View Full Version : anyone used rainex on perspex windscreen?
death_ship
22-06-2007, 04:42 PM
just wanting to put rainex on my new windscreen on my boat but it says on the bottle not to use it on plastic. so i am wondering if anyone has actually done it, i have a suspicion it would be ok on acrylic screens(if thats what new ones are made of) but would like to know if anyone has done it.
cheeers
Mr death ship
SirFishalot
22-06-2007, 05:12 PM
I dont know but if I were you I'd do a small test area first, down in corner just in case it does mark it! Good luck!:D
ellicat
22-06-2007, 05:45 PM
I use Star brite Rain View. No dramas on the perspex.
saurian
22-06-2007, 06:03 PM
Deathe ship , try the humble old spud, yep potato.
Cut one in half and smudge it across screen as though it was rainex, see how you go.
Ta
death_ship
22-06-2007, 06:42 PM
hey ellicat
how goes it mate?
can you get that gear at supacheap or the likes?
saurian
if it doesnt work i guess at least i have all the ingredients for a feed of fish and chips;D
MY-TopEnder
22-06-2007, 06:58 PM
Try Norton Safety Wipes too... they're not a bad little bit of gear actually. With eucalyptus in them... they're good in the car too, do the inside of your windscreen and they won't fog up and won't get all dusty either.
ellicat
22-06-2007, 07:03 PM
hey ellicat
how goes it mate?
can you get that gear at supacheap or the likes?
saurian
if it doesnt work i guess at least i have all the ingredients for a feed of fish and chips;D
G'day mate. Think I got it from Bias Boating at Tingalpa. I reckon you could probably get it at Supercheap though. If not, something pretty similar.
Eagle
22-06-2007, 09:33 PM
Many of the newer clear plastics, acrylic and the like, are VERY sensitive to alcohol. If you try Rainex even on just a little corner, it may have a disasterous reaction and send a crack across the entire windscreen. I cleaned the front of my sounder with alcohol (metho) and the face of it split open while I watched it. I was not amused! I had only dampened the cleaning rag with a minute amount of metho and it destroyed it. Be very careful in what you do. There will be a note in the corner of the windscreen that states, clean only with water (with a mild detergent?).
Eagle
23-06-2007, 12:49 PM
I use rainex on Lexan with no problems but I have not been near perspex with it.
captain rednut
23-06-2007, 04:18 PM
hi death ship leave the boat in the garage and you wont need rainex!
death_ship
24-06-2007, 07:01 PM
capitan rednut
i need to get the snapper onboard again, its about time you got the 680 out of the garage and let me show you how to catch them, i will even supply the beer
Seaking
25-06-2007, 08:51 PM
Hi guys
I have always used "Turtlewax" on perspex. It lessens the result of sun damage to an extent, (masks the fine cracks) as well as offering some UV protection. Also makes it very easy to clean. Safe on acrylic screens as well. Hope this helps.