period to ease or bed them into service, not a huge lot has really changed but what has, is today superior.

Enjoy.