View Full Version : 23' bruce harris Sharkcat
23-sharkcat
17-06-2007, 08:16 PM
It is time for the big cat to go. After spending a fortune on the new house she has to help pay for it.
Here are the specs.....
1982 mark II 700 series sharkcat. the hull was respayed in 2006.
Powered by twin 470 mercruisers. Port engine has 78 hours and Starboard has 194 hours. these engines are cheap to run as the run on normal pump unleaded and cruising use less than 1 litre per klm. Top speed of 40konts
twin 15 plate batterys charged by 55amp alternator run from the starboard engine. the batterys can be completly isolated from each other.
All the electrics on the boat have been rewired including a complete new dash using Faria marine gauges. All done by a auto electrician.
the legs have all new uni's, bellows, impellors and seals. they are also fitted with perma-trims.
The props are 15 1/4 x 21p aluminoum solas props with about 20 hours on them. Also have a set of 14 1/4 x 21p S/S props.
the boat also has the following twin automatic bilge pumps per side. Live bait tank and kill tank/esky. Jabsco deck wash pump. twin single beds with matresses up front with sink and porta poti. AM/FM radio and vhf radio 12 months old. Eagle Seachamp 100dcf GPS/sounder(nearly $2000). It also has twin Fuel/gas dectectors in the engine bays
The galv trailer is a dual solid axle with electric brakes to the front axle only. It has leds lights.
Boat and trailer are both registered till nov/dec 2007.
Boat is located at Brighton near the Hornibrook bridge.
Price $35,000
18-06-2007, 10:00 AM
hey, what is that stuff on the dashboard?? (not the gauges of course) I guess you used it to cover up some old holes and stuff!
23-sharkcat
19-06-2007, 07:28 AM
Sorry mate I dont quite know what you are asking about?
Deiter
19-06-2007, 08:30 AM
I think he means the black sheet (looks like black perspex) that your guages are mounted on.
BTW, I would love to, but the missus would kill me and i would never get it up the driveway. What's the towing weight out of interest, and refering to your fuel usage, was that <1L per km per engine or combined?
Damo
19-06-2007, 08:33 AM
yes, that is correct, I need something to change my gauges around a bit and there does not seem to be anything good available , lots of good stuff in the good ol' USA though.
23-sharkcat
19-06-2007, 09:08 AM
The backboard of the dash is just 2.0mm black anodized aluminium and has been cut out on a Table router. I even had the Sharkcat logo engraved onto the face. I then sprayed it with a clear 2pak.
The towing weight is around 3.4 tonnes and yes the fuel is about 1 litre per klm and that is cruising at about 25knots. They really are just a car engine.
The 470's are the only engines that Mercruiser ever built themselves. They use the same heads as the 460ci fords, and are 3.7ltr in capacity Max HP is 170 @ 4200rpm. The good thing about these in the cat is all the weight is very centred unlike the big outboards that sit out the back.
boatboy50
19-06-2007, 12:21 PM
Hey 23,
Always been a fan of cats and yours is no exception.
Do the brakes on the trailer have a breakaway system? I couldn't see on the pics.
23-sharkcat
19-06-2007, 12:44 PM
Yes it does have a break away system to suit the electric brakes. The trailer does need a set of brakes for the rear axle. I tow it with a Hino truck and I only tow it 3klms.
saurian
19-06-2007, 02:23 PM
23, DON'T DO IT !!!!
Ta
23-sharkcat
19-06-2007, 03:07 PM
saurian
?????????
saurian
20-06-2007, 10:26 AM
23 , Don't sell the old boat.
All you'll do is buy another one the same if not newer , because you will not be able to get the same quality of ride in anything else....
Ta
23-sharkcat
20-06-2007, 12:34 PM
My wife actually apologised for making me sell the boat.
There will be another boat on the horizon.
I would be looking to down size if some one wants to upsize....I think you get a hell of a lot of boat for the money
21-06-2007, 08:04 AM
23 can you take a pic from the front seat to the transum[inside the boat] i would like to see how much room is in there. Is there any soft spots in the floor? and what condition is the under floor like? Also what litre size is the fuel tanks and killl tank?
Thanks Chris
23-sharkcat
21-06-2007, 10:13 AM
Chris,
The tanks are 225lts each. 450lts in total and are stainless steel.
The kill tank / esky is approx 1000mm long x 450mm wide x 800mm high.
