View Full Version : why paint a boat

Wahoo
22-06-2007, 10:52 PM
when you can have this done, stickers the length of your boat, hell of alot cheaper than painting

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/livid.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/blue-odyssea.jpg

22-06-2007, 10:53 PM
It would be great for plate and glass boats dunno how good it would look accross chines tho.

Cheers Chris

22-06-2007, 11:06 PM
Sure does look alright.
How long before they fade,though,I wonder?

Still waiting for a photo of your new rig,daz.

Wahoo
23-06-2007, 12:54 AM
Sure does look alright.
How long before they fade,though,I wonder?

Still waiting for a photo of your new rig,daz.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/100_2580.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/100_2546.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/100_2501.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/100_2485.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/100_2495.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/100_2483.jpg

23-06-2007, 06:05 AM
Always good to see a nice platey Daz...now that's a boat you'd be proud of...she'd be 6.5ish mts? lovely!

rhys

MR C OTTER
23-06-2007, 06:38 AM
In responce to paint or not there are many people who invest many bucks in a platey that want them looking good and easy to clean but must be painted by a ( boat painter) so that you dont have problems later on due to poor workmanship. Ive seen it so to many times a bad paint job that can cause u major greef and empty pockets.The advantage is that u have silaflex put in all areas( eg under gunnels inner joints roofs etc) which seals off salt water and can stop major corrosion.Your end product not only looks good but is mainly free of nastys attacking your investment. i must add that in the fitup it is a must be go to all measures that any stanless bolts ,screws, or hardware MUST BE ISOLATED with special nulon washes and duralack to stop corrosion. The only disadvantage is you have to clean it when u get home after a long seccion of fishing.See ya:D

23-06-2007, 07:26 AM
That's a nice looking boat you got there Daz.

Wags

23-06-2007, 07:53 AM
Hey Daz great pics esp the one on the water, must have been a good wave if you snuffed the nose and got green water over, glad I stayed home!

One Q is the angle of the chopping board an illusion?, if not what do you think of it built like that?

Wahoo
23-06-2007, 08:19 AM
yeh that pic looks funny, dont it........i also made a change where the seat goes, instead of the posts i have had a box made, and also more storage

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/100_2629.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/100_2628.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/100_2627.jpg

Wahoo
23-06-2007, 08:24 AM
Always good to see a nice platey Daz...now that's a boat you'd be proud of...she'd be 6.5ish mts? lovely!

rhys

Thanks mate, the boat handles the sea very very well, as i found out on monday :-X
boat is 6.2 and loa is 6.8

Wahoo
23-06-2007, 08:26 AM
That's a nice looking boat you got there Daz.

Wags

thanks mate, i need to get it out a bit more

Wahoo
23-06-2007, 08:32 AM
must have been a good wave if you snuffed the nose and got green water over, glad I stayed home!

One Q is the angle of the chopping board an illusion?

put up another pic Scott,
yeh the first wave was a freak, that was close to double Island

GAD
23-06-2007, 08:48 AM
very nice Daz, loks the goods and lots of room ,

Tassie JR
23-06-2007, 09:50 AM
nice rig there daz what model garmin gps is that.

cheers tassie JR

23-06-2007, 11:28 AM
Thats a serious fishing boat,daz.
Heaps of room and easy to stay connected to those big spanish macs when they start doing circles round the boat.
When you had the motor fitted did you get a chance to give it a good workout?It will be interesting to hear some performance/mileage figures.
Do you have any plans for a canopy?
Also wondering where you got that cutting board insert from.

Now all you need is for the weather gods to be nice!

ffejsmada
23-06-2007, 12:18 PM
That's a top looking boat you've got there Daz.

She's a no bullsh!t, honest, tough looking workhorse. Lovely.

Wahoo
23-06-2007, 03:11 PM
nice rig there daz what model garmin gps is that.

cheers tassie JR

cheers mate, the Garmin is a 3006, damn great unit

Wahoo
23-06-2007, 03:18 PM
Thats a serious fishing boat,daz.
Heaps of room and easy to stay connected to those big spanish macs when they start doing circles round the boat.
When you had the motor fitted did you get a chance to give it a good workout?It will be interesting to hear some performance/mileage figures.
Do you have any plans for a canopy?
Also wondering where you got that cutting board insert from.

Now all you need is for the weather gods to be nice!

thanks Scott, yeh heaps of room
yeh a canopy will be on its way sometime, it wont be big, say 1400 w X 2100 L with a solid top and some clears rapped around, the cutting board i brought from innisfail marine

Wahoo
23-06-2007, 03:20 PM
That's a top looking boat you've got there Daz.

She's a no bullsh!t, honest, tough looking workhorse. Lovely.

LOL........ good choise of words ;) thanks

peterbo3
24-06-2007, 05:33 PM
Hi Daz,
That is a very nice rig.
I have a plate boat on the way & it too will be coloured alloy. Paint is nice but a bigger sounder & plotter is nicer.
I like the steering wheel. Could you please advise me of the brand & model?

fishing111
24-06-2007, 06:30 PM
It looks like a pretty decent deadrise at the buisness end.

24-06-2007, 07:07 PM
Daz - good to see her on the water

That hull shape looks familiar :-X;D;D;D;D

deadbeatloser
24-06-2007, 07:28 PM
mate that is a bloody fine looking cc boat,happy hunting
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/100_2580.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/100_2546.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/100_2501.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/100_2485.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/100_2495.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/100_2483.jpg

Wahoo
24-06-2007, 07:47 PM
Hi Daz,
That is a very nice rig.
I have a plate boat on the way & it too will be coloured alloy. Paint is nice but a bigger sounder & plotter is nicer.
I like the steering wheel. Could you please advise me of the brand & model?

thanks Peter, i would never paint an alloy boat, to many long term probs
thats what i think is money better spent on GPS / sounder
the wheel i brought from withworths, 6 spoke code number 82055

Wahoo
24-06-2007, 07:50 PM
It looks like a pretty decent deadrise at the buisness end.

thanks Paul
dead rise comes in at 22* which is all very well, im more than impressed with it

Wahoo
24-06-2007, 07:51 PM
Daz - good to see her on the water

That hull shape looks familiar :-X;D;D;D;D

thanks Greg

very happy with the hull ;);D;D;D;D

Wahoo
24-06-2007, 07:53 PM
mate that is a bloody fine looking cc boat,happy hunting

thanks mate, came up a treat

peterbo3
24-06-2007, 08:31 PM
Thanks Daz.

saurian
24-06-2007, 09:20 PM
Crackers , good to see your investing your kids inheritance wisely...
Looks good....
Pity about the black anchor though ...
Ta

Wahoo
24-06-2007, 09:35 PM
Crackers , good to see your investing your kids inheritance wisely...
Looks good....
Pity about the black anchor though ...
Ta

LOL thanks

kids can get it the same way i did

i would rather have the black anchor on the back than an Aspro on the back;D

saurian
24-06-2007, 09:46 PM
I've got 3 anchors 1 on the bow and 2 on the stern lol...
Ta

Dunco
24-06-2007, 10:13 PM
Very nice investment crackerjack.

But I would still like to know one of the original questions about boat grapics.

Do they fade quicker than normal decals???

Wahoo
24-06-2007, 11:00 PM
Very nice investment crackerjack.

But I would still like to know one of the original questions about boat grapics.

Do they fade quicker than normal decals???

not to sure dunco, there is a 38f Donzi that has them on 4yrs now without a prob, they are useing 3M gear

Dunco
25-06-2007, 07:01 AM
Thanks Crackers, Hopefully the quality of 3M or other such brands have developed better vinyl. Should last a long time