View Full Version : Apprenticeship
Crestcutter
18-06-2007, 09:09 PM
My sister has had a rough time and departed from her marraige. She has a 16 yr old young fella that i need to try and find an apprenticeship for. If anyone has any idea's or places i might be able too try it would be greatly appreciated.
He is living with me at the moment so he is based at Redland Bay.
Many thanks................Darryl.
gawby
18-06-2007, 10:03 PM
Cresty,
I am looking for a driver but he would be a little to young.
What about yourself.
A week on and a week off. what do you say.
Can you drive a semi .
Graeme
ballsie
19-06-2007, 07:40 AM
darryl im a sparky with energex mate, they put on 50 odd apprentices a year so he could try there. energex.com.au will get you started to look at how to apply. min grade ten finish i believe. trades are a great career.
ta ben
Deiter
19-06-2007, 08:39 AM
Energex have started tests and interviews for the next round, so do it quick. I only know coz i am a sparky too and have a friend who i got the info for. He had initial aptitude tests on Staurday. Not sure if its too late???Ballsie, any idea????
Awesome trade to get into though.
Damo
19-06-2007, 08:59 AM
Ballsie my mate who is over 30 got a apprenticeship with them last year. He was a factory worker like myself for alot of years and wanted a change. He reccons its the best thing that he's done. Atleast there is a employer out there that dose'nt mind giving the older blokes ago.
ballsie
19-06-2007, 09:30 AM
yeh fellas and ya can't beat a nine day fortnight. not too sure of the closing date but i'd get in asap cause another dad from work said his son had his testing on the weekend.
best of luck
Lot of sparkies on this site!!!
Mate, if the young fella wants to play with cables, try giveing Electrogroup a ring, they are a joint effort between NECA and ETU, specializing in electrical apprenticeships
Brian
ANYFISH
20-06-2007, 03:32 AM
Gday mate
I am a fitter and turner (great trade) in toowoomba and i know that any young fella (with 110% comittment) that wants an apprentiship will get a job in any workshop in town. They just need to show up on time and work hard and show some pride in their finished jobs.
Tell him to go round the workshops and drop in a resume and tell the bosses he is keen to work and he won't have any worries in the machining line of work no matter which town he lives in. There is a real shortage of fitter and turners at the moment.
You have just gotta look conferdant and keen when you go round to see the places where you want to get a job and it will be AOK.
Cheers ANYFISH
Crestcutter
20-06-2007, 08:05 AM
Thanks heaps for the replies fellas. I did happen to look at Energex for an apprenticeship for him so i might pursue that a bit more. Definately look into Towoomba too (thanks for that).
Graeme if i had my HC i would jump on it mate, but i only have a HR. worse luck.