The floor is in good condition. I replaced a section about 1000mm x 1000mm where I removed the Game fishing seat.
With the saftey gear I have flares that are in date. 6 life jackets and the newer type epirb 406.1m.
I will have to get a photo for you looking back
snappa
22-06-2007, 07:30 PM
how ....
that could just fit under the shed.....
Grand_Marlin
24-06-2007, 09:27 AM
It is a sad day :'(
And NO, you cant buy mine when you regret selling yours :P
23-sharkcat
24-06-2007, 06:18 PM
Pete,
I hear what you are saying but I just dont use the thing. I have taken it out once since christmas.
The worst thing about this is on the way back from the boat ramp I put 300lts of fuel in the tanks.....of course for the next trip.
snappa
28-06-2007, 11:35 AM
has there been many lookers ..?
or
has the cat been sold ..?
23-sharkcat
28-06-2007, 02:54 PM
I have got a guy coming up from NSW somewhere. I think this weekend.
23-sharkcat
02-07-2007, 03:25 PM
price drop to $30,000
snappa
03-07-2007, 09:44 AM
pm me your your contact no....
bruce4x4
05-07-2007, 05:54 PM
Is this the same boat as the one on e-bay for 26.500
23-sharkcat
05-07-2007, 07:17 PM
Yes it is.
It needs to be sold
Grand_Marlin
06-07-2007, 08:31 AM
I still cant believe you are doing this 23 Sharkcat :o :o
23-sharkcat
06-07-2007, 09:40 AM
Well I would not have to if the FAC's paid more for my house that I just sold..
23-sharkcat
11-07-2007, 07:54 PM
bumpty bump
snelly1971
11-07-2007, 10:21 PM
If you wasnt so far away then i might have been interested..Gm keeps telling me that these are great sea boats...
Cheers Mick
23-sharkcat
12-07-2007, 04:39 PM
Grand Marlin has seen this boat. Is there any doubt that these are not great boats?
He almost bought my first 23' cat from me. He was to tight to come up with the funds in time and he was tring to talk me down on price. Tight ass. LOL
snelly1971
12-07-2007, 05:25 PM
Yep...Pete is an ex Tassie Boy...tight arses down here
23-sharkcat
12-07-2007, 06:53 PM
here are some more photos
the toilet is underneath the bunk.
23-sharkcat
12-07-2007, 06:54 PM
there are 2 bunks either side of the sink. Under one is the portapoi and the other store 4 life jackets.
snelly1971
12-07-2007, 07:12 PM
What model are the legs ???//Bravo 1..????
Cheers Mick
23-sharkcat
12-07-2007, 07:27 PM
The legs are type #1 they have had most of the seals replaced and have new impellors. Replaced all the uni's and gimble bearings at christmas. all bellowes were replaced 12 months ago.
the starboard gear box is about 150 hours old as it was replaced with a new unit.
snelly1971
12-07-2007, 07:52 PM
Will be in contact after next Monday...PM me your Contact no....Cheers Mick
Grand_Marlin
14-07-2007, 11:14 AM
Grand Marlin has seen this boat. Is there any doubt that these are not great boats?
He almost bought my first 23' cat from me. He was to tight to come up with the funds in time and he was tring to talk me down on price. Tight ass. LOL
Oi !!! Tell the truth... :D
You told me I had first option, then sold it out from underneath me, and kept my deposit ;D
Nah, just couldn't find the motors for it, so it didnt happen.
I notice once you sold the boat it ended up on e bay a month later ... havent seen or heard of it since.
23-sharkcat
16-07-2007, 07:32 AM
Sorry to the guys that tried to get in contact with me over the weekend but I was moving house.
If someone want to buy the boat soon I will throw in all the parts that I have and a spare engine that was running before removal. All other bits and pieces like paint bolts new oil filters and anything else about 3 boxes all up you can have. Also have the manual for the mercruiser engines and legs.
0403 126270
23-sharkcat
18-07-2007, 07:39 PM
As I have stated before I will be looking to downsize to a tinnie if someone is looking to upsize.:-/
21-07-2007, 08:30 AM
What size tinny and how much cash do you want to put in your pocket? My tinny might be a bit big for what your after. Pm me the details of what your after.
23-sharkcat
25-07-2007, 06:28 AM
bump..........
wadeo
25-07-2007, 02:37 PM
Oi !!! Tell the truth... :D
You told me I had first option, then sold it out from underneath me, and kept my deposit ;D
Nah, just couldn't find the motors for it, so it didnt happen.
