PDA

View Full Version : Moral Dilemma

bennykenny
17-06-2007, 08:27 AM
Hi fellow ausfishers, ive come across a bit of a moral dilemma at work. Now im a chef, and at this time i think i better not tell you where, but the other day the owner of the restaurant came to us and said he had been catching mud crabs and he had frozen them, now he was bringing them to us to keep in our freezers and soon he would come in with a group of friends and have them for dinner, now the first problem is that they are all UNDERSIZE:( by about 4cms and the second problem is that they are all JENNYS:( So now we have about 5 undersize female mudcrabs in our freezer and it been driving me crazy because it goes against everything i stand for.

So do i smile and nod and let the rich bastard get away with it or do i do something about it and risk losing my job:-[

blaze
17-06-2007, 08:37 AM
not only a moral delema but the real possibity of a finacial one, I believe that you could report it without giving your personel info out. You could also tell someone else the inside info you have and have them pass it on. At the end of the day you need to take the action that lets you sleep at night. I believe there are some openings out there for good chefs, so maybe it comes down to your belief in how good you are at your chosen field of work.
Hope all pans out for you
cheers
blaze

SunnyCoastMark
17-06-2007, 08:40 AM
Hey Benny,
Mate, I think you have to say something. How you say it depends on the relationship you have with your boss.

It may well be that he doesn't know or understand the regulations regarding crabs. In which case you can let him know where to find the appropropriate info. I would eespecially direct him to information regarding fines and or possible consequences.

Maybe let him know you had a "mate" who got fined and had his boat confiscated for having undersize jennies in his posession.