I notice once you sold the boat it ended up on e bay a month later ... havent seen or heard of it since.
Gday grand Marlin i Actually bought the boat you are showing in the photo's from a bloke at deception bay in oct 05 after 12mths rebuilding her now she is the ultimate weapon. i have no worries proving that i Own it. As the white cat you see in my picture is her. would love any former boating life information about it.Wadeo
biosbro
25-07-2007, 04:26 PM
Wadeo,
Do you have some pics taken during the rebuild & some info about it (hassles you had, what it cost, etc). Always love a good rebuild story & great to learn more from someone who's been there, done it. Maybe start a new post with it? Could lead to more info about it rather than asking the question in here (wouldn't want to hijack 23-sharkcats post).
Go on, do it.
wadeo
25-07-2007, 06:08 PM
Wadeo,
Do you have some pics taken during the rebuild & some info about it (hassles you had, what it cost, etc). Always love a good rebuild story & great to learn more from someone who's been there, done it. Maybe start a new post with it? Could lead to more info about it rather than asking the question in here (wouldn't want to hijack 23-sharkcats post).
Go on, do it.
biosbro point taken wrong thread:-[ . Its not every day someone posts photo's of your own rig in a previous state. there is over 100+ photo's of its ground up rebuild . Sorry 23-sharkcat good luck selling ya rig i rekon ya got it to cheap its a bargain.
regards Wadeo
23-sharkcat
26-07-2007, 06:32 AM
Mate I know a little about your rig.
I got it from Bowen in about July 2005. The guy I got it from had the same dreams about it as me and I would say the same with the Guy that purchased it from me.
The guy in Bowen purchased it from a cane farmer that had it sitting in his shed. The cane grower had it from new and sold the 165 hp volvo engine out of it and it just sat there for years.
What sort of power did you end up putting behind it?
wadeo
27-07-2007, 09:30 AM
Mate I know a little about your rig.
I got it from Bowen in about July 2005. The guy I got it from had the same dreams about it as me and I would say the same with the Guy that purchased it from me.
The guy in Bowen purchased it from a cane farmer that had it sitting in his shed. The cane grower had it from new and sold the 165 hp volvo engine out of it and it just sat there for years.
What sort of power did you end up putting behind it?
Thanks heaps for the information it is powered by a pair of 2000 mod yam 200hp. can i ask how much you sold it for?
Wadeo
Grand_Marlin
28-07-2007, 07:22 PM
Nice Waedo, good on ya !!
I think we would all like to see some pics please.
23-sharkcat
30-07-2007, 11:31 AM
I think it was $7500.00 with the pods
wadeo
31-07-2007, 04:45 PM
i bought it off that funny old fella 4 $5000
23-sharkcat
01-08-2007, 05:03 AM
what type of top speed do you get out of her?
wadeo
01-08-2007, 12:39 PM
I've had it to 42kn with 5 p.o.b at 5000rpm. It had little more throttle under its belt but wouldnt think it would go much quicker although it is frighteningly fast out of the hole. to anyone looking to buy your cat ya dont get much in the boating world for 25k letalone one of the best ocean going boats ever made in there era. 23-sharkcat's boat looks in excellent shape and i'm of the opinion that its worth lots and lots more than what he's asking for it.
01-08-2007, 01:44 PM
geees "the best ocean going boat ever made" is a big statement! I spent years working out of a 23 carrying heavy loads and in bad weather, and while they are certainly more than just OK, not too sure they are the best ever made!
wadeo
01-08-2007, 03:04 PM
one of the best of there era noelm not the best. Sounds like they served you well.
ziggy.
01-08-2007, 05:35 PM
Hi Wadoe, I am curious about your boat especially since I just this year finished a refit on a 24 hardtop 1990 Noosacat. I converted it from twin volvo diesels to podded outboards, originally it had the single diesel in it so it has the small skeg (for lack of a better word ) in the tunnel, which used to smooth the water down towards the single leg, this I have left in place but I often wonder if I did the right thing, so my question is did you do the same thing or did you remove it ? Your boat looks great and you must be happy with the result.
Thanks regards, Ziggy.
ziggy.
01-08-2007, 06:44 PM
23 Sharkcat
Mate have you still got your boat for sale ? I think it's worth every penny that you are asking, I recently sold my old boat 86 model which was basically the same as what you have but mine was an outboard version with wells not pods, sold it unpowered on a tri axle trailer with breakaway system on all wheels, I had regalvinised the trailer once but it was getting a bit sad in the frame.
I had purchased the new boat and had to move the old one quickly so I called Noosa Bluewater Brokerage and told them what I had and I must say I did think it would be hard to sell unpowered, within 4 days they had a buyer and it was gone within a week of the guy viewing it. They charge commission of coarse but they sure can move cats. Not always a prefered way to sell a boat I know but they may be worth a call.
Hope this helps you in some way, Ziggy.
Grand_Marlin
02-08-2007, 04:57 PM
Ziggy, do you have some pics too?
Waedo, very nice job - would you mind if I caught up to have a look one day?
ziggy.
02-08-2007, 06:43 PM
Hi Grand Marlin, got a few pics for you, 2 before and 2 after.
Regards Ziggy
wadeo
02-08-2007, 08:06 PM
Nice rig Ziggy can't wait to put a hard top on mine.
wadeo;D
Grand_Marlin
02-08-2007, 08:55 PM
Very nice Ziggy,
I remember that boat was for sale on Boatpoint for Ages.... looked neat enough, but just didnt sell for some reason.
Those Vmax's look awesome on the back.
Where does the boat live?
ps mine is coming along slowly.....
ziggy.
03-08-2007, 04:33 AM
Thanks guys, Grand Marlin yes it was advertised for ages and they could not sell it because 1, it was underpowered and 2, they very rarely sold cats and not alot of people in that area use them. Sat in the yard for 18 months with very little interest, good news for me was that it was slowly getting cheaper.
It's still not really finished but is a boat ever really finished ? Got to finish interior in the cockpit and gal the trailer.
How long until your boat gets wet? I was getting a bit anxious about six weeks before mine was complete, I imagine you are a bit that way too !
Boat lives near Bundy, Ziggy.
Grand_Marlin
03-08-2007, 06:29 AM
Mine is about 4 weeks away from paint, then the fitout will be pretty quick ... thats what I do for a living.
It is going to be metallic gold with black carbon fibre trim.
Darren (23-Sharkcat) is helping me put the carbon fibre stripes together, as that is his industry.
Dean1
05-08-2007, 07:37 AM
Cats gotta love em!!! You guys are making my new 5.2 kc look like n ant compared to your big monsters. My dad used to have a 6 metre sharkcat about 30 years ago, an old yellow 1, he raved about how awsome it was ever since he sold it.Thats what got me loving cats, i previously owned a 1996 5.5 multicat about 5 yrears ago, it was a modern version of an 18ft sharkcat. See if i can get a pic up. I felt so safe in it, missed it ever since i sold it and sold it to cheap as i needed the cash at the time. Ziggy im sure wade would have told u about the skeg in the middle of his tunnel, he used it for a livebait or something, become useful, nothing wrong with leaving it on there and your rig looks great!
wadeo
05-08-2007, 04:11 PM
ziggy did ya get my pm. Bet you can't sleep at the moment deano.not long now
wadeo;D
ziggy.
05-08-2007, 05:30 PM
Wadeo, no did not receive a p,m.
Ziggy.
ziggy.
05-08-2007, 06:56 PM
Dean 1, 5.2 KC now they have got a great reputation but I can't speak from experience, only ever heard good things about them. Sounds like you regret selling your multicat, I think everyone has had a boat that they regret selling. Look foward to seeing ya pics
Ziggy.
wadeo
05-08-2007, 07:01 PM
Wadeo, no did not receive a p,m.
Ziggy.
ziggy just pm'd you again let me know if ya got it
wadeo
ziggy.
06-08-2007, 05:27 AM
Wadeo, nope still nothing I'll try to send one your way.
Ziggy.
23-sharkcat
06-08-2007, 06:16 AM
WOW
talk about hijacking a post.
just kidding. I dont care what anyone puts on my post as long as someone buys the cat.
Looking at taking offers on the cat. It need to be sold.
Grand_Marlin
06-08-2007, 05:04 PM
$12,500?
Bide your time Darren, you should get $30 for it
23-sharkcat
07-08-2007, 04:08 AM
For $12500 you would only get the Left or righthand side. Which one would you like?
Grand_Marlin
08-08-2007, 07:17 AM
Either side is fine ... I will just turn it into a dugout canoe with a Mercruiser ;D
08-08-2007, 11:01 AM
Either side is fine ... I will just turn it into a dugout canoe with a Mercruiser ;D
Hahahahahaha Classic!!!!;D ;D ;D ;D
23-sharkcat
11-08-2007, 07:45 PM
This cat is almost cheap enough to convert to outboards. The engine bays would make great kill/bait tanks...
OISTA
12-08-2007, 08:18 AM
Gday 23-sharkcat, nice cat!
I possible, could I please get some pics of the legs (different angles showing condition), pics of the mercruisers, a pic from the bow looking towards the stern (to show layout) and one from the stern looking towards the bow. Any others would be much appreciated. Also, what is the ride height of the towball, meaning how high is the ball from the ground when trailers rails are level. My father has been searching for a cat for a while.
Mic
23-sharkcat
13-08-2007, 04:24 PM
The height to the top of the towbar is 540mm. I do not have all of the photos you are asking for but here are a few.
OISTA
13-08-2007, 06:39 PM
Thanks mate:) , I'll pass these onto my father tonight
23-sharkcat
18-08-2007, 06:17 AM
OISTA,
does you farther have any questions?
snelly1971
20-08-2007, 02:55 AM
Had any luck selling your boat Darren...
Cheers Mick
northernblue
20-08-2007, 05:12 PM
Darren, you said earlier that it weighs about 3400kgs, is that "bare bones" or fully fuelled and iced, ready to fish?
Also, how high does it sit on the trailer? [I mean height overall, for storage purposes]
Did you fit the permatrims [?] or were they already fitted?
As I think I mentioned a while back, I'm interested, but need to dispose of a house myself......
23-sharkcat
20-08-2007, 05:38 PM
yes I still have the cat
The weight is only a guess, but it is there abouts that includes 700kgs for the trailer. Bare hull with no engines is 1100kgs
Height is about 3400mm I think. The permatrims were on there when I got it.
23-sharkcat
23-08-2007, 05:17 AM
I need to sell this rig. Starting to look at any offers, just dont be rude.
OISTA
25-08-2007, 05:16 PM
Hey mate,
Can you PM me your details so we can arrange a time for my Dad to view.
Mic
23-sharkcat
25-08-2007, 09:03 PM
OISTA,
The boat was sold Saturday arvo. Sorry Mate.
snelly1971
25-08-2007, 09:19 PM
OISTA,
Bet your Happy Darren;D;D;D;D
Glad you sold the boat:):)
Grand_Marlin
26-08-2007, 11:56 AM
Finally !!
Give me a call - let me know how you went.
Is the boat staying local?
northernblue
26-08-2007, 06:20 PM
Boat will be migrating north to the sunshine coast ;D
Grand Marlin or Wadeo,
Would it be ok if I borrowed your tow vehical occasionally, just until I can afford my own Morris Minor? :P
I'm gunna scare me some fish!
Grand_Marlin
26-08-2007, 06:41 PM
Congratulations Northern Blue,
You have bought a very good boat.
Yes, you can borrow my vehicle at any time you like ... oh sorry, I forgot ... I am busy that weekend :D
Best thing to do is put it over the weighbridge ... maybe you might be lucky and it will be legal with a Cruiser. ;)
OISTA
27-08-2007, 05:52 AM
OISTA,
No worries mate, thanks for the reply.
Northern Blue, congrats on the buy
wadeo
27-08-2007, 06:10 AM
I have weigh cert for mine before we put motors on and fuel in and it was 2.3t on trailer + 200kg each motor brings her to 2.7t plus fuel and gear.
cheers wadeo
northernblue
27-08-2007, 07:31 PM
Thanks for that Wadeo, it's comforting news :)
I have weigh cert for mine before we put motors on and fuel in and it was 2.3t on trailer + 200kg each motor brings her to 2.7t plus fuel and gear.
cheers wadeo
wadeo
27-08-2007, 08:01 PM
Northern blue what vehicle do you have to tow it with?
regards Wadeo
northernblue
28-08-2007, 05:12 PM
Northern blue what vehicle do you have to tow it with?
regards Wadeo
Toyota Prado [2500kg towing capacity], mate, but I will upgrade to a cruiser [3500kg].
Thats the plan anyway.
I will run it over the scales, that's the only way to know for sure.
vBulletin® v3.6.4, